AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerNCT00873808

S0307A, Long-Term Bone Quality in Women With Breast Cancer Enrolled on Clinical Trial SWOG-S0307

An observational study of Breast Cancer, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 1 site in United States.

Withdrawn

Withdrawn. The study stopped before anyone enrolled.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Gathering information over time from imaging and laboratory tests of women receiving bisphosphonates for breast cancer may help doctors learn more about long-term bone quality and plan the best treatment. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
clodronate disodium, demeclocycline hydrochloride and ibandronate sodium
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
0 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Oct 2008to Feb 2010
Phase
Observational
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Concurrently enrolled on clinical trial SWOG-S0307 and receiving bisphosphonates as adjuvant therapy for primary breast cancer
  • No rickets, osteogenesis imperfecta, osteosclerosis, or osteomalacia
  • No bone fracture since the age of 21 years unless it was caused by trauma
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Menopausal status not specified
  • Weight < 300 lbs
  • No hyperparathyroidism
  • No serious concurrent or prior anorexia nervosa diagnosed by a physician and causing abnormal menstruation
  • No history of hypersensitivity to tetracycline or demeclocycline

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • More than 10 years since prior prednisone at a dose above 5 mg/day for ≥ 3 months
  • No prior prednisone before diagnosis of breast cancer
  • No prior bisphosphonate therapy
  • No concurrent anticonvulsant medications

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • University Cancer Center at University of Washington Medical Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98195-6043

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Long-Term Bone Quality in Women With Breast Cancer (A Companion Study to S0307)

RATIONALE: Gathering information over time from imaging and laboratory tests of women receiving bisphosphonates for breast cancer may help doctors learn more about long-term bone quality and plan the best treatment. Tetracycline hydrochloride and demeclocycline hydrochloride can mark the new growth of the bone, so it may be seen better under a microscope.

PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying long-term bone quality in women with breast cancer enrolled on clinical trial SWOG-S0307.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • To assess if long-term high-dose bisphosphonates alter bone quality as measured by change in the histomorphometry of bone biopsies after tetracycline hydrochloride labeling to calculate eroded and osteoid surfaces, mineralization surface, bone formation rate, wall width, and activation frequency.
  • To assess if long-term high-dose bisphosphonates alter bone quality as measured by change in the backscattered electron imaging of bone to measure average mineralization density as well as distribution of density values.
  • To assess if long-term high-dose bisphosphonates alter bone quality as measured by change in the micro-computed tomography of bone biopsy specimens to measure bone structure, including bone volume, connectivity, trabecular width, and cortical width.
  • To assess if long-term high-dose bisphosphonates alter bone quality as measured by change in the biomechanical testing of bone biopsy samples loaded in compression to measure stress-strain relationships, including Young's modulus, yield point, ultimate strain, and work to failure (toughness).
  • To characterize bone using classical, non-invasive techniques (i.e., measurement of bone mineral density of spine and hip using dual energy x-ray absorptiometry and analysis of serum biochemical markers of bone formation [i.e., bone specific alkaline phosphatase] and resorption [i.e., N-telopeptide]) after long-term, high-dose bisphosphonates.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

At baseline (prior to initiating bisphosphonate therapy on SWOG-S0307), patients receive oral tetracycline hydrochloride twice daily on days 1 and 2 and oral demeclocycline hydrochloride twice daily on days 11 and 12. Patients undergo a tetracycline hydrochloride-labeled bone biopsy from the anterior ilium on day 14. At 36 months (for patients who have completed bisphosphonate therapy) or after 30 months of concurrent bisphosphonate therapy, patients receive oral demeclocycline twice daily on days 1 and 2 and oral tetracycline hydrochloride twice daily on days 11 and 12. Patients undergo a demeclocycline hydrochloride-labeled bone biopsy from the anterior ilium on day 14.

Patients undergo dual energy x-ray absorptiometry measurements of the hip and spine at the time of biopsy or within the next 10 weeks. Blood samples are collected for analysis of bone specific alkaline phosphatase and N-telopeptide before and after treatment on the clinical trial.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed for up to 10 years.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
clodronate disodium, demeclocycline hydrochloride, ibandronate sodium, tetracycline hydrochloride, zoledronic acid
Keywords
breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • clodronate disodiumDrug

  • demeclocycline hydrochlorideDrug

  • ibandronate sodiumDrug

  • tetracycline hydrochlorideDrug

  • zoledronic acidDrug

  • laboratory biomarker analysisOther

  • adjuvant therapyProcedure or surgery

  • computed tomographyProcedure or surgery

  • dual x-ray absorptiometryProcedure or surgery

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Change in bone quality after long-term high-dose bisphosphonates as measured by histomorphometry, mineralization density, micro-computed tomography, and biomechanics of bone biopsy samples

Secondary outcomes (2)
  1. Comparison of the potency of bisphosphonates as measured by changes in bone quality in each treatment group

  2. Correlations among measures of bone formation, structure, mineralization, and strength

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted2 Apr 2009 (estimated)
  2. Study startOct 2008
  3. Primary completionFeb 2010
  4. Study completionFeb 2010

Why it stopped: lack of accrual

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Observational
Enrolment
0 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00873808
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000614118
Other IDs
S0307A, U10CA032102
Status last verified
Apr 2013
First submitted
1 Apr 2009
Last updated
10 Apr 2013
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

An observational study of Breast Cancer, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: withdrawn, as of the sponsor's last update on 10 Apr 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study was withdrawn before enrolling participants, so there are no results.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Change in bone quality after long-term high-dose bisphosphonates as measured by histomorphometry, mineralization density, micro-computed tomography, and biomechanics of bone biopsy samples. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 10 Apr 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in