AzTrials
AzTrials

Retraction of ColostomyPhase 4IMPROVE-IRNCT01509807

A Health Economic Trial in Adult Patients Undergoing Ileostomy Reversal MA402S23B504

A Phase 4 study testing IV morphine sulfate or Sponsor-approved equivalent and EXPAREL in people with Retraction of Colostomy, run by Pacira Pharmaceuticals, Inc at 3 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

This study is designed to compare the standard of care against EXPAREL (bupivacaine liposome injectable suspension) to determine if total opioid consumption is reduced when using EXPAREL, therefore possibly reducing total hospitalization costs. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Retraction of Colostomy
What is being tested?
IV morphine sulfate or Sponsor-approved equivalent and EXPAREL
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
33 participants
Where
3 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Jan 2012to Oct 2012
Phase
Phase 4
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Male or female, 18 years of age and older
  • Patients scheduled to undergo ileostomy reversal
  • Ability to provide informed consent, adhere to study visit schedule, and complete all assessments.

Who cannot join

  • Patients with a history of hypersensitivity or idiosyncratic reactions or intolerance to any local anesthetic, opioid, or propofol.
  • Patients who abuse alcohol or other drug substance.
  • Patients with severe hepatic impairment.
  • Patients currently pregnant or who may become pregnant during the course of the study or who are unwilling to use acceptable means of contraception for at lest one month before and one month after dosing.
  • Patients with any psychiatric, psychological, or other condition that the Investigator feels may make the patient an inappropriate candidate for this clinical study.
  • Patients who have participated in an EXPAREL study within the last 30 days.
Show all 11Show fewer
  • Patients who have received an investigational drug within 30 days prior to study drug administration, or planned administration of another investigational product or procedure during the patient's participation in this study.
  • In addition, the patient will be ineligible if he/she meets the following criteria during surgery:
  • Patients who have any concurrent surgical procedure.
  • Patients who receive intraoperative administration of opioids (other than fentanyl or analogs) or any other analgesic, local anesthetics, or anti-inflammatory agents.
  • Patients who receive Entereg(R).

Trial locations and contacts

3 sites in 1 country.

United States3 sites
  • Florida Hospital d/b/a Colon & Rectal Surgery Center

    Orlando, Florida, 32804

  • University of South Florida

    Tampa, Florida, 33606

  • University of Arizona College of Medicine

    Tucson, Arizona, 85724

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Pain Relief Trial Utilizing the Infiltration of a Multivesicular Liposome Formulation Of BupiVacaine, EXPAREL®: A Phase 4 Health Economic Trial in Adult Patients Undergoing Ileostomy Reversal

This study is designed to compare the standard of care against EXPAREL (bupivacaine liposome injectable suspension) to determine if total opioid consumption is reduced when using EXPAREL, therefore possibly reducing total hospitalization costs.

Read the detailed description

This is a phase 4, prospective, sequential, open-label study designed to evaluate the efficacy, safety, and health economic benefits of intraoperative local wound infiltration with EXPAREL (bupivacaine liposome injectable suspension) compared with postsurgical administration of standardized intravenous (IV) morphine sulfate for postsurgical analgesia in adult patients undergoing ileostomy reversal with general anesthesia.

Being tested
IV morphine sulfate or Sponsor-approved equivalent, EXPAREL
Keywords
Ileostomy reversal

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • IV morphine sulfate or Sponsor-approved equivalentDrug

    Patients enrolled in this group will receive IV morphine sulfate or Sponsor-approved equivalent via a patient-controlled analgesia (PCA) pump, as needed.

  • EXPARELDrug

    Also called bupivacaine liposome injectable suspension

    Patients enrolled in this group will receive 266 mg EXPAREL diluted with preservative-free 0.9% normal saline to a total volume of 30 cc and administered via wound infiltration prior to wound closure. When not contraindicated, 30 mg IV ketorolac will be given at the end of surgery. If not indicated, IV non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID) may be substituted per the site's standard of care.

Study groups in NCT01509807
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Group 1Active comparatorIV morphine sulfate (or Sponsor-approved equivalent), Standard of Care (SOC)
Receives: Drug: IV morphine sulfate or Sponsor-approved equivalent
Group 2ExperimentalEXPAREL (bupivacaine liposome injectable suspension)
Receives: Drug: EXPAREL

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Total Opioid Burden

    Total opioid consumed (IV and PO) postsurgically until hospital discharge order is written or through Day 30, whichever is sooner.

    Measured: Wound closure to time the discharge order is written or Day 30, whichever is sooner

  2. Health Economic Benefits - Total Cost of Hospitalization

    1. Total cost of hospitalization until the time hospital discharge order is written or through Day 30, whichever is sooner.

    Measured: Wound closure to time hospital discharge order is written or Day 30, whichever is sooner.

  3. Health Economic Benefit - Length of Stay

    Time from completion of wound closure until hospital discharge written or through Day 30, whichever was sooner

    Measured: Wound closure to time hospital discharge order is written or Day 30, whichever is sooner.

Secondary outcomes (7)
  1. Incidence of Opioid-related Adverse Events

    Incidence of opioid-related adverse events defined as somnolence, respiratory depression, hypoventilation, hypoxia, dry mouth, nausea, vomiting, constipation, sedation, confusion, pruritus, urinary retention, and postoperative ileus.

    Measured: Wound closure to time hospital discharge order is written or Day 30, whichever is sooner.

  2. Patient Satisfaction With Postsurgical Analgesia

    Responses to question pertaining to patient satisfaction with postsurgical analgesia described by total percentage indicating satisfied or extremely satisfied.

    Measured: Wound closure to time hospital discharge order is written or Day 30, whichever is sooner.

  3. Patient Discharged From the Hospital for at Least 3 Days

    Yes, if patient was discharged from the hospital for at least 3 days; no, if patient was not discharged for at least 3 day; not reported if appropriate

    Measured: Wound closure to time hospital discharge order is written or Day 30, whichever is sooner.

  4. Readmission to Hospital Since Discharge

    Yes, if patient was readmitted to hospital since discharge; no, if patient was not readmitted to hospital since discharge; not reported, if appropriate.

    Measured: Wound closure to time hospital discharge order is written or Day 30, whichever is sooner.

  5. Make Unplanned VIsit(s) With Any Healthcare Providers

    Yes, if patient made an unplanned visit with a healthcare provider; no, if patient did not make an unplanned visit with a healthcare provider; not reported, if applicable

    Measured: Wound closure to time hospital discharge order is written or Day 30, whichever is sooner.

  6. Contact or Attempt to Contact Surgeon/Doctor to Discuss Recovery After Surgery

    Yes, if patient contacted or attempted to contact surgeon/doctor to discuss recovery after surgery; no, if patient did not contact or attempt contact; not reported if applicable.

    Measured: Wound closure to time hospital discharge order is written or Day 30, whichever is sooner.

  7. Experienced Any Health Problems or Changed in Health Since Hospital Discharge

    Yes, if patient experienced any health problems or changes in health since hospital discharge; no, if patient did not experience health problems or changes since hospital discharge; not reported, if applicable.

    Measured: Wound closure to time hospital discharge order is written or Day 30, whichever is sooner.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted13 Jan 2012 (estimated)
  2. Study startJan 2012
  3. Primary completionOct 2012
  4. Study completionOct 2012

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Health services research
Allocation
Non-randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
33 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT01509807
Sponsor's protocol ID
MA402S23B504
Acronym
IMPROVE-IR
Status last verified
Mar 2014
First submitted
24 Oct 2011
Last updated
7 Apr 2014
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 4 study testing IV morphine sulfate or Sponsor-approved equivalent and EXPAREL in people with Retraction of Colostomy, run by Pacira Pharmaceuticals, Inc at 3 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 3 inclusion and 11 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 7 Apr 2014. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 3 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 4 studies take place after a treatment is approved, to learn more about its long-term benefits and risks in everyday use.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 7 Apr 2014). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Total Opioid Burden (time frame: Wound closure to time the discharge order is written or Day 30, whichever is sooner). The study lists 3 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 7 Apr 2014.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in