AzTrials
AzTrials

Hemophilia APhase 4NCT00914459

Study Evaluating Safety And Efficacy Of Moroctocog Alfa (AF-CC) In Previously Treated Hemophilia A Patients

A Phase 4 study testing Moroctocog alfa ( AF-CC) and Laboratory tests in people with Hemophilia A, run by Pfizer at 17 sites in 9 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

The study will be investigating pharmacokinetics, safety and efficacy in patients less than 12 years of age with severe hemophilia A that have been previously treated with Factor VIII products ( including blood products). Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 11 years, men only
Conditions the study is for
Hemophilia A
What is being tested?
Moroctocog alfa ( AF-CC) and Laboratory tests
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
37 participants
Where
17 sitesin 9 countries
Study dates
Dec 2009to Apr 2016
Phase
Phase 4
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 11 years
  • Men only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child

Who may be able to join

  • Male subjects less than 12 years of age with a documented history of severe hemophilia A (FVIII:C less than 1%).
  • Subjects who are less than 6 years of age must have had at least 50 Exposure Days (EDs) to prior FVIII products (including blood products).
  • Subjects who are equal to or greater than 6 years of age must have had greater than 150 EDs to prior FVIII products (including blood products).

Who cannot join

  • For laboratory assessments, any measured Bethesda inhibitor titer equal to or greater than 0.6 BU, regardless of the laboratory normal range, or any Bethesda inhibitor titer greater than ULN for the testing laboratory at the time of screening.
  • Any other bleeding disorder in addition to hemophilia A.
  • Treatment with any investigational drug or device within 30 days before the time of signing the parental informed consent/assent form.
  • Major surgery planned to occur during the course of the study.
  • Regular (e.g., daily; every other day) use of agents or medications known to influence platelet function such as aspirin or certain nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDS).
  • Regular, concomitant therapy with immunomodulating drugs (e.g., intravenous immunoglobulin [IVIG], routine systemic corticosteroids), or currently receiving immune tolerance induction (ITI) for inhibitor treatment.
Show all 10Show fewer
  • The subject is receiving treatment for HIV or hepatitis infection (unless the subject is on a stable antiviral regimen [i.e., consistent treatment regimen for at least 3 months before the parental informed consent/assent form is signed]).
  • Platelet count less than 100,000/µL.
  • Prothrombin time (PT) equal to or greater than 1.25 x ULN, or international normalized ratio (INR) equal to or greater than 1.5.
  • Known hypersensitivity to hamster protein.

Trial locations and contacts

17 sites in 9 countries.

17 sites in 9 countries

Spain4 sites
  • Hospital Universitario Puerta del Mar

    Cadiz, Spain, 11009

  • Hospital Jerez de la Frontera

    Jerez de la Frontera, Cádiz, 11407

  • Hospital La Paz

    Madrid, 28046

  • Hospital Universitario Miguel Servet

    Zaragoza, Zaragoza, 50009

Other trials in Spain

Turkey (Türkiye)3 sites
  • Cukurova University Department of Pediatrics, Pediatric Hematology Division

    Adana, Balcali/adana, 01330

  • Akdeniz Universitesi Tip Fakultesi

    Antalya, Kampus, 07059

  • Ege University Department of Pediatrics, Pediatric Hematology Division

    Izmir, Bornova /izmir, 35100

Other trials in Turkey (Türkiye)

Romania2 sites
  • Sanador

    Bucharest, 011026

  • Spitalul Clinic Judetean de Urgenta Craiova

    Craiova, Dolj, 200642

Other trials in Romania

Serbia2 sites
  • University Children's Hospital

    Belgrade, 11000

  • Mother and Child Health Care Institute of Serbia "Dr Vukan Cupic"

    Belgrade, 11070

Other trials in Serbia

Ukraine2 sites
  • Derzhavna ustanova "Instytut patolohii krovi ta transfuziinoi medytsyny Natsionalnoi akademii medych

    Lviv, 79044

  • Komunalna ustanova "Zaporizka oblasna klinichna dytiacha likarnia"

    Zaporizhzhya, Ukraine, 69063

Other trials in Ukraine

Finland1 site
  • Kuopio University Hospital

    Kuopio, 70211

Other trials in Finland

Georgia1 site
  • LTD Medinvesti- Institute of hematology and transfusiology

    Tbilisi, 0186

Other trials in Georgia

Italy1 site
  • Centro di Riferimento Regionale per la cura dell'Emofilia e delle Malattie Emorragiche Congenite

    Parma, 43100

Other trials in Italy

Sweden1 site
  • Karolinska Universitetssjukhuset-Solna

    Stockholm, 171 76

Other trials in Sweden

About this study

Official title: A Non-randomized, Open-label Study To Evaluate The Pharmacokinetics, Safety And Efficacy Of Refacto Af In Previously Treated Pediatric Subjects Less Than Twelve Years Of Age With Severe Hemophilia A (Fviii:c <1%).

The study will be investigating pharmacokinetics, safety and efficacy in patients less than 12 years of age with severe hemophilia A that have been previously treated with Factor VIII products ( including blood products).

Conditions
Hemophilia A
Being tested
Moroctocog alfa ( AF-CC), Laboratory tests
Keywords
hemophilia A
Medical subject headings
Hemophilia A

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • Moroctocog alfa ( AF-CC)Biological

    Also called ReFacto AF

    Dosing is at the discretion of the Investigator

  • Laboratory testsProcedure or surgery

    Factor VIII PK samples, Hematology, Chemistry and Coagulation testing, FactorVIII Inhibitor and Anti Factor VIII antibody

Study groups in NCT00914459
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Moroctocog alfa (AF-CC)OtherOpen Label
Receives: Biological: Moroctocog alfa ( AF-CC); Procedure: Laboratory tests

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Percentage of Participants With Clinically Significant Factor VIII Inhibitor Development

    Clinically significant factor VIII (FVIII) inhibitors were defined as a central laboratory confirmed positive inhibitor of greater than or equal to (>=) 0.6 Bethesda units (BU) using the Nijmegen modification of the Bethesda assay present at 2 consecutive blood draws within a 6-week interval and one of the following within 4 weeks before the initial or within 4 weeks following the second positive FVIII inhibitor sample collection: 1) the need for the participant to administer alternative hemostatic products in order to achieve sufficient efficacy, 2) >=2 events indicating a decrease in the efficacy of the study treatment. Percentage of participants who developed clinically significant Factor VIII inhibitor after study drug administration were reported.

    Measured: Baseline up to Month 24

  2. Incremental Recovery

    Incremental recovery was the increase in circulating FVIII activity for every international unit (IU) of ReFacto AF administered per kilogram of body weight. It was measured in international units per deciliter (IU/dL) per international units per kilogram (IU/kg).

    Measured: Days 1, 15, 50, Months 6, 18 and Final visit (up to Month 24)

  3. Terminal Elimination Half Life of ReFacto AF (t1/2)

    T1/2 was the time for the plasma concentration of drug to decrease by one-half of its original concentration.

    Measured: Pre-dose, 0.5, 1, 3, 6, 9, 24, 28, 32, 48 hours post-dose on Day 1

  4. Clearance (CL)

    Drug clearance is a quantitative measure of the rate at which a drug substance is removed from the blood.

    Measured: Pre-dose, 0.5, 1, 3, 6, 9, 24, 28, 32, 48 hours post-dose on Day 1

Secondary outcomes (16)
  1. Mean Annualized Bleeding Rates (ABRs): All Participants

    ABR for each participant was calculated as the number of bleeds requiring administration of FVIII replacement product (taken from the Infusion Log Diary case report form), divided by the total therapy duration (in days), then multiplied by 365.25. ABR for the participants who reported following a primary or secondary prophylaxis, on-demand regimen or preventive regimen at baseline were reported.

    Measured: Baseline up to Month 24

  2. Response to First On-Demand Treatment for New Bleeds: All Participants

    A 4-point scale of assessment of 'on-demand' treatment (administration of an unscheduled bolus infusion of Refacto-AF to stop bleeding) is defined as: 1. Excellent: Definite pain relief and/or improvement in signs of bleeding starting within 8 hours after an infusion, with no additional infusion administered. 2. Good: Definite pain relief and/or improvement in signs of bleeding starting within 8 hours after an infusion, with at least one additional infusion administered for complete resolution of the bleeding episode;or, Definite pain relief and/or improvement in signs of bleeding starting after 8 hours following infusion, with no additional infusion administered. 3. Moderate: Probable or slight improvement starting after 8 hours following the infusion, with at least one additional infusion administered for complete resolution of the bleeding episode. 4. No Response: No improvement at all between infusions or during the 24-hour interval following an infusion, or condition worsens.

    Measured: Baseline up to Month 24

  3. Number of On-Demand ReFacto AF Infusions to Treat a New Bleed: All Participants

    The infusion log diary case report form (CRF) was used to determine the number of on-demand (administration of an unscheduled bolus infusion of Refacto-AF to stop bleeding) ReFacto AF infusions administered to treat a new bleed. This was calculated by adding the initial for a new bleed (on-demand) infusion to any subsequent (on-demand) infusions for the same "previously treated bleed" (same bleed with same start date/time).

    Measured: Baseline up to Month 24

  4. Number of Breakthrough Bleeds Within 48 Hours of a Prophylaxis Dose of ReFacto AF: All Participants

    The number of breakthrough bleeds within 48 hours following a prophylaxis dose of ReFacto AF was summarized. The infusion log diary CRF was used to determine the number of infusions administered to treat a new bleed counting only those infusions which were administered <=48 hours after an infusion marked as "prophylaxis" (which had no associated bleed).

    Measured: Baseline up to Month 24

  5. Average Infusion Dose of ReFacto AF: All Participants

    The average infusion dose (by weight) for each participant was calculated as his total factor FVIII consumption (in IU) divided by weight (in kg) divided by the number of infusions administered in total study duration. Data was reported separately for participants classified at baseline as following non-prophylaxis regimen (for example: on-demand regimen, preventive, or not specified), and participants classified at baseline following a primary or secondary prophylaxis regimen.

    Measured: Baseline up to Month 24

  6. Total Factor VIII Consumption: All Participants

    Total factor VIII consumption for each participant was calculated by sum of the total amount of ReFacto AF (in IU) infused for each ReFacto AF infusion (recorded in the infusion log diary CRF). Data was reported separately for participants classified at baseline as following non-prophylaxis regimen (for example: on-demand regimen, preventive, or not specified), and participants classified at baseline following a primary or secondary prophylaxis regimen.

    Measured: Baseline up to Month 24

  7. Number of Less-Than-Expected-Therapeutic Effect (LETE) Bleeds in the On-Demand Setting: All Participants

    LETE in on-demand setting was based on response to treatment of a bleeding episode. LETE in the on-demand setting occurred if participant recorded 2 successive "no response" ratings after 2 successive ReFacto AF infusions. Both infusions were to be administered at an interval of 24 hours for treatment of same bleeding event in absence of confounding factor which included: known presence or subsequent identification of a FVIII inhibitor, known inadequate dose for type and/or severity of bleed in opinion of investigator, delay of greater than 4 hours between onset of bleed to infusion, delay of greater than 24 hours before administration of a follow-up infusion, known compromised ReFacto AF, faulty administration of ReFacto AF, participant had an underlying, predisposing condition responsible for bleed in opinion of investigator (e.g., kidney stones or use of medications known to impair platelet function, such as aspirin or NSAIDs),or ongoing trauma responsible for continued bleeding.

    Measured: Baseline up to Month 24

  8. Number of Less-Than-Expected-Therapeutic Effect (LETE) Bleeds in the Prophylaxis Setting: All Participants

    LETE in the prophylaxis setting occurred if there was a spontaneous bleed within 48 hours (<=48 hours) after a regularly scheduled prophylactic dose of ReFacto AF (which was not used to treat a bleed) in the absence of confounding factors. Therefore, LETE in the prophylaxis setting is the occurrence of a bleed. Confounding factors include: Known presence or subsequent identification of a FVIII inhibitor, known inadequate prophylactic dose, known lack of adherence to the prescribed prophylaxis regimen, bleed occurs in a target joint identified at the start of the study, known compromised ReFacto AF, faulty administration of ReFacto AF, an underlying, predisposing condition responsible for the bleed in the opinion of the investigator (e.g., kidney stones or use of medications known to impair platelet function, such as aspirin or NSAIDs) or traumatic injury responsible for bleeding.

    Measured: Baseline up to Month 24

  9. Number of Occurrences of Less-Than-Expected-Therapeutic Effect (LETE) in the Low Recovery Setting: All Participants

    LETE in the low recovery setting was defined as lower than expected recovery of FVIII (in the opinion of investigator), following the infusion of ReFacto AF in the absence of confounding factors for the low recovery. The only confounding factors for low recovery are as follows: known presence or subsequent identification of a FVIII inhibitor, known compromised ReFacto AF, faulty administration of ReFacto AF, including inadequate dosing.

    Measured: Baseline up to Month 24

  10. Number of Participants Requiring Escalated Dose of Prescribed Regimen During the Treatment Period: All Participants

    Participants who met the dose escalation criteria were prescribed a higher dose and/or more frequent doses as per the investigator's discretion.

    Measured: Baseline up to Month 24

  11. Plasma Concentration of Factor VIII at 0.5 Hour Post-dose (C0.5)

    Measured: 0.5 hour post-dose on Day 1

  12. Area Under the Plasma Time Curve From Time 0 Extrapolated to Infinite Time (AUCinf)

    AUCinf is the area under the plasma concentration-time profile from time 0 extrapolated to infinite time. It was calculated as International units*hour per milliliter (IU*hr/mL).

    Measured: Pre-dose, 0.5, 1, 3, 6, 9, 24, 28, 32, 48 hours post-dose on Day 1

  13. Area Under the Plasma Time Curve From Time Zero to Time of Last Measurable Concentration (AUClast)

    AUClast is the area under the plasma versus time curve from time zero to time of last measurable concentration (AUClast)

    Measured: Pre-dose, 0.5, 1, 3, 6, 9, 24, 28, 32, 48 hours post-dose on Day 1

  14. Volume of Distribution at Steady State (Vss)

    Volume of distribution was defined as the theoretical volume in which the total amount of drug was uniformly distributed to produce the desired blood concentration of a drug. Steady state volume of distribution (Vss) was the apparent volume of distribution at steady-state.

    Measured: Pre-dose, 0.5, 1, 3, 6, 9, 24, 28, 32, 48 hours post-dose on Day 1

  15. Mean Residence Time (MRT) of ReFacto AF

    MRT was calculated as AUMCinf / AUCinf-TI/2, where AUMCinf is the area under the first moment curve from time zero to infinity and TI was the duration of infusion.

    Measured: Pre-dose, 0.5, 1, 3, 6, 9, 24, 28, 32, 48 hours post-dose on Day 1

  16. Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs): All Participants

    An adverse event (AE) was any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received study treatment without regard to possibility of causal relationship. An SAE was an AE resulting in any of the following outcomes or deemed significant for any other reason: death, initial or prolonged inpatient hospitalization, life-threatening experience (immediate risk of dying), persistent or significant disability or incapacity, congenital anomaly. Treatment-emergent are events between first dose of study drug and up to 30 days after last dose that were absent before treatment or that worsened relative to pretreatment state. AEs included both serious and non-serious adverse events.

    Measured: Baseline up to 30 days after last study visit (Month 25)

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted5 Jun 2009 (estimated)
  2. Study startDec 2009
  3. Primary completionMar 2016
  4. Study completionApr 2016

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
37 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00914459
Sponsor's protocol ID
3082B2-4433
Other IDs
B1831005, 2008-008435-29, 2008
Status last verified
Dec 2016
First submitted
4 Jun 2009
Last updated
10 Feb 2017
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 4 study testing Moroctocog alfa ( AF-CC) and Laboratory tests in people with Hemophilia A, run by Pfizer at 17 sites in 9 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 3 inclusion and 10 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 10 Feb 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 17 sites in Spain, Turkey (Türkiye), Romania, Serbia, Ukraine and 4 more countries. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 4 studies take place after a treatment is approved, to learn more about its long-term benefits and risks in everyday use.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 21 Dec 2016). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Percentage of Participants With Clinically Significant Factor VIII Inhibitor Development (time frame: Baseline up to Month 24). The study lists 4 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 10 Feb 2017.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in