AzTrials
AzTrials

Post Anesthesia Care Unit Length of StayNCT01826292

The Association Between Anesthetic and Surgical Practices and Patient Length of Stay in the Post Anesthesia Care Unit

An observational study of Post Anesthesia Care Unit Length of Stay, run by University of California, Davis.

Withdrawn

Withdrawn. The study stopped before anyone enrolled.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

The investigators are conducting a retrospective, cross-sectional chart review of patients who underwent an anesthetic administered by an anesthesiologist in the University of California Davis main operating rooms and were transferred to the main post anesthesia care unit between January 1, 2012 and March 31, 2012. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Post Anesthesia Care Unit Length of Stay
How many people
0 participants
Where
No sites listed yet
Study dates
Nov 2012to Nov 2015
Phase
Observational
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Study population: Patients who underwent an anesthetic administered by an anesthesiologist in the University of California Davis main operating rooms and were transferred to the main post anesthesia care unit between January 1, 2012 and March 31, 2012.

Who may be able to join

  • Patients who underwent an anesthetic administered by an anesthesiologist in the University of California Davis main operating rooms and were transferred to the main post anesthesia care unit between January 1, 2012 and March 31, 2012.

Who cannot join

  • Patients less than 18-years of age,
  • Patients transferred to the intensive care unit, and
  • Patients for whom data is not reported.

About this study

The investigators are conducting a retrospective, cross-sectional chart review of patients who underwent an anesthetic administered by an anesthesiologist in the University of California Davis main operating rooms and were transferred to the main post anesthesia care unit between January 1, 2012 and March 31, 2012. The investigators are excluding patients less than 18 years of age, patients transferred to the intensive care unit, and patients for whom data is not reported. Our aim is to report the incidences patient characteristics, as well as anesthetic and surgical techniques, and the associations these factors may have with the outcome of patient length of stay in the PACU.

Read the detailed description

We are conducting a retrospective, cross-sectional chart review of patients who underwent an anesthetic administered by an anesthesiologist in the University of California Davis main operating rooms and were transferred to the main (Pavilion) post anesthesia care unit between January 1, 2012 and March 31, 2012. We are excluding patients less than 18-years of age, patients transferred to the intensive care unit, and patients for whom data is not reported. Charts will be reviewed and data will be collected by the primary and co-investigator(s). Analysis will consist of cross-tabulation counts across independent variables, univariate analysis (outcome variable PACU length of stay), and regression analysis (outcome variable PACU length of stay). We aim to measure patient length of stay in the post anesthesia care unit (PACU) as the outcome variable. The following patient, operative, and post operative factors will be recorded as covariates: age, gender, height, weight, American Society of Anesthesiologists physical status classification, pre-operative use of pain medication, pre-operative pain score, whether the patient is non-English speaking, history of smoking, surgical service, anesthetic time, surgical time, urgency of surgery, use of general anesthetic or monitored anesthesia care, use of regional anesthetic, regional anesthetic type, use of inhalational or total intravenous anesthetic maintenance, intraoperative use of dexmedetomidine, intraoperative use of dexamethasone, intraoperative use of ondansetron, intraoperative use of remifentanyl, intraoperative use of ketamine, total volume of crystalloid or colloid administered, intraoperative use of endotracheal tube, natural airway, or laryngeal mask airway, time of PACU arrival, initial pain score in the PACU, episode of post operative nausea or vomiting, administration of antiemetic in the PACU, post operative temperature, time of anesthesiologist sign out in the PACU, time of patient transfer from the PACU, location of transfer from PACU, preoperative placement of scopolamine patch, history of postoperative nausea and vomiting, type of surgery (including categories of major abdominal-open, orthopedic, ear nose and throat, thoracic, vascular, ophthalmology, abdominal-laparoscopic, urology, minor, neurology, and plastics), intra operative estimated blood loss, intra operative administration of the following medications: dexamethasone, antiemetics including dexamethasone, acetaminophen, ketorolac, muscle relaxant (i.e. paralytics), muscle relaxant reversal agents, and morphine equivalent dosage of opioids; intra operative volume of colloid administered, intra operative volume of blood products administered, morphine equivalent dosage of opioids administered in the post anesthesia care unit, times of admission and discharge from the post anesthesia care unit. The data will be labeled with a code that the research team can link to personal identifying information when acquired. The code sheet will be secured and kept separate from the dataset. The primary and co-investigator(s) will be the only individuals who have access to the password protected database stored on a secure server at the University of California Davis Medical Center.

Keywords
Post anesthesia care unit length of stay

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Patient length of stay in the post anesthesia care unit

    Measured: Three months

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted8 Apr 2013 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2012
  3. Primary completionNov 2015
  4. Study completionNov 2015

Why it stopped: Principle Investigator was not able to proceed with the study

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Observational
Observational model
Other
Time perspective
Retrospective
Enrolment
0 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT01826292
Sponsor's protocol ID
363700
Status last verified
Apr 2017
First submitted
3 Apr 2013
Last updated
19 Apr 2017
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

An observational study of Post Anesthesia Care Unit Length of Stay, run by University of California, Davis.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 1 inclusion and 3 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: withdrawn, as of the sponsor's last update on 19 Apr 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study was withdrawn before enrolling participants, so there are no results.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Patient length of stay in the post anesthesia care unit (time frame: Three months). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 19 Apr 2017.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in