AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00693719

Irinotecan and Etoposide in Treating Patients With Recurrent, Locally Advanced, or Metastatic Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing Etoposide and Irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Breast Cancer, run by University of Arizona at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as irinotecan and etoposide, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
Etoposide and Irinotecan hydrochloride
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
31 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Aug 2007to May 2013
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of locally advanced or metastatic breast cancer
  • Recurrent, refractory or progressive disease after receiving prior anthracycline, taxane, and capecitabine therapy
  • Prior anthracycline and taxane therapy may have been as neoadjuvant, or adjuvant therapy if disease progression is documented within a year of completing that agent
  • Received prior capecitabine therapy for metastatic or recurrent disease
  • Measurable disease
  • Bone metastases requires other disease present that can be measured
  • No brain metastases, unless documented to be controlled post-completion of local therapy (surgery and/or radiation therapy) for at least 4 weeks
  • No meningeal carcinomatosis
  • No malignant effusion as the only site of disease recurrence
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Menopausal status not specified
  • Performance status of 0-2
  • Creatinine ≤ 1.5 mg/dL OR creatinine clearance ≥ 40 mL/min
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 10 g/dL
  • ANC ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
  • Bilirubin normal or hyperbilirubinemia < grade 1 (unless due to Gilbert syndrome with elevated total but normal levels of conjugated bilirubin)
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No other non-breast malignancy, except nonmelanoma skin cancer
  • No other serious underlying medical condition, that in the opinion of the treating physician, would make study protocol unreasonably hazardous for the patient or would preclude the patient's ability to comply with the study protocol

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • See Disease Characteristic
  • Recovered from all prior chemotherapy or radiotherapy to NCI CTC grade ≤ 1
  • Unlimited documented prior chemotherapy regimens allowed
  • No prior irinotecan hydrochloride or etoposide
  • No Hypericum perforatum (St. John's wort) 14 days prior to, during, or 7 days after completion of study therapy
  • At least 7 days since prior and no concurrent phenytoin, carbamazepine, phenobarbital, or any other enzyme-inducing anticonvulsant drug (EIACD)
  • No concurrent aprepitant

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Arizona Cancer Center at University of Arizona Health Sciences Center

    Tucson, Arizona, 85724-5024

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Study: Irinotecan and Etoposide as Treatment for Refractory, Metastatic Breast Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as irinotecan and etoposide, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well giving irinotecan together with etoposide works in treating patients with recurrent, locally advanced, or metastatic breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • To determine the response rate, as assessed by RECIST criteria, in patients with recurrent locally advanced or metastatic breast cancer treated with irinotecan hydrochloride and etoposide after prior exposure to anthracycline, taxane, and capecitabine therapy.

Secondary

  • To determine the median time to progression in these patients.
  • To determine the response duration and survival in these patients.
  • To measure the type and rate of grade 3 or greater toxicity of this treatment regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: Patients receive irinotecan hydrochloride IV on days 1 and 15 and oral etoposide on days 1-14. Courses repeat every 28 days in the absence of disease progression or unaccepted toxicity.

After completion of study therapy, patients are followed every 3 months for 3 years, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually thereafter.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Keywords
recurrent breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer, stage IIIB breast cancer, stage IIIC breast cancer, stage IV breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • EtoposideDrug

    Also called Vepesid

    50 mg PO x14 days followed by 2 weeks off, 28 day/Cycle

  • Irinotecan hydrochlorideDrug

    Also called Irinotecan hydrochloride trihydrate

    Irinotecan 100 mg/m2 IV days 1 and 15, 28 day/Cycle

Study groups in NCT00693719
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Etoposide and Irinotecan hydrochlorideExperimentalIrinotecan 100 mg/m2 IV days 1 and 15. Etoposide 50 mg PO x14 days followed by 2 weeks off.
Receives: Drug: Etoposide; Drug: Irinotecan hydrochloride

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Median Time to Progression

    Progression is defined using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0), as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions

    Measured: Measured time from the start of treatment to the time the patient is first recorded as having disease progression or dies. If no progression or death while being followed via tumor assessment, censored at last date known alive, assesed up to 13 months

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Overall Survival

    Still alive for a certain period of time after they were diagnosed with or started treatment

    Measured: Measured from the start of protocol therapy until the date of death from any cause or will be censored at the date the patient was last known to be alive, assesed up to 13 months

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted9 Jun 2008 (estimated)
  2. Study startAug 2007
  3. Primary completionDec 2012
  4. Study completionMay 2013

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
31 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00693719
Sponsor's protocol ID
07-0327-04
Other IDs
P30CA016672, UARIZ-BIO07046, UARIZ-143, PFIZER-GA59608L, UARIZ-P18089
Status last verified
Aug 2013
First submitted
6 Jun 2008
Last updated
20 Nov 2015
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Segar JM, Reed D, Stopeck A, Livingston RB, Chalasani P. A Phase II Study of Irinotecan and Etoposide as Treatment for Refractory Metastatic Breast Cancer. Oncologist. 2019 Dec;24(12):1512-e1267. doi: 10.1634/theoncologist.2019-0516. Epub 2019 Aug 5.

    PubMed 31383812

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing Etoposide and Irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Breast Cancer, run by University of Arizona at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 20 Nov 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 21 Aug 2013). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Median Time to Progression (time frame: Measured time from the start of treatment to the time the patient is first recorded as having disease progression or dies. If no progression or death while being followed via tumor assessment, censored at last date known alive, assesed up to 13 months). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00693719, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 20 Nov 2015.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in