AzTrials
AzTrials

Unspecified Childhood Solid Tumor, Protocol SpecificNCT00433394

Registration and Informed Consent Study for the Childhood Cancer Research Network

A study testing cancer prevention intervention and educational intervention in people with Unspecified Childhood Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by Children's Oncology Group at 21 sites in 2 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Collecting informed consent from parents of children with cancer to register with the Childhood Cancer Research Network may help the study of cancer in the future. PURPOSE: This study is collecting informed consent to register younger patients with cancer into the Childhood Cancer Research Network. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 20 years
What is being tested?
cancer prevention intervention and educational intervention
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
2,242 participants
Where
21 sitesin 2 countries
Study dates
May 2001to Jan 2011
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 20 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Child (< 21 years of age) with newly diagnosed cancer

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Not specified

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

21 sites in 2 countries.

21 sites in 2 countries

United States19 sites
  • Albany Medical Center Hospital

    Albany, New York, 12208-3419

  • Mission Hospitals - Memorial Campus

    Asheville, North Carolina, 28801

  • Fletcher Allen Health Care - University Health Center Campus

    Burlington, Vermont, 05405

  • Driscoll Children's Hospital

    Corpus Christi, Texas, 78466

  • Children's Medical Center - Dayton

    Dayton, Ohio, 45404-1815

  • Carole and Ray Neag Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of Connecticut Health Center

    Farmington, Connecticut, 06360-2875

  • Lee Cancer Care of Lee Memorial Health System

    Fort Myers, Florida, 33901

  • University of Florida Shands Cancer Center

    Gainesville, Florida, 32610-0232

  • Hackensack University Medical Center Cancer Center

    Hackensack, New Jersey, 07601

  • Cancer Research Center of Hawaii

    Honolulu, Hawaii, 95813

  • East Tennessee Children's Hospital

    Knoxville, Tennessee, 37916

  • Breslin Cancer Center at Ingham Regional Medical Center

    Lansing, Michigan, 48910

  • Norris Cotton Cancer Center at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center

    Lebanon, New Hampshire, 03756-0002

  • Jonathan Jaques Children's Cancer Center at Miller Children's Hospital

    Long Beach, California, 90801

  • Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minneapolis

    Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55404

  • NYU Cancer Institute at New York University Medical Center

    New York, New York, 10016

  • Advocate Lutheran General Cancer Care Center

    Park Ridge, Illinois, 60068-1174

  • St. Christopher's Hospital for Children

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19134-1095

  • Tod Children's Hospital - Forum Health

    Youngstown, Ohio, 44501

Other trials in United States

Canada2 sites
  • University of Alberta Hospital

    Edmonton, Alberta, T6G 1Z2

  • Montreal Children's Hospital at McGill University Health Center

    Montreal, Quebec, H3H 1P3

Other trials in Canada

About this study

Official title: Protocol for Registration and Consent to the Childhood Cancer Research Network - A Limited Institution Pilot

RATIONALE: Collecting informed consent from parents of children with cancer to register with the Childhood Cancer Research Network may help the study of cancer in the future.

PURPOSE: This study is collecting informed consent to register younger patients with cancer into the Childhood Cancer Research Network.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Obtain informed consent from parents (and the child, when appropriate) of children diagnosed with cancer (who are under 21 years of age) to register their child's name and address with the Childhood Cancer Research Network.
  • Obtain informed consent from parents (and the child, when appropriate) of children diagnosed with cancer (who are under 21 years of age) to be contacted in the future for possible participation in non-therapeutic research studies involving the parents and/or child.
  • Facilitate the systematic registration of pediatric and adolescent patients diagnosed with cancer into the Childhood Cancer Research Network.

OUTLINE: Consent is obtained from parents (and pediatric patients, where applicable) to register the patient's and parent's names and addresses with the Childhood Cancer Research Network, provide a copy of the pathology report to the Network, and contact parents in the future for possible non-therapeutic research studies involving the parents and/or child.

Information provided will be held in strict confidence.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Not specified

Being tested
cancer prevention intervention, educational intervention
Keywords
unspecified childhood solid tumor, protocol specific

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • cancer prevention interventionProcedure or surgery

  • educational interventionProcedure or surgery

Study groups in NCT00433394
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Stratum 1: No Consent for personal identificationExperimentalData to be collected for this stratum include histology, primary site, treating hospital, and institutional principal investigator. Data will be coded using the North American Association for Central Cancer Registries (N.A.A.C.C.R.) data standards for cancer registries.
Receives: Procedure: educational intervention
Stratum 2: Consent for personal identification - No ContactExperimentalData will be collected for this study include:child's name, parent's name, address, telephone number, child's date of birth, race, ethnicity, histology, primary site, treating hospital, and institutional principal investigator. Data will be coded using the North American Association for Central Cancer Registries (N.A.A.C.C.R.) data standards for cancer registries. No contact for future to ask me to consider taking part in Research Network approved studies
Receives: Procedure: cancer prevention intervention; Procedure: educational intervention
Stratum 3: Consent for personal identification - ContactExperimentalData will be collected for this study include:child's name, parent's name, address, telephone number, child's date of birth, race, ethnicity, histology, primary site, treating hospital, and institutional principal investigator. Data will be coded using the North American Association for Central Cancer Registries (N.A.A.C.C.R.) data standards for cancer registries Someone from the Childhood Cancer Research Network may contact me in the future to ask me to consider taking part in Research Network approved studies
Receives: Procedure: cancer prevention intervention; Procedure: educational intervention

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Informed consent collection to register with the Childhood Cancer Research Network

  2. Informed consent collection for possible participation in future non-therapeutic research studies

  3. Facilitation of systematic registration into the Childhood Cancer Research Network

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted12 Feb 2007 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2001
  3. Primary completionJan 2007
  4. Study completionJan 2011

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
2,242 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00433394
Sponsor's protocol ID
AADM01P1
Other IDs
COG-AADM01P1
Status last verified
Jun 2013
First submitted
9 Feb 2007
Last updated
27 Jun 2013
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing cancer prevention intervention and educational intervention in people with Unspecified Childhood Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by Children's Oncology Group at 21 sites in 2 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 27 Jun 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 21 sites in United States, Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Informed consent collection to register with the Childhood Cancer Research Network. The study lists 3 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 27 Jun 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in