AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaNCT00417014

Combination Chemotherapy and/or Radiation Therapy in Treating Young Patients With Hodgkin's Lymphoma

A study testing chlorambucil, prednisolone and procarbazine hydrochloride in people with Lymphoma, run by Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as chlorambucil, vinblastine, procarbazine, and prednisolone, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill cancer cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 14 years
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
chlorambucil, prednisolone and procarbazine hydrochloride
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
358 participants
Where
No sites listed yet
Study dates
Start not givento not given
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 14 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Biopsy proven Hodgkin's lymphoma
  • Any stage allowed

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Not specified

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • Not specified

About this study

Official title: Hodgkins Disease Study

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as chlorambucil, vinblastine, procarbazine, and prednisolone, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill cancer cells. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) together with radiation therapy may kill more cancer cells.

PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying how well giving combination chemotherapy and/or radiation therapy works in treating young patients with Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Establish a uniform practice for the management of children with Hodgkin's lymphoma.
  • Document the long-term side effects of such management.
  • Establish whether or not children can be safely managed without staging laparotomy and splenectomy.
  • Establish whether or not chlorambucil, vinblastine, procarbazine hydrochloride, and prednisolone (CLVPP) is an effective alternative to mechlorethamine, vincristine, procarbazine hydrochloride, and prednisone (MOPP) chemotherapy.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients are assigned to 1 of 3 treatment regimens according to disease stage and presence of bulky mediastinal disease.

  • Involved-field radiotherapy (for patients with stage IA [nodal] disease): Patients undergo involved-field radiotherapy 5 days a week for 4 weeks.
  • CLVPP chemotherapy (for patients with all other stages of disease AND no bulky mediastinal disease): Patients receive CLVPP chemotherapy comprising oral chlorambucil, oral procarbazine hydrochloride, and oral prednisolone on days 1-14 and vinblastine IV on days 1 and 8. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 8 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
  • CLVPP chemotherapy and radiotherapy (for patients with all other stages of disease AND bulky mediastinal disease): Patients receive CLVPP chemotherapy as above. Patients then undergo radiotherapy to the mediastinum beginning 2 weeks after completing the last course of CLVPP chemotherapy.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed periodically.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 358 patients were accrued for this study.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Being tested
chlorambucil, prednisolone, procarbazine hydrochloride, vinblastine sulfate, radiation therapy
Keywords
stage I childhood Hodgkin lymphoma, stage II childhood Hodgkin lymphoma, stage III childhood Hodgkin lymphoma, stage IV childhood Hodgkin lymphoma, recurrent/refractory childhood Hodgkin lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Recurrence

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • chlorambucilDrug

  • prednisoloneDrug

  • procarbazine hydrochlorideDrug

  • vinblastine sulfateDrug

  • radiation therapyRadiation

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted28 Dec 2006 (estimated)

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Primary purpose
Treatment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
358 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00417014
Sponsor's protocol ID
CCLG-HD-8201
Other IDs
CDR0000454559, EU-20585
Status last verified
Dec 2006
First submitted
27 Dec 2006
Last updated
2 Aug 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing chlorambucil, prednisolone and procarbazine hydrochloride in people with Lymphoma, run by Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 2 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 2 Aug 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in