AzTrials
AzTrials

Prostate CancerPhase 3NCT00767286

Goserelin, Flutamine, and Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Locally Advanced Prostate Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing flutamide, goserelin acetate and low-LET cobalt-60 gamma ray therapy in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Patient abstract not available PURPOSE: Patient abstract not available Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 50 years and older, men only
Conditions the study is for
Prostate Cancer
What is being tested?
flutamide, goserelin acetate and low-LET cobalt-60 gamma ray therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
Not given
Where
No sites listed yet
Study dates
Start not givento Nov 2003
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 50 years and older
  • Men only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically confirmed, locally advanced adenocarcinoma of the prostate, including: Bulky primary tumors confined to the prostate (clinical Stage T2c) Primary tumors extending beyond the capsule (clinical Stage T3-4) No common iliac or para-aortic nodal involvement Regional lymph node involvement below the common iliac level allowed Positive nodes on imaging studies must be biopsied by FNA or surgical sampling PSA no more than 150 (mandatory) No distant metastases

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: At least 50 Performance status: Karnofsky 70-100% Hematopoietic: Not specified Hepatic: Not specified Renal: Not specified Other: No prior or concurrent second cancer except basal cell skin cancer No major medical or psychiatric illness that would prevent completion of treatment or interfere with follow-up

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No prior chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: No prior hormonal therapy Radiotherapy: No prior radiotherapy Surgery: No prior radical surgery for carcinoma of the prostate

About this study

Official title: A PHASE III TRIAL OF THE USE OF LONG TERM TOTAL ANDROGEN SUPPRESSION FOLLOWING NEOADJUVANT HORMONAL CYTOREDUCTION AND RADIOTHERAPY IN LOCALLY ADVANCED CARCINOMA OF THE PROSTATE

RATIONALE: Patient abstract not available

PURPOSE: Patient abstract not available

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Compare locoregional control, disease-free survival, and overall survival in patients with carcinoma of the prostate who are considered at high risk of relapse and receive long-term adjuvant zoladex (ZDX) vs. no adjuvant treatment following neoadjuvant ZDX/flutamide and radiotherapy. II. Compare sexual function in patients treated with these two regimens.

OUTLINE: Randomized study. Arm I: Neoadjuvant Antiandrogen Therapy and Releasing Factor Agonist Therapy plus Radiotherapy. Flutamide, FLUT, NSC-147834; and Zoladex, ZDX, NSC-606864; plus external-beam irradiation using megavoltage equipment with energies of at least 4 MV (at least 6 MV preferred). Arm II: Neoadjuvant Antiandrogen Therapy and Releasing Factor Agonist Therapy plus Radiotherapy followed by Adjuvant Releasing Factor Agonist Therapy. FLUT; and ZDX; plus external-beam irradiation using equipment as in Arm I; followed by ZDX.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: 1,508 patients will be accrued over 2 years.

Conditions
Prostate Cancer
Being tested
flutamide, goserelin acetate, low-LET cobalt-60 gamma ray therapy, low-LET photon therapy
Keywords
stage IIB prostate cancer, stage IIA prostate cancer, stage III prostate cancer, stage IV prostate cancer
Medical subject headings
Prostatic Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • flutamideDrug

  • goserelin acetateDrug

  • low-LET cobalt-60 gamma ray therapyRadiation

  • low-LET photon therapyRadiation

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 Oct 2008 (estimated)
  2. Study completionNov 2003

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00767286
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000077690
Other IDs
RTOG-9202
Status last verified
Jul 2011
First submitted
4 Oct 2008
Last updated
28 Jan 2014
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Du KL, Bae K, Movsas B, Yan Y, Bryan C, Bruner DW. Impact of marital status and race on outcomes of patients enrolled in Radiation Therapy Oncology Group prostate cancer trials. Support Care Cancer. 2012 Jun;20(6):1317-25. doi: 10.1007/s00520-011-1219-4. Epub 2011 Jul 1.

    PubMed 21720747
  • Hamstra DA, Bae K, Pilepich MV, Hanks GE, Grignon DJ, McGowan DG, Roach M, Lawton C, Lee RJ, Sandler H. Older age predicts decreased metastasis and prostate cancer-specific death for men treated with radiation therapy: meta-analysis of radiation therapy oncology group trials. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2011 Dec 1;81(5):1293-301. doi: 10.1016/j.ijrobp.2010.07.2004. Epub 2011 Mar 31.

    PubMed 21458924
  • Rodrigues G, Bae K, Roach M, Lawton C, Donnelly B, Grignon D, Hanks G, Porter A, Lepor H, Sandler H. Impact of ultrahigh baseline PSA levels on biochemical and clinical outcomes in two Radiation Therapy Oncology Group prostate clinical trials. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2011 Jun 1;80(2):445-52. doi: 10.1016/j.ijrobp.2010.02.034. Epub 2010 Aug 24.

    PubMed 20615632
  • Roach M 3rd, Bae K, Lawton C, Donnelly BJ, Grignon D, Hanks GE, Porter A, Lepor H, Venketesan V, Sandler H. Baseline serum testosterone in men treated with androgen deprivation therapy and radiotherapy for localized prostate cancer. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2010 Dec 1;78(5):1314-22. doi: 10.1016/j.ijrobp.2009.09.073. Epub 2010 Apr 8.

    PubMed 20378270
  • Roach M 3rd, Waldman F, Pollack A. Predictive models in external beam radiotherapy for clinically localized prostate cancer. Cancer. 2009 Jul 1;115(13 Suppl):3112-20. doi: 10.1002/cncr.24348.

    PubMed 19544539
  • Lawton CA, Bae K, Pilepich M, Hanks G, Shipley W. Long-term treatment sequelae after external beam irradiation with or without hormonal manipulation for adenocarcinoma of the prostate: analysis of radiation therapy oncology group studies 85-31, 86-10, and 92-02. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2008 Feb 1;70(2):437-41. doi: 10.1016/j.ijrobp.2007.06.050. Epub 2007 Sep 19.

    PubMed 17881145
  • Lawton CA, Michalski J, El- Naqa I, et al.: RTOG: genitourinary radiation oncology specialists reach consensus on pelvic lymph node volumes for high risk prostate cancer. [Abstract] American Society of Clinical Oncology 2008 Genitourinary Cancers Symposium, Feb 14-16, 2008, San Francisco, CA. A-6, 2008.

  • Whelan P. Editorial comment on: Cardiovascular mortality and duration of androgen deprivation for locally advanced prostate cancer: analysis of RTOG 92-02. Eur Urol. 2008 Oct;54(4):823-4. doi: 10.1016/j.eururo.2008.01.022. Epub 2008 Jan 15. No abstract available.

    PubMed 18243509
  • Paner GP, Bae K, Grignon DJ, et al.: Trends in Gleason grading of prostate cancer (PCa): analysis of reporting by institutional and central review pathologists in four Radiation Therapy Oncology Group (RTOG) protocols spanning 17 years and 2094 needle biopsies (bxs). [Abstract] United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology 96th Annual Meeting, March 24-30, 2007, San Diego, CA. A-766, 2007.

  • Hachem P, Bae K, Khor L, et al.: Prostate tumor biomarker stability in archival tissue from men treated with radiotherapy: an analysis of RTOG 92-02 and Fox Chase randomized trials. [Abstract] Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys 66 (3 Suppl 1): A-2280, S365-6, 2006.

  • Lawton CA, Bae K, Pilepich M, et al.: Long-term treatment sequelae following external beam irradiation + hormonal manipulation for adenocarcinoma of the prostate: analysis of RTOG studies 85-31, 86-10, and 92-02. [Abstract] 2006 Prostate Cancer Symposium, February 24-26, 2006, San Francisco, CA. A-191, 2006.

  • Pan CC, Bae K, Hanks GE, et al.: Comparison of two types of biochemical failures within the ASTRO and Phoenix Consensus definitions in patients treated on RTOG 92-02 and 94-13. [Abstract] Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys 66 (3 Suppl 1): A-2196, S318, 2006.

  • Pollack A, Bae K, Khor LY, et al.: Stability of tumor biomarkers in archival tissue from men treated with radiotherapy for prostate cancer: an analysis of RTOG 92-02 and Fox Chase randomized trials. [Abstract] Int J Biol Markers 22 (1): 72-3, 2006.

  • Roach M, Moughan J, Movsas B, et al.: Socio-demographic predictors of biochemical failure and survival among high risk patients treated on Radiation Therapy Oncology Group (RTOG) prostate cancer trials: a meta-analysis. [Abstract] Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys 66 (3 Suppl 1): A-1127, S204, 2006.

  • Khor LY, Bae K, Paulus R, Al-Saleem T, Hammond ME, Grignon DJ, Che M, Venkatesan V, Byhardt RW, Rotman M, Hanks GE, Sandler HM, Pollack A. MDM2 and Ki-67 predict for distant metastasis and mortality in men treated with radiotherapy and androgen deprivation for prostate cancer: RTOG 92-02. J Clin Oncol. 2009 Jul 1;27(19):3177-84. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2008.19.8267. Epub 2009 May 26.

    PubMed 19470936

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing flutamide, goserelin acetate and low-LET cobalt-60 gamma ray therapy in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 28 Jan 2014. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00767286, which also lists 44 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 28 Jan 2014.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in