InfluenzaPhase 1/2NCT00391768
Oseltamivir Treatment for Children Less Than 24 Months of Age With Influenza
A Phase 1/2 study testing oseltamivir (Tamiflu®) in people with Influenza, run by National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) at 32 sites in 2 countries.
Trial summary
The purpose of this study is to learn how to treat influenza in children less than 2 years of age. Tamiflu®, the drug being studied, is approved for treatment of children 1 year of age and older with influenza. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages Up to 23 months
- Conditions the study is for
- Influenza
- What is being tested?
- oseltamivir (Tamiflu®)
- Type of treatment
- Pill or oral medicine, Injection or infusion
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 87 participants
- Where
- 32 sitesin 2 countries
- Study dates
- Jan 2007to Apr 2010
- Phase
- Phase 1/2
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages Up to 23 months
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Child
Who may be able to join
- Signed informed consent from parent(s) or legal guardian(s).
- Age:
- Cohort I: 12 - 23 mo. Cohort II: 9 - 11 mo. Cohort III: 6 - 8 mo. Cohort IV: 3 - 5 mo. Cohort V: 0 - 2 mo.
- Confirmed laboratory diagnosis of influenza by viral culture or rapid influenza diagnostic test within 96 hours prior to study enrollment.
- Duration of influenza symptoms less than or equal to 96 hours.
Who cannot join
- Concomitant vomiting illness that would preclude ability to take drug.
- Immunocompromised subject (e.g., malignancy, congenital agammaglobulinemia, HIV).
- Documented renal impairment (e.g., polycystic renal disease, nephrectomy, renal transplantation, renal agenesis, dialysis requirement, renal failure, nephrotic syndrome at any time prior to enrollment, current receipt of diuretic therapy).
- Documented hepatic impairment (e.g., congenital hepatitis, biliary atresia, cholelithiasis).
- Gastrointestinal abnormality which might hinder absorption of an oral medication.
- Current receipt of inotropic drugs (e.g., epinephrine, norepinephrine, dopamine, dobutamine).
- History of seizures.
- Documented congenital malformations of the central nervous system defined at birth (e.g., hydranencephaly, prosencephaly, spina bifida).
Trial locations and contacts
32 sites in 2 countries.
32 sites in 2 countries
United States29 sites
Emory Children's Center - Pediatric Infectious Diseases
Atlanta, Georgia, 30322-1014
Emory University School of Medicine - Emory Children's Center - Pediatric Infectious Diseases
Atlanta, Georgia, 30322
Children's Hospital Colorado - Infectious Disease
Aurora, Colorado, 80045-7106
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, Alabama, 35117
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center - Infectious Diseases
Cincinnati, Ohio, 45229-3026
MetroHealth Medical Center - Pediatric Infectious Disease
Cleveland, Ohio, 44109-1998
Parkland Memorial Hospital
Dallas, Texas, 75235-7708
The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, Texas, 75390-9063
Cook Children's Infectious Disease Services
Fort Worth, Texas, 76104-2710
University of Florida - Shands Children's Hospital
Gainesville, Florida, 32610-0296
University of Mississippi - Children's Infectious Diseases
Jackson, Mississippi, 39216-4505
Arkansas Children's Hospital - Infectious Diseases
Little Rock, Arkansas, 72202-3500
Miller Children's Hospital Long Beach - Bickerstaff Family Center
Long Beach, California, 90806-1701
Cohen Children's Medical Center - Pediatric Infectious Diseases
Manhasset, New York, 11030-3816
Vanderbilt University - Pediatric - Infectious Diseases
Nashville, Tennessee, 37232-0011
University of Nebraska Medical Center - Children's Hospital and Medical Center - Infectious Diseases
Omaha, Nebraska, 68114-4108
Children's Hospital of Orange County
Orange, California, 92868-3835
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia - The Center for Pediatric Clinical Effectiveness
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104-3309
Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC - General Academic Pediatric
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15213-3205
Rhode Island Hospital - Pediatrics
Providence, Rhode Island, 02903-4923
University of Rochester
Rochester, New York, 14642
University of Utah - Pediatric Pharmacology Program
Salt Lake City, Utah, 84108-1457
Rady Children's Hospital San Diego
San Diego, California, 92123-4223
Seattle Children's Hospital - Infectious Diseases
Seattle, Washington, 98105-3901
Louisiana State University Health Shreveport - Pediatrics
Shreveport, Louisiana, 71103-4228
Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis - Center for Clinical Studies
St Louis, Missouri, 63110-1010
SUNY Upstate Medical University Hospital - Pediatrics
Syracuse, New York, 13210-2342
University of South Florida - Tampa General Hospital - Pediatrics
Tampa, Florida, 33606-3438
Children's National Medical Center - Sheikh Zayed Campus - Infectious Disease
Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20010-2916
Canada3 sites
University of Alberta Hospital - Pediatrics
Edmonton, Alberta, T6G 2B7
Centre Hospitalier de l'Universite Laval/ CHUQ
Québec, Quebec, G1V 4G2
The Hospital for Sick Children - Infectious Diseases
Toronto, Ontario, M5G 1X8
About this study
Official title: A Pharmacokinetic/Pharmacodynamic and Safety Evaluation of Oseltamivir (Tamiflu®) for the Treatment of Children Less Than 24 Months of Age With Confirmed Influenza Infection (CASG 114)
The purpose of this study is to learn how to treat influenza in children less than 2 years of age. Tamiflu®, the drug being studied, is approved for treatment of children 1 year of age and older with influenza. Researchers want to learn more about the activity of Tamiflu® in the body to determine a dose of that is safe, well-tolerated, and effective in young children with influenza. Children less than 24 months of age with confirmed influenza will receive Tamiflu® 2 times a day for 5 days. Older participants will be enrolled first and younger children will be enrolled after the safety data is reviewed for older participants. Study procedures include blood samples, swabs from inside the nose, and body and nervous system evaluations. Participants may be involved in study related procedures for up to 37 days.
Read the detailed description
Oseltamivir is approved for prophylaxis and treatment of children 1 year of age and older with influenza. Influenza treatments for children under the age of 1 year are needed because mortality from influenza is high among this age group, even when there are no underlying medical conditions. Oseltamivir is frequently used off-label in children less than 1 year of age, with no data supporting the doses being used. Given the risk of severe or fatal influenza infection in infants, the lack of repeat dose pharmacokinetic (PK) data in children less than 2, the need for treatments in this population of children, and the fact that oseltamivir is being used off-label in this population, the current study will systematically study the PK and safety of oseltamivir in children less than 2 years of age with confirmed influenza to determine the appropriate dose to be used in these age groups. This data will be critical to pediatricians caring for these potentially gravely ill infants. This study is a prospective, age-stratified PK/pharmacodynamic (PD) and safety evaluation of oseltamivir therapy in children less than 24 months of age with confirmed influenza infection. Participants will be stratified by age into the following enrollment scheme at study initiation: 12-23 months (Cohort I), 9-11 months (Cohort II), 6-8 months (Cohort III), 3-5 months (Cohort IV) and 0-2 months (Cohort V). At study onset, Cohort II and III will be enrolled simultaneously. Cohorts IV and V will be enrolled sequentially by decreasing age groups predicated upon the PK and safety data from the preceding cohort. In the event of a public health emergency, the Data Safety Monitoring Board (DSMB) or Food and Drug Administration (FDA) may authorize the following modifications to the proposed enrollment plan: the opening of younger age cohorts without the full dataset from the next higher age cohort, the re-opening of previously closed cohorts to obtain additional data and/or the over-enrollment of any of the 5 cohorts. The oldest cohort (Cohort I) may be enrolled at any time during the study. The primary study objective is to define the PK of oseltamivir and oseltamivir carboxylate in children with confirmed influenza less than 2 years of age. The oseltamivir dose initially evaluated in Cohort I was the approved dose of 30 mg twice a day (bid). However, the oseltamivir carboxylate area under the curve (AUC)12 values for 5 of the 9 subjects enrolled in Cohort I as of August 5, 2009, were below the lower range utilized for the other cohorts in the study, as was the GM AUC12 for Cohort I as a group [(2589 nanograms per hour per milliliter (ngxh/mL)]. As a consequence, the DSMB recommended on August 5, 2009, that the protocol be amended to utilize weight-based dosing of oseltamivir in subjects subsequently enrolled in Cohort I, and to employ the targeted AUC approach used for Cohorts II-V for this cohort as well. Based upon the PK data available as of that date, the initial weight-based dose to be evaluated for Cohort I is 3.5 mg/kg bid. A dose of oseltamivir 3 mg/kg/dose orally bid for 5 days (10 doses) will be administered to the first 9 subjects in each of Cohorts II-III. Additional subjects may be enrolled if the target AUC12 range is not achieved. The proposed dose for subjects enrolled in Cohorts IV and V will be 3 mg/kg/dose orally bid for 5 days (10 doses), although this dose may be adjusted prior to opening Cohort IV or V based on the dose required to achieve the target oseltamivir carboxylate AUC12 range in the previous cohort.
- Conditions
- Influenza
- Being tested
- oseltamivir (Tamiflu®)
- Keywords
- influenza, oseltamivir, Tamiflu®, antiviral, children, infants
- Medical subject headings
- Influenza, Human
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
oseltamivir (Tamiflu®)Drug
Oseltamivir is supplied as a white powder blend for constitution to a suspension. It is supplied in 100 ml amber glass bottles with 30 grams of powder for oral suspension, a plastic adapter, a plastic oral dispenser and a plastic measuring cup. Initially subjects in Cohort I received oseltamivir 30 mg orally twice daily for 5 days. The DSMB recommended on 05-Aug-2009 that weight based dosing of oseltamivir for subjects subsequently enrolled in Cohort I. Based on pharmacokinetic data available as of that date, the initial weight-based dose to be evaluated for Cohort I is 3.5 mg/kg twice a day. Cohort II and Cohort III will receive oseltamivir at 3.0 mg/kg/dose orally twice daily for 5 days. Cohorts IV and V will receive 3.0 mg/kg/dose orally twice daily for 5 days, this dose may be adjusted.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| oseltamivir (Tamiflu®) | Experimental | Not described Receives: Drug: oseltamivir (Tamiflu®) |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Oseltamivir Carboxylate AUC12 (Area Under the Curve).
The oseltamivir carboxylate AUC12 was derived from a series of five blood draws over 10 to 12 hours.
Measured: Day 3 of drug administration
Secondary outcomes (7)
Overall Reported Adverse Events (AEs) Thought to be Associated With Study Therapy.
Any event considered associated with drug that occurred post first dose of drug administration that was not present at baseline was considered an AE. Expected flu symptoms were not reported as AEs but were collected separately.
Measured: Duration of study, from receipt of the first dose of study drug and continuing through study visit Day 30 plus or minus 3 days.
Number and Characteristics of Adverse Events (AEs) Described as Neurological Events.
Any neurological event that occurred post first dose of drug administration that was not present at baseline was considered an AE. Expected flu symptoms were not reported as AEs but were collected separately.
Measured: Duration of study, from receipt of the first dose of study drug and continuing through study visit Day 30 plus or minus 3 days.
Incidence of Treatment Emergent AEs and Drug Related AEs by Cohort and Toxicity Grade
Any event considered to be related to the study drug that occurred post first dose of drug administration that was not present at baseline was considered an AE. Expected flu symptoms were not reported as AEs but were collected separately. The Division of AIDS Toxicity Tables (DIAIDS) were used to grade the events.
Measured: Duration of study, from receipt of the first dose of study drug and continuing through study visit Day 30 plus or minus 3 days
Incidence of Treatment Emergent AEs and Drug Related AEs by Cohort Leading to Discontinuation of Study Medication
Study drug was administered for 5 days; any event that occurred prior to the last dose of study medication that was considered related to an AE and that caused the subject to stop taking study drug.
Measured: Duration of study, from receipt of the first dose of study drug and continuing through study visit Day 5 plus or minus 1 day
Incidence of All Serious Adverse Events by Cohort and System Organ Class (SOC)
Serious Adverse Event (SAE) were classified by MedDRA System Organ Class (SOC). An SAE was reported if it met the following criteria and occurred after the first dose of study medication through the end of the study: death throughout study participation; life threatening; requires inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization during the period of protocol defined surveillance; results in congenital anomaly or birth defect; results in a persistent or significant disability; and an event considered serious by the PI.
Measured: Duration of study, from receipt of the first dose of study drug and continuing through study visit Day 30 plus or minus 3 days
Correlation of Clearance of Viral RNA by Culture With Pharmacokinetic Parameters by Cohort
The Spearman coefficient and the p-values were computed between the clearance of Viral RNA and Oseltamivir Carboxylate Area under the curve from 0 to 12 hours (AUC0-12)
Measured: Day to negative viral load for subjects positive at baseline
Correlation of Clearance of Viral RNA by Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) to Pharmacokinetic Parameters by Cohort.
The Spearman coefficient and the p-values were computed between the clearance of viral RNA and oseltamivir carboxylate Area Under the Curve from 0 to 12 hours (AUC 0-12)
Measured: From date of enrollment until the date of first documented absence of viral load by culture, assessed up to 10 days after enrollment.
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted24 Oct 2006 (estimated)
- Study startJan 2007
- Primary completionMar 2010
- Study completionApr 2010
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Publications (1)Papers the sponsor has linked to this study.
- Other trials for InfluenzaStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)The sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 1/2
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Non-randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 87 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Sponsor type
- US National Institutes of Health
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00391768
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- 06-0059
- Other IDs
- N01AI30025C, Roche WP-20749; CASG 114, N01AI30025
- Status last verified
- Feb 2010
- First submitted
- 20 Oct 2006
- Last updated
- 1 May 2013
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
Publications
Kimberlin DW, Acosta EP, Prichard MN, Sanchez PJ, Ampofo K, Lang D, Ashouri N, Vanchiere JA, Abzug MJ, Abughali N, Caserta MT, Englund JA, Sood SK, Spigarelli MG, Bradley JS, Lew J, Michaels MG, Wan W, Cloud G, Jester P, Lakeman FD, Whitley RJ; National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases Collaborative Antiviral Study Group. Oseltamivir pharmacokinetics, dosing, and resistance among children aged <2 years with influenza. J Infect Dis. 2013 Mar 1;207(5):709-20. doi: 10.1093/infdis/jis765. Epub 2012 Dec 10.
PubMed 23230059
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 1 May 2013. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Pharmacokinetic/Pharmacodynamic and Safety Evaluation of Oseltamivir (Tamiflu®) for the Treatment of Children Less Than 24 Months of Age With Confirmed Influenza Infection (CASG 114)
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00391768
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- 06-0059
- Conditions
- Influenza
- Keywords
- influenza, oseltamivir, Tamiflu®, antiviral, children, infants
- Phase
- Phase 1/2
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 87 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)US National Institutes of Health
- Study start
- Jan 2007
- Primary completion
- Mar 2010 (actual)
- Study completion
- Apr 2010 (actual)
- First posted
- 24 Oct 2006 (estimated)
- Results
- Posted 20 Jun 2011
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
The purpose of this study is to learn how to treat influenza in children less than 2 years of age. Tamiflu®, the drug being studied, is approved for treatment of children 1 year of age and older with influenza. Researchers want to learn more about the activity of Tamiflu® in the body to determine a dose of that is safe, well-tolerated, and effective in young children with influenza. Children less than 24 months of age with confirmed influenza will receive Tamiflu® 2 times a day for 5 days. Older participants will be enrolled first and younger children will be enrolled after the safety data is reviewed for older participants. Study procedures include blood samples, swabs from inside the nose, and body and nervous system evaluations. Participants may be involved in study related procedures for up to 37 days.
Detailed description
Oseltamivir is approved for prophylaxis and treatment of children 1 year of age and older with influenza. Influenza treatments for children under the age of 1 year are needed because mortality from influenza is high among this age group, even when there are no underlying medical conditions. Oseltamivir is frequently used off-label in children less than 1 year of age, with no data supporting the doses being used. Given the risk of severe or fatal influenza infection in infants, the lack of repeat dose pharmacokinetic (PK) data in children less than 2, the need for treatments in this population of children, and the fact that oseltamivir is being used off-label in this population, the current study will systematically study the PK and safety of oseltamivir in children less than 2 years of age with confirmed influenza to determine the appropriate dose to be used in these age groups. This data will be critical to pediatricians caring for these potentially gravely ill infants. This study is a prospective, age-stratified PK/pharmacodynamic (PD) and safety evaluation of oseltamivir therapy in children less than 24 months of age with confirmed influenza infection. Participants will be stratified by age into the following enrollment scheme at study initiation: 12-23 months (Cohort I), 9-11 months (Cohort II), 6-8 months (Cohort III), 3-5 months (Cohort IV) and 0-2 months (Cohort V). At study onset, Cohort II and III will be enrolled simultaneously. Cohorts IV and V will be enrolled sequentially by decreasing age groups predicated upon the PK and safety data from the preceding cohort. In the event of a public health emergency, the Data Safety Monitoring Board (DSMB) or Food and Drug Administration (FDA) may authorize the following modifications to the proposed enrollment plan: the opening of younger age cohorts without the full dataset from the next higher age cohort, the re-opening of previously closed cohorts to obtain additional data and/or the over-enrollment of any of the 5 cohorts. The oldest cohort (Cohort I) may be enrolled at any time during the study. The primary study objective is to define the PK of oseltamivir and oseltamivir carboxylate in children with confirmed influenza less than 2 years of age. The oseltamivir dose initially evaluated in Cohort I was the approved dose of 30 mg twice a day (bid). However, the oseltamivir carboxylate area under the curve (AUC)12 values for 5 of the 9 subjects enrolled in Cohort I as of August 5, 2009, were below the lower range utilized for the other cohorts in the study, as was the GM AUC12 for Cohort I as a group [(2589 nanograms per hour per milliliter (ngxh/mL)]. As a consequence, the DSMB recommended on August 5, 2009, that the protocol be amended to utilize weight-based dosing of oseltamivir in subjects subsequently enrolled in Cohort I, and to employ the targeted AUC approach used for Cohorts II-V for this cohort as well. Based upon the PK data available as of that date, the initial weight-based dose to be evaluated for Cohort I is 3.5 mg/kg bid. A dose of oseltamivir 3 mg/kg/dose orally bid for 5 days (10 doses) will be administered to the first 9 subjects in each of Cohorts II-III. Additional subjects may be enrolled if the target AUC12 range is not achieved. The proposed dose for subjects enrolled in Cohorts IV and V will be 3 mg/kg/dose orally bid for 5 days (10 doses), although this dose may be adjusted prior to opening Cohort IV or V based on the dose required to achieve the target oseltamivir carboxylate AUC12 range in the previous cohort.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Non-randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 1
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| oseltamivir (Tamiflu®) | Experimental | Drug: oseltamivir (Tamiflu®) |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- Up to 23 months
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Child
Key inclusion criteria (5 listed)
- Signed informed consent from parent(s) or legal guardian(s).
- Age:
- Cohort I: 12 - 23 mo. Cohort II: 9 - 11 mo. Cohort III: 6 - 8 mo. Cohort IV: 3 - 5 mo. Cohort V: 0 - 2 mo.
- Confirmed laboratory diagnosis of influenza by viral culture or rapid influenza diagnostic test within 96 hours prior to study enrollment.
- Duration of influenza symptoms less than or equal to 96 hours.
Key exclusion criteria (8 listed)
- Concomitant vomiting illness that would preclude ability to take drug.
- Immunocompromised subject (e.g., malignancy, congenital agammaglobulinemia, HIV).
- Documented renal impairment (e.g., polycystic renal disease, nephrectomy, renal transplantation, renal agenesis, dialysis requirement, renal failure, nephrotic syndrome at any time prior to enrollment, current receipt of diuretic therapy).
- Documented hepatic impairment (e.g., congenital hepatitis, biliary atresia, cholelithiasis).
- Gastrointestinal abnormality which might hinder absorption of an oral medication.
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| oseltamivir (Tamiflu®)Oseltamivir is supplied as a white powder blend for constitution to a suspension. It is supplied in 100 ml amber glass bottles with 30 grams of powder for oral suspension, a plastic adapter, a plastic oral dispenser and a plastic measuring cup. Initially subjects in Cohort I received oseltamivir 30 mg orally twice daily for 5 days. The DSMB recommended on 05-Aug-2009 that weight based dosing of oseltamivir for subjects subsequently enrolled in Cohort I. Based on pharmacokinetic data available as of that date, the initial weight-based dose to be evaluated for Cohort I is 3.5 mg/kg twice a day. Cohort II and Cohort III will receive oseltamivir at 3.0 mg/kg/dose orally twice daily for 5 days. Cohorts IV and V will receive 3.0 mg/kg/dose orally twice daily for 5 days, this dose may be adjusted. | Drug | oseltamivir (Tamiflu®) |
Primary outcome
Oseltamivir Carboxylate AUC12 (Area Under the Curve).
Time frame: Day 3 of drug administration
The oseltamivir carboxylate AUC12 was derived from a series of five blood draws over 10 to 12 hours.
7 secondary outcomes
Overall Reported Adverse Events (AEs) Thought to be Associated With Study Therapy.
Time frame: Duration of study, from receipt of the first dose of study drug and continuing through study visit Day 30 plus or minus 3 days.
Number and Characteristics of Adverse Events (AEs) Described as Neurological Events.
Time frame: Duration of study, from receipt of the first dose of study drug and continuing through study visit Day 30 plus or minus 3 days.
Incidence of Treatment Emergent AEs and Drug Related AEs by Cohort and Toxicity Grade
Time frame: Duration of study, from receipt of the first dose of study drug and continuing through study visit Day 30 plus or minus 3 days
Incidence of Treatment Emergent AEs and Drug Related AEs by Cohort Leading to Discontinuation of Study Medication
Time frame: Duration of study, from receipt of the first dose of study drug and continuing through study visit Day 5 plus or minus 1 day
Incidence of All Serious Adverse Events by Cohort and System Organ Class (SOC)
Time frame: Duration of study, from receipt of the first dose of study drug and continuing through study visit Day 30 plus or minus 3 days
Correlation of Clearance of Viral RNA by Culture With Pharmacokinetic Parameters by Cohort
Time frame: Day to negative viral load for subjects positive at baseline
Correlation of Clearance of Viral RNA by Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) to Pharmacokinetic Parameters by Cohort.
Time frame: From date of enrollment until the date of first documented absence of viral load by culture, assessed up to 10 days after enrollment.
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 1 May 2013.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
- Results publication: PubMed 23230059Kimberlin DW, Acosta EP, Prichard MN, Sanchez PJ, Ampofo K, Lang D, Ashouri N, Vanchiere JA, Abzug MJ, Abughali N, Caserta MT, Englund JA, Sood SK, Spigarelli MG, Bradley JS, Lew J, Michaels MG, Wan W, Cloud G, Jester P, Lakeman FD, Whitley RJ; National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases Collaborative Antiviral Study Group. Oseltamivir pharmacokinetics, dosing, and resistance among children aged <2 years with influenza. J Infect Dis. 2013 Mar 1;207(5):709-20. doi: 10.1093/infdis/jis765. Epub 2012 Dec 10.
Related trials for Influenza
Enrolling by invitation
Personalized Ventilator Settings for Patients on ECMO
Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome (ARDS), Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation
RecruitingPhase 2
BPL-1357 Against H1N1 Influenza Virus Challenge
Influenza, Human
Not yet recruitingPhase 1
Safety and Immunogenicity of Chimeric Hemagglutinin mRNA Vaccine Candidates
Influenza
RecruitingPhase 1
pH1N1 Blinded Challenge Study
Influenza
RecruitingPhase 3
A Study to Evaluate the Safety and Efficacy of MK-1406/CD388 for Prevention of Influenza (MK-1406-005/CD388.SQ.3.06)
Influenza
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
The record lists no contact. Use the official record to reach the sponsor.
32 sites in 2 countries: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 1/2 study testing oseltamivir (Tamiflu®) in people with Influenza, run by National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) at 32 sites in 2 countries.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 5 inclusion and 8 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 1 May 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 32 sites in United States, Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this combined phase mean?
Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 20 Jun 2011). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Oseltamivir Carboxylate AUC12 (Area Under the Curve). (time frame: Day 3 of drug administration). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00391768, which also lists 1 linked publication.
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 1 May 2013.