AzTrials
AzTrials

Alzheimer's DiseasePhase 3NCT00428090

Rosiglitazone (Extended Release Tablets) As Monotherapy In Subjects With Mild To Moderate Alzheimer's Disease

A Phase 3 study testing Rosiglitazone in people with Alzheimer's Disease, run by GlaxoSmithKline at 138 sites in 20 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

Rosiglitazone (RSG) has been tested and is approved as a treatment for type II diabetes mellitus, a disease that occurs when the body ineffectively uses glucose. RSG XR, the investigational drug, is an extended-release form of RSG. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 50 to 90 years
Conditions the study is for
Alzheimer's Disease
What is being tested?
Rosiglitazone
Type of treatment
Pill or oral medicine
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
862 participants
Where
138 sitesin 20 countries
Study dates
27 Feb 2007to 5 Sep 2008
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 50 to 90 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Clinical diagnosis of probable Alzheimer's Disease (AD).
  • MMSE score 10 to 23
  • Has not taken an approved AD therapy in last 30 days.
  • No previous hypersensitivity/intolerance to AChEIs
  • Have a regular caregiver.

Who cannot join

  • Diagnosis of vascular dementia.
  • Type I or secondary diabetes mellitus.
  • Type II diabetes mellitus treated with insulin, sulfonylurea or glipizide.
  • History or evidence of congestive heart failure, clinically significant peripheral edema or anemia.
  • History of significant psychiatric illness, major depressive disorder or current depression needing initiation of treatment.

Trial locations and contacts

138 sites in 20 countries.

138 sites in 20 countries

United States41 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Albany, New York, 12208

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Atlanta, Georgia, 30033

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Centerville, Ohio, 45459

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44120

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44195

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Deerfield Beach, Florida, 33064

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Delray Beach, Florida, 33445

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Denver, Colorado, 80218

  • GSK Investigational Site

    DeSoto, Texas, 75115

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Destin, Florida, 32541

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Fairfield, Connecticut, 06824

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Hialeah, Florida, 33016

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Jenkintown, Pennsylvania, 19046

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Kenilworth, New Jersey, 07033

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Las Vegas, Nevada, 89146

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Los Angeles, California, 90036

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Melbourne, Florida, 32901

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Memphis, Tennessee, 35105

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Middleton, Wisconsin, 53562-2215

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Nashville, Tennessee, 37212

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Newport Beach, California, 92660

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Norwalk, Connecticut, 06851

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73112

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73118

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Palo Alto, California, 94305

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19102

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Phoenix, Arizona, 85004

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Plantation, Florida, 33317

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Reseda, California, 91355

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Saint Paul, Minnesota, 55101

  • GSK Investigational Site

    San Antonio, Texas, 78229-3900

  • GSK Investigational Site

    San Antonio, Texas, 78229

  • GSK Investigational Site

    San Diego, California, 92120

  • GSK Investigational Site

    San Francisco, California, 94109

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Sunrise, Florida, 33351

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Syracuse, New York, 13210

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Tampa, Florida, 33647

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Toledo, Ohio, 43623

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Toms River, New Jersey, 08755

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Tulsa, Oklahoma, 74104

Other trials in United States

Germany35 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Achim, Lower Saxony, 28832

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Bad Homburg, Hesse, 61348

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Baesweiler, North Rhine-Westphalia, 52499

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Berlin, State of Berlin, 12163

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Berlin, State of Berlin, 12167

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Berlin, State of Berlin, 13125

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Berlin, State of Berlin, 13507

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Berlin, State of Berlin, 14163

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Bielefeld, North Rhine-Westphalia, 33647

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Bochum, North Rhine-Westphalia, 44892

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Chemnitz, Saxony, 09111

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, 50767

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Dresden, Saxony, 01097

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Dresden, Saxony, 01307

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Duisburg, North Rhine-Westphalia, 47051

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Ellwangen, Baden-Wurttemberg, 73479

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Gera, Thuringia, 07551

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Günzburg, Bavaria, 89312

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Halle, Saxony-Anhalt, 06122

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Hamburg, Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg, 20249

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Hamburg, Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg, 22083

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Hamburg, Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg, 22143

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Hanover, Lower Saxony, 30559

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Itzehoe, Schleswig-Holstein, 25524

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Jülich, North Rhine-Westphalia, 52428

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Leipzig, Saxony, 04103

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Munich, Bavaria, 80331

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Munich, Bavaria, 81675

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Nuremberg, Bavaria, 90402

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Schwerin, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, 19053

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Schwerin, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, 19055

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Tübingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, 72076

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg, 89073

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg, 89075

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Unterhaching, Bavaria, 82008

Other trials in Germany

Austria7 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Graz-Eggenberg, A-8020

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Hall in Tirol, A-6060

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Linz, 4020

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Linz, A-4020

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Vienna, 1030

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Vienna, A-1090

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Vienna, A-1130

Other trials in Austria

China7 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Beijing, 100083

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Beijing, 100730

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Guangzhou, Guangdong, 510370

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Shanghai, 200025

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Shanghai, 200030

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Shanghai, 200040

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Tianjin, 300052

Other trials in China

Hungary5 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Budapest, 1106

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Gyula, 5700

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Kaposvár, 7400

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Pécs, 7623

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Szeged, 6725

Other trials in Hungary

Russia5 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Moscow, 115522

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Moscow, 115552

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Moscow, 117049

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Saint Petersburg, 197022

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Saint Petersburg, 198103

Other trials in Russia

Bulgaria4 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Plovdiv, 4000

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Sofia, 1113

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Sofia, 1431

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Sofia, 1527

Other trials in Bulgaria

Chile4 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Providencia / Santiago, Región Metro de Santiago, 7500710

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Puente Alto - Santiago, Región Metro de Santiago, 8207257

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Santiago, Región Metro de Santiago, 7560356

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Viña del Mar, Valparaiso, 252-0997

Other trials in Chile

Estonia4 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Tallinn, 10138

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Tallinn, 10614

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Tallinn, 10617

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Tartu, 51014

Other trials in Estonia

Greece3 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Athens, 115 21

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Melíssia, 151 27

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Thessaloniki, 57010

Other trials in Greece

India3 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Bangalore, 560034

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Nagpur, 440010

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Tirupati, 517507

Other trials in India

Mexico3 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    México, 14000

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Monterrey, Nuevo León, 64660

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Saltillo, Coahuila, 25000

Other trials in Mexico

Pakistan3 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Karachi, 74800

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Lahore, 54000

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Lahore, 54590

Other trials in Pakistan

Puerto Rico3 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico, 623

  • GSK Investigational Site

    San Juan, Puerto Rico, 00918

  • GSK Investigational Site

    San Juan, Puerto Rico, 90660

Other trials in Puerto Rico

United Kingdom3 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Bradford, BD3 0DQ

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Derriford, Plymouth, PL6 8BX

  • GSK Investigational Site

    West of Scotland Science Park, Glasgow, G20 0XA

Other trials in United Kingdom

Croatia2 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Dubrovnik, 20000

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Zagreb, 10000

Other trials in Croatia

Philippines2 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Pasig, 1600

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Quezon City, 1102

Other trials in Philippines

South Korea2 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Seongnam-si, 463-707

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Seoul, 143-729

Other trials in South Korea

New Zealand1 site
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Auckland, 0622

Other trials in New Zealand

Peru1 site
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Lima, Lima 13

Other trials in Peru

About this study

Official title: A 24-week, Double-blind, Double-dummy, Randomized, Parallel-group Study to Investigate the Effects of Rosiglitazone (Extended Release Tablets), Donepezil, and Placebo as Monotherapy on Cognition and Overall Clinical Response in APOE ε4-stratified Subjects With Mild to Moderate Alzheimer's Disease. (REFLECT-1)

Rosiglitazone (RSG) has been tested and is approved as a treatment for type II diabetes mellitus, a disease that occurs when the body ineffectively uses glucose. RSG XR, the investigational drug, is an extended-release form of RSG. This study tests whether RSG XR safely provides benefit to people with mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease (AD). RSG XR is a new approach to AD therapy and this study tests whether one's genes alter the effectiveness of RSG XR. Glucose is used by cells to make energy that they need to live. Changes in the ability of cells to use of glucose can lead to diseases like diabetes. Glucose levels may be lower in the brains of AD patients, and their brain cells may also use glucose less well than in unaffected people. The proper function of brain cells may be critical to memory and thought. If brain cells use glucose poorly, this might impact AD. Drugs that help brain cells properly use glucose may help a person maintain normal memory and thinking. Data suggesting that RSG may help AD patients was first seen in a small study at the Univ. of Washington and then from a larger international GSK study. In the first study, those receiving RSG once daily for 6 months scored better on 3 tests of memory and thought than those who did not receive RSG. In the GSK study, those that benefited most from therapy with RSG XR had a specific genetic pattern. They lacked the gene that caused them to produce apolipoprotein E e4 (APOE e4). Subjects who have the APOE e4 gene may have two copies, one from each parent, or they may have only one APOE e4 gene meaning that they inherited either the APOE e2 or APOE e3 version of the gene from one parent. Subjects with one copy of the APOE e4 gene remained fairly stable while those with two copies of APOE e4 continued to worsen during the 6-month treatment. This study will directly test the effect of RSG XR on people who either have or lack the APOE e4 gene.

Read the detailed description

A 24-week, double-blind, double-dummy, randomized, parallel-group study to investigate the effects of rosiglitazone (extended release tablets), donepezil, and placebo as monotherapy on cognition and overall clinical response in APOE e4-stratified subjects with mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease. (REFLECT-1)

Being tested
Rosiglitazone
Keywords
apolipoprotein E, monotherapy, cognition, mild, rosiglitazone, Alzheimer's disease, moderate
Medical subject headings
Alzheimer Disease, Lymphoma, Follicular

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • RosiglitazoneDrug

    XR (extended release) oral tablets

Study groups in NCT00428090
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
RosiglitazoneExperimentalXR (extended release) oral tablets
Receives: Drug: Rosiglitazone
PlaceboOtherPlacebo (Double-Dummy to Match)
Receives: Drug: Rosiglitazone

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Change From Baseline (W0) in Mean ADAS-Cog Total Score at W24 as a Function of APOE e4 Status in Apolipoprotein epsilon4 (APOE e4) Negative Cohort

    The 11-item ADAS-Cog assessed a range of cognitive abilities including memory, comprehension, orientation in time and place and spontaneous speech. Items were evaluated by tests and clinician ratings on a 5-point scale. Scores ranged from 0-70 with higher scores indicates more dysfunction. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline is defined as value at W0. Estimated value was calculated by Active treatment minus Placebo. The adjusted means were presented. A hierarchical testing procedure was used to control for the two rosiglitazone dose groups and the three genetic subgroups. There was no adjustment for the donepezil versus placebo comparisons, which were included to assess the sensitivity of the trial to detect a treatment effect.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and W24

  2. Change From Baseline (W0) in Mean ADAS-Cog Total Score at W24 as a Function of APOE e4 Status in All Except e4/e4's Cohort

    The 11-item ADAS-Cog assessed a range of cognitive abilities including memory, comprehension, orientation in time and place and spontaneous speech. Items were evaluated by tests and clinician ratings on a 5-point scale. Scores ranged from 0-70 with higher scores indicates more dysfunction. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline is defined as value at W0. Estimated value was calculated by Active treatment minus Placebo. A hierarchical testing procedure was used to control for the two rosiglitazone dose groups and the three genetic subgroups. There was no adjustment for the donepezil versus placebo comparisons, which were included to assess the sensitivity of the trial to detect a treatment effect.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and W24

  3. Change From Baseline (W0) in Mean ADAS-Cog Total Score at W24 as a Function of APOE e4 Status in Full Population Cohort

    The 11-item ADAS-Cog assessed a range of cognitive abilities including memory, comprehension, orientation in time and place and spontaneous speech. Items were evaluated by tests and clinician ratings on a 5-point scale. Scores ranged from 0-70 with higher scores indicates more dysfunction. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline is defined as value at W0. Estimated value was calculated by Active treatment minus Placebo. A hierarchical testing procedure was used to control for the two rosiglitazone dose groups and the three genetic subgroups. There was no adjustment for the donepezil versus placebo comparisons, which were included to assess the sensitivity of the trial to detect a treatment effect.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and W24

  4. Change From Baseline (W0) in Mean CIBIC+ Global Functioning Total Score at W24 as a Function of APOE e4 Status in APOE4 Negative Cohort

    The CIBIC+ assessment comprised of a 7-point rating of severity (at baseline) and change (at indicated time points). It was rated on a scale of 1 to 7 as 1: markedly improved, 2.: moderately improved, 3: minimally improved, 4: no change, 5: minimally worse, 6: moderately worse and 7: markedly worse; higher score means greater dysfunction. It was based on interviews with the par. and caregiver by an independent rater. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at W0. Endpoint treatment differences which were adjusted to take account of missing data are derived. Estimated value was calculated by Active treatment minus Placebo. A hierarchical testing procedure was used to control for the two rosiglitazone dose groups and the three genetic subgroups. There was no adjustment for the donepezil versus placebo comparisons, which were included to assess the sensitivity of the trial to detect a treatment effect.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and W24

  5. Change From Baseline (W0) in Mean CIBIC+ Global Functioning Total Score at W24 as a Function of APOE e4 Status in All Except e4/e4's Cohort

    The CIBIC+ assessment comprised of a 7-point rating of severity (at baseline) and change (at indicated time points). It was rated on a scale of 1 to 7 as 1: markedly improved, 2.: moderately improved, 3: minimally improved, 4: no change, 5: minimally worse, 6: moderately worse and 7: markedly worse; higher score means greater dysfunction. It was based on interviews with the par. and caregiver by an independent rater. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at W0. Endpoint treatment differences which were adjusted to take account of missing data are derived. Estimated value was calculated by Active treatment minus Placebo. A hierarchical testing procedure was used to control for the two rosiglitazone dose groups and the three genetic subgroups. There was no adjustment for the donepezil versus placebo comparisons, which were included to assess the sensitivity of the trial to detect a treatment effect.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and W24

  6. Change From Baseline (W0) in Mean CIBIC+ Global Functioning Total Score at W24 as a Function of APOE e4 Status in Full Population Cohort

    The CIBIC+ assessment comprised of a 7-point rating of severity (at baseline) and change (at indicated time points). It was rated on a scale of 1 to 7 as 1: markedly improved, 2.: moderately improved, 3: minimally improved, 4: no change, 5: minimally worse, 6: moderately worse and 7: markedly worse; higher score means greater dysfunction. It was based on interviews with the par. and caregiver by an independent rater. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at W0. Endpoint treatment differences which were adjusted to take account of missing data are derived. Estimated value was calculated by Active treatment minus Placebo. A hierarchical testing procedure was used to control for the two rosiglitazone dose groups and the three genetic subgroups. There was no adjustment for the donepezil versus placebo comparisons, which were included to assess the sensitivity of the trial to detect a treatment effect.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and W24

Secondary outcomes (21)
  1. Change From Baseline (W0) in Mean ADAS-Cog Total Score at W8, W16, W24

    The 11-item ADAS-Cog assessed a range of cognitive abilities including memory, comprehension, orientation in time and place and spontaneous speech. Most items were evaluated by tests, but some were dependent on clinician ratings on a 5-point scale. Scores ranged from 0-70 with higher scores indicating greater dysfunction. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline is defined as value at W0. Endpoint treatment differences were adjusted to take account of missing data. It was evaluated at Baseline, W8, W16 and W24.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and up to W24

  2. Change From Baseline (W0) in Mean CIBIC+ Global Functioning Total Score at W8, W16, W24

    The CIBIC+ assessment comprised of a 7-point rating of severity (at baseline) and change (at indicated time points). It was rated on a scale of 1 to 7 as 1: markedly improved, 2.: moderately improved, 3: minimally improved, 4: no change, 5: minimally worse, 6: moderately worse and 7: markedly worse; higher score means more dysfunction. The scale was based on interviews with the par. and caregiver and was completed by an independent rater. It required separate structured 15-20 minute interviews with the par. and caregiver. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at W0. Endpoint treatment differences which were adjusted to take account of missing data are derived. It was evaluated at Baseline, W8, W16 and W24.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and up to W24

  3. Change From Baseline (W0) in Mean Neuropsychiatric Inventory (NPI) Total Score at W8, W16, W24

    The NPI assessed behavioral disturbances comprises 10 dimensions: delusions, hallucinations, dysphoria, apathy, euphoria, disinhibition, aggressiveness and agitation, irritability, anxiety and aberrant motor activity. The par. caregiver asked about behavior in the par. If "Yes", the informant then rates both the severity on a 3-point scale, 1: mild to 3: severe (total range: 0-36) and the frequency using a 4-point scale, 1: occasionally to 4: very frequently. The total domain score was frequency × severity. The distress was scored on 5-point scale, 0: no distress to 5 - very severe or extreme. A total NPI score can be calculated by adding all domain scores together; NPI total score: from 0-144 and NPI distress score: from 0-60, all with higher scores indicating more severe behavioral disturbance. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at W0.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and up to W24

  4. Change From Baseline (W0) in Mean Disability Assessment for Dementia (DAD) Scale Total Score at W8, W16, W24

    The DAD, assessed the ability of a par. to execute basic and instrumental activities of daily living (ADL) and leisure activities. The scale consists of 40 questions assessing basic and instrumental ADLs. This scale assesses a participants' ability to initiate, plan, and perform activities related to hygiene, dressing, continence, eating, meal preparation, telephoning, going on an outing, finance and correspondence, medications, leisure, and housework. Each item was scored as yes: 1, no: 0 and N/A: not applicable. Higher scores indicate less disability with a score of 100 indicating no disability and 0 indicating no functional ability. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at W0. The percentage score was calculated as (DAD total score/total number of applicable items) multiplied by 100. Endpoint treatment differences which were adjusted to take account of missing data are derived.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and up to W24

  5. Change From Baseline (W0) in Mean Short Term Memory Assessment Total Score (ADAS-Cog Q1 Plus Q7) at W8, W16, W24

    Change from Baseline in short term memory assessment score was assessed from a combined analysis of items 1 (word recall task) and 7 (word recognition task) of ADAS-Cog scale. Word recall task consist of the participants score was the mean number of words not recalled on three trials (maximum score 10) and word recognition task, to score this item the number of incorrect responses was counted (maximum error score was 12). Higher score indicating greater dysfunction. Total score is sum of individual score. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at W0. Endpoint treatment differences which were adjusted to take account of missing data are derived.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and up to W24

  6. Change From Baseline (W0) in Mean European Quality of Life -5 Dimensions Proxy Version (EQ-5D Proxy) Total Score at W12, W24 Assessed by Utility

    The EQ-5D Proxy was a 2 part scale used to assess the quality of life and utility benefit. The data for Part 1 is presented. It is a 5 dimensional Health State Classification. Caregivers were asked to respond as they feel the par. would on dimensions of mobility, self-care, usual activities, pain/discomfort and anxiety/depression. Answers to each question were recorded on a 3-point scale which indicates the level of impairment (level 1= no problem; level 2=some or moderate problem(s) and level 3=unable, or extreme problem with higher scores indicating greater dysfunction. EQ-5D Proxy assessments was performed at Baseline, W12 and W24. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at W0. Endpoint treatment differences which were adjusted to take account of missing data are derived.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and up to W24

  7. Change From Baseline (W0) in Mean European Quality of Life -5 Dimensions Proxy Version (EQ-5D Proxy) Total Score at W12, W24 Assessed by Thermometer (Visual Analog Scale [VAS])

    The EQ-5D Proxy is a 2 part scale used to assess the quality of life and utility benefit. The data for Part 2 is presented. It is a the visual analogue scale Thermometer which assessed caregiver's impression of par. overall health. The Thermometer has endpoints of 100 (best imaginable health state) and 0 (worst imaginable health state). EQ-5D Proxy assessments was performed at Baseline, W12 and W24. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at W0. Endpoint treatment differences which were adjusted to take account of missing data are derived.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and up to W24

  8. Time Spent Caring for Basic and Instrumental Activities Resource Utilization in Dementia (RUD) Scale at W12 and W24

    The RUD instrument was developed as a comprehensive tool to assess the amount of resource use among demented par. RUD assess both formal and informal resource use of the par. and the primary caregiver, making it possible to calculate costs from a societal perspective. Q1 relates to assisting par. with basic activities of daily living and Q2 relates to instrumental activities of daily living. The assessments was performed at Baseline, W12 and W24. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at W0. Endpoint treatment differences which were adjusted to take account of missing data are derived.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and up to W24

  9. Change From Baseline (W0) in Alzheimer's Carer's Quality of Life Instrument (ACQLI) Score at W12 and W24.

    The ACQLI was an assessment of caregiver quality of life. This instrument consists of 30 questions exploring various aspects of carer's quality of life. Each of the questions had a two point response and the 30 questions were summed to provide a total score. Items are assumed to be unidimensional (i.e., represent a single variable) and are scored 0/1 (false/true) before summation into a total score with a 0-30 range. To ease comparisons between scales, ACQLI scores were transformed to range between 0-100 (100: worse). The assessments was performed at Baseline, W12 and W24. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at W0. Endpoint treatment differences which were adjusted to take account of missing data are derived.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and up to W24

  10. Change From Baseline (W0) in Mini Mental State Examination (MMSE) Total Score at W24.

    The MMSE consists of 11 tests of orientation, memory (recent and immediate), concentration, language and praxis. Scores range from 0 to 30, with lower scores indicating greater cognitive impairment. The scale is completed by the investigator, based on the performance of the par. and takes approximately 5 to 10 minutes to administer. The assessments was performed at Baseline and W24. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at W0. Endpoint treatment differences which were adjusted to take account of missing data are derived

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and W24

  11. Change From Baseline (W0) in Glycosylated Hemoglobin (HbA1c) at W24.

    The blood sample was collected for assessments of HbA1c levels at Baseline and W24. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at W0. Endpoint treatment differences which were adjusted to take account of missing data are derived.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and W24

  12. Number of Participants With Adverse Events Defined by Severity

    An AE is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant, temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product. An AE included significant or unexpected worsening or exacerbation of the condition/indication under study, exacerbation of a chronic or intermittent pre-existing condition, new conditions detected or diagnosed, signs, symptoms, or the clinical sequelae of a suspected overdose of either investigational product or a concurrent medication. Number of participants with any AE and as per severity were reported. Refer to the general AE/SAE module for a list of AEs and SAEs.

    Measured: Up to W24

  13. Number of Participants With Systolic and Diastolic Blood Pressure (SBP and DBP), Heart Rate (HR) and Weight Values of Potential Clinical Concern (PCC) Any Time on Treatment (ATOT).

    SBP, DBP and HR of par. were recorded in sitting posture as vital signs, while body weight was measured without shoes and wearing light clothing at each visit. The blood pressure (BP) and HR values were identified as of PCC if the vales were out of the reference range (for SBP, 90 to 140 millimeters of mercury (mmHg), DBP, 50 to 90 mmHg, and HR >100 or <50 beats per minute [bpm]) or meet a change from Baseline criterion. For SBP it was increase from Baseline (high) if increased by more than or equal to (>=) 40 mmHg; decrease from Baseline (low) if decreased by >=30 mmHg. For DBP, increase from Baseline (high) if increased by >=30 mmHg; decrease from Baseline (low) if decreased by >=20 mmHg. For HR, increase from Baseline (high) if increased by >=30 bpm; decrease from Baseline (low) if decreased by >=30 bpm. For weight, increase from Baseline (high) if increased by >=7%; decrease from Baseline (low) if decreased by >=7%. Baseline was defined as value at W0.

    Measured: Up to W24

  14. Change From Baseline (W0) in 12-lead Electrocardiogram (ECG)

    Triplicate 12-lead ECG measures was obtained digitally, approximately one minute apart after the par. had rested in the supine position in a quiet room (no TV, minimal talking) for at least 10 minutes. Conduction intervals from the 12-lead ECGs were manually read and confirmed by an external cardiologist/vendor. The ECG parameters includes PR interval, QRS duration, QT - uncorrected interval, QTc Bazett (QTcB), QTc Fridericia (QTcF) and RR interval of Central Cardiologist are reported. The assessments was performed at Baseline and W24. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at Screening/Visit 1/W-6.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and up to W24

  15. Change From Baseline (W0) in Heart Rate (HR) Measured From 12-lead Electrocardiogram (ECG)

    Triplicate 12-lead ECG measures was obtained digitally, approximately one minute apart after the par. had rested in the supine position in a quiet room (no TV, minimal talking) for at least 10 minutes. Conduction intervals from the 12-lead ECGs were manually read and confirmed by an external cardiologist/vendor. The ECG HR of Central Cardiologist reported. The assessments was performed at Baseline and W24. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at Screening/Visit 1/W-6.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and up to W24

  16. Change From Baseline (W0) in Body Weight

    Body weight will be measured at all visits, without shoes and wearing light clothing. The assessments was performed at Baseline, W4, W8, W12, W16, and W24. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at W0.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and up to W24

  17. Change From Baseline (W0) in Hemoglobin

    Hematology parameters were assessed at Baseline, W4, W12 and W24. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at W0.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and up to W24

  18. Change From Baseline (W0) in Hematocrit

    Hematology parameters were assessed at Baseline, W4, W12 and W24. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at W0.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and Up to W24

  19. Change From Baseline (W0) in Periodic HbA1c Assessment

    HbA1c assessment was performed par. with type 2 diabetes mellitus or HbA1c >=6.5% at Screening only. HbA1c levels were assessed at Baseline, W12 and W24. Change from Baseline was calculated as value at scheduled time point minus Baseline value. Baseline was defined as value at W0.

    Measured: Baseline (W0) and up to W24

  20. Number of Par. With Hematology Data of Potential Clinical Concern Any Time on Treatment

    Haematology parameters were identified as of PCC (high [H], low [L]), if the values were out of the reference range (RR). The range for parameters was: platelet (100AV-500AV), red blood cell (RBC, 0.8-1.2), hemoglobin (L: female [F]:10, male [M]:11; H: F:16.5-AV, M:18), hematocrit (0.8-1.2), white blood cell (WBC, 3-15), neutrophils (0.75-1.5), lymphocytes (0.75-1.5), monocytes (0.75-2), eosinophils (none-2), basophils (none-2), mean corpuscle volume (MCV, 0.8-1.2), mean corpuscular hemoglobin (MCH, 0.8-1.2), mean corpuscular hemoglobin concentration (MCHC, 0.8-1.2), red cell distribution width (RDW, 0.8-1.2). Data for mean platelet volume (reference range not established) not reported

    Measured: Up to W24

  21. Number of Par. With Clinical Chemistry Values of Potential Clinical Concern Any Time on Treatment

    Clinical chemistry parameters were identified as of PCC (H, L), if values were out of RR: Alanine aminotransferase (ALT, none-120 [250% upper limit of RR, ULRR]), Albumin (0.75-2), Aspartate aminotransferase (AST,none-105 (3-64y), 137.5 (65+y), >250%ULRR), Alkaline phosphatase (ALP,none-312.5 (20+y), >250%ULRR), blood urea nitrogen (BUN)/Creatinine ratio (none-1.25), BUN (none-11), Chloride (80-115), Calcium (0.75-1.25), Carbon dioxide (CO2, 15-40) content, Creatinine (22, <50% lower limit of RR [LLRR]-155, >125%ULRR), Creatine phosphokinase (CPK, none-1.25), Gamma glutamyl transferase (GGT,none-2.5), Glucose (3.6-7.8), High density lipoprotein (HDL,0.65-none), Lactate dehydrogenase (LDH,none-1.25), Low density lipoprotein (LDL,none-2), Magnesium (0.5-2), Potassium (3-5.5), Phosphorus inorganic (0.5-1.5), Sodium (130-150), Total protein (0.8-1.5), Total cholesterol (none-1.25), Total bilirubin (none-1.95), Triglycerides (none-9). Data for Creatinine clearance not reported.

    Measured: Up to W24

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted29 Jan 2007 (estimated)
  2. Study start27 Feb 2007
  3. Primary completion1 Sep 2008
  4. Study completion5 Sep 2008

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
Double blind
Who is masked
Participant, Investigator
Enrolment
862 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00428090
Sponsor's protocol ID
105640
Status last verified
Apr 2017
First submitted
25 Jan 2007
Last updated
19 May 2017
Data monitoring committee
No
Individual data sharing
Yes: Patient-level data for this study will be made available through www.clinicalstudydatarequest.com following the timelines and process described on this site.

Publications

  • Gold M, Alderton C, Zvartau-Hind M, Egginton S, Saunders AM, Irizarry M, Craft S, Landreth G, Linnamagi U, Sawchak S. Rosiglitazone monotherapy in mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's disease: results from a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled phase III study. Dement Geriatr Cogn Disord. 2010;30(2):131-46. doi: 10.1159/000318845. Epub 2010 Aug 21.

    PubMed 20733306

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing Rosiglitazone in people with Alzheimer's Disease, run by GlaxoSmithKline at 138 sites in 20 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 5 inclusion and 5 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 19 May 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 138 sites in United States, Germany, Austria, China, Hungary and 15 more countries. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 19 May 2017). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Change From Baseline (W0) in Mean ADAS-Cog Total Score at W24 as a Function of APOE e4 Status in Apolipoprotein epsilon4 (APOE e4) Negative Cohort (time frame: Baseline (W0) and W24). The study lists 6 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00428090, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 19 May 2017.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in