AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 3NCT00559858

Pyridoxine in Preventing Hand-Foot Syndrome in Patients Who Are Receiving Capecitabine for Advanced Colorectal Cancer or Breast Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing pyridoxine hydrochloride and quality-of-life assessment in people with Breast Cancer and Colorectal Cancer, run by Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust at 16 sites in United Kingdom.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Pyridoxine (vitamin B6) may prevent or lessen hand-foot syndrome caused by chemotherapy. It is not yet known whether pyridoxine is more effective than a placebo in preventing hand-foot syndrome. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
What is being tested?
pyridoxine hydrochloride and quality-of-life assessment
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
Yes, some participants may receive a placebo
How many people
270 participants
Where
16 sitesUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Dec 2004to Dec 2009
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of advanced colorectal or breast carcinoma
  • Hormone receptor status not specified
  • Receiving single-agent capecitabine chemotherapy
  • Measurable disease for response assessment, determined on an individual patient basis, using conventional clinical and/or radiological methods

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • ECOG performance status 0-2
  • Menopausal status not specified
  • Life expectancy ≥ 12 weeks
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 10 g/dL
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000 mm^3
  • WBC ≥ 3,000/mm^3
  • ANC ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Bilirubin ≤ 1.3 x upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Alkaline phosphatase ≤ 5 x ULN
  • AST and ALT ≤ 5 x ULN
  • Creatinine ≤ 1.5 x ULN
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 3 months after completion of study treatment
  • No other serious or uncontrolled illness which, in the opinion of the investigator, makes it undesirable for the patient to enter the trial
  • No medical or psychiatric condition which would influence the ability to provide informed consent

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 6 weeks since prior investigational agents
  • Concurrent radiotherapy allowed
  • No other concurrent chemotherapy or immunotherapy
  • No concurrent nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs NSAIDs) for the primary purpose of treating hand-foot syndrome (HFS) or cancer
  • NSAIDs for conditions other than HFS or cancer allowed

Trial locations and contacts

16 sites in 1 country.

16 sites in 1 country

United Kingdom16 sites
  • Basildon University Hospital

    Basildon, England, SS16 5NL

  • Primrose Oncology Unit

    Bedford, England, MK42 9DJ

  • West Suffolk Hospital

    Bury St Edmunds, England, IP33 2QZ

  • Addenbrooke's Hospital

    Cambridge, England, CB2 2QQ

  • Kent and Canterbury Hospital

    Canterbury, England, CT2 7NR

  • Derbyshire Royal Infirmary

    Derby, England, DE1 2QY

  • Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital

    Exeter, England, EX2 5DW

  • Queen Elizabeth Hospital

    Kings Lynn, England, PE30 4ET

  • Royal Albert Edward Infirmary

    Lancanshire, England, WN1 2NN

  • Mid Kent Oncology Centre at Maidstone Hospital

    Maidstone, England, ME16 9QQ

  • Peterborough Hospitals Trust

    Peterborough, England, PE3 6DA

  • Derriford Hospital

    Plymouth, England, PL6 8DH

  • Kent and Sussex Hospital

    Royal Tunbridge Wells, England, TN4 8AT

  • Great Western Hospital

    Swindon, England, SN3 6BB

  • Walsall Manor Hospital

    Walsall, England, WS2 9PS

  • Southend University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

    Westcliff-on-Sea, England, SS0 0RY

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: A Randomised Placebo-controlled Study Evaluating the Role of Pyridoxine in Controlling Capecitabine-induced Hand-foot Syndrome

RATIONALE: Pyridoxine (vitamin B6) may prevent or lessen hand-foot syndrome caused by chemotherapy. It is not yet known whether pyridoxine is more effective than a placebo in preventing hand-foot syndrome.

PURPOSE: This phase III randomized trial is studying pyridoxine to see how well it works compared to a placebo in preventing hand-foot syndrome in patients who are receiving capecitabine for advanced colorectal cancer or breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine whether pyridoxine can reduce the incidence of capecitabine dose modifications (dose delay and dose reductions) due to toxicity.

Secondary

  • Determine the incidence of hand-foot syndrome (HFS).
  • Determine the overall toxicity.
  • Determine the quality of life.
  • Determine the response to chemotherapy.
  • Determine the progression-free survival.
  • Determine the level of biomarkers which might predict the occurrence of HFS.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to disease (breast cancer vs colorectal cancer). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive oral pyridoxine hydrochloride 3 times daily beginning with the initiation of capecitabine chemotherapy and continuing until completion of chemotherapy.
  • Arm II: Patients receive oral placebo 3 times daily beginning with the initiation of capecitabine chemotherapy and continuing until completion of chemotherapy.

In both arms, treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Evidence of hand-foot syndrome is assessed at baseline and before each course of capecitabine. Quality of life is assessed at baseline and then every 6 weeks.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed at 6 and 12 weeks.

Being tested
pyridoxine hydrochloride, placebo, quality-of-life assessment
Keywords
palmar-plantar erythrodysesthesia, breast cancer, male breast cancer, colon cancer, rectal cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Colorectal Neoplasms, Hand-Foot Syndrome, Breast Neoplasms, Male, Colonic Neoplasms, Rectal Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • pyridoxine hydrochlorideDietary supplement

  • placeboOther

  • quality-of-life assessmentProcedure or surgery

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Incidence of capecitabine dose modifications (dose delay and dose reductions) due to toxicity

Secondary outcomes (6)
  1. Incidence of hand-foot syndrome (HFS)

  2. Overall toxicity

  3. Quality of life

  4. Response to chemotherapy

  5. Progression-free survival

  6. Measurement of biomarkers that might predict the occurrence of HFS

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted16 Nov 2007 (estimated)
  2. Study startDec 2004
  3. Primary completionDec 2009 (estimated)

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Supportive care
Allocation
Randomised
Masking
Double blind
Enrolment
270 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00559858
Sponsor's protocol ID
CRCA-CCTC-CAPP-IT
Other IDs
CDR0000576453, EUDRACT-2004-000325-29, EU-20786, ISRCTN82842634, CCLG-CAPP-IT
Status last verified
Dec 2008
First submitted
15 Nov 2007
Last updated
2 Aug 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing pyridoxine hydrochloride and quality-of-life assessment in people with Breast Cancer and Colorectal Cancer, run by Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust at 16 sites in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 2 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 16 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Incidence of capecitabine dose modifications (dose delay and dose reductions) due to toxicity. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 2 Aug 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in