AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00562718

Capecitabine and Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Nonmetastatic Breast Cancer After Surgery

A Phase 2 study testing capecitabine, adjuvant therapy and radiation therapy in people with Breast Cancer, run by University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as capecitabine, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
capecitabine, adjuvant therapy and radiation therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
50 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Sep 2004to Nov 2009
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed invasive adenocarcinoma of the breast, meeting 1 of the following high-risk criteria:
  • T3 or T4 primary tumor
  • 4 or more involved axillary lymph nodes (N2 nodal stage)
  • Completed surgical excision
  • No immediate reconstruction with autologous flap reconstruction
  • Patients having tissue expanders or implants placed prior to radiation may be enrolled at the physician's discretion
  • No residual breast cancer
  • Microscopically positive margins are allowed if a re-excision is not felt to be clinically justified
  • Candidate for radiotherapy
  • Must not require bilateral radiotherapy
  • No metastatic (stage IV) breast cancer by AJCC staging criteria
  • Hormone receptor status not specified
  • No CNS disorders

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Life expectancy ≥ 6 months
  • Karnofsky performance status 70-100%
  • Menopausal status not specified
  • Ambulatory
  • Hemoglobin > 9 g/dL
  • Platelet count > 100,000/mm³
  • ANC > 1,500/mm³
  • Serum AST, ALT, and alkaline phosphatase ≤ 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Total bilirubin normal
  • Creatinine clearance > 50 mL/min
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during study and for 30 days after the last study drug administration
  • No serious, uncontrolled, concurrent infection(s)
  • No diabetes with current or history of delayed wound healing or skin ulcers
  • No autoimmune connective tissue disorder
  • No prior unanticipated severe reaction to fluoropyrimidine therapy, known sensitivity to 5-fluorouracil, or known dihydropyrimidine dehydrogenase (DPD) deficiency
  • No other carcinomas within the last five years except cured non-melanoma skin cancer and in-situ cervical cancer
  • No clinically significant cardiac disease (e.g., congestive heart failure, symptomatic coronary artery disease, or cardiac arrhythmias not well controlled with medication) or myocardial infarction within the last 12 months
  • No other serious uncontrolled medical conditions that the investigator feels might compromise study participation, including any of the following:
  • Uncontrolled seizures
  • Psychiatric disability judged by the investigator to be clinically significant
  • Physically intact upper gastrointestinal tract
  • No malabsorption syndrome
  • No uncompensated coagulopathy
  • No patients whose breast size or body contour puts them at increased risk for skin desquamation from standard radiotherapy
  • Able to read and speak English

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • Fully recovered from surgery and chemotherapy with completely healed surgical wounds
  • At least 4 weeks since completion of prior chemotherapy regimen, excluding trastuzumab (Herceptin®)
  • Concurrent trastuzumab allowed at the physician's discretion
  • More than 4 weeks since prior participation in any investigational drug study
  • At least 4 weeks since prior and no concurrent sorivudine or brivudine
  • More than 2 weeks since prior major surgery
  • No prior capecitabine
  • No prior radiotherapy to the chest or ipsilateral lymphatics
  • No concurrent hormonal therapy during course of chemotherapy or radiation therapy
  • No concurrent allopurinol or cimetidine
  • Concurrent coumadin is allowed

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center at University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center - Dallas

    Dallas, Texas, 75390

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Pilot Safety And Feasibility Study Of Concurrent Capecitabine (Xeloda) And External Beam Irradiation In The Adjuvant Treatment Of High Risk Early Stage Breast Cancer.

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as capecitabine, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Capecitabine may also make tumor cells more sensitive to radiation therapy. Giving radiation together with capecitabine after surgery may kill any remaining tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying the side effects and how well giving capecitabine together with radiation therapy works in treating patients with nonmetastatic breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • To determine the safety and feasibility of concurrent capecitabine and standard external-beam irradiation in patients with high-risk early stage breast cancer.

Secondary

  • To determine the effects of concurrent treatment on cosmesis and wound healing at 1 year.
  • To determine the short-term (1-year) risk of recurrence of breast cancer in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

Patients undergo external-beam radiotherapy once daily, 5 days a week and concurrently receive oral capecitabine twice daily, 5 days a week Monday through Friday, for approximately 6-7 weeks.

After completion of study therapy, patients are followed at approximately 1 week, 1 month, 6 months, and 12 months.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
capecitabine, adjuvant therapy, radiation therapy
Keywords
stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer, stage IIIB breast cancer, male breast cancer, recurrent breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Breast Neoplasms, Male

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00562718
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Surgery and ChemotherapyExperimentalEligible patients had undergone surgery and chemotherapy for high risk breast cancer, defined as either a T3 or T4 primary tumor, or N2 by either clinical or pathological criteria.
Receives: Drug: capecitabine; Procedure: adjuvant therapy; Radiation: radiation therapy

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Overall Safety

    Primarily Grade 1 and 2 toxicities attributable to capecitabine

    Measured: 1 year

Secondary outcomes (2)
  1. Cosmesis

    Measured: 1 year

  2. Recurrence

    This population has aggressive disease with a high rate of recurrence and death within 1 year of completing radiation therapy

    Measured: 1 year

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted22 Nov 2007 (estimated)
  2. Study startSep 2004
  3. Primary completionSep 2009
  4. Study completionNov 2009

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
50 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00562718
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000574761
Other IDs
SCCC-072004-004, ROCHE-SCCC-072004-004
Status last verified
Apr 2019
First submitted
21 Nov 2007
Last updated
21 Aug 2020
Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing capecitabine, adjuvant therapy and radiation therapy in people with Breast Cancer, run by University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 21 Aug 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 23 Jul 2019). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Overall Safety (time frame: 1 year). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 21 Aug 2020.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in
Clinical Trial NCT00562718 | AzTrials