Rheumatoid ArthritisPhase 3NCT00996606
A Study of Tocilizumab in Combination With Disease-Modifying Anti-Rheumatic Drugs (DMARDs) in Participants With Moderate to Severe Active Rheumatoid Arthritis With an Inadequate Response to DMARDs
A Phase 3 study testing DMARDs and Tocilizumab in people with Rheumatoid Arthritis, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 11 sites in Italy.
Trial summary
This open-label, single-arm study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of tocilizumab in combination with DMARDs in participants with moderate to severe active rheumatoid arthritis who have an inadequate response to DMARDs. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Rheumatoid Arthritis
- What is being tested?
- DMARDs and Tocilizumab
- Type of treatment
- Injection or infusion
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 58 participants
- Where
- 11 sitesItaly
- Study dates
- Oct 2009to Apr 2012
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
Who may be able to join
- Moderate to severe active RA of ≥6 months duration
- DAS28 >3.2
- Inadequate response to a stable dose of non-biologic DMARD for ≥2 months
- Those receiving oral corticosteroids must have been at stable dose for ≥25 days in the 28 days prior to first study treatment
Who cannot join
- Rheumatic autoimmune disease other than RA
- History of or current inflammatory joint disease other than RA
- Previous treatment with alkylating agents or total lymphoid irradiation
- Intra-articular or parenteral corticosteroids within 6 weeks prior to Baseline
- Previous treatment with any cell-depleting therapies
- American College of Rheumatology (ACR) Functional Class IV
Trial locations and contacts
11 sites in 1 country.
11 sites in 1 country
Italy11 sites
Study site
Cona (Ferrara), Veneto, 44124
Study site
Coppito, Abruzzo, 67100
Study site
Genoa, Liguria, 16132
Study site
Milan, Lombardy, 20122
Study site
Milan, Lombardy, 20157
Study site
Naples, Campania, 80131
Study site
Padova, Veneto, 35128
Study site
Palermo, Sicily, 90127
Study site
Pavia, Lombardy, 27100
Study site
Pisa, Tuscany, 56100
Study site
Rome, Lazio, 00161
About this study
Official title: Open Label, Multicentric Phase IIIb Study to Evaluate the Effect of Tocilizumab in Combination With DMARDs in the Inhibition of Progression of Synovitis, Bone Marrow Edema, and Erosions Evaluated by Dedicated Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) in the Hand of Patients With Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA)
This open-label, single-arm study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of tocilizumab in combination with DMARDs in participants with moderate to severe active rheumatoid arthritis who have an inadequate response to DMARDs. Participants will receive tocilizumab as 8 milligrams per kilogram (mg/kg) via intravenous (IV) infusion every 4 weeks in addition to their current DMARD therapy.
- Conditions
- Rheumatoid Arthritis
- Being tested
- DMARDs, Tocilizumab
- Medical subject headings
- Arthritis, Rheumatoid
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
DMARDsDrug
Participants may continue on a stable dose of their current DMARD therapy as prescribed. The choice of DMARD is at the discretion of the treating physician and is not specified by the protocol.
TocilizumabDrug
Also called RoActemra, Actemra
Tocilizumab will be given as 8 mg/kg via IV infusion every 4 weeks for a total of 12 infusions. The maximum allowed dose is 800 mg.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Tocilizumab in Active RA | Experimental | Participants with active RA will receive tocilizumab as 8 mg/kg via IV infusion every 4 weeks. A total of 12 infusions will be given from Baseline to Week 44, and participants will be assessed through Week 48. Receives: Drug: DMARDs; Drug: Tocilizumab |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Change From Baseline to Week 4 in Synovitis of the Wrist According to Rheumatoid Arthritis Magnetic Resonance Imaging (RAMRIS) Score
Synovitis of the wrist was assessed at three sites including the radioulnar joint (RUJ), the radiocarpal joint (RCJ), and the intercarpal-carpometacarpal joints (IC-CMCJ). Global RAMRIS scores were assigned on a scale of 0 to 3 at each site, where 0 represented normal appearance with no synovial enhancement and each 1-point increase reflected one-third of the presumed maximum volume of enhancing tissue in the synovial compartment. The scores for all three sites were added to give an aggregated score of 0 to 9. Baseline absolute value (AV) and change from Baseline to Week 4 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated improvement in synovitis.
Measured: Baseline and Week 4
Change From Baseline to Week 4 in Synovitis of the Wrist According to Relative Enhancement (RE) Before and After Contrast Injection
RE was calculated as [S0 minus (-) S55] divided by (÷) S0, multiplied by (×) 100 percent (%), where S0 was defined as the signal noise ratio before contrast injection, and S55 was defined as the signal noise ratio 55 seconds after injection. Signal noise ratios were measured as the ratio between the signal in the region of interest and the standard deviation of background noise. Baseline AV and change from Baseline to Week 4 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated improvement in synovitis.
Measured: Baseline and Week 4
Change From Baseline to Week 4 in Synovitis of the Wrist According to Rate of Early Enhancement (REE) Per Second Before and After Contrast Injection
REE per second was calculated as [S55 - S0] ÷ [S0 × 55 seconds] × 100%, where S0 was defined as the signal noise ratio before contrast injection, and S55 was defined as the signal noise ratio 55 seconds after injection. Signal noise ratios were measured as the ratio between the signal in the region of interest and the standard deviation of background noise. Baseline AV and change from Baseline to Week 4 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated improvement in synovitis.
Measured: Baseline and Week 4
Secondary outcomes (88)
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 12, 24, and 48 in Synovitis of the Wrist According to RAMRIS Score
Synovitis of the wrist was assessed at three sites including the RUJ, the RCJ, and the IC-CMCJ. Global RAMRIS scores were assigned on a scale of 0 to 3 at each site, where 0 represented normal appearance with no synovial enhancement and each 1-point increase reflected one-third of the presumed maximum volume of enhancing tissue in the synovial compartment. The scores for all three sites were added to give an aggregated score of 0 to 9. The changes from Baseline to Weeks 2, 12, 24, and 48 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated improvement in synovitis.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 12, 24, and 48 in Synovitis of the Wrist According to RE Before and After Contrast Injection
RE was calculated as [S0 - S55] ÷ S0 × 100%, where S0 was defined as the signal noise ratio before contrast injection, and S55 was defined as the signal noise ratio 55 seconds after injection. Signal noise ratios were measured as the ratio between the signal in the region of interest and the standard deviation of background noise. The changes from Baseline to Weeks 2, 12, 24, and 48 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated improvement in synovitis.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 12, 24, and 48 in Synovitis of the Wrist According to REE Per Second Before and After Contrast Injection
REE per second was calculated as [S55 - S0] ÷ [S0 × 55 seconds] × 100%, where S0 was defined as the signal noise ratio before contrast injection, and S55 was defined as the signal noise ratio 55 seconds after injection. Signal noise ratios were measured as the ratio between the signal in the region of interest and the standard deviation of background noise. The changes from Baseline to Weeks 2, 12, 24, and 48 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated improvement in synovitis.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Synovitis of the Wrist and Metacarpo-Phalangeal (MCP) Joints According to Modified RAMRIS Score
Synovitis of the wrist was assessed at three sites including the RUJ, the RCJ, and the IC-CMCJ. Global RAMRIS scores were assigned on a scale of 0 to 3 at each site, where 0 represented normal appearance with no synovial enhancement and each 1-point increase reflected one-third of the presumed maximum volume of enhancing tissue in the synovial compartment. The scores for all three sites were added to give an aggregated score of 0 to 9. Synovitis of MCP joints was determined on the basis of Short Inversion Time Inversion Recovery (STIR) sequence evaluation with modification of the RAMRIS score. Four MCP joint compartments were each assessed 0 to 3, so the aggregated MCP joint score ranged from 0 to 12. Combined synovitis in wrist and MCP joints was determined on the basis of STIR sequences to produce overall score from 0 to 21. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated improvement in synovitis.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Number of Bones With Erosion in the Wrist and MCP Joints
Erosion was evaluated at 15 sites in the wrist and 8 sites in the MCP joints. Bone erosion was scored on a scale of 0 to 10, where 0 represented no bone erosion and each 1-point increase reflected up to a 10% increase in extent of erosion. The number of bones with erosion was taken as the count of joints with a bone erosion score greater than or equal to (≥) 1. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated improvement in erosion.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Erosion of the Wrist and MCP Joints According to RAMRIS Score
Erosion was evaluated at 15 sites in the wrist and 8 sites in the MCP joints. Bone erosion was scored on a scale of 0 to 10, where 0 represented no bone erosion and each 1-point increase reflected up to 10% increase in extent of erosion. Global RAMRIS scores were calculated as the sum of all joint sites for the wrist (range, 0 to 150) and MCP joints (range, 0 to 80). Aggregate wrist and MCP joint scores could range from 0 to 230 points. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated improvement in erosion.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Number of Bones With Bone Marrow Edema in the Wrist and MCP Joints
Edema was evaluated at 15 sites in the wrist and 8 sites in the MCP joints. Bone edema was scored on a scale of 0 to 3, where 0 represented no bone edema and each 1-point increase reflected one-third increase in extent of edema. The number of bones with edema was taken as the count of joints with a bone edema score greater than or equal to (≥) 1. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated improvement in edema.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Bone Marrow Edema of the Wrist and MCP Joints According to RAMRIS Score
Edema was evaluated at 15 sites in the wrist and 8 sites in the MCP joints. Bone edema was scored on a scale of 0 to 3, where 0 represented no bone edema and each 1-point increase reflected one-third increase in extent of edema. Global RAMRIS scores were calculated as the sum of all joint sites for the wrist (range, 0 to 45) and MCP joints (range, 0 to 24). Aggregate wrist and MCP joint scores could range from 0 to 69 points. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated improvement in edema.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 24 and 48 in Total Modified Sharp Score (TMSS), Erosion Score (ES), and Joint Space Narrowing Score (JSNS)
The TMSS was calculated as the sum of ES and JSNS and ranged from 0 to 202. The ES was taken as the sum of joint scores collected for 14 joints in each hand (individually scored from 0 to 7) and ranged from 0 to 98 for both hands. The JSNS was the sum of joint scores collected for 13 joints in each hand (individually scored from 0 to 8) and ranged from 0 to 104 for both hands. Scores of 0 reflected no change, while higher scores reflected increased disease activity. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 24 and 48 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated improvement in disease activity.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Ritchie Articular Index Score
The Ritchie Articular Index was scored on a scale of 0 to 3, according to the grades of tenderness in each of 26 assessed joints. The total score was taken as the sum of joint scores and ranged from 0 to 78. Scores of 0 reflected no tenderness, while higher scores reflected increased tenderness. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated improvement in joint tenderness.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Perceived Pain According to Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Score
Perceived pain was assessed on a 0- to 100-millimeter (mm) VAS, where the distance from 0 mm represented the participant's self evaluation of pain (0 mm = no pain, 100 mm = maximum pain). Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated a decrease in perceived pain.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Perceived General Health According to VAS Score
Global assessment of disease activity was performed using a 0- to 100-mm VAS, where the distance from 0 mm represented the investigator's evaluation or the participant's self evaluation of disease activity (0 mm = no disease activity, 100 mm = maximum disease activity). Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated improvement in disease activity.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Health Assessment Questionnaire Disability Index (HAQ-DI) Score
The HAQ-DI assessed 20 items in eight functional activity domains including dressing, rising, eating, walking, hygiene, reach, grip, and usual activities. Each item was scored on a scale of 0 to 3, where 0 represented activities performed without difficulty and 3 represented inability to perform activities alone. The total score was calculated as an average of all item scores, and thus also ranged from 0 to 3. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated an increase in ability to perform activities independently.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Disease Activity Score of 28 Joints (DAS28) Score
The DAS28 was derived from assessments of C-reactive protein (CRP), tender joint count (TJC), swollen joint count (SJC), and general health according to 100-mm VAS. DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] plus (+) [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.36 × natural log (CRP + 1)] + [0.014 × VAS] + 0.96. TJC was defined as the number of painful joints and SJC was defined as the number of swollen joints, each assessed on 28 joints. CRP was measured in milligrams per deciliter (mg/dL). DAS28 scores could range from 0 to 10, where higher scores represented higher disease activity. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated an improvement in disease activity.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor (VEGF) Concentration
Level of VEGF was measured in picograms per milliliter (pg/mL). Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Erythrocyte Sedimentation Rate (ESR)
ESR was measured in millimeters per hour (mm/h). Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in High-Sensitivity C-Reactive Protein (hsCRP) Concentration
Level of hsCRP was measured in mg/dL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Soluble Interleukin-6 Receptor (sIL6R) Level
Level of sIL6R was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Messenger Ribonucleic Acid (mRNA) for Interleukin (IL)-17 (2^Delta Cycle Threshold [ΔCt]) Level
Level of mRNA for IL-17 (2^ΔCt) was quantified by polymerase chain reaction (PCR). Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in mRNA for IL-23 Receptor (2^ΔCt) Level
Level of mRNA for IL-23 receptor (2^ΔCt) was quantified by PCR. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in mRNA for RAR-Related Orphan Receptor (ROR)-γT (2^ΔCt) Level
Level of ROR-γT (2^ΔCt) was quantified by PCR. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in mRNA for Forkhead Box Protein (FOXP) 3 (2^ΔCt) Level
Level of mRNA for FOXP3 (2^ΔCt) was quantified by PCR. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Cluster of Differentiation (CD) 4-Positive Cells as a Percentage of Peripheral Blood Mononuclear Cells (PBMCs)
The intensity of CD4-positive cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of PBMCs. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD4 Mean Intensity of Fluorescence
The mean fluorescence intensity of CD4-positive cells was measured by flow cytometry. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD25-Positive Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
The intensity of CD25-positive cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of PBMCs. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD25 Mean Intensity of Fluorescence
The mean fluorescence intensity of CD25-positive cells was measured by flow cytometry. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD45 "RO" Isoform (RO)-Positive Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
The intensity of CD45RO-positive cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of PBMCs. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD45RO Mean Intensity of Fluorescence
The mean fluorescence intensity of CD45RO-positive cells was measured by flow cytometry. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Cysteine-Cysteine Chemokine Receptor (CCR) 6-Positive Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
The intensity of CCR6-positive cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of PBMCs. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CCR6 Mean Intensity of Fluorescence
The mean fluorescence intensity of CCR6-positive cells was measured by flow cytometry. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CCR4-Positive Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
The intensity of CCR4-positive cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of PBMCs. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CCR4 Mean Intensity of Fluorescence
The mean fluorescence intensity of CCR4-positive cells was measured by flow cytometry. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in IL-23 Receptor p19 Subunit (IL-23Rp19)-Positive Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
The intensity of IL-23Rp19-positive cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of PBMCs. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in IL-23Rp19 Mean Intensity of Fluorescence
The mean fluorescence intensity of IL-23Rp19-positive cells was measured by flow cytometry. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Regulatory T (Treg) Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
The intensity of Treg cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of PBMCs. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Treg Cells as a Percentage of T Cells
The intensity of Treg cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of T cells. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Treg Cell Level
The absolute number of Treg cells was expressed as cells per microliter (cells/mcL). Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Helper T (Th) 17 Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
The intensity of Th17 cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of PBMCs. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Th17 Cells as a Percentage of T Cells
The intensity of Th17 cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of T cells. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Th17 Cell Level
The absolute number of Th17 cells was expressed as cells/mcL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD19-Positive Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
The intensity of CD19-positive cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of PBMCs. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD19 Mean Intensity of Fluorescence
The mean fluorescence intensity of CD19-positive cells was measured by flow cytometry. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD24-Positive Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
The intensity of CD24-positive cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of PBMCs. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD24 Mean Intensity of Fluorescence
The mean fluorescence intensity of CD24-positive cells was measured by flow cytometry. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD27-Positive Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
The intensity of CD27-positive cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of PBMCs. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD27 Mean Intensity of Fluorescence
The mean fluorescence intensity of CD27-positive cells was measured by flow cytometry. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD38-Positive Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
The intensity of CD38-positive cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of PBMCs. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD38 Mean Intensity of Fluorescence
The mean fluorescence intensity of CD38-positive cells was measured by flow cytometry. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Immunoglobulin (Ig) M-Positive Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
The intensity of IgM-positive cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of PBMCs. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in IgM Mean Intensity of Fluorescence
The mean fluorescence intensity of IgM-positive cells was measured by flow cytometry. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Mature B Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
The intensity of mature B cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of PBMCs. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Mature B Cells as a Percentage of B Cells
The intensity of mature B cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of B cells. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Week 4 in Mature B Cell Level
The absolute number of mature B cells was expressed as cells/mcL. Baseline AV and change from Baseline to Week 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Week 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Memory B Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
The intensity of memory B cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of PBMCs. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Memory B Cells as a Percentage of B Cells
The intensity of memory B cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of B cells. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Week 4 in Memory B Cell Level
The absolute number of memory B cells was expressed as cells/mcL. Baseline AV and change from Baseline to Week 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Week 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Transitional B Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
The intensity of transitional B cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of PBMCs. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Transitional B Cells as a Percentage of B Cells
The intensity of transitional B cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of B cells. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Week 4 in Transitional B Cell Level
The absolute number of transitional B cells was expressed as cells/mcL. Baseline AV and change from Baseline to Week 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Week 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Plasma B Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
The intensity of plasma B cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of PBMCs. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Plasma B Cells as a Percentage of B Cells
The intensity of plasma B cell infiltration was expressed as the percentage of B cells. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Week 4 in Plasma B Cell Level
The absolute number of plasma B cells was expressed as cells/mcL. Baseline AV and change from Baseline to Week 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Week 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Th17 Cysteine-Cysteine Chemokine Ligand (CCL) 20 Level
Level of Th17CCL20 was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Th17CCL17 Level
Level of Th17CCL20 was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in B Cell-Attracting Chemokine (BCA) Level
Level of BCA was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Stromal Cell-Derived Factor (SDF) 1 Level
Level of SDF1 was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in B Cell-Activating Factor (BAFF) Level
Level of BAFF was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in A Proliferation-Inducing Ligand (APRIL) Level
Level of APRIL was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Tumor Necrosis Factor (TNF)-α Level
Level of TNF-α was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in IL-1β Level
Level of IL-1β was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in IL-17 Level
Level of IL-17 was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Monocyte Chemoattractant Protein (MCaP)-1 Level
Level of MCaP-1 was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Osteocalcin Level
Level of osteocalcin was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Type I Collagen N-Propeptide Level
Level of Type I collagen N-propeptide was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in C-Terminal Telopeptide (CTX)-1 Level
Level of CTX-1 was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Type I Collagen C-Terminal Telopeptide (ICTP) Level
Level of ICTP was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Type II Collagen N-Propeptide (PIIANP) Level
Level of PIIANP was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Type II Collagen Helical Peptide (HELIX-II) Level
Level of HELIX-II was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Hemoglobin (Hb) Concentration
Level of Hb was measured in grams per liter (g/L). Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Day 2 and Weeks 2 and 4 in Soluble Transferrin Receptor (STR) Concentration
Level of STR was measured in pg/mL. Baseline AV and changes from Baseline to Day 2 and Weeks 2 and 4 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline; Day 2; and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Week 48 in Initial Rate of Enhancement (IRE) by DYNAMIKA Software Analysis
IRE was approximated by parametric mapping via DYNAMIKA software and expressed as change in relative signal intensity per second (ΔI/sec). The mean of three different slices was used in the determination of IRE. Each slice consisted of a two-dimensional (2D) sequence of images acquired from the same physical location at different time instances. Baseline AV and change from Baseline to Week 48 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Week 48
Change From Baseline to Week 48 in Maximum Enhancement (ME) by DYNAMIKA Software Analysis
ME was approximated by parametric mapping via DYNAMIKA software and expressed as ratio of signal enhancement before and after contrast injection. The mean of three different slices was used in the determination of ME. Each slice consisted of a 2D sequence of images acquired from the same physical location at different time instances. Baseline AV and change from Baseline to Week 48 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Week 48
Change From Baseline to Week 48 in Number of Enhancing Voxels (Ntotal) by DYNAMIKA Software Analysis
Ntotal was approximated using DYNAMIKA software. The sum of three different slices was used in the determination of Ntotal. Each slice consisted of a 2D sequence of images acquired from the same physical location at different time instances. Baseline AV and change from Baseline to Week 48 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Week 48
Change From Baseline to Week 48 in Number of Persistent Enhancing Voxels (Npersistent) by DYNAMIKA Software Analysis
Npersistent was approximated using DYNAMIKA software. The sum of three different slices was used in the determination of Npersistent. Each slice consisted of a 2D sequence of images acquired from the same physical location at different time instances. Baseline AV and change from Baseline to Week 48 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Week 48
Change From Baseline to Week 48 in Number of Plateau Enhancing Voxels (Nplateau) by DYNAMIKA Software Analysis
Nplateau was approximated using DYNAMIKA software. The sum of three different slices was used in the determination of Nplateau. Each slice consisted of a 2D sequence of images acquired from the same physical location at different time instances. Baseline AV and change from Baseline to Week 48 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Week 48
Change From Baseline to Week 48 in Number of Washout Enhancing Voxels (Nwashout) by DYNAMIKA Software Analysis
Nwashout was approximated using DYNAMIKA software. The sum of three different slices was used in the determination of Nwashout. Each slice consisted of a 2D sequence of images acquired from the same physical location at different time instances. Baseline AV and change from Baseline to Week 48 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Week 48
Change From Baseline to Week 48 in Ntotal×IRE by DYNAMIKA Software Analysis
Ntotal and IRE were approximated using DYNAMIKA software. The sum of three different slices was used in the determination of Ntotal. The mean of three different slices was used in the determination of IRE. Each slice consisted of a 2D sequence of images acquired from the same physical location at different time instances. Function of Ntotal×IRE was expressed as voxels times change in relative intensity per second (v*ΔI/sec). Baseline AV and change from Baseline to Week 48 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Week 48
Change From Baseline to Week 48 in Ntotal×ME by DYNAMIKA Software Analysis
Ntotal and ME were approximated using DYNAMIKA software. The sum of three different slices was used in the determination of Ntotal. The mean of three different slices was used in the determination of ME. Each slice consisted of a 2D sequence of images acquired from the same physical location at different time instances. Function of NtotalME was expressed as voxels times ratio of signal intensity before and after contrast injection (v*ratio). Baseline AV and change from Baseline to Week 48 were averaged among all participants.
Measured: Baseline and Week 48
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted16 Oct 2009 (estimated)
- Study startOct 2009
- Primary completionApr 2012
- Study completionApr 2012
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Other trials for Rheumatoid ArthritisStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Hoffmann-La RocheThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 58 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Hoffmann-La Roche
- Sponsor type
- Industry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Clinical Trials, Study director, Hoffmann-La Roche
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00996606
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- ML22413
- Other IDs
- 2009-012185-32, 2009
- Status last verified
- May 2017
- First submitted
- 15 Oct 2009
- Last updated
- 19 Jun 2017
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 19 Jun 2017. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Open Label, Multicentric Phase IIIb Study to Evaluate the Effect of Tocilizumab in Combination With DMARDs in the Inhibition of Progression of Synovitis, Bone Marrow Edema, and Erosions Evaluated by Dedicated Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) in the Hand of Patients With Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA)
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00996606
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- ML22413
- Conditions
- Rheumatoid Arthritis
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 58 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Hoffmann-La RocheIndustry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Study start
- Oct 2009
- Primary completion
- Apr 2012 (actual)
- Study completion
- Apr 2012 (actual)
- First posted
- 16 Oct 2009 (estimated)
- Results
- Posted 9 Nov 2016
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
This open-label, single-arm study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of tocilizumab in combination with DMARDs in participants with moderate to severe active rheumatoid arthritis who have an inadequate response to DMARDs. Participants will receive tocilizumab as 8 milligrams per kilogram (mg/kg) via intravenous (IV) infusion every 4 weeks in addition to their current DMARD therapy.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 1
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Tocilizumab in Active RA | Experimental | Drug: DMARDs, Drug: TocilizumabParticipants with active RA will receive tocilizumab as 8 mg/kg via IV infusion every 4 weeks. A total of 12 infusions will be given from Baseline to Week 44, and participants will be assessed through Week 48. |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Key inclusion criteria (4 listed)
- Moderate to severe active RA of ≥6 months duration
- DAS28 >3.2
- Inadequate response to a stable dose of non-biologic DMARD for ≥2 months
- Those receiving oral corticosteroids must have been at stable dose for ≥25 days in the 28 days prior to first study treatment
Key exclusion criteria (6 listed)
- Rheumatic autoimmune disease other than RA
- History of or current inflammatory joint disease other than RA
- Previous treatment with alkylating agents or total lymphoid irradiation
- Intra-articular or parenteral corticosteroids within 6 weeks prior to Baseline
- Previous treatment with any cell-depleting therapies
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| DMARDsParticipants may continue on a stable dose of their current DMARD therapy as prescribed. The choice of DMARD is at the discretion of the treating physician and is not specified by the protocol. | Drug | Tocilizumab in Active RA |
| TocilizumabAlso: RoActemra, ActemraTocilizumab will be given as 8 mg/kg via IV infusion every 4 weeks for a total of 12 infusions. The maximum allowed dose is 800 mg. | Drug | Tocilizumab in Active RA |
Primary outcome
Change From Baseline to Week 4 in Synovitis of the Wrist According to Rheumatoid Arthritis Magnetic Resonance Imaging (RAMRIS) Score
Time frame: Baseline and Week 4
Synovitis of the wrist was assessed at three sites including the radioulnar joint (RUJ), the radiocarpal joint (RCJ), and the intercarpal-carpometacarpal joints (IC-CMCJ). Global RAMRIS scores were assigned on a scale of 0 to 3 at each site, where 0 represented normal appearance with no synovial enhancement and each 1-point increase reflected one-third of the presumed maximum volume of enhancing tissue in the synovial compartment. The scores for all three sites were added to give an aggregated score of 0 to 9. Baseline absolute value (AV) and change from Baseline to Week 4 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated improvement in synovitis.
Change From Baseline to Week 4 in Synovitis of the Wrist According to Relative Enhancement (RE) Before and After Contrast Injection
Time frame: Baseline and Week 4
RE was calculated as [S0 minus (-) S55] divided by (÷) S0, multiplied by (×) 100 percent (%), where S0 was defined as the signal noise ratio before contrast injection, and S55 was defined as the signal noise ratio 55 seconds after injection. Signal noise ratios were measured as the ratio between the signal in the region of interest and the standard deviation of background noise. Baseline AV and change from Baseline to Week 4 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated improvement in synovitis.
Change From Baseline to Week 4 in Synovitis of the Wrist According to Rate of Early Enhancement (REE) Per Second Before and After Contrast Injection
Time frame: Baseline and Week 4
REE per second was calculated as [S55 - S0] ÷ [S0 × 55 seconds] × 100%, where S0 was defined as the signal noise ratio before contrast injection, and S55 was defined as the signal noise ratio 55 seconds after injection. Signal noise ratios were measured as the ratio between the signal in the region of interest and the standard deviation of background noise. Baseline AV and change from Baseline to Week 4 were averaged among all participants, where negative changes indicated improvement in synovitis.
88 secondary outcomes
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 12, 24, and 48 in Synovitis of the Wrist According to RAMRIS Score
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 12, 24, and 48 in Synovitis of the Wrist According to RE Before and After Contrast Injection
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 12, 24, and 48 in Synovitis of the Wrist According to REE Per Second Before and After Contrast Injection
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Synovitis of the Wrist and Metacarpo-Phalangeal (MCP) Joints According to Modified RAMRIS Score
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Number of Bones With Erosion in the Wrist and MCP Joints
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Erosion of the Wrist and MCP Joints According to RAMRIS Score
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Number of Bones With Bone Marrow Edema in the Wrist and MCP Joints
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Bone Marrow Edema of the Wrist and MCP Joints According to RAMRIS Score
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 24 and 48 in Total Modified Sharp Score (TMSS), Erosion Score (ES), and Joint Space Narrowing Score (JSNS)
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Ritchie Articular Index Score
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Perceived Pain According to Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Score
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Perceived General Health According to VAS Score
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Health Assessment Questionnaire Disability Index (HAQ-DI) Score
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Disease Activity Score of 28 Joints (DAS28) Score
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor (VEGF) Concentration
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in Erythrocyte Sedimentation Rate (ESR)
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, and 48 in High-Sensitivity C-Reactive Protein (hsCRP) Concentration
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 12, 24, 48
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Soluble Interleukin-6 Receptor (sIL6R) Level
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Messenger Ribonucleic Acid (mRNA) for Interleukin (IL)-17 (2^Delta Cycle Threshold [ΔCt]) Level
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in mRNA for IL-23 Receptor (2^ΔCt) Level
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in mRNA for RAR-Related Orphan Receptor (ROR)-γT (2^ΔCt) Level
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in mRNA for Forkhead Box Protein (FOXP) 3 (2^ΔCt) Level
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Cluster of Differentiation (CD) 4-Positive Cells as a Percentage of Peripheral Blood Mononuclear Cells (PBMCs)
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD4 Mean Intensity of Fluorescence
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD25-Positive Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD25 Mean Intensity of Fluorescence
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD45 "RO" Isoform (RO)-Positive Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CD45RO Mean Intensity of Fluorescence
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Cysteine-Cysteine Chemokine Receptor (CCR) 6-Positive Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CCR6 Mean Intensity of Fluorescence
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CCR4-Positive Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in CCR4 Mean Intensity of Fluorescence
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in IL-23 Receptor p19 Subunit (IL-23Rp19)-Positive Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in IL-23Rp19 Mean Intensity of Fluorescence
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Regulatory T (Treg) Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Treg Cells as a Percentage of T Cells
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Treg Cell Level
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Helper T (Th) 17 Cells as a Percentage of PBMCs
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Th17 Cells as a Percentage of T Cells
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Change From Baseline to Weeks 2 and 4 in Th17 Cell Level
Time frame: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 19 Jun 2017.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
Related trials for Rheumatoid Arthritis
RecruitingPhase 2
Study of PTC844 in Participants With Active Rheumatoid Arthritis
Rheumatoid Arthritis
Not yet recruitingPhase 1
An Ascending Dose Study of DKB903 in Participants With Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA) and Participants With Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE)
Rheumatoid Arthritis and Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Not yet recruitingPhase 1
R-2487 in Patients With Sjogren's Syndrome (SjD)
Sjogren's Syndrome, Sjögren
RecruitingPhase 1
A Trial in Healthy Adult Participants and Adults With Autoimmune Diseases to Test How HBM7020 is Tolerated and How it Behaves in the Body
Rheumatoid Arthritis, Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Active, not recruitingPhase 2
A Study Evaluating the Safety and Efficacy of Inhaled AP01 in Participants With Progressive Pulmonary Fibrosis
Pulmonary Fibrosis, Progressive Pulmonary Fibrosis
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Clinical Trials study director
Hoffmann-La Roche
11 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing DMARDs and Tocilizumab in people with Rheumatoid Arthritis, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 11 sites in Italy.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 4 inclusion and 6 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 19 Jun 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 11 sites in Italy. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 9 Nov 2016). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Change From Baseline to Week 4 in Synovitis of the Wrist According to Rheumatoid Arthritis Magnetic Resonance Imaging (RAMRIS) Score (time frame: Baseline and Week 4). The study lists 3 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 19 Jun 2017.