AzTrials
AzTrials

LeukemiaPhase 3NCT01324063

A Randomized Phase III Study of Intensive Consolidation With High Dose Cytosine Arabinoside in Acute Myelogenous Leukemia (AML-8B)

A Phase 3 study testing sargramostim, amsacrine and cytarabine in people with Leukemia, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Patient abstract not available PURPOSE: Patient abstract not available Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 45 to 60 years
Conditions the study is for
Leukemia
What is being tested?
sargramostim, amsacrine and cytarabine
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
160 participants
Where
No sites listed yet
Study dates
Nov 1986to Jun 1994
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 45 to 60 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Newly diagnosed, untreated acute myelogenous leukemia (AML), as follows: Any cytological type according to the FAB classification At least 30% blast cells in bone marrow smear required Secondary acute leukemia eligible, i.e.: AML cured Hodgkin's disease or other malignancy AML following exposure to alkylating agents or radiation The following are specifically excluded: Blast crisis of chronic myeloid leukemia Leukemia supervening after other myeloproliferative disease Leukemia supervening after overt myelodysplastic disorder (e.g., refractory anemia with excess blasts) of more than 6 months' duration

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 45-60 Patients 10-45 are eligible for EORTC-06863 Performance status: Not specified Hematopoietic: Not specified Hepatic: No severe concomitant hepatic disease Renal: No severe concomitant renal disease Cardiovascular: No severe concomitant cardiac disease Other: No severe concomitant neurological disease No other progressive malignant disease

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: No prior therapy Chemotherapy: No prior chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: No more than 7 days of corticosteroids for AML Radiotherapy: No prior radiotherapy Surgery: Not applicable

About this study

RATIONALE: Patient abstract not available

PURPOSE: Patient abstract not available

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Assess the value (in terms of disease-free survival and overall survival) of short intensive consolidation with high-dose cytosine arabinoside in patients with acute myelogenous leukemia who achieve complete remission after induction with daunorubicin and cytosine arabinoside. II. Assess the toxicity and resulting quality of life associated with consolidation with high-dose cytosine arabinoside compared with conventional consolidation/maintenance treatment. III. Determine whether addition of granulocyte-macrophage colony stimulating factor (GM-CSF) to Induction chemotherapy can improve therapeutic results through activation of leukemic cells into the cell cycle and/or acceleration of hematopoietic recovery (objective added 08/90). IV. Determine indirectly whether autologous bone marrow therapy is better than conventional consolidation/maintenance or high-dose cytosine arabinoside by comparing results from protocol EORTC-06863 (AML 8 A).

OUTLINE: Patients with normal kidney function are randomized on Arms A-D for Induction (patients whose serum creatinine is more than 1.5 x the upper limit of normal are nonrandomly assigned to Arm A). Following Induction, patients achieving CR are randomized to Arms I and II. Induction: Arm A: 2-Drug Combination Chemotherapy. Daunorubicin, Daunomycin, DNM, DNR, NSC-82151; Cytosine arabinoside, ARA-C, NSC-63878. Arm B: 2-Drug Combination Chemotherapy plus Growth Factor Therapy. DNM; ARA-C; plus Granulocyte-Macrophage Colony Stimulating Factor (Sandoz), GM-CSF. GM-CSF on days 0 through 7. Arm C: 2-Drug Combination Chemotherapy with Hematologic Toxicity Attenuation. DNM; ARA-C; GM-CSF. GM-CSF from end of chemotherapy through day 28. Arm D: 2-Drug Combination Chemotherapy plus Growth Factor Therapy and Hematologic Toxicity Attenuation. DNM; ARA-C; GM-CSF. GM-CSF on days 0 through 28. Arm I: Intensive Consolidation: 2-Drug Combination Chemotherapy followed by 2-Drug Combination Chemotherapy. High-dose ARA-C, HDARA-C; Acridinylanisidide, m-AMSA, AMSA, NSC-249992; followed by HDARA-C; DNR. Arm II: Standard Consolidation/Maintenance: 2-Drug Combination Chemotherapy. ARA-C; DNR.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A minimum of 157 patients will be required; with an expected entry rate of 40 patients per year, patient entry is expected to take 4 years.

Conditions
Leukemia
Being tested
sargramostim, amsacrine, cytarabine, daunorubicin hydrochloride, quality-of-life assessment
Keywords
untreated adult acute myeloid leukemia
Medical subject headings
Leukemia

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • sargramostimBiological

  • amsacrineDrug

  • cytarabineDrug

  • daunorubicin hydrochlorideDrug

  • quality-of-life assessmentProcedure or surgery

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Disease-free survival and overall survival in patients who achieve complete remission after induction

  2. Toxicity

  3. Quality of life

  4. Improved therapeutic results as measured by activation of leukemic cells into the cell cycle and/or acceleration of hematopoietic recovery

  5. Relative efficacy of autologous bone marrow therapy

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted28 Mar 2011 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 1986
  3. Primary completionJun 1994

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Enrolment
160 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT01324063
Sponsor's protocol ID
EORTC-06864
Other IDs
EORTC-06864
Status last verified
Jul 2012
First submitted
25 Mar 2011
Last updated
16 Jul 2012
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Zittoun R, Suciu S, Mandelli F, de Witte T, Thaler J, Stryckmans P, Hayat M, Peetermans M, Cadiou M, Solbu G, Petti MC, Willemze R. Granulocyte-macrophage colony-stimulating factor associated with induction treatment of acute myelogenous leukemia: a randomized trial by the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Leukemia Cooperative Group. J Clin Oncol. 1996 Jul;14(7):2150-9. doi: 10.1200/JCO.1996.14.7.2150.

    PubMed 8683249

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing sargramostim, amsacrine and cytarabine in people with Leukemia, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 16 Jul 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Disease-free survival and overall survival in patients who achieve complete remission after induction. The study lists 5 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT01324063, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 16 Jul 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in