AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00416403

Effect of Fluvastatin on Biomarkers in Women Who Are Undergoing Surgery for Ductal Carcinoma In Situ or Stage I Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing fluvastatin sodium and Breast Cancer Surgery Only - Arm III in people with Breast Cancer, run by University of California, San Francisco at 4 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Collecting samples of blood and tissue from patients with cancer to study in the laboratory may help doctors learn how fluvastatin effects biomarkers related to breast cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
fluvastatin sodium and Breast Cancer Surgery Only - Arm III
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
35 participants
Where
4 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Jul 2006to Jun 2011
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) or stage I breast cancer by stereotactic core or incisional biopsy
  • Planning to undergo surgery in 3-6 weeks
  • Patients undergoing re-excision due to evidence of tumor present at surgical margins are eligible
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Female
  • Menopausal status not specified
  • ALT and AST ≤ 10% above upper limit of normal
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • Able to tolerate statins
  • Willing to undergo 2 blood draws (separated by approximately 3-4 weeks) during study participation (control arm)

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • No other concurrent statins
  • No concurrent chemotherapy
  • No concurrent administration of any of the following:
  • Niacin
  • Propranolol
  • Cholestyramine
  • Cyclosporine
  • Digoxin
  • Erythromycin
  • Itraconazole
  • Gemfibrozil
  • Phenytoin
  • Diclofenac
  • Tolbutamide
  • Glyburide
  • Losartan
  • Cimetidine
  • Ranitidine
  • Omeprazole
  • Rifampin
  • Warfarin
  • No initiation of new hormonal therapy during study participation
  • Concurrent participation in other clinical trials (e.g., for DCIS or prevention) is allowed

Trial locations and contacts

4 sites in 1 country.

United States4 sites
  • Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02115-6084

  • University of Chicago Cancer Research Center

    Chicago, Illinois, 60637-1470

  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10065

  • UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

    San Francisco, California, 94115

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Randomized Phase II Biomarker Pilot Trial of Fluvastatin Use in Women With Ductal Carcinoma in Situ (DCIS) or Stage I Breast Cancer

RATIONALE: Collecting samples of blood and tissue from patients with cancer to study in the laboratory may help doctors learn how fluvastatin effects biomarkers related to breast cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is studying how fluvastatin effects biomarkers in women undergoing surgery for ductal carcinoma in situ or stage I breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine differences between measures of cell proliferation (Ki-67) in women with ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) or stage I breast cancer receiving neoadjuvant fluvastatin sodium.

Secondary

  • Determine whether statin use differentially affects specific types of DCIS/early-stage breast cancer (comedo, estrogen receptor [ER]-positive, ER-negative).
  • Compare differences between tissue staining of CD68, circulating macrophages, and regulatory T cells in these patients.
  • Assess the feasibility of using inherent susceptibility (mRNA polymerase chain reaction testing) to predict response to statins in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, controlled, single-blind, multicenter, pilot study. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms (arms I or II). Patients accrued as control participants are assigned to arm III.

  • Arm I: Patients receive oral fluvastatin sodium once daily for 3-6 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
  • Arm II: Patients receive oral fluvastatin sodium as in arm I at a higher dose.
  • Arm III (control): Patients do not receive fluvastatin sodium. All patients then undergo definitive surgery.

Patients in arms I and II undergo blood collection at baseline and at the time of surgery for biomarker analysis. Patients in arm III undergo blood collection at baseline and then approximately 1 month later. Tissue is collected from patients in all arms at the time of surgery. Blood and tissue samples are examined for biological markers, including Ki-67, C-reactive protein, cleaved caspase 3, HER2, CD68 gene, and estrogen and progesterone receptors by immunohistochemistry. Markers of inflammation (e.g., comedo necrosis macrophages and CD25-positive T cells), low-density lipoprotein, and cholesterol are also analyzed. Serum mRNA is measured by polymerase chain reaction.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 60 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
fluvastatin sodium, Breast Cancer Surgery Only - Arm III
Keywords
breast cancer in situ, ductal breast carcinoma in situ, stage IA breast cancer, stage IB breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Breast Carcinoma In Situ, Carcinoma, Intraductal, Noninfiltrating

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • fluvastatin sodiumDrug

    Given orally

  • Breast Cancer Surgery Only - Arm IIIProcedure or surgery

    Breast Cancer Surgery

Study groups in NCT00416403
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Arm IExperimentalPatients receive oral fluvastatin sodium once daily for 3-6 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Receives: Drug: fluvastatin sodium
Arm IIExperimentalPatients receive oral fluvastatin sodium as in arm I at a higher dose.
Receives: Drug: fluvastatin sodium
Arm IIIExperimentalPatients do not receive fluvastatin sodium. breast Cancer surgery only
Receives: Procedure: Breast Cancer Surgery Only - Arm III

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Change in proliferation after statin exposure, as measured by Ki-67 level

    Measured: up to 6 weeks

Secondary outcomes (3)
  1. Blood and serum markers, including C-reactive protein, cleaved caspase 3, HER2, CD68, macrophages and immunoregulatory CD25 T cells, estrogen and progesterone receptors, mRNA, low-density lipoprotein, and cholesterol

    Measured: up to 6 weeks

  2. Presence of comedo necrosis

    Measured: up to 6 weeks

  3. Safety

    Measured: up to 6 weeks

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted28 Dec 2006 (estimated)
  2. Study startJul 2006
  3. Primary completionSep 2007
  4. Study completionJun 2011

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
Single blind
Who is masked
Outcomes assessor
Enrolment
35 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00416403
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000522934
Other IDs
UCSF-047522, UCSF-H8409-26206-01, MSKCC-06041
Status last verified
Dec 2012
First submitted
27 Dec 2006
Last updated
13 Dec 2012
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Garwood ER, Kumar AS, Baehner FL, Moore DH, Au A, Hylton N, Flowers CI, Garber J, Lesnikoski BA, Hwang ES, Olopade O, Port ER, Campbell M, Esserman LJ. Fluvastatin reduces proliferation and increases apoptosis in women with high grade breast cancer. Breast Cancer Res Treat. 2010 Jan;119(1):137-44. doi: 10.1007/s10549-009-0507-x.

    PubMed 19728082

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing fluvastatin sodium and Breast Cancer Surgery Only - Arm III in people with Breast Cancer, run by University of California, San Francisco at 4 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 13 Dec 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 4 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Change in proliferation after statin exposure, as measured by Ki-67 level (time frame: up to 6 weeks). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00416403, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 13 Dec 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in