AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerNCT00534274

Positron Emission Tomography Using 3'-Deoxy-3'-(18F) Fluorothymidine in Treating Women With Locally Advanced Cancer in One Breast Who Are Receiving Chemotherapy

A study testing 3'-deoxy-3'-[18F]fluorothymidine in people with Breast Cancer, run by UNICANCER at 24 sites in France.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Diagnostic procedures, such as positron emission tomography (PET) using 3'-deoxy-3'-(18F) fluorothymidine, may be effective in assessing the response to chemotherapy before surgery in treating locally advanced breast cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 65 years, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
3'-deoxy-3'-[18F]fluorothymidine
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
97 participants
Where
24 sitesFrance
Study dates
Nov 2006to Sep 2013
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 65 years
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Histologically confirmed unilateral breast cancer
  • T2 or T3, any N, M0
  • Unifocal by mammography and ultrasound
  • Negative for c-erbB2 by immunohistochemistry (IHC)
  • Planning neoadjuvant chemotherapy comprising anthracyclines and/or taxanes, alone or combined
  • Measurable disease by ultrasound
Show all 14Show fewer
  • Hormone receptor status not specified
  • ECOG performance status 0-1
  • Female
  • Menopausal status not specified
  • Hematologic, hepatic, and renal function normal
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • See Disease Characteristics

Who cannot join

  • Bilateral disease
  • Multifocal tumor
  • Invasive grade I lobular cancer
  • Metastatic disease
  • Stage ≥ T4 disease
  • Cutaneous invasion, major adherence, or inflammatory disease
Show all 14Show fewer
  • Tumor overexpressing c-erbB2 by IHC (HER 2+++)
  • Suspected clinical or radiological lesion (examined or not)
  • PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
  • Alcohol dependency or prior reaction to ethanol injection
  • Impossible to receive study therapy due to geographical, social, or psychological reasons
  • Prisoners or patients under supervision
  • PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
  • Participation in another concurrent therapeutic study with an experimental drug

Trial locations and contacts

24 sites in 1 country.

24 sites in 1 country

France24 sites
  • Centre Hospitalier Regional et Universitaire d'Angers

    Angers, 49033

  • Centre Paul Papin

    Angers, 49036

  • Centre Hospitalier de la Cote Basque

    Bayonne, 64100

  • Hopital Saint Andre

    Bordeaux, 33075

  • CHU de Bordeaux - Hopital Pellegrin

    Bordeaux, 33076

  • Polyclinique Bordeaux Nord Aquitaine

    Bordeaux, 33300

  • CHU Hopital A. Morvan

    Brest, 29609

  • Centre Regional Francois Baclesse

    Caen, 14076

  • Centre Jean Perrin

    Clermont-Ferrand, 63011

  • Centre de Lutte Contre le Cancer Georges-Francois Leclerc

    Dijon, 21079

  • Centre Oscar Lambret

    Lille, 59020

  • Marseille Institute of Cancer - Institut J. Paoli and I. Calmettes

    Marseille, 13273

  • CHU de la Timone

    Marseille, 13385

  • Centre Regional de Lutte Contre le Cancer - Centre Val d'Aurelle

    Montpellier, 34298

  • CHR Hotel Dieu

    Nantes, 44093

  • Centre Regional Rene Gauducheau

    Nantes-Saint Herblain, 44805

  • Centre Antoine Lacassagne

    Nice, 06189

  • Hopital de l'Archet CHU de Nice

    Nice, F-06202

  • Hopital Saint-Louis

    Paris, 75475

  • Hopital Tenon

    Paris, 75970

  • CHU Poitiers

    Poitiers, 86021

  • Centre Henri Becquerel

    Rouen, 76038

  • Centre Rene Huguenin

    Saint-Cloud, 92211

  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Bretonneau de Tours

    Tours, 37044

Other trials in France

About this study

Official title: Study of Positron Emission Tomography With 3'-Deoxy-3'-[18F] Fluoro-thymidine ([18F]-FLT) for the Evaluation of Response to Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy for Cancers of the Breast

RATIONALE: Diagnostic procedures, such as positron emission tomography (PET) using 3'-deoxy-3'-(18F) fluorothymidine, may be effective in assessing the response to chemotherapy before surgery in treating locally advanced breast cancer.

PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying how well positron emission tomography using 3'-deoxy-3'-(18F) fluorothymidine works in treating women with locally advanced cancer in one breast who are receiving chemotherapy.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Evaluate the efficacy of positron emission tomography (PET) utilizing 3'-deoxy-3'-(18F) fluorothymidine (^18F-FLT) to correctly identify response to neoadjuvant chemotherapy in women with locally advanced unilateral breast cancer.
  • Correlate PET-^18F-FLT results with histological response.

Secondary

  • Evaluate the correlation of early changes in tumor uptake of ^18F-FLT after the first course of chemotherapy with complete response after treatment completion.
  • Evaluate the correlation of early changes in tumor uptake of ^18F-FLT with histologic response in biopsies obtained after 1 course of chemotherapy.
  • Determine if the initial intensity of tumor uptake is a predictive value of response to chemotherapy.
  • Determine if initial intensity of tumor uptake of ^18F-FLT varies according to histologic type of tumor, indices of proliferation, and tumor cellularity before therapy.
  • Determine if the tumor uptake of ^18F-FLT during therapy varies according to histologic type of tumor, indices of proliferation, and tumor cellularity before therapy.
  • Evaluate the role of TK1 on the kinetics of ^18 F-FLT.
  • Analyze serum.
  • Research biomarkers of genomics, transcription, and proteomics.
  • Evaluate the toxicity of ^18F-FLT.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

Patients receive 3'-deoxy-3'-(18F) fluorothymidine (^18F-FLT) IV and undergo positron emission tomography (PET) before the first and second courses of neoadjuvant chemotherapy. Patients receiving bisequential chemotherapy undergo ^18F-FLT-PET before the change in drugs (usually the fourth or fifth course). All patients undergo a final ^18F-FLT-PET after the last chemotherapy course but before surgery.

After completion of study therapy, patients are followed for 1 month.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
3'-deoxy-3'-[18F]fluorothymidine
Keywords
stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • 3'-deoxy-3'-[18F]fluorothymidineOther

Study groups in NCT00534274
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
TEP FLTExperimentalNot described
Receives: Other: 3'-deoxy-3'-[18F]fluorothymidine

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Intensity of tumor uptake of 3'-deoxy-3'-(18F) fluorothymidine (18F-FLT) determined visually and correlated with histological or surgical response according to Sataloff criteria

    Measured: Post surgery

Secondary outcomes (7)
  1. Intensity of tumor uptake of 18F-FLT by standardized uptake value (SUV)

    Measured: Post surgery

  2. Variation of tumoral uptake as seen by positron emission tomography (PET) before, during, and after therapy as determined visually and by SUV

    Measured: Post surgery

  3. Intensity of the tumoral uptake of 18F-FLT on initial exam visually and by SUV

    Measured: post surgery

  4. Histologic parameters: type, grade, mitotic index, CCIS , and microbiopsy embols after first course of chemotherapy (and on microbiopsy before therapeutic change of sequence in patients receiving bisequential chemotherapy)

    Measured: post surgery

  5. Immunohistochemical evaluation (estrogen and progesterone receptors, c-erbB2, Ki-67, e-cadherin)

    Measured: Post-surgery

  6. Rate of thymidine kinase 1 (TK1)

    Measured: Post surgery

  7. Toxicity by CTC-AE v. 3.0

    Measured: Post surgery

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted24 Sep 2007 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2006
  3. Primary completionApr 2012
  4. Study completionSep 2013

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Primary purpose
Diagnosis
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
97 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00534274
Sponsor's protocol ID
FLT01 - UC-0140/0505
Other IDs
FRE-FNCLCC-FLT-01/0505, EU-20754, 2005-005166-37, 2005
Status last verified
Dec 2014
First submitted
20 Sep 2007
Last updated
16 Dec 2014
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing 3'-deoxy-3'-[18F]fluorothymidine in people with Breast Cancer, run by UNICANCER at 24 sites in France.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 14 inclusion and 14 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 16 Dec 2014. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 24 sites in France. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Intensity of tumor uptake of 3'-deoxy-3'-(18F) fluorothymidine (18F-FLT) determined visually and correlated with histological or surgical response according to Sataloff criteria (time frame: Post surgery). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 16 Dec 2014.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in