AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00633750

Erlotinib in Treating Patients With Breast Cancer That Can Be Removed by Surgery

A Phase 2 study testing erlotinib hydrochloride, TUNEL assay and protein expression analysis in people with Breast Cancer, run by Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center at 5 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Erlotinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Giving erlotinib before surgery may make the tumor smaller and reduce the amount of normal tissue that needs to be removed. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
erlotinib hydrochloride, TUNEL assay and protein expression analysis
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
50 participants
Where
5 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Aug 2002to Oct 2007
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Clinical stage I or II (T1 or T2, N0 or N1) invasive mammary carcinoma
  • Diagnosis may be made by fine needle aspiration cytology or core biopsy
  • A repeat core biopsy is not required for patients who have a paraffin embedded diagnostic core biopsy specimen available for immunohistochemical staining

Who cannot join

  • Patients with locally advanced disease who are planning to undergo preoperative neoadjuvant therapy are not eligible*
  • Locally advanced disease includes any of the following:
  • Primary tumor ≥ 5 cm (T3)
  • Tumor of any size with direct extension to the chest wall or skin (T4a-c)
  • Inflammatory breast cancer (T4d)
  • Fixed axillary lymph node metastases (N2)
Show all 30Show fewer
  • Metastasis to ipsilateral internal mammary node (N3) NOTE: *Patients with primary tumors ≥ 5 cm (T3) or tumors involving the chest wall or skin who are not candidates for preoperative chemotherapy or who decline preoperative chemotherapy are eligible
  • Measurable residual tumor at the primary site
  • Measurable disease is defined as any mass that can be reproducibly measured by physical examination
  • Planning to undergo surgical treatment with either segmental resection or total mastectomy
  • Patients with a prior history of contralateral breast cancer are eligible if they have no evidence of recurrence of their initial primary breast cancer
  • No locally recurrent breast cancer
  • No evidence of distant metastatic disease (i.e., lung, liver, bone, or brain metastases)
  • Hormone receptor status not specified
  • PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
  • Menopausal status not specified
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status 0-1
  • ANC ≥ 1,000/mm^3
  • Creatinine ≤ 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Total bilirubin ≤ 1.5 times ULN
  • Serum glutamic oxaloacetic transminase (SGOT) and serum glutamic pyruvic transminase (SGPT) ≤ 1.5 times ULN
  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No serious medical illness that, in the judgement of the treating physician, places the patient at high risk of operative mortality
  • PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior chemotherapy for this primary breast cancer
  • At least 7 days since prior tamoxifen or raloxifene as a preventive agent

Trial locations and contacts

5 sites in 1 country.

5 sites in 1 country

United States5 sites
  • University of Alabama, Birmingham

    Birmingham, Alabama, 35249

  • Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02115

  • Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Chapel Hill, North Carolina, 27514

  • Meharry Medical College

    Nashville, Tennessee, 37208

  • Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center

    Nashville, Tennessee, 37232

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase II Trial of OSI-774 (Tarceva), a Human Epidermal Growth Factor (HER) (erbB, Also Known as Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor, EGFR) Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor, in Treatment-Naïve Operable Breast Cancer

RATIONALE: Erlotinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Giving erlotinib before surgery may make the tumor smaller and reduce the amount of normal tissue that needs to be removed.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well erlotinib works in treating patients with breast cancer that can be removed by surgery.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • To determine the in situ antitumor effect of neoadjuvant erlotinib hydrochloride as measured by a reduction in Ki67 and/or an increase in terminal deoxynucleotidyl transferase-mediated deoxyuridine triphosphate-biotin nick end labeling (TUNEL)-positive tumor cells in patients with treatment-naive, operable breast cancer.

Secondary

  • To identify a molecular profile, based on measurements of Estrogen Receptor (ER), Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor (EGFR), and a Human Epithelial Growth Factor Receptor-2(HER2), and protein expression profiles in patients with treatment-naïve, operable breast cancer that is responsive to erlotinib hydrochloride.
  • To correlate tumor concentrations of erlotinib hydrochloride with serum levels immediately before surgery.

OUTLINE: This is a multi-center study.

Patients receive oral erlotinib hydrochloride once daily for 5-14 days. Patients then undergo surgical resection within 24 hours after the last dose of erlotinib hydrochloride.

Tumor tissue samples are collected at baseline and during surgery for correlative laboratory studies. Tissue samples are stained for ER, HER2, and EGFR levels, proliferation (Ki67), and apoptosis (TUNEL) by immunohistochemistry. Levels of erlotinib hydrochloride in tissue samples are measured by matrix-assisted laser desorption/ionization mass spectrometry. Blood samples are collected on the day of surgery. Levels of erlotinib hydrochloride in blood samples are measured by liquid chromatography/mass spectrometry.

Patients are followed within 6 weeks after surgery.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
erlotinib hydrochloride, TUNEL assay, protein expression analysis, immunohistochemistry staining method, laboratory biomarker analysis
Keywords
stage I breast cancer, stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer, stage IIIB breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • erlotinib hydrochlorideDrug

    Also called OSI-774, erlotonib

    Tarceva will be given orally at a dose of 150 mg/day for 5-14 days. Patients are to undergo surgical resection of their tumor within 24 hours of the last dose of Tarceva.

  • TUNEL assayGenetic

    Used to assess drug-induced changes in tumor cell proliferation and cell death in pre-therapy and surgical specimens

  • protein expression analysisGenetic

    Used to assess drug-induced changes in tumor cell proliferation and cell death in pre-therapy and surgical specimens

  • immunohistochemistry staining methodOther

    Used to assess drug-induced changes in tumor cell proliferation and cell death in pre-therapy and surgical specimens

  • laboratory biomarker analysisOther

    Used to assess level of expression of genetic markers in pre-therapy and surgical specimens

  • liquid chromatographyOther

    Also called (LC/MS)

    Used to determine blood plasma levels of Erlotinib on the day of surgery

  • mass spectrometryOther

    Also called (LC/MS)

    Used to determine blood plasma levels of Erlotinib on the day of surgery

  • matrix-assisted laser desorption ionization mass spectrometryOther

    Also called MALDI MS

    After treatment and following surgery, intervention will be used to determine Tarceva levels in tissue

  • therapeutic conventional surgeryProcedure or surgery

    Surgical treatment will occur within 24-hours following completion of therapy.

Study groups in NCT00633750
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
TarcevaExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: erlotinib hydrochloride; Genetic: TUNEL assay; Genetic: protein expression analysis; Other: immunohistochemistry staining method; Other: laboratory biomarker analysis; Other: liquid chromatography; Other: mass spectrometry; Other: matrix-assisted laser desorption ionization mass spectrometry; Procedure: therapeutic conventional surgery

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Number of Participants Experiencing in Situ Anti-tumor Effect of Tarceva

    In situ anti-tumor effect of Tarceva as measured by a minimum 75% reduction in Ki67 compared to pre-treatment tumor cells in patients with operable breast cancer.

    Measured: 5-14 days

Secondary outcomes (2)
  1. Molecular Profile of Participants Who Are Responsive to Tarceva

    Determined by estrogen receptor status (ER) and human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2) status, which are measured by staining of 200-500 tumor cells and noting the number stained. Positive = > 10% of cell show staining, negative = < 10% of cells show staining

    Measured: at 5-14 days

  2. Average Post-treatment Plasma Level of Erlotinib Hydrochloride

    Post-treatment plasma level in µmol/L of erlotinib hydrochloride

    Measured: After last dose of Tarceva, at 5-14 days, and before surgery

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted12 Mar 2008 (estimated)
  2. Study startAug 2002
  3. Primary completionOct 2007
  4. Study completionOct 2007

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
50 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00633750
Sponsor's protocol ID
VICC BRE 0222
Other IDs
VU-VICC-BRE-0222, VU-VICC-020448, P50CA098131, R01CA080195
Status last verified
Jul 2012
First submitted
11 Mar 2008
Last updated
5 Sep 2012
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing erlotinib hydrochloride, TUNEL assay and protein expression analysis in people with Breast Cancer, run by Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center at 5 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 3 inclusion and 30 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 5 Sep 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 5 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 5 Sep 2012). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Number of Participants Experiencing in Situ Anti-tumor Effect of Tarceva (time frame: 5-14 days). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 5 Sep 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in