Neuromuscular BlockadeINSPIRENCT01181349
Incidence of Incomplete Postoperative Neuromuscular Recovery From Anesthesia (P07535)(Completed)
An observational study of Neuromuscular Blockade, run by Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC.
Trial summary
This is a multicenter, observational study in adult participants undergoing different types of elective surgical procedures requiring general anesthesia. During the first study period, there will be a cross-sectional evaluation of neuromuscular blockade level upon participant arrival at Post Anesthesia Care Units… Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Neuromuscular Blockade
- What is being tested?
- Neuromuscular Blocking Agent (NMBA)
- How many people
- 350 participants
- Where
- No sites listed yet
- Study dates
- Jul 2010to Nov 2010
- Phase
- Observational
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
Study population: Adult Portuguese participants undergoing different types of elective surgical procedures requiring general anesthesia with neuromuscular blocking agents
Who may be able to join
- 18 years of age or older
- Informed consent signed
- Admission for elective surgery
- Administration of nondepolarizing NMBAs during surgery
Who cannot join
- Admission for emergency surgery
- Reoperation on the same hospital admission
About this study
Official title: Incidence of Postoperative Residual Neuromuscular Blockade - A Multicenter, Observational Study in Portugal
This is a multicenter, observational study in adult participants undergoing different types of elective surgical procedures requiring general anesthesia. During the first study period, there will be a cross-sectional evaluation of neuromuscular blockade level upon participant arrival at Post Anesthesia Care Units (PACUs). During the second study period, hospital discharge data from the participants will be collected. The purpose of this study is to determine the incidence of incomplete postoperative neuromuscular recovery from anesthesia at PACUs in Portuguese hospitals. This is a cross-sectional and retrospective study.
- Conditions
- Neuromuscular Blockade
- Being tested
- Neuromuscular Blocking Agent (NMBA)
- Keywords
- neuromuscular blockade; general anesthesia
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
Neuromuscular Blocking Agent (NMBA)Other
While neuromuscular blockade drug(s) are involved in this study prior to actual study initiation (this is an observational study), it should be noted that the identity, combination(s), and dosages of these drugs (also referred to as general anesthesia drug[s]) are not specified in the protocol.
Neuromuscular Blocking Agent (NMBA)Other
While neuromuscular blockade drug(s) are involved in this study prior to actual study initiation (this is an observational study), it should be noted that the identity, combination(s), and dosages of these drugs (also referred to as general anesthesia drug[s]) are not specified in the protocol.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| P07535 study participants with a TOF ratio <0.9 | Participants enrolled in the P07535 study who are included in the primary outcome measurement, which is defined as the incidence of postoperative residual neuromuscular blockade, who had a TOF ratio <0.9 at PACU arrival. Receives: Other: Neuromuscular Blocking Agent (NMBA) | |
| P07535 study participants with a TOF ratio ≥0.9 | Participants enrolled in the P07535 study who are included in the primary outcome measurement, which is defined as the incidence of postoperative residual neuromuscular blockade, who had a TOF ratio ≥0.9 at PACU arrival. Receives: Other: Neuromuscular Blocking Agent (NMBA) |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Number of Participants With Train-of-four (TOF) Ratio <0.9 at PACU Arrival
The incidence of incomplete postoperative neuromuscular recovery from general anesthesia was assessed in study participants upon arrival in the PACU, after their respective surgical procedures were completed. Neuromuscular functioning was assessed by applying repetitive TOF electrical stimulations to the ulnar nerve every 15 seconds and assessing twitch response at the adductor pollicis muscle. The TOF ratio is the ratio of the magnitude of the fourth twitch to that of the first twitch, and a ratio <0.9 indicates residual neuromuscular blockade (incomplete neuromuscular recovery).
Measured: Upon arrival in the PACU
Secondary outcomes (4)
Number of Participants With and Without Postoperative Residual Neuromuscular Blockade Who Received Identified Neuromuscular Blocking Agents
Neuromuscular blocking agents administered to participants undergoing surgical procedures were recorded. The number of participants who received atracurium, cisatracurium, rocuronium or vecuronium is presented, for participants with and without residual neuromuscular blockade.
Measured: From start of surgery through PACU arrival
Number of Participants With and Without Postoperative Residual Neuromuscular Blockade Who Received Propofol or Sevoflurane
Anesthetic agents administered to participants undergoing surgical procedures were recorded. The number of participants who received propofol or sevoflurane is presented, for participants with and without residual neuromuscular blockade.
Measured: From start of surgery through PACU arrival
Number of Participants With and Without Postoperative Residual Neuromuscular Blockade Who Received Neuromuscular Blockade Reversal Agents
Neuromuscular blockade reversal agents administered to participants undergoing surgical procedures were recorded. The number of participants who received such an agent is presented, for participants with and without residual neuromuscular blockade.
Measured: From end of surgery through PACU arrival, an expected average of 10 minutes
Number of Participants With and Without Postoperative Residual Neuromuscular Blockade With Postoperative Events
Measured: From end of surgery through hospital discharge, an expected average of 6 days
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted13 Aug 2010 (estimated)
- Study startJul 2010
- Primary completionNov 2010
- Study completionNov 2010
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Publications (1)Papers the sponsor has linked to this study.
- Other trials for Neuromuscular BlockadeStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Merck Sharp & Dohme LLCThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Observational
- Observational model
- Cohort
- Enrolment
- 350 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC
- Sponsor type
- Industry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT01181349
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- P07535
- Acronym
- INSPIRE
- Status last verified
- Oct 2015
- First submitted
- 23 Jul 2010
- Last updated
- 14 Oct 2015
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
- Data monitoring committee
- No
Publications
Esteves S, Martins M, Barros F, Barros F, Canas M, Vitor P, Seabra M, Castro MM, Bastardo I. Incidence of postoperative residual neuromuscular blockade in the postanaesthesia care unit: an observational multicentre study in Portugal. Eur J Anaesthesiol. 2013 May;30(5):243-9. doi: 10.1097/EJA.0b013e32835dccd7.
PubMed 23344123
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 14 Oct 2015. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Incidence of Postoperative Residual Neuromuscular Blockade - A Multicenter, Observational Study in Portugal
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT01181349
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- INSPIRE / P07535
- Conditions
- Neuromuscular Blockade
- Keywords
- neuromuscular blockade; general anesthesia
- Study type
- Observational
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 350 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Merck Sharp & Dohme LLCIndustry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Study start
- Jul 2010
- Primary completion
- Nov 2010 (actual)
- Study completion
- Nov 2010 (actual)
- First posted
- 13 Aug 2010 (estimated)
- Results
- Posted 2 Apr 2012
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
This is a multicenter, observational study in adult participants undergoing different types of elective surgical procedures requiring general anesthesia. During the first study period, there will be a cross-sectional evaluation of neuromuscular blockade level upon participant arrival at Post Anesthesia Care Units (PACUs). During the second study period, hospital discharge data from the participants will be collected. The purpose of this study is to determine the incidence of incomplete postoperative neuromuscular recovery from anesthesia at PACUs in Portuguese hospitals. This is a cross-sectional and retrospective study.
Study design
- Observational model
- Cohort
- Number of arms
- 2
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| P07535 study participants with a TOF ratio <0.9 | – | Other: Neuromuscular Blocking Agent (NMBA)Participants enrolled in the P07535 study who are included in the primary outcome measurement, which is defined as the incidence of postoperative residual neuromuscular blockade, who had a TOF ratio <0.9 at PACU arrival. |
| P07535 study participants with a TOF ratio ≥0.9 | – | Other: Neuromuscular Blocking Agent (NMBA)Participants enrolled in the P07535 study who are included in the primary outcome measurement, which is defined as the incidence of postoperative residual neuromuscular blockade, who had a TOF ratio ≥0.9 at PACU arrival. |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
- Study population
- Adult Portuguese participants undergoing different types of elective surgical procedures requiring general anesthesia with neuromuscular blocking agents
Key inclusion criteria (4 listed)
- 18 years of age or older
- Informed consent signed
- Admission for elective surgery
- Administration of nondepolarizing NMBAs during surgery
Key exclusion criteria (2 listed)
- Admission for emergency surgery
- Reoperation on the same hospital admission
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| Neuromuscular Blocking Agent (NMBA)While neuromuscular blockade drug(s) are involved in this study prior to actual study initiation (this is an observational study), it should be noted that the identity, combination(s), and dosages of these drugs (also referred to as general anesthesia drug[s]) are not specified in the protocol. | Other | P07535 study participants with a TOF ratio <0.9 |
| Neuromuscular Blocking Agent (NMBA)While neuromuscular blockade drug(s) are involved in this study prior to actual study initiation (this is an observational study), it should be noted that the identity, combination(s), and dosages of these drugs (also referred to as general anesthesia drug[s]) are not specified in the protocol. | Other | P07535 study participants with a TOF ratio ≥0.9 |
Primary outcome
Number of Participants With Train-of-four (TOF) Ratio <0.9 at PACU Arrival
Time frame: Upon arrival in the PACU
The incidence of incomplete postoperative neuromuscular recovery from general anesthesia was assessed in study participants upon arrival in the PACU, after their respective surgical procedures were completed. Neuromuscular functioning was assessed by applying repetitive TOF electrical stimulations to the ulnar nerve every 15 seconds and assessing twitch response at the adductor pollicis muscle. The TOF ratio is the ratio of the magnitude of the fourth twitch to that of the first twitch, and a ratio <0.9 indicates residual neuromuscular blockade (incomplete neuromuscular recovery).
4 secondary outcomes
Number of Participants With and Without Postoperative Residual Neuromuscular Blockade Who Received Identified Neuromuscular Blocking Agents
Time frame: From start of surgery through PACU arrival
Number of Participants With and Without Postoperative Residual Neuromuscular Blockade Who Received Propofol or Sevoflurane
Time frame: From start of surgery through PACU arrival
Number of Participants With and Without Postoperative Residual Neuromuscular Blockade Who Received Neuromuscular Blockade Reversal Agents
Time frame: From end of surgery through PACU arrival, an expected average of 10 minutes
Number of Participants With and Without Postoperative Residual Neuromuscular Blockade With Postoperative Events
Time frame: From end of surgery through hospital discharge, an expected average of 6 days
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 14 Oct 2015.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
- Derived from this study: PubMed 23344123Esteves S, Martins M, Barros F, Barros F, Canas M, Vitor P, Seabra M, Castro MM, Bastardo I. Incidence of postoperative residual neuromuscular blockade in the postanaesthesia care unit: an observational multicentre study in Portugal. Eur J Anaesthesiol. 2013 May;30(5):243-9. doi: 10.1097/EJA.0b013e32835dccd7.
Related trials for Neuromuscular Blockade
Active, not recruiting
Efficacy of Laparoscopic-Assisted TAP Block in Laparoscopic Appendectomy
Appendectomy, Laparoscopic, Blockades Neuromuscular
Not yet recruitingObservational study
Diaphragm Ultrasound and Neuromuscular Monitoring for Predicting Early Respiratory Events After Extubation
Residual Neuromuscular Blockade, Diaphragm Dysfunction
Recruiting
Inspiratory Muscle Training and Diaphragmatic Breathing in GAD
Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD)
Not yet recruiting
Comparative Effects Of Exercises Targeting Upper Trapezius In Patients With Non Specific Neck Pain
Non Specific Neck Pain
RecruitingObservational study
The Association Between Residual Neuromuscular Block Risk Prediction Score and the Train-of-Four Ratio
Muscle Relaxants
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
The record lists no contact. Use the official record to reach the sponsor.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
An observational study of Neuromuscular Blockade, run by Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 4 inclusion and 2 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 14 Oct 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 2 Apr 2012). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Number of Participants With Train-of-four (TOF) Ratio <0.9 at PACU Arrival (time frame: Upon arrival in the PACU). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT01181349, which also lists 1 linked publication.
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 14 Oct 2015.