AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerNCT00544505

Pre-operative Chemotherapy in Operable Breast Cancer, Phase III Study Comparing a Short Intensive Pre-operative Chemotherapy With the Same Therapy Initiated Shortly After Surgery(Peri-operatively)(POCOB)EORTC 10902)

A study testing Fluorouracil/Epirubicin/Cyclophosphamide in people with Breast Cancer, run by King Faisal Specialist Hospital & Research Center.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

Pre-operative chemotherapy in operable breast cancer, phase III study comparing a short intensive pre-operative chemotherapy with the same therapy initiated shortly after surgery (peri-operatively) (POCOB) (EORTC 10902) Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 70 years, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
Fluorouracil/Epirubicin/Cyclophosphamide
How many people
10 participants
Where
No sites listed yet
Study dates
Sep 2007to Sep 2013
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 70 years
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Disease Characteristics:
  • Palpable, operable breast cancer that has been diagnosed by core needle biopsy (mandatory for T1c tumors) or fine needle aspiration within 21 days prior to entry
  • Stage T1c-4b, N0-1, M0
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Not specified
  • No bilateral breast cancer
Show all 47Show fewer
  • Prior/Concurrent Therapy:
  • No previous treatment for breast cancer
  • Biologic therapy:
  • Not specified
  • Chemotherapy:
  • No previous chemotherapy
  • Endocrine therapy:
  • Not specified
  • Radiotherapy:
  • Not specified
  • Surgery:
  • Core needle biopsy or fine needle aspiration within 21 days prior to entry
  • Repeated core needle biopsy permitted
  • Patient Characteristics:
  • Age:
  • 16 to 70
  • Sex:
  • Women only
  • Menopausal status:
  • Not specified
  • Performance status:
  • WHO 0-2
  • Hematopoietic:
  • WBC at least 4,000
  • Platelets at least 100,000
  • Hepatic:
  • Bilirubin no greater than 2.8 mg/dL (50 micromoles/L)
  • Renal:
  • Creatinine no greater than 1.3 mg/dL (120 micromoles/L)
  • Cardiovascular:
  • No congestive heart failure
  • No significant arrhythmia
  • No bilateral bundle branch block
  • No recent myocardial infarction
  • No uncontrolled hypertension (diastolic pressure greater than 110 mm Hg)
  • Other:
  • No male breast cancer
  • No pregnant or nursing women
  • No second malignancy except adequately treated:
  • Nonmelanomatous skin cancer
  • Cervical cancer

Who cannot join

None listed.

About this study

Pre-operative chemotherapy in operable breast cancer, phase III study comparing a short intensive pre-operative chemotherapy with the same therapy initiated shortly after surgery (peri-operatively) (POCOB) (EORTC 10902)

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
Fluorouracil/Epirubicin/Cyclophosphamide
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • Fluorouracil/Epirubicin/CyclophosphamideDrug

    Phase III Comparison of Preoperative vs Postoperative FEC (Fluorouracil/Epirubicin/Cyclophosphamide) in Women with Operable Breast Cancer

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Efficacy

    Measured: overall

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted16 Oct 2007 (estimated)
  2. Study startSep 2007
  3. Primary completionSep 2012 (estimated)
  4. Study completionSep 2013 (estimated)

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
10 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00544505
Sponsor's protocol ID
RAC#931-006
Status last verified
Dec 2011
First submitted
15 Oct 2007
Last updated
13 Dec 2011
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing Fluorouracil/Epirubicin/Cyclophosphamide in people with Breast Cancer, run by King Faisal Specialist Hospital & Research Center.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 47 inclusion and 0 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 13 Dec 2011. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Efficacy (time frame: overall). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 13 Dec 2011.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in