AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00852332

Docetaxel With or Without a Phytochemical in Treating Patients With Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing Curcumin and Taxotere in people with Breast Cancer, run by Centre Jean Perrin at 1 site in France.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as docetaxel, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Dietary supplements, such as phytochemicals, may stop or delay the development of breast cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
Curcumin and Taxotere
Type of treatment
Pill or oral medicine
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
42 participants
Where
1 siteFrance
Study dates
Aug 2009to Nov 2017
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the breast, meeting 1 of the following criteria:
  • Locally advanced disease
  • Documented metastatic disease without overexpression of Her2/neu
  • Must have received prior anthracycline-containing regimen as neoadjuvant, adjuvant, or first-line chemotherapy for metastatic breast cancer
  • Loco-regional recurrence not amenable to treatment by surgery or radiotherapy
  • At least one measurable lesion according to RECIST criteria
  • No bone lesion only disease
  • Must be a candidate for taxane-based chemotherapy
  • HER2-negative disease
  • No symptomatic brain metastases
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Menopausal status not specified
  • WHO performance status 0-2
  • Life expectancy ≥ 3 months
  • ANC ≥ 2,000/mm³
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm³
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 10 g/dL
  • Serum creatinine < 140 µmol/L OR creatinine clearance > 60 mL/min
  • Total bilirubin ≤ upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • AST and ALT ≤ 1.5 times ULN
  • Alkaline phosphatase ≤ 2.5 times ULN
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No history of significant neurologic (i.e., peripheral neuropathy ≥ grade 2) or psychiatric disorders, including psychotic disorders, dementia, or seizures that would prohibit the understanding, observance, and giving of informed consent
  • No other prior or concomitant malignancies except adequately treated carcinoma in situ of the cervix uteri, basal cell or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin, or other cancer curatively treated with surgery and/or radiotherapy
  • No concurrent severe and/or uncontrolled co-morbid medical condition
  • No medically unstable patients
  • No uncontrolled infection
  • No autoimmune disease and/or chronic active inflammation
  • No psychological, familial, social, or geographical reasons that would make clinical follow-up impossible
  • No malabsorption syndrome or disease significantly affecting gastrointestinal function
  • No dysphagia ≥ grade 2
  • No history of hypersensitivity to taxanes or known excipients, including polysorbate 80

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior major resection of the stomach or proximal small bowel
  • Prior hormonal therapy as adjuvant treatment and/or treatment of metastatic disease allowed provided that the patient has progressive disease at study entry
  • Hormonal treatment must be discontinued prior to study entry
  • No more than 1 prior chemotherapy regimen for metastatic disease
  • More than 30 days since prior investigational drug
  • More than 3 weeks since prior NSAIDs or COX_2 inhibitors
  • No other concurrent anticancer therapy
  • No other concurrent dietary phytonutrients

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

France1 site
  • Centre Jean Perrin

    Clermont-Ferrand, 63011

Other trials in France

About this study

Official title: An Open-label, Randomised, Phase II Study of Docetaxel in Combination With a Dietary Phytonutrient in First or Second Line Treatment for Patients With HER2 Negative Locally Advanced or Metastatic Breast Cancer, or Loco-regional Recurrence Not Amenable to Treatment by Surgery or Radiotherapy.

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as docetaxel, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Dietary supplements, such as phytochemicals, may stop or delay the development of breast cancer. It is not yet known whether giving docetaxel together with a phytochemical is more effective than giving docetaxel alone in treating patients with breast cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is studying how well giving docetaxel together with a phytochemical works compared with giving docetaxel alone as first- or second-line therapy in treating patients with breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • To compare the response rate in HER2-negative patients with locally advanced or metastatic breast cancer or locoregional breast cancer recurrence treated with docetaxel and a dietary phytochemical vs docetaxel alone.

Secondary

  • To compare the overall clinical benefit rate (i.e., objective response plus stable disease) in patients treated with these regimens.
  • To compare time to progression in patients treated with these regimens.
  • To compare overall survival of patients treated with these regimens.
  • To assess biomarkers of response in blood samples from patients treated with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to recruitment center and line of chemotherapy (first vs second line of docetaxel). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour on day 1. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
  • Arm II: Patients receive docetaxel as in arm I. Patients also receive an oral dietary phytochemical twice on day 1. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

After completion of study therapy, patients are followed periodically.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
Curcumin, Taxotere
Keywords
male breast cancer, stage IIIB breast cancer, stage IIIC breast cancer, stage IV breast cancer, recurrent breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer, HER2-negative breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Breast Neoplasms, Male

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • CurcuminDietary supplement

  • TaxotereDrug

Study groups in NCT00852332
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
CurcumineExperimentalWith curcumin capsules
Receives: Dietary Supplement: Curcumin; Drug: Taxotere
Drug taxotere onlyActive comparatorWithout curcumin
Receives: Drug: Taxotere

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Response rate as assessed by RECIST criteria

    Measured: From the date of randomization until the end of the treatment, assessed up to 21 weeks

Secondary outcomes (4)
  1. Overall clinical benefit rate as assessed by RECIST criteria

    Measured: From the date of randomization until the end of the treatment, assessed up to 21 weeks

  2. Time to progression as assessed by RECIST criteria

    Measured: From date of randomization until the date of first documented progression or date of death from any cause, assessed up to 21 weeks

  3. Overall survival as assessed by RECIST criteria

    Evaluate overall survival (between inclusion and death whatever the cause)

    Measured: From the date of randomization until the date of death from any cause

  4. Safety as assessed by NCI CTCAE v3.0

    Measured: From the date of randomization until the end of the treatment, assessed up to 21 weeks

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Feb 2009 (estimated)
  2. Study startAug 2009
  3. Primary completionNov 2017
  4. Study completionNov 2017

Why it stopped: The trial was stopped for futility in view of the results of the anticipated analysis

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
42 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00852332
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000635901
Other IDs
JEANP-CURRYTAX, INCA-RECF0908, EUDRACT-2008-003930-19
Status last verified
Jul 2018
First submitted
26 Feb 2009
Last updated
24 Jul 2018
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing Curcumin and Taxotere in people with Breast Cancer, run by Centre Jean Perrin at 1 site in France.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 24 Jul 2018. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in France. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early (reason given: The trial was stopped for futility in view of the results of the anticipated analysis). Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Response rate as assessed by RECIST criteria (time frame: From the date of randomization until the end of the treatment, assessed up to 21 weeks). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 24 Jul 2018.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in