AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerNCT01254591

Positron Emission Tomography/Computed Tomography Scanning Before Surgery in Patients With Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer, Colorectal Cancer, Breast Cancer, Esophageal Cancer, or Head and Neck Cancer

A study testing 18F-fluoromisonidazole, fluorescence angiography and laboratory biomarker analysis in people with Breast Cancer and Colorectal Cancer, run by University College London (UCL) Cancer Institute at 1 site in United Kingdom.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Diagnostic procedures, such as positron emission tomography/computed tomography (PET/CT) scanning before surgery, may help measure the extent of disease. PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying PET/CT scanning before surgery in patients with non-small cell lung cancer, colorectal cancer, breast cancer… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age
What is being tested?
18F-fluoromisonidazole, fluorescence angiography and laboratory biomarker analysis
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
500 participants
Where
1 siteUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Nov 2006to Aug 2013
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of non-small cell lung cancer, colorectal cancer, breast cancer, esophageal cancer, or head and neck cancer
  • Potentially operable disease
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Not specified
  • Menopausal status not specified

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United Kingdom1 site, 1 recruiting
  • University College Hospital

    London, England, NW1 2BU

    Contact Person, 44-207-631-1066, peter.ell@uclh.nhs.uk

    Recruiting

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: Tumor Angiogenesis in Non-Small Cell Lung (NSCLC), Colorectal, Breast, Esophageal, Head and Neck Cancer: Radiology-Pathology and Prognostic Correlation

RATIONALE: Diagnostic procedures, such as positron emission tomography/computed tomography (PET/CT) scanning before surgery, may help measure the extent of disease.

PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying PET/CT scanning before surgery in patients with non-small cell lung cancer, colorectal cancer, breast cancer, esophageal cancer, or head and neck cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • To determine the ability of preoperative fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography/computed tomography (PET/CT) scanning in assessing tumor angiogenesis in patients with potentially operable non-small cell lung cancer, colorectal cancer, breast cancer, esophageal cancer, or head and neck cancer.
  • To determine the ability of preoperative fludeoxyglucose F 18 PET/CT scanning in assessing prognosis by means of measuring angiogenesis in these patients.

OUTLINE: All patients undergo fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography/computed tomography (PET/CT) scanning for staging, tumor perfusion measurement/angiogenesis, and glucose metabolism. If staging confirms operable disease, then the patient proceeds to surgery as planned. Resected tumor tissue samples are examined for tumor angiogenesis in the various cancer types.

Some patients undergo a half-dose of rubidium Rb-82 or 18F-fluoromisonidazole or [18F]-ML-10 PET scan or fluorescence angiography. Patients with colorectal cancer undergo a CT scan for perfusion of the tumor after the staging PET/CT. Patients with breast cancer undergo infrared thermometry as well as a MRI scan for staging and to predict angiogenesis.

After completion of study therapy, patients are followed up at 1 month and then every 6 months for 5 years.

Being tested
18F-fluoromisonidazole, fluorescence angiography, laboratory biomarker analysis, infrared thermography, magnetic resonance imaging
Keywords
stage IA non-small cell lung cancer, stage IB non-small cell lung cancer, stage IIA non-small cell lung cancer, stage IIB non-small cell lung cancer, stage IIIA non-small cell lung cancer, stage I colon cancer, stage IIA colon cancer, stage IIB colon cancer, stage IIC colon cancer, stage IIIA colon cancer, stage I rectal cancer, stage IIA rectal cancer, stage IIB rectal cancer, stage IIC rectal cancer, stage IIIA rectal cancer, stage IA breast cancer, stage IB breast cancer, stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer, stage IIIB breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Colorectal Neoplasms, Esophageal Neoplasms, Head and Neck Neoplasms, Lung Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung, Colonic Neoplasms, Rectal Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • 18F-fluoromisonidazoleOther

  • fluorescence angiographyOther

  • laboratory biomarker analysisOther

  • infrared thermographyProcedure or surgery

  • magnetic resonance imagingProcedure or surgery

  • therapeutic conventional surgeryProcedure or surgery

  • [18F]-ML-10Radiation

  • fludeoxyglucose F 18Radiation

  • rubidium Rb-82Radiation

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Clinical, radiological, and pathological correlation

  2. Prognosis (6-month, 1-year, 3-year, and 5-year mortality including local/distance recurrence rates)

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted6 Dec 2010 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2006
  3. Primary completionAug 2013 (estimated)

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Primary purpose
Diagnosis
Enrolment
500 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT01254591
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000689973
Other IDs
UCL-TUMOR-ANGIOGENESIS, EU-21086
Status last verified
Dec 2010
First submitted
3 Dec 2010
Last updated
26 Aug 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing 18F-fluoromisonidazole, fluorescence angiography and laboratory biomarker analysis in people with Breast Cancer and Colorectal Cancer, run by University College London (UCL) Cancer Institute at 1 site in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 26 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

Each site lists its own contact: choose the nearest one under Trial locations. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Clinical, radiological, and pathological correlation. The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 26 Aug 2013.

Free account

Keep searching with a free account

You’ve used your 3 free searches for this session. Log in or create a free AzTrials account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in
Clinical Trial NCT01254591 | AzTrials