Pulmonary Disease, Chronic ObstructiveNCT01381406
Impact of Initiating Tiotropium Alone Versus Initiating Tiotropium in Combination With Fluticasone Propionate/Salmeterol Xinafoate Combination (FSC) on Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease-related Outcomes in Patients With Pre-existing Exacerbations
An observational study of Pulmonary Disease, Chronic Obstructive, run by GlaxoSmithKline.
Trial summary
This was a retrospective cohort design using administrative claims data from Jan 1, 2003 through Sep 30, 2007, representing the years of available data, were used for this study. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 40 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Pulmonary Disease, Chronic Obstructive
- What is being tested?
- TIO and TIO+FSC
- How many people
- 3,333 participants
- Where
- No sites listed yet
- Study dates
- Jul 2008to Sep 2010
- Phase
- Observational
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 40 years and older
- All sexes
- Adult, Older adult
Study population: Data for managed-care enrollees age 40 and older with a diagnosis of COPD and an index event of at least one pharmacy claim for TIO during the study period (January 1, 2003 through April 30, 2008) were identified. Subjects were required to have ≥1 exacerbation in the pre-index period (defined as a COPD-related emergency room visit or hospitalization), ≥1 prescription claim for ipratropium or ipratropium/albuterol combination in the pre-index period, ≥2 prescriptions for TIO (including the index prescription) during the post-index period, no prescription for FSC during the pre-index period, and no exacerbation or hospital/emergency room visit within 30 days after the index date. ICD-9-CM code 490.xx, bronchitis not specified as chronic or acute, was included in an attempt to enhance the validity of the analysis by capturing patients with chronic bronchitis whose condition was coded incorrectly.
Who may be able to join
- Continuous health plan eligibility in the pre- and post-index periods
- age ≥40 years at the index date
- Presence of at least 1 claim with an ICD-9-CM code for COPD in any diagnosis field (490.xx, 491.xx, 492.xx, 496.xx) in the pre- and post-index period
- ≥1 exacerbation in the pre-index period (defined as a COPD-related Emergency Room visit or hospitalization)
- ≥1 prescription claim for ipratropium or ipratropium/albuterol combination in the pre-index period
- an index event of at least one pharmacy claim for TIO (tiotropium) combination in the pre-index period during the study period (January 1, 2003 through April 30, 2008)
- ≥2 prescriptions for TIO (including the index prescription) during the post-index period
Who cannot join
- presence of comorbid conditions (respiratory cancer, cystic fibrosis, fibrosis due to tuberculosis [TB], and bronchiectasis, pneumonociosis, pulmonary fibrosis, pulmonary TB, sarcoidosis) during the pre- and post-index periods
- use of FSC in pre-index period
- exacerbation (emergency room visit or hospitalization) within 30 days after the index date
About this study
This was a retrospective cohort design using administrative claims data from Jan 1, 2003 through Sep 30, 2007, representing the years of available data, were used for this study. Managed care enrollees having at least one pharmacy claim for tiotropium (TIO) during the study period were identified as the target population. An index TIO prescription was defined as the first chronologically occurring pharmacy claim for TIO during the period Jan 1, 2004 to Aug 31, 2006, called the enrollment period. The date of the index TIO prescription was termed as the index Rx date, and the 1-year period before the index Rx date was termed as the pre-index period. The period after the index date was termed as the post-index date, and is further divided into a 30-day combination assessment period and a 1-year follow-up period. COPD clinical and economic outcomes were measured in a variable length follow up period.
The combination assessment period, defined as the 30-day period following the index Rx date, was used to categorize patients into 2 cohorts: TIO alone or TIO + FSC (fluticasone propionate/salmeterol xinofoate combination) depending on whether they use FSC in combination with TIO during this period. Combination therapy with TIO + FSC was defined as having an FSC claim on the same date as the TIO claim or a TIO and FSC pharmacy claim with overlapping days supply occurring within 30 days of index Rx date. Enrollees adding FSC for the first time after the 30-day combination assessment period were excluded from the sample, thus ensuring that the TIO-alone cohort is not using FSC. No outcomes were assessed in the 30-day combination assessment period. The 1-year period after the end of the 30-day combination assessment period was termed as the follow-up period and was used to assess all study outcomes. Enrollees were required to be continuously eligible in their health plans during the pre-index and post-index periods for a total of 25 months. An intent-to-treat approach was used for the analyses. Thus, patients identified to be in a drug therapy cohort were considered to be using that therapy during the entire follow-up period, regardless of therapy discontinuations.
Read more
Specifically the study hypothesis for the primary outcome being tested was:
Ho: There is no difference in risk of any COPD-related exacerbation between TIO+FSC and TIO cohorts Ha: There is a difference in risk of any COPD-related exacerbation between TIO+FSC and TIO cohorts
Hypothesis for the key secondary outcome of COPD-related costs that was tested was:
Ho: There is no difference in COPD-related costs between TIO+FSC and TIO cohorts Ha: There is a difference in COPD-related costs between TIO+FSC and TIO cohorts
- Conditions
- Pulmonary Disease, Chronic Obstructive
- Being tested
- TIO, TIO+FSC
- Medical subject headings
- Pulmonary Disease, Chronic Obstructive
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
TIODrug
Also called Spiriva®
Patients receiving tiotropium bromide at index within the study period.
TIO+FSCDrug
Also called Spiriva ® + ADVAIR ®
Patients receiving tiotropium bromide plus fluticasone propionate-salmeterol xinafoate combination at time of index within the study period.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| COPD patients | Patients who are at least 40 years of age and diagnosed with COPD using ICD-9 codes of 491.xx, 492.xx, and 496.xx in an administrative claims database. Receives: Drug: TIO; Drug: TIO+FSC |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Incidence Rate Per 100 Person Years of Hospitalization or Emergency Department (ED) Visit Related to Exacerbation of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD)
A severe exacerbation is defined as one with a primary diagnosis of COPD. A moderate exacerbation is an ED visit with a primary diagnosis of COPD, a physician visit with a diagnosis of COPD and a prescription for an oral corticosteroid, a physician visit with a diagnosis code for COPD and an antibiotic for respiratory infection, or physician administration of nebulized albuterol within 3 days of an office visit. Incidence rate is calculated by dividing the number of exacerbations by the number of person years. Person years adjust for different lengths of follow up for participants.
Measured: Data were collected over a maximum period of 4 years
Secondary outcomes (2)
Adjusted Mean Monthly Costs Per COPD Patient by Treatment Group
The mean costs of health care encounters adjusted to control for baseline differences between treatment groups and reported in 2008 United States dollars as calculated with the consumer price index (CPI) are presented. CPI is standard multiplier for adjusting the cost of goods and services to a single year. Total costs include pharmacy and medical costs. Medical costs were computed from the paid amounts of medical claims with a primary diagnosis code for COPD. COPD-related pharmacy costs were computed from paid amounts of COPD-related prescription medications.
Measured: Data were collected over a maximum period of 4 years
Incidence Rate of Hospitalizations and Emergency Room Visits Per 100 Person Years
Unadjusted incidence rates per 100 person years of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD)-related hospitalizations and emergency department visits by treatment group are presented. Incidence rate is calculated by dividing the number of healthcare service encounters by the number of person years of follow up. Person years adjust for different lengths of follow up for individual participants
Measured: Data were collected over a maximum period of 4 years
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted27 Jun 2011 (estimated)
- Study startJul 2008
- Primary completionJun 2010
- Study completionSep 2010
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Other trials for Pulmonary Disease, Chronic ObstructiveStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by GlaxoSmithKlineThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Observational
- Observational model
- Cohort
- Time perspective
- Retrospective
- Enrolment
- 3,333 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- GlaxoSmithKline
- Sponsor type
- Industry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- GSK Clinical Trials, Study director, GlaxoSmithKline
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT01381406
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- 111266
- Status last verified
- May 2017
- First submitted
- 23 Jun 2011
- Last updated
- 14 Jun 2017
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
- Data monitoring committee
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 14 Jun 2017. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Impact of Initiating Tiotropium Alone Versus Initiating Tiotropium in Combination With Fluticasone Propionate/Salmeterol Xinafoate Combination (FSC) on Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease-related Outcomes in Patients With Pre-existing Exacerbations
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT01381406
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- 111266
- Conditions
- Pulmonary Disease, Chronic Obstructive
- Study type
- Observational
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 3,333 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- GlaxoSmithKlineIndustry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Study start
- Jul 2008
- Primary completion
- Jun 2010 (actual)
- Study completion
- Sep 2010 (actual)
- First posted
- 27 Jun 2011 (estimated)
- Results
- Posted 21 Oct 2011
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
This was a retrospective cohort design using administrative claims data from Jan 1, 2003 through Sep 30, 2007, representing the years of available data, were used for this study. Managed care enrollees having at least one pharmacy claim for tiotropium (TIO) during the study period were identified as the target population. An index TIO prescription was defined as the first chronologically occurring pharmacy claim for TIO during the period Jan 1, 2004 to Aug 31, 2006, called the enrollment period. The date of the index TIO prescription was termed as the index Rx date, and the 1-year period before the index Rx date was termed as the pre-index period. The period after the index date was termed as the post-index date, and is further divided into a 30-day combination assessment period and a 1-year follow-up period. COPD clinical and economic outcomes were measured in a variable length follow up period.
The combination assessment period, defined as the 30-day period following the index Rx date, was used to categorize patients into 2 cohorts: TIO alone or TIO + FSC (fluticasone propionate/salmeterol xinofoate combination) depending on whether they use FSC in combination with TIO during this period. Combination therapy with TIO + FSC was defined as having an FSC claim on the same date as the TIO claim or a TIO and FSC pharmacy claim with overlapping days supply occurring within 30 days of index Rx date. Enrollees adding FSC for the first time after the 30-day combination assessment period were excluded from the sample, thus ensuring that the TIO-alone cohort is not using FSC. No outcomes were assessed in the 30-day combination assessment period. The 1-year period after the end of the 30-day combination assessment period was termed as the follow-up period and was used to assess all study outcomes. Enrollees were required to be continuously eligible in their health plans during the pre-index and post-index periods for a total of 25 months. An intent-to-treat approach was used for the analyses. Thus, patients identified to be in a drug therapy cohort were considered to be using that therapy during the entire follow-up period, regardless of therapy discontinuations.
Specifically the study hypothesis for the primary outcome being tested was:
Ho: There is no difference in risk of any COPD-related exacerbation between TIO+FSC and TIO cohorts Ha: There is a difference in risk of any COPD-related exacerbation between TIO+FSC and TIO cohorts
Hypothesis for the key secondary outcome of COPD-related costs that was tested was:
Ho: There is no difference in COPD-related costs between TIO+FSC and TIO cohorts Ha: There is a difference in COPD-related costs between TIO+FSC and TIO cohorts
Study design
- Observational model
- Cohort
- Time perspective
- Retrospective
- Number of arms
- 1
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| COPD patients | – | Drug: TIO, Drug: TIO+FSCPatients who are at least 40 years of age and diagnosed with COPD using ICD-9 codes of 491.xx, 492.xx, and 496.xx in an administrative claims database. |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 40 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
- Study population
- Data for managed-care enrollees age 40 and older with a diagnosis of COPD and an index event of at least one pharmacy claim for TIO during the study period (January 1, 2003 through April 30, 2008) were identified. Subjects were required to have ≥1 exacerbation in the pre-index period (defined as a COPD-related emergency room visit or hospitalization), ≥1 prescription claim for ipratropium or ipratropium/albuterol combination in the pre-index period, ≥2 prescriptions for TIO (including the index prescription) during the post-index period, no prescription for FSC during the pre-index period, and no exacerbation or hospital/emergency room visit within 30 days after the index date. ICD-9-CM code 490.xx, bronchitis not specified as chronic or acute, was included in an attempt to enhance the validity of the analysis by capturing patients with chronic bronchitis whose condition was coded incorrectly.
Key inclusion criteria (7 listed)
- Continuous health plan eligibility in the pre- and post-index periods
- age ≥40 years at the index date
- Presence of at least 1 claim with an ICD-9-CM code for COPD in any diagnosis field (490.xx, 491.xx, 492.xx, 496.xx) in the pre- and post-index period
- ≥1 exacerbation in the pre-index period (defined as a COPD-related Emergency Room visit or hospitalization)
- ≥1 prescription claim for ipratropium or ipratropium/albuterol combination in the pre-index period
Key exclusion criteria (3 listed)
- presence of comorbid conditions (respiratory cancer, cystic fibrosis, fibrosis due to tuberculosis [TB], and bronchiectasis, pneumonociosis, pulmonary fibrosis, pulmonary TB, sarcoidosis) during the pre- and post-index periods
- use of FSC in pre-index period
- exacerbation (emergency room visit or hospitalization) within 30 days after the index date
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| TIOAlso: Spiriva®Patients receiving tiotropium bromide at index within the study period. | Drug | COPD patients |
| TIO+FSCAlso: Spiriva ® + ADVAIR ®Patients receiving tiotropium bromide plus fluticasone propionate-salmeterol xinafoate combination at time of index within the study period. | Drug | COPD patients |
Primary outcome
Incidence Rate Per 100 Person Years of Hospitalization or Emergency Department (ED) Visit Related to Exacerbation of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD)
Time frame: Data were collected over a maximum period of 4 years
A severe exacerbation is defined as one with a primary diagnosis of COPD. A moderate exacerbation is an ED visit with a primary diagnosis of COPD, a physician visit with a diagnosis of COPD and a prescription for an oral corticosteroid, a physician visit with a diagnosis code for COPD and an antibiotic for respiratory infection, or physician administration of nebulized albuterol within 3 days of an office visit. Incidence rate is calculated by dividing the number of exacerbations by the number of person years. Person years adjust for different lengths of follow up for participants.
2 secondary outcomes
Adjusted Mean Monthly Costs Per COPD Patient by Treatment Group
Time frame: Data were collected over a maximum period of 4 years
Incidence Rate of Hospitalizations and Emergency Room Visits Per 100 Person Years
Time frame: Data were collected over a maximum period of 4 years
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 14 Jun 2017.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
Related trials for Pulmonary Disease, Chronic Obstructive
Active, not recruiting
Symptoms and Functions in Patients With COPD and Chronic Bronchitis Switching From CIG to THS
COPD, Smoking
Not yet recruitingPhase 2/3
An Open-Label Extension Study to Evaluate Inhaled Treprostinil SMI in Participants With Pulmonary Hypertension Associated With Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (PH-COPD)
Pulmonary Hypertension Associated With Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease
Not yet recruiting
The Aim of the Study is to Decipher the Alterations in Signalling Pathways of Skeletal Muscle Stem Cells (Satellite Cells (SCs)) in Individuals With COPD, as Well as to Examine the Effect of Exercise Training on SCs.
COPD (Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease), Sarcopenia in Elderly
Not yet recruitingPhase 2
Study of Treprostinil Administered Via Soft Mist Inhaler (SMI) in Participants With Pulmonary Hypertension Associated With Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (PH-COPD)
Pulmonary Hypertension Associated With Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease
RecruitingPhase 3
A Study to Investigate the Efficacy and Safety of Belumosudil Compared With Best Available Therapy in Participants Aged 12 Years or Older With Chronic Graft-versus-host Disease
Chronic Graft Versus Host Disease
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
GSK Clinical Trials study director
GlaxoSmithKline
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
An observational study of Pulmonary Disease, Chronic Obstructive, run by GlaxoSmithKline.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 7 inclusion and 3 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 14 Jun 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 21 Oct 2011). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Incidence Rate Per 100 Person Years of Hospitalization or Emergency Department (ED) Visit Related to Exacerbation of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) (time frame: Data were collected over a maximum period of 4 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 14 Jun 2017.