AzTrials
AzTrials

Metastatic Renal Cell CarcinomaNCT00684645

Non-Interventional Study (NIS) In Patients With Advanced And/Or Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma (mRCC) Treated With SUTENT®

An observational study of Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma, run by Pfizer at 20 sites in Czechia.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

Primary objective: to increase knowledge about safety, tolerability, quality of life and efficacy under conditions of routine use of SUTENT®. Secondary objectives: treatment response, hypothyroidism prevalence.The efficacy will be assessed using the Objective Response Rate, Time to Progression based on the RECIST… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma
What is being tested?
SUTENT
Type of treatment
Pill or oral medicine
How many people
186 participants
Where
20 sitesCzechia
Study dates
Jun 2008to Apr 2011
Phase
Observational
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Study population: Patients with metastatic and/or advanced renal cell carcinoma after failure of cytokines therapy.

Who may be able to join

  • Patients with advanced or metastatic renal cell carcinoma.

Who cannot join

  • No previous cytokines therapy.

Trial locations and contacts

20 sites in 1 country.

20 sites in 1 country

Czechia20 sites
  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Brno, 625 00

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Brno, 656 53

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Brno, 656 91

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    České Budějovice, 370 87

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Chomutov, 430 12

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Fryštát, 735 06

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Hradec Králové, 500 05

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Jihlava, 586 33

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Liberec, 460 63

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Nová Ves pod Pleší, 26204

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Nový Jičín, 741 01

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Ostrava, 703 84

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Ostrava, 708 52

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Pardubice, 532 03

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Pilsen, 301 00

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Prague, 100 34

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Prague, 128 08

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Prague, 140 59

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Prague, 150 00

  • Pfizer Investigational Site

    Zlín, 639 00

Other trials in Czechia

About this study

Official title: Non-Interventional Study In Patients With Advanced And/Or Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma (mRCC) Treated With SUTENT®

Primary objective: to increase knowledge about safety, tolerability, quality of life and efficacy under conditions of routine use of SUTENT®. Secondary objectives: treatment response, hypothyroidism prevalence.The efficacy will be assessed using the Objective Response Rate, Time to Progression based on the RECIST criteria and the ECOG performance data.

Read the detailed description

180 patients will be enrolled at 20 key oncological centres, the sample size is sufficient for exploratory analysis.

Being tested
SUTENT
Keywords
Safety and tolerability of SUTENT® in patients with metastatic or advanced renal cell carcinoma after failure of cytokines in real-life setting.
Medical subject headings
Carcinoma, Renal Cell

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • SUTENTDrug

    SUTENT® hard gelatin capsules containing 12.5 mg, 25 mg or 50 mg equivalent of sunitinib malate; daily dosage of 50 mg for 4 consecutive weeks followed by a 2-week rest period. Sutent is administered until disease progression or occurrence of unacceptable toxicity.

Study groups in NCT00684645
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Patients treated with SUTENT®Patients with metastatic or advanced renal cell carcinoma after failure of cytokines therapy.
Receives: Drug: SUTENT

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Percentage of Participants With Objective Response

    Percentage of participants with objective response based assessment of confirmed complete response (CR) or confirmed partial response (PR). CR is defined as the disappearance of all target lesions. PR is defined as at least 30% decrease in the sum of the longest dimensions of the target lesions taking as a reference the baseline sum longest dimensions.

    Measured: 12 months

  2. Progression-free Survival (PFS)

    The period from study entry until disease progression, death, or date of last contact.

    Measured: Baseline to measured progressive disease (up to 12 months)

  3. Overall Survival (OS)

    OS is the duration from enrollment to death.

    Measured: Baseline to date of death (up to 12 months)

  4. Percentage of Participants With Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status at Week 6

    Following are ECOG grades. 0: Fully active, perform all pre-disease activities without restriction. 1: Restricted in physically strenuous activity but ambulatory, carry out work of a light or sedentary nature. 2: Ambulatory, capable of selfcare, unable to carry out any work activities, up and about more than (>) 50% of waking hours. 3: Capable of limited selfcare, confined to bed or chair >50% of waking hours. 4: Completely disabled, not capable of any selfcare, totally confined to bed or chair. 5: Dead. Participants in "Not reported" category were on study, had no data for this time point.

    Measured: Week 6

  5. Percentage of Participants With Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status at Month 3

    Following are ECOG grades. 0: Fully active, perform all pre-disease activities without restriction. 1: Restricted in physically strenuous activity but ambulatory, carry out work of a light or sedentary nature. 2: Ambulatory, capable of selfcare, unable to carry out any work activities, up and about more than (>) 50% of waking hours. 3: Capable of limited selfcare, confined to bed or chair >50% of waking hours. 4: Completely disabled, not capable of any selfcare, totally confined to bed or chair. 5: Dead. Participants in "Not reported" category were on study, had no data for this time point.

    Measured: Month 3

  6. Percentage of Participants With Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status at Month 6

    Following are ECOG grades. 0: Fully active, perform all pre-disease activities without restriction. 1: Restricted in physically strenuous activity but ambulatory, carry out work of a light or sedentary nature. 2: Ambulatory, capable of selfcare, unable to carry out any work activities, up and about more than (>) 50% of waking hours. 3: Capable of limited selfcare, confined to bed or chair >50% of waking hours. 4: Completely disabled, not capable of any selfcare, totally confined to bed or chair. 5: Dead. Participants in "Not reported" category were on study, had no data for this time point.

    Measured: Month 6

  7. Percentage of Participants With Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status at Month 9

    Following are ECOG grades. 0: Fully active, perform all pre-disease activities without restriction. 1: Restricted in physically strenuous activity but ambulatory, carry out work of a light or sedentary nature. 2: Ambulatory, capable of selfcare, unable to carry out any work activities, up and about more than (>) 50% of waking hours. 3: Capable of limited selfcare, confined to bed or chair >50% of waking hours. 4: Completely disabled, not capable of any selfcare, totally confined to bed or chair. 5: Dead. Participants in "Not reported" category were on study, had no data for this time point.

    Measured: Month 9

  8. Percentage of Participants With Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status at Month 12

    Following are ECOG grades. 0: Fully active, perform all pre-disease activities without restriction. 1: Restricted in physically strenuous activity but ambulatory, carry out work of a light or sedentary nature. 2: Ambulatory, capable of selfcare, unable to carry out any work activities, up and about more than (>) 50% of waking hours. 3: Capable of limited selfcare, confined to bed or chair >50% of waking hours. 4: Completely disabled, not capable of any selfcare, totally confined to bed or chair. 5: Dead. Participants in "Not reported" category were on study, had no data for this time point.

    Measured: Month 12

  9. Correlation Between Sunitinib-induced Hypertension and Tumor Response to Treatment (PFS)

    Sunitinib-induced hypertension was determined using blood pressure recorded at each postbaseline visit. Once participants were identified as having sunitinib-induced hypertension, they retained that status at subsequent visits. PFS is the time from start of study treatment to first documentation of tumor response to treatment. Hazard ratio represents the relationship between sunitinib-induced hypertension and PFS (presence/absence of hypertension).

    Measured: Baseline to date of first documentation of response to treatment (up to 12 months)

  10. Correlation Between Sunitinib-induced Hypertension and Tumor Response to Treatment (OS)

    Sunitinib-induced hypertension was determined using blood pressure recorded at each postbaseline visit. Once participants were identified as having sunitinib-induced hypertension, they retained that status at subsequent visits. OS is the time from start of study treatment to death. Hazard ratio represents the relationship between sunitinib-induced hypertension and OS.

    Measured: Baseline to date of death (up to 12 months)

  11. Percentage of Participants With Hypothyroidism

    TSH and FT4 levels were measured and hypothyroidism was defined as a TSH level >5.0 mIU/L at that time point.

    Measured: Baseline, Months 3, 6, 9, 12

  12. Percentage of Participants With Hypertension

    Hypertension was defined as follows. Grade 1: Asymptomatic, transient (less than [<]24 hours) increase by >20mm Hg (diastolic) or to >150/100 mm Hg if previously within normal limits (WNL). Grade 2: Recurrent or persistent (24 hours or more) or symptomatic increase by >20 mm Hg (diastolic) or to >150/100 mm Hg if previously WNL. Grade 3: Requiring >1 drug or more intensive therapy than previously. Grade 4: Life-threatening. Grade 5: Death.

    Measured: Baseline, Week 6, Months 3, 6, 9, 12

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted26 May 2008 (estimated)
  2. Study startJun 2008
  3. Primary completionApr 2011
  4. Study completionApr 2011

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Observational
Observational model
Case only
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrolment
186 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00684645
Sponsor's protocol ID
A6181171
Status last verified
Jul 2012
First submitted
22 May 2008
Last updated
21 Aug 2012
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

An observational study of Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma, run by Pfizer at 20 sites in Czechia.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 1 inclusion and 1 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 21 Aug 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 20 sites in Czechia. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 21 Aug 2012). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Percentage of Participants With Objective Response (time frame: 12 months). The study lists 12 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 21 Aug 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in