Carcinoma, Non-small-cell LungPhase 2NCT00406302
Immune Response on Neoadjuvant Therapy in Non-small-cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)
A Phase 2 study testing Docetaxel, oxaliplatin and cetuximab in people with Carcinoma, Non-small-cell Lung, run by Wolfgang Hilbe at 7 sites in Austria.
Trial summary
Primary objective is to assess the overall response rate (ORR) after induction therapy with docetaxel in combination with CDDP and cetuximab in patients with NSCLC stage IB, II, and IIIa. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 to 80 years
- Conditions the study is for
- Carcinoma, Non-small-cell Lung
- What is being tested?
- Docetaxel, oxaliplatin and cetuximab
- Type of treatment
- Surgery or procedure
- How many people
- 41 participants
- Where
- 7 sitesAustria
- Study dates
- Jan 2007to Jun 2011
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 to 80 years
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
Who may be able to join
- Histology and staging of the disease
- Histological confirmed NSCLC; histology may include: large cell, squamous cell or adenocarcinoma but no SCLC.
- Anatomically and functionally resectable NSCLC stage IB (T2N0) stage II (T1-2 N1, T3 N0) or stage IIIA (T3 N1) (see TAKO guidelines 2006, www.tako.or.at)
- Measurable disease according to RECIST criteria
- General conditions
- 18-80 years.
Show all 14Show fewer
- WHO 0-2; life expectancy of more than 3 months
- Effective contraception for both male and female patients if the risk of conception exists
- Adequate respiratory function, sufficient for necessary surgical treatment
- Adequate hematological function (Hb > 10 g/dl, ANC > 2.0 x 10 9/L, platelets > 100 x 10 9/L).
- Adequate renal and hepatic functions: total bilirubin within normal limits, serum creatinine within normal limits, in case of limit value the creatinine clearance should be > 60 ml/min, ASAT and ALAT < 2.5 x UNL, alkaline phosphatase < 5 x UNL.
- Initial work-up
- Complete initial work-up within three weeks prior to first infusion includes chest CT scan, abdominal CT-scan, brain CT scan if indicated, PET-scan, bronchoscopy and mediastinoscopy, pulmonary function. Within 7 days prior to inclusion laboratory investigations and biological work up.
- Signed initial consent prior to protocol specific procedures.
Who cannot join
- Diagnosis
- Evidence of brain metastases or other distant metastasis equivalent to stage IV disease
- History of prior malignancies, except for curatively treated non-melanoma skin cancer or in situ carcinoma of the cervix or other curatively treated cancer with no evidence of disease for at least five years
- Other serious concomitant illness or medical condition:
- Congestive heart failure or angina pectoris, except if medically controlled, history of myocardial infarction within 1 year from study entry, uncontrolled hypertension or arrhythmia
- History of significant neurological or psychiatric disorders, including dementia or seizure
Show all 19Show fewer
- Active infection requiring i.v. antibiotics
- Active ulcer, unstable diabetes mellitus or other contraindications to corticotherapy
- Current peripheral neuropathy WHO grade > 2
- Prior or concurrent therapy
- Prior chemotherapy or immunotherapy for NSCLC
- Prior surgery or radiotherapy for NSCLC
- Concurrent treatment with other experimental drugs, unapproved medical procedures or other anticancer therapy
- Concurrent continuous treatment with systemic steroids for antiemetic use, intermittent application is allowed
- General conditions
- Pregnant (absence to be confirmed by ß-HCG-test) or lactating patients
- Patients (M/F) with reproductive potential not implementing adequate contraceptive measurements
- Participation in other clinical trials with experimental agents or non approved medical procedures during study and within 30 days prior to study entry
- Psychological, familial, sociological or geographical conditions which do not permit medical follow-up and compliance with the study protocol.
Trial locations and contacts
7 sites in 1 country.
7 sites in 1 country
Austria7 sites
University Hospital, Internal Medicine
Innsbruck, Tyrol, A-6020
Hosptial Kufstein
Kufstein, Tyrol, A-6330
Prim. Dr. Bolitschek
Linz, A-4010
Prim. Dr. H. Schinko
Linz, A-4020
Hospital Natters
Natters, Tyrol, A-6161
OA Dr. Rainer Kolb
Wels, A-4600
Hospital Zams
Zams, Tyrol, A-6511
About this study
Official title: Multicenter Phase II Study Evaluating Docetaxel, CDDP, and Cetuximab as Induction Regimen Prior to Surgery in Chemo-naive Patients With NSCLC Stage IB, II and IIIA
Primary objective is to assess the overall response rate (ORR) after induction therapy with docetaxel in combination with CDDP and cetuximab in patients with NSCLC stage IB, II, and IIIa. ORR will be determined by the percentage of patients achieving objective response rates (CR + PR) according to the RECIST guidelines.
Read the detailed description
Primary objective is to assess the overall response rate (ORR) after induction therapy with docetaxel in combination with CDDP and cetuximab in patients with NSCLC stage IB, II, and IIIa. ORR will be determined by the percentage of patients achieving objective response rates (CR + PR) according to the RECIST guidelines.
Secondary objective is
- To evaluate pathological response determined by histological work up of the surgical specimens according to TNM stages.
- To evaluate the metabolic response determined by PET analysis.
- To assess overall survival (OS) (median survival time and percentage of 1-year survival). OS is defined as time elapsed from the date of patient inclusion until recorded date of death.
- To characterize and quantify toxic effects of the scheduled therapy. Safety profile and tolerability will be assessed by recording adverse events, clinically significant laboratory abnormalities, physical examination and vital signs. Toxicities will be evaluated according to the NCI-CTC Toxicity Criteria and adverse events which are not reported in NCI-CTC will be graded as mild, moderate, severe or life-threatening. All patients who received any of the scheduled therapy will be included in the overall toxicity analysis.
- To evaluate the immunological response determined by regulatory T-cells and immune activation markers, to define chemoresistance by pharmacogenomic testing.
- Conditions
- Carcinoma, Non-small-cell Lung
- Being tested
- Docetaxel, oxaliplatin, cetuximab, surgery
- Keywords
- NSCLC, non-small-cell lung cancer
- Medical subject headings
- Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
DocetaxelDrug
Also called Taxotere
75mg/m², day 1,22
oxaliplatinDrug
Also called CDDP
40mg/m², d1,2,22,23
cetuximabDrug
Also called Erbitux
400mg/m² (day1), 250mg/m² (day 8,15,22,29,36)
surgeryProcedure or surgery
28 days after end of induction chemotherapy
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
overall response rate (complete plus partial response) according to RECIST guidelines
Measured: June 2011
Secondary outcomes (6)
Pathological response
Measured: June 2011
Metabolic response
Measured: June 2011
Immunological response
Measured: June 2011
Overall survival
Measured: June 2011
Safety profile and tolerability
Measured: June 2011
overall response rate (complete plus partial response) according to RECIST guidelines
Measured: June 2011
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted4 Dec 2006 (estimated)
- Study startJan 2007
- Primary completionJun 2011
- Study completionJun 2011
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Publications (3)Papers the sponsor has linked to this study.
- Other trials for Carcinoma, Non-small-cell LungStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Non-randomised
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 41 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Wolfgang Hilbe
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC, Sanofi, TAKO - Tiroler Arbeitskreis Onkologie
- Responsible party
- Sponsor-investigator, Wolfgang Hilbe, Medical University of Vienna
- Investigators
- Wolfgang Hilbe, Prof. Dr., Principal investigator, University Hospital Innsbruck, Internal Medicine
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00406302
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- 2006-004639-31
- Status last verified
- Apr 2014
- First submitted
- 1 Dec 2006
- Last updated
- 29 Apr 2014
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- No
Publications
Fossella F, Pereira JR, von Pawel J, Pluzanska A, Gorbounova V, Kaukel E, Mattson KV, Ramlau R, Szczesna A, Fidias P, Millward M, Belani CP. Randomized, multinational, phase III study of docetaxel plus platinum combinations versus vinorelbine plus cisplatin for advanced non-small-cell lung cancer: the TAX 326 study group. J Clin Oncol. 2003 Aug 15;21(16):3016-24. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2003.12.046. Epub 2003 Jul 1.
PubMed 12837811Rosell R., et al. Proc Am Soc Clin Oncol 23: 618, 2004
Betticher DC, et al. Proc Am Soc Clin Oncol: 1824, 1999
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 29 Apr 2014. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Multicenter Phase II Study Evaluating Docetaxel, CDDP, and Cetuximab as Induction Regimen Prior to Surgery in Chemo-naive Patients With NSCLC Stage IB, II and IIIA
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00406302
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- 2006-004639-31
- Conditions
- Carcinoma, Non-small-cell Lung
- Keywords
- NSCLC, non-small-cell lung cancer
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 41 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Wolfgang HilbeUniversity, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC, Sanofi, TAKO - Tiroler Arbeitskreis Onkologie
- Study start
- Jan 2007
- Primary completion
- Jun 2011 (actual)
- Study completion
- Jun 2011 (actual)
- First posted
- 4 Dec 2006 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
Primary objective is to assess the overall response rate (ORR) after induction therapy with docetaxel in combination with CDDP and cetuximab in patients with NSCLC stage IB, II, and IIIa. ORR will be determined by the percentage of patients achieving objective response rates (CR + PR) according to the RECIST guidelines.
Detailed description
Primary objective is to assess the overall response rate (ORR) after induction therapy with docetaxel in combination with CDDP and cetuximab in patients with NSCLC stage IB, II, and IIIa. ORR will be determined by the percentage of patients achieving objective response rates (CR + PR) according to the RECIST guidelines.
Secondary objective is
- To evaluate pathological response determined by histological work up of the surgical specimens according to TNM stages.
- To evaluate the metabolic response determined by PET analysis.
- To assess overall survival (OS) (median survival time and percentage of 1-year survival). OS is defined as time elapsed from the date of patient inclusion until recorded date of death.
- To characterize and quantify toxic effects of the scheduled therapy. Safety profile and tolerability will be assessed by recording adverse events, clinically significant laboratory abnormalities, physical examination and vital signs. Toxicities will be evaluated according to the NCI-CTC Toxicity Criteria and adverse events which are not reported in NCI-CTC will be graded as mild, moderate, severe or life-threatening. All patients who received any of the scheduled therapy will be included in the overall toxicity analysis.
- To evaluate the immunological response determined by regulatory T-cells and immune activation markers, to define chemoresistance by pharmacogenomic testing.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Non-randomised
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 to 80 years
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Key inclusion criteria (14 listed)
- Histology and staging of the disease
- Histological confirmed NSCLC; histology may include: large cell, squamous cell or adenocarcinoma but no SCLC.
- Anatomically and functionally resectable NSCLC stage IB (T2N0) stage II (T1-2 N1, T3 N0) or stage IIIA (T3 N1) (see TAKO guidelines 2006, www.tako.or.at)
- Measurable disease according to RECIST criteria
- General conditions
Key exclusion criteria (19 listed)
- Diagnosis
- Evidence of brain metastases or other distant metastasis equivalent to stage IV disease
- History of prior malignancies, except for curatively treated non-melanoma skin cancer or in situ carcinoma of the cervix or other curatively treated cancer with no evidence of disease for at least five years
- Other serious concomitant illness or medical condition:
- Congestive heart failure or angina pectoris, except if medically controlled, history of myocardial infarction within 1 year from study entry, uncontrolled hypertension or arrhythmia
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| DocetaxelAlso: Taxotere75mg/m², day 1,22 | Drug | – |
| oxaliplatinAlso: CDDP40mg/m², d1,2,22,23 | Drug | – |
| cetuximabAlso: Erbitux400mg/m² (day1), 250mg/m² (day 8,15,22,29,36) | Drug | – |
| surgery28 days after end of induction chemotherapy | Procedure or surgery | – |
Primary outcome
overall response rate (complete plus partial response) according to RECIST guidelines
Time frame: June 2011
6 secondary outcomes
Pathological response
Time frame: June 2011
Metabolic response
Time frame: June 2011
Immunological response
Time frame: June 2011
Overall survival
Time frame: June 2011
Safety profile and tolerability
Time frame: June 2011
overall response rate (complete plus partial response) according to RECIST guidelines
Time frame: June 2011
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 29 Apr 2014.
- Background: PubMed 12837811Fossella F, Pereira JR, von Pawel J, Pluzanska A, Gorbounova V, Kaukel E, Mattson KV, Ramlau R, Szczesna A, Fidias P, Millward M, Belani CP. Randomized, multinational, phase III study of docetaxel plus platinum combinations versus vinorelbine plus cisplatin for advanced non-small-cell lung cancer: the TAX 326 study group. J Clin Oncol. 2003 Aug 15;21(16):3016-24. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2003.12.046. Epub 2003 Jul 1.
- BackgroundRosell R., et al. Proc Am Soc Clin Oncol 23: 618, 2004
- BackgroundBetticher DC, et al. Proc Am Soc Clin Oncol: 1824, 1999
Related trials for Carcinoma, Non-small-cell Lung
RecruitingPhase 1/2
Study of INBRX-106 and INBRX-106 in Combination With Pembrolizumab (Keytruda®) in Subjects With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Solid Tumors (Hexavalent OX40 Agonist)
Solid Tumor, Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
RecruitingObservational study
A Prospective ,Multicenter ,Non-interventional ,Real-world Study Observing Changes in Molecular Markers Osimertinib Targeted Therapy in EGFRm NSCLC
Non Small Cell Lung Cancer
RecruitingPhase 3
A Study Evaluating Sotorasib Platinum Doublet Combination Versus Pembrolizumab Platinum Doublet Combination as a Front-Line Therapy in Participants With Stage IV or Advanced Stage IIIB/C Nonsquamous Non-Small Cell Lung Cancers (CodeBreaK 202)
Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)
Active, not recruitingPhase 2
Datopotamab Deruxtecan (Dato-DXd, DS-1062a) in Advanced and/or Unresectable Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Metastatic Lung Cancer, Advanced Non Small Cell Lung Cancer
Not yet recruitingPhase 1/2
STAR0602 With Nivolumab in Non Small Cell Lung Cancer and in Metastatic Castrate-Resistant Prostate Cancer, and STAR0602 Alone in Thymic Carcinoma
NSCLC, Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Wolfgang Hilbe, Prof. Dr. principal investigator
University Hospital Innsbruck, Internal Medicine
7 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 2 study testing Docetaxel, oxaliplatin and cetuximab in people with Carcinoma, Non-small-cell Lung, run by Wolfgang Hilbe at 7 sites in Austria.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 14 inclusion and 19 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 29 Apr 2014. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 7 sites in Austria. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
overall response rate (complete plus partial response) according to RECIST guidelines (time frame: June 2011). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00406302, which also lists 3 linked publications.
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 29 Apr 2014.