AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT01008514

Partial-Breast Radiation Therapy in Treating Women With Early-Stage Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing adjuvant therapy, accelerated partial breast irradiation and intracavitary balloon brachytherapy in people with Breast Cancer, run by Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Withdrawn

Withdrawn. The study stopped before anyone enrolled.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Internal radiation therapy uses radioactive material placed directly into or near a tumor to kill tumor cells. It may also cause less damage to normal tissue. PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well partial-breast radiation therapy works in treating women with early-stage breast cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 45 years and older, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
adjuvant therapy, accelerated partial breast irradiation and intracavitary balloon brachytherapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
0 participants
Where
No sites listed yet
Study dates
Start not givento not given
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 45 years and older
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) of the breast or invasive breast adenocarcinoma
  • Stage 0, I, or II (T2, N0; tumor size ≤ 3 cm) disease
  • Pathologic staging of the axilla preferred
  • Clinical staging of the axilla allowed for patients ≥ 70 years of age with hormone receptor-positive tumors
  • Unicentric tumor
  • Microscopic multifocality allowed as long as the total tumor size is ≤ 3 cm
  • Must have undergone lumpectomy as definitive surgery
  • Negative surgical margins, defined as no tumor at the inked margin of resection after final surgery
  • Re-excision to obtain negative margins allowed
  • Must have adequate skin spacing between balloon surface and surface of the skin and lung (≥ 7 mm)
  • No multicentric carcinoma (invasive or DCIS) in more than one quadrant
  • No clinically or pathologically positive regional lymph nodes
  • No extensive intraductal component, defined as DCIS extending beyond the primary invasive component into normal breast parenchyma and composing > 25% of the primary tumor
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Menopausal status not specified
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No collagen-vascular disease, including any of the following:
  • Dermatomyositis
  • Systemic lupus erythematosus
  • Scleroderma-mixed connective tissue disease

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • See Disease Characteristics

About this study

Official title: A Single Institution, Prospective, Non-randomized Study of Partial Breast Irradiation Using the MammoSite Radiation Therapy System (Breast Brachytherapy Applicator)

RATIONALE: Internal radiation therapy uses radioactive material placed directly into or near a tumor to kill tumor cells. It may also cause less damage to normal tissue.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well partial-breast radiation therapy works in treating women with early-stage breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • To examine the efficacy of MammoSite® Radiation Therapy System (RTS) in delivering partial-breast irradiation to women with early-stage breast cancer.

Secondary

  • To assess the toxicities associated with MammoSite® RTS in these patients.
  • To evaluate the cosmetic results in the breast after brachytherapy with the MammoSite® RTS.
  • To correlate the cosmetic results with the use of chemotherapy, volume of the implant, and distance from the implant to the skin.
  • To correlate the local recurrence rate with time between surgery and implant.

OUTLINE: Patients undergo placement of the MammoSite® Radiation Therapy System (RTS) device into the cavity where the tumor was removed either at the time of surgery or percutaneously under ultrasound guidance after surgery. Within 2-5 days after the device implant, patients undergo partial-breast irradiation delivered by MammoSite® RTS twice daily for 5 days.

After completion of study therapy, patients are followed up periodically for 5 years.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
adjuvant therapy, accelerated partial breast irradiation, intracavitary balloon brachytherapy
Keywords
ductal breast carcinoma in situ, stage IA breast cancer, stage IB breast cancer, stage II breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Intraductal, Noninfiltrating

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • adjuvant therapyProcedure or surgery

  • accelerated partial breast irradiationRadiation

  • intracavitary balloon brachytherapyRadiation

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Proportion of local recurrence

    • Local recurrence is defined as either invasive or non-invasive local recurrence within the target volume.
    • Ipsilateral elsewhere recurrence is defined as either invasive or non-invasive local recurrence outside of the target volume.

    Measured: up to 5 years

Secondary outcomes (2)
  1. Safety and toxicity

    Measured: up to 30 months after radiotherapy

  2. Cosmetic results

    Measured: up to 30 months

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted5 Nov 2009 (estimated)

Why it stopped: funding issues and Principal Investigator leaving the institution

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
0 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT01008514
Sponsor's protocol ID
OSU-08177
Status last verified
Mar 2015
First submitted
4 Nov 2009
Last updated
26 Mar 2015
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing adjuvant therapy, accelerated partial breast irradiation and intracavitary balloon brachytherapy in people with Breast Cancer, run by Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: withdrawn, as of the sponsor's last update on 26 Mar 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was withdrawn before enrolling participants, so there are no results.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Proportion of local recurrence (time frame: up to 5 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 26 Mar 2015.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in