AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 1NCT00316875

Lapatinib and Doxorubicin Hydrochloride Liposome in Treating Patients With Metastatic Breast Cancer

A Phase 1 study testing lapatinib ditosylate and Doxil in people with Breast Cancer, run by Northwestern University at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Lapatinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as doxorubicin hydrochloride liposome work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
lapatinib ditosylate and Doxil
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
23 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
May 2006to Aug 2011
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the breast with evidence of metastatic disease
  • Epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) and/or erbB2 positivity not required
  • Measurable disease, defined as ≥ 1 lesion that can be accurately measured in ≥ 1 dimension as ≥ 20 mm by conventional techniques OR as ≥ 10 mm by spiral CT scan
  • No known brain metastases or leptomeningeal disease
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Male or female patients
  • Menopausal status not specified
  • Life expectancy ≥ 12 weeks
  • ECOG performance status 0-1
  • WBC ≥ 3,000/mm^3
  • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
  • Bilirubin normal
  • AST/ALT ≤ 2.5 times upper limit of normal
  • Creatinine normal OR creatinine clearance ≥ 60 mL/min
  • LVEF ≥ 50%
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • Able to swallow and retain oral medication
  • No history of allergic reactions attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biologic composition to lapatinib
  • No gastrointestinal (GI) tract disease resulting in inability to take oral medication
  • No malabsorption syndrome or requirement for IV alimentation
  • No uncontrolled inflammatory GI disease (e.g., Crohn's disease, ulcerative colitis)

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • Prior trastuzumab (Herceptin ®) allowed
  • Prior anthracyclines allowed provided total dose of doxorubicin hydrochloride ≤ 240 mg/m² or epirubicin ≤ 600 mg/m²
  • More than 4 weeks since prior major surgery, hormonal therapy (other than replacement therapy), chemotherapy (6 weeks for nitrosoureas or mitomycin C), or radiotherapy and recovered
  • No prior surgical procedures affecting absorption
  • No prior EGFR-targeting therapies
  • At least 7 days since prior and no concurrent CYP3A4 inhibitors
  • At least 7 days since prior and no concurrent gastric pH modifiers
  • Antacids allowed within 1 hour before and after lapatinib dosing
  • At least 14 days since prior and no concurrent CYP3A4 inducers, including dexamethasone or dexamethasone equivalent dose > 1.5 mg/day
  • At least 6 months since prior and no concurrent amiodarone
  • No concurrent combination antiretroviral therapy for HIV-positive patients
  • No concurrent prophylactic growth factor support
  • No concurrent herbal medications
  • No other concurrent investigational agents or anticancer therapy

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center at Northwestern University

    Chicago, Illinois, 60611-3013

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase I, Open-Label Study of the Safety, Tolerability and Pharmacokinetics of Lapatinib in Combination With Liposomal Doxorubicin in Patients With Metastatic Breast Cancer

RATIONALE: Lapatinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as doxorubicin hydrochloride liposome work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving lapatinib together with doxorubicin hydrochloride liposome may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase I trial is studying the side effects and best dose of doxorubicin hydrochloride liposome when given together with lapatinib in treating patients with metastatic breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Evaluate the safety, tolerability, and feasibility of pegylated doxorubicin HCl liposome (PLD) when administered with lapatinib, particularly in terms of cardiac safety, in patients with metastatic breast cancer.
  • Determine the optimally tolerated regimen (OTR) of PLD when administered with lapatinib in these patients.

Secondary

  • Determine the pharmacokinetic profiles of lapatinib and PLD when given in combination at the OTR.
  • Describe any preliminary evidence of efficacy of lapatinib and PLD in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label, dose-escalation study of pegylated doxorubicin HCl liposome (PLD).

Patients receive oral lapatinib once daily on days 1-28 and PLD IV over at least 30 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 8 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Lapatinib may be continued alone in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of PLD until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 3 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity.

After completing study treatment, patients are followed for 30 days.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 25 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
lapatinib ditosylate, Doxil
Keywords
stage IV breast cancer, recurrent breast cancer, male breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Breast Neoplasms, Male

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • lapatinib ditosylateDrug

    1500 mg orally daily for as long as patients remain on trial (up to 8 cycles).

  • DoxilDrug

    Also called Doxorubicin HCL Liposome Injection, Dox-SL

    Administered intravenously (IV) every 4 weeks in a dose-escalating fashion according to a set schedule

Study groups in NCT00316875
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Lapatinib Ditosylate and DoxilExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: lapatinib ditosylate; Drug: Doxil

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Cardiac safety

    Measured: Throughout treatment and up to 30 days post-treatment

  2. Maximum tolerated dose

    Measured: After the first cycle of therapy

Secondary outcomes (2)
  1. Pharmacokinetic profiles

    Measured: After treatment completion for 12 patients treated at the maximum tolerated dose

  2. Efficacy

    Measured: At time of disease progression

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted21 Apr 2006 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2006
  3. Primary completionAug 2011
  4. Study completionAug 2011

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomised
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
23 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00316875
Sponsor's protocol ID
NU 05B5
Other IDs
P30CA060553, NU-05B5, NU-1838-001, NCI-2011-00325
Status last verified
Nov 2013
First submitted
19 Apr 2006
Last updated
8 Nov 2013
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing lapatinib ditosylate and Doxil in people with Breast Cancer, run by Northwestern University at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 8 Nov 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Cardiac safety (time frame: Throughout treatment and up to 30 days post-treatment). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 8 Nov 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in