AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerNCT00903305

Nurse-Provided Care or Standard Care in Treating Patients With Stage I, Stage II, or Stage III Breast Cancer

A study testing medical chart review, questionnaire administration and fatigue assessment and management in people with Breast Cancer and Fatigue, run by City of Hope Medical Center.

Withdrawn

Withdrawn. The study stopped before anyone enrolled.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Meeting with a nurse to assess symptoms and quality of life may be more effective than standard care in treating patients with breast cancer. PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying nurse-provided care to see how well it works compared with standard care in treating patients with stage I, stage II, or… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer, Fatigue, Nausea and Vomiting
What is being tested?
medical chart review, questionnaire administration and fatigue assessment and management
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
0 participants
Where
No sites listed yet
Study dates
Jul 2008to Apr 2009
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of stage I, II, or III breast cancer
  • Admitted to City of Hope National Medical Center
  • Resides within a 30-mile radius of the medical center
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Menopausal status not specified
  • No prior cancer

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • Not specified

About this study

Official title: A Standard Nursing Intervention Protocol for Breast Cancer as a Chronic Illness

RATIONALE: Meeting with a nurse to assess symptoms and quality of life may be more effective than standard care in treating patients with breast cancer.

PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying nurse-provided care to see how well it works compared with standard care in treating patients with stage I, stage II, or stage III breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • To compare the effects of an advanced practice nurse, standardized nursing intervention protocol (SNIP) model vs usual care on overall quality of life and psychological distress of patients with stage I-III breast cancer, from initial treatment to 6 months post diagnosis.
  • To compare symptom control in these two groups.
  • To compare geriatric assessment outcomes in these two groups.
  • To test the effects of the SNIP intervention as compared to the usual care group on resource use by these patients.
  • To test the effects of SNIP on patients' and clinicians' satisfaction with care.
  • To describe the effects of SNIP on patients' management of transitions from one phase of chronic illness to another.
  • To identify subgroups of these patients who benefit most from the SNIP in relation to sociodemographic characteristics, disease/treatment factors, and geriatric assessment predictors.
  • To obtain feedback from clinicians regarding interpretation of findings and application to the routine care of breast cancer patients.

OUTLINE: Patients are enrolled sequentially to 1 of 2 groups. Group 1 is enrolled during months 4-21 and group 2 is enrolled during months 25-54.

  • Group 1 (usual care): Patient questionnaires are administered at baseline and at 3 and 6 months. The clinicians' satisfaction with care is also evaluated.
  • Group 2 (advanced practice nurse [APN] intervention): Patients are accrued by an APN. Patients meet with the APN periodically to assess their physical well-being including ambulatory care needed, care of physical symptoms (i.e., pain, fatigue, nausea and vomiting), and psychological well-being. Questionnaires are administered at baseline and at 3 and 6 months.

In both groups, questionnaires include the FACT-Breast, Memorial Symptom Assessment Scale, Psychological Distress Thermometer, Comprehensive Geriatric Assessment, and Patient Satisfaction with Intervention. Clinicians also complete questionnaires. Patients' medical charts are also reviewed.

Being tested
medical chart review, questionnaire administration, fatigue assessment and management, psychosocial assessment and care, quality-of-life assessment
Keywords
pain, fatigue, nausea and vomiting, stage I breast cancer, stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer, stage IIIB breast cancer, stage IIIC breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Fatigue, Nausea, Vomiting, Pain

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • medical chart reviewOther

  • questionnaire administrationOther

  • fatigue assessment and managementProcedure or surgery

  • psychosocial assessment and careProcedure or surgery

  • quality-of-life assessmentProcedure or surgery

Study groups in NCT00903305
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Group II (SNIP)ExperimentalPatients undergo SNIP comprising four visits over 2 months and four monthly telephone calls from the APN. The APN will provide 24 hour access during the study. Patients complete questionnaires about satisfaction with care, perceived preparedness with self-care, and helpfulness of patient teaching at baseline, 3 months and 6 months.
Receives: Other: medical chart review; Other: questionnaire administration; Procedure: fatigue assessment and management; Procedure: psychosocial assessment and care; Procedure: quality-of-life assessment
Group I (usual care intervention)Active comparatorPatients undergo usual care and complete questionnaires about satisfaction with care, perceived preparedness with self-care, and helpfulness of patient teaching at baseline, 3 months and 6 months.
Receives: Other: medical chart review; Other: questionnaire administration; Procedure: fatigue assessment and management; Procedure: quality-of-life assessment

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Quality of life, psychological distress, symptom relief, geriatric assessment outcome, and resource use at 3 months

  2. Long-term impact at 6 months

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted18 May 2009 (estimated)
  2. Study startJul 2008
  3. Primary completionApr 2009
  4. Study completionApr 2009

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Primary purpose
Health services research
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
0 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00903305
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000629408
Other IDs
P30CA033572, CHNMC-08031
Status last verified
Jan 2013
First submitted
15 May 2009
Last updated
1 Feb 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing medical chart review, questionnaire administration and fatigue assessment and management in people with Breast Cancer and Fatigue, run by City of Hope Medical Center.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: withdrawn, as of the sponsor's last update on 1 Feb 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study was withdrawn before enrolling participants, so there are no results.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Quality of life, psychological distress, symptom relief, geriatric assessment outcome, and resource use at 3 months. The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 1 Feb 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in