AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 3NCT00326820

Ibandronate or Zoledronate in Treating Patients With Newly Diagnosed Bone Metastases From Breast Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing ibandronate sodium, zoledronic acid and Zolendronic Acid in people with Breast Cancer and Hypercalcemia of Malignancy, run by Wales Cancer Trials Unit at 79 sites in United Kingdom.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Ibandronate and zoledronate may help relieve some of the symptoms caused by bone metastases. It is not yet know whether ibandronate is more effective than zoledronate in treating bone metastases from breast cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
What is being tested?
ibandronate sodium, zoledronic acid and Zolendronic Acid
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
1,404 participants
Where
79 sitesUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Jan 2006to Oct 2015
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically proven breast cancer
  • Metastatic disease
  • Previous relapsed disease in sites other than bone allowed
  • Newly diagnosed multiple bone metastases within the past 3 months, meeting all of the following criteria:
  • Painful or asymptomatic
  • Lytic, mixed, or purely sclerotic type
  • Radiological diagnosis
  • IV bisphosphonate therapy indicated
  • No CNS metastases
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • ECOG performance status 0-2
  • Male or female
  • Menopausal status not specified
  • No known active peptic ulcer
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No active dental problems, including infection of the teeth or jawbone (maxilla or mandible) or dental or fixture trauma
  • No prior or current diagnosis of osteonecrosis of the jaw, exposed bone in the mouth, or slow healing after dental procedures
  • Creatinine clearance ≥ 30 mL/min
  • Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 x upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • AST and ALT ≤ 1.5 times ULN
  • No history of bisphosphonate hypersensitivity
  • Able to comply with instructions relating to oral study medications
  • Able to take oral study medications
  • No psychiatric illness or other condition that would preclude giving informed consent

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • At least 6 months since prior bisphosphonate therapy
  • At least 6 weeks since prior and no concurrent dental or jaw surgery (e.g., extractions or implants)
  • Concurrent unplanned dental extractions allowed provided study medication is discontinued for 8 weeks before and after the surgery
  • Concurrent chemotherapy and/or hormone therapy for metastatic disease allowed
  • No concurrent medications that affect bone metabolism (e.g., calcitonin or other nontrial bisphosphonates)

Trial locations and contacts

79 sites in 1 country.

79 sites in 1 country

United Kingdom79 sites
  • Nevill Hall Hospital

    Abergavenny, Wales, NP7 7EG

  • Bronglais District General Hospital

    Aberystwyth, Wales, SY23 1ER

  • William Harvey Hospital

    Ashford, England, TN24 0LZ

  • Ysbyty Gwynedd

    Bangor, Wales, LL57 2PW

  • North Devon District Hospital

    Barnstaple, England, EX31 4JB

  • Royal Bournemouth Hospital

    Bournemouth, England, BH7 7DW

  • Princess of Wales Hospital

    Bridgend, Wales, CF31 1JP

  • Burnley General Hospital

    Burnley, England, BB10 2PQ

  • Queen's Hospital

    Burton-on-Trent, England, DE13 0RB

  • Kent and Canterbury Hospital

    Canterbury, England, CT1 3NG

  • Velindre Cancer Center at Velindre Hospital

    Cardiff, Wales, CF14 2TL

  • West Wales General Hospital

    Carmarthen, Wales, SA31 2AF

  • Broomfield Hospital

    Chelmsford, Essex, England, CM1 7ET

  • Gloucestershire Oncology Centre at Cheltenham General Hospital

    Cheltenham, England, GL53 7AN

  • Countess of Chester Hospital

    Chester, England, CH2 1UL

  • Essex County Hospital

    Colchester, England, C03 3NB

  • Walsgrave Hospital

    Coventry, England, CV2 2DX

  • Darent Valley Hospital

    Dartford Kent, England, DA2 8DA

  • Derbyshire Royal Infirmary

    Derby, England, DE1 2QY

  • Dorset County Hospital

    Dorchester, England, DT1 2JY

  • University Hospital of North Durham

    Durham, England, DH1 5TW

  • Hairmyres Hospital

    East Kilbride, Scotland, G75 8RG

  • Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital

    Exeter, England, EX2 5DW

  • Falkirk and District Royal Infirmary

    Falkirk, Scotland, FK1 5QE

  • Queen Elizabeth Hospital

    Gateshead, England, NE9 7UD

  • Western Infirmary

    Glasgow, Scotland, G11 6NT

  • Diana Princess of Wales Hospital

    Grimsby, England, DN33 2BA

  • Calderdale Royal Hospital

    Halifax, England, HX3 0PW

  • University Hospital of Hartlepool

    Hartlepool, Cleveland, England, TS24 9AH

  • Withybush General Hospital

    Haverfordwest, Wales, SA61 2PZ

  • Wycombe General Hospital

    High Wycombe, England, HP11 2TT

  • Huddersfield Royal Infirmary

    Huddersfield, West Yorks, England, HD3 3EA

  • Princess Royal Hospital at Hull and East Yorkshire NHS Trust

    Hull, England, HU8 9HE

  • Ipswich Hospital

    Ipswich, England, IP4 5PD

  • Crosshouse Hospital

    Kilmarnock, Scotland, KA2 OBE

  • Royal Liverpool University Hospital

    Liverpool, England, L7 8XP

  • Royal Glamorgan Hospital

    Llantrisant, CF72 8XR

  • Whipps Cross Hospital

    London, England, E11 1NR

  • Saint Bartholomew's Hospital

    London, England, EC1A 7BE

  • St. George's Hospital

    London, England, SW17 0QT

  • Royal Marsden - London

    London, England, SW3 6JJ

  • Charing Cross Hospital

    London, England, W6 8RF

  • Macclesfield District General Hospital

    Macclesfield, England, SK10 3BL

  • Maidstone Hospital

    Maidstone, England, ME16 9QQ

  • Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother Hospital

    Margate, England, CT9 4AN

  • Clatterbridge Centre for Oncology

    Metropolitan Borough of Wirral, England, CH63 4JY

  • Prince Charles Hospital

    Mid Glamorgan, Wales, CF47 9DT

  • St. Mary's Hospital

    Newport, England, PO30 5TG

  • Royal Gwent Hospital

    Newport Gwent, Wales, NP20 2UB

  • Nottingham City Hospital

    Nottingham, England, NG5 1PB

  • King's Mills Hospital

    Nottinghamshire, England, NG17 4JL

  • George Eliot Hospital

    Nuneaton, England, CV10 7DJ

  • Peterborough Hospitals Trust

    Peterborough, England, PE3 6DA

  • Dorset Cancer Centre

    Poole Dorset, England, BH15 2JB

  • Portsmouth Oncology Centre at Saint Mary's Hospital

    Portsmouth, England, P03 6AD

  • Rosemere Cancer Centre at Royal Preston Hospital

    Preston, England, PR2 9HT

  • Alexandra Healthcare NHS

    Redditch, Worcestershire, England, B98 7UB

  • Glan Clwyd Hospital

    Rhyl, Denbighshire, Wales, LL 18 5UJ

  • Conquest Hospital

    Saint Leonards-on-Sea, England, TN37 7RD

  • Scarborough General Hospital

    Scarborough, England, YO12 6QL

  • Scunthorpe General Hospital

    Scunthorpe, England, ON15 7BH

  • Wexham Park Hospital

    Slough, Berkshire, England, SL2 4HL

  • Solihull Hospital

    Solihull, England, B91 2JL

  • Southampton General Hospital

    Southampton, England, SO16 6YD

  • University Hospital of North Tees

    Stockton-on-Tees, England, TS19 8PE

  • Royal Marsden - Surrey

    Sutton, England, SM2 5PT

  • South West Wales Cancer Institute

    Swansea, Wales, SA2 8QA

  • Torbay Hospital

    Torquay Devon, England, TQ2 7AA

  • Royal Cornwall Hospital

    Truro, Cornwall, England, TR1 3LJ

  • South Tyneside District Hospital

    Tyne & Wear, England, NE34 0PL

  • Warrington Hospital NHS Trust

    Warrington, England, WA5 1QG

  • South Warwickshire Hospital

    Warwick, Warwickshire, England, CV34 5BW

  • Southend University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

    Westcliff-on-Sea, England, SS0 0RY

  • Royal Albert Edward Infirmary

    Wigan, England, WN1 2NN

  • Royal Hampshire County Hospital

    Winchester, England, SO22 5DG

  • Wishaw General Hospital

    Wishaw, Scotland, ML2 0DP

  • Worcester Royal Hospital

    Worcester, England, WR5 1AN

  • Wrexham Maelor Hospital

    Wrexham, Wales, LL13 7TD

  • Yeovil District Hospital

    Yeovil - Somerset, England, BA21 4AT

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: Zoledronate Versus Ibandronate Comparative Evaluation: A Randomized Phase III, Open-Label, Multicenter, Parallel Group Clinical Trial to Evaluate and Compare the Efficacy, Safety Profile and Tolerability of Oral Ibandronate Versus Intravenous Zoledronate in the Treatment of Breast Cancer Patients With Bone Metastases

RATIONALE: Ibandronate and zoledronate may help relieve some of the symptoms caused by bone metastases. It is not yet know whether ibandronate is more effective than zoledronate in treating bone metastases from breast cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying ibandronate to see how well it works compared with zoledronate in treating patients with newly diagnosed bone metastases from breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Compare the efficacy, in terms of reducing frequency and timing of skeletal-related events (SREs), of ibandronate vs zoledronate in patients with newly diagnosed bone metastases secondary to breast cancer.

Secondary

  • Compare the median time to first SRE in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the percentage of patients experiencing a SRE after treatment with these regimens.
  • Compare the number of occult vertebral fractures present in patients at the end of treatment with these regimens.
  • Compare the pain and analgesic scores and quality of life of patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the number of patients developing renal dysfunction or hypocalcemia during the study period.
  • Compare the number of patients developing osteonecrosis of the jaw during study treatment and follow-up.
  • Compare the overall survival of these patients at 96 weeks and at 5 years.
  • Compare the health-resource usage of patients treated with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, open-label, parallel-group, controlled, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive zoledronate IV over 15 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21* or 28 days for at least 96 weeks (24 or 32 courses) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

NOTE: *Patients who receive concurrent chemotherapy every 3 weeks receive study treatment every 21 days

  • Arm II: Patients receive oral ibandronate once daily on days 1-28. Treatment repeats every 28 days for at least 96 weeks (24 courses) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with bone pain or hypercalcemia at study entry or those who require IV therapy due to hypercalcemia while on study may receive 1 treatment with ibandronate IV at the discretion of the supervising clinician.

Quality of life and pain are assessed at baseline, after every 3 courses, and at completion of study treatment.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed annually for up to 3 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 1,400 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
ibandronate sodium, zoledronic acid, Zolendronic Acid
Keywords
hypercalcemia of malignancy, stage IV breast cancer, bone metastases, recurrent breast cancer, male breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Humoral Hypercalcemia Of Malignancy, Neoplasm Metastasis, Breast Neoplasms, Male

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • ibandronate sodiumDrug

  • zoledronic acidDrug

  • Zolendronic AcidDrug

    Also called Zoledronate

    Zoledronic acid 4 mg by intravenous infusion every 4 weeks.

Study groups in NCT00326820
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Ibandronic AcidExperimental50mg tablet once daily over 96 weeks
Receives: Drug: ibandronate sodium
Zoledronic AcidActive comparator4 mg via intravenous infusion (iv) over a minimum of 15 minutes in at least 100mls of saline every 4 weeks over 96 weeks
Receives: Drug: zoledronic acid; Drug: Zolendronic Acid

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Frequency and timing of skeletal-related events (SREs)

    Measured: 96 weeks

Secondary outcomes (7)
  1. Time to first SREs

    Measured: 96 Weeks

  2. Proportion of patients with SREs

    Measured: 96 Weeks

  3. Pain and analgesic score

    Measured: 96 weeks

  4. Quality of life

    Measured: 96 weeks

  5. Toxicity

    Measured: 96 weeks

  6. Survival

    Measured: 5 years

  7. Health resource usage and serum bone marker levels

    Measured: 96 weeks

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted17 May 2006 (estimated)
  2. Study startJan 2006
  3. Primary completionDec 2012
  4. Study completionOct 2015 (estimated)

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
1,404 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00326820
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000478864
Other IDs
WCTU-ZICE, NCRI-ZICE, ROCHE-ZICE, ISRCTN13914201, EU-20613, EUDRACT-2005-001710-40
Status last verified
Mar 2013
First submitted
16 May 2006
Last updated
13 Mar 2013
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Gillespie D, Farewell D, Barrett-Lee P, Casbard A, Hawthorne AB, Hurt C, Murray N, Probert C, Stenson R, Hood K. The use of randomisation-based efficacy estimators in non-inferiority trials. Trials. 2017 Mar 9;18(1):117. doi: 10.1186/s13063-017-1837-3.

    PubMed 28274254
  • Barrett-Lee P, Casbard A, Abraham J, Hood K, Coleman R, Simmonds P, Timmins H, Wheatley D, Grieve R, Griffiths G, Murray N. Oral ibandronic acid versus intravenous zoledronic acid in treatment of bone metastases from breast cancer: a randomised, open label, non-inferiority phase 3 trial. Lancet Oncol. 2014 Jan;15(1):114-22. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(13)70539-4. Epub 2013 Dec 11.

    PubMed 24332514

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing ibandronate sodium, zoledronic acid and Zolendronic Acid in people with Breast Cancer and Hypercalcemia of Malignancy, run by Wales Cancer Trials Unit at 79 sites in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 13 Mar 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 79 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Frequency and timing of skeletal-related events (SREs) (time frame: 96 weeks). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00326820, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 13 Mar 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in