AzTrials
AzTrials

Type 2 Diabetes MellitusPhase 1NCT01933672

Study Of Two Dosing Regimens Of PF-04937319 Compared To An Approved Agent (Sitagliptin) In Patients With Type 2 Diabetes

A Phase 1 study testing PF-04937319 once-daily, PF-04937319 split-dose and Sitagliptin once-daily in people with Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus, run by Pfizer at 8 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

Study B1621019 will assess efficacy and safety of two different dosing regimens of an investigational agent (PF-04937319) compared to an approved drug (sitagliptin) in patients with type 2 diabetes Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 70 years
Conditions the study is for
Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
What is being tested?
PF-04937319 once-daily, PF-04937319 split-dose and Sitagliptin once-daily
Type of treatment
Pill or oral medicine
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
33 participants
Where
8 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Oct 2013to Mar 2014
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 70 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Patients with type 2 diabetes, on background metformin therapy either alone or with 1 other oral anti-diabetic agent (excluding Actos)

Who cannot join

  • Patients with cardiovascular event within 6-months of screening
  • Patients with diabetic complications
  • Female subjects who are pregnant or planning to become pregnant
  • Subjects with unstable medical conditions (eg, hypertension)

Trial locations and contacts

8 sites in 1 country.

8 sites in 1 country

United States8 sites
  • Community Research

    Cincinnati, Ohio, 45255

  • Avail Clinical Research, LLC

    DeLand, Florida, 32720

  • High Point Clinical Trials Center, LLC

    High Point, North Carolina, 27265

  • Clinical Trials of Texas, Inc

    San Antonio, Texas, 78229

  • Diabetes and Glandular Disease Clinic

    San Antonio, Texas, 78229

  • Miami Research Associates, Inc.

    South Miami, Florida, 33143

  • MRA Clinical Research, LLC

    South Miami, Florida, 33143

  • Spaulding Clinical Research, LLC

    West Bend, Wisconsin, 53095

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase 1b, Randomized, Double-blind, Active Comparator Controlled, 3-period, Cross-over Study To Characterize The Pharmacodynamics And Tolerability Of Two Dosing Regimens Of Pf-04937319 In Adults With Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus Inadequately Controlled On Metformin

Study B1621019 will assess efficacy and safety of two different dosing regimens of an investigational agent (PF-04937319) compared to an approved drug (sitagliptin) in patients with type 2 diabetes

Being tested
PF-04937319 once-daily, PF-04937319 split-dose, Sitagliptin once-daily
Keywords
Phase 1b, type 2 diabetes, metformin background, PF-04937319
Medical subject headings
Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • PF-04937319 once-dailyDrug

    Tablets, 300 mg once-daily with breakfast, 14-days

  • PF-04937319 split-doseDrug

    tablets, 150 mg with breakfast plus 100 mg with lunch, 14-days

  • Sitagliptin once-dailyDrug

    tablets, 100 mg once-daily with breakfast, 14-days

Study groups in NCT01933672
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
PF-04937319 once-dailyExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: PF-04937319 once-daily
PF-04937319 split-doseExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: PF-04937319 split-dose
Sitagliptin once-dailyActive comparatorNot described
Receives: Drug: Sitagliptin once-daily

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Change From Baseline in Weighted Mean Daily Glucose (WMDG) at Day 14

    Plasma glucose concentration was determined predose (Hour 0) and at 1.5, 3, 5, 6.5, 8, 11, 12.5, 14, 16, 20, and 24 hours postdose on Days 0 (baseline) and 14. WMDG was calculated as the area under the curve (AUC) of the 12-point plasma glucose concentration-time profile divided by 24 hours.

    Measured: Prior to morning dose (Hour 0) and at 1.5, 3, 5, 6.5, 8, 11, 12.5, 14, 16, 20, and 24 hours post morning dose on Days 0 (baseline) and Day 14

Secondary outcomes (14)
  1. Change From Baseline in Fasting Plasma Glucose (FPG) at Day 14

    Blood samples for measurement of glucose to permit derivation of pre-meal collections at the pre-specified nominal timepoints of each period: predose (ie, time "0"), 1.5, 3, 5, 6.5, 8, 11, 12.5, 14, 16 and 20 hours on Day 0 (baseline) and Day 14; and predose on Days 1 and 15.

    Measured: Day 14

  2. Change From Baseline in Pre-meal C-Peptide on Day 14

    Blood samples for measurement of glucose to permit derivation of pre-meal collections of blood samples for C-peptide at the pre-specified nominal timepoints at predose, 5 and 11 hours on Day 0 (baseline) and Day 14.

    Measured: Day 14

  3. Change From Baseline in Pre-meal Insulin on Day 14

    Blood samples for measurement of glucose to permit derivation of pre-meal collections of blood samples for insulin at 0, 5 and 11 hours on Day 0 (baseline) and Day 14.

    Measured: Day 14

  4. Incidence of All Causality Treatment-Emergent Adverse Event by Preferred Term (Frequency Rate >5%)

    Measured: Day 1 up to Day 14

  5. Frequency of Laboratory Test Abnormalities Reported in Any Treatment Group

    The total number of participants with laboratory test abnormalities (without regard to baseline abnormality) was assessed.

    Measured: Day 1 up to Day 14

  6. Change From Baseline in Body Weight (kg)

    Measured: Day 1 up to Day 14

  7. Number of Participants With Vital Signs Data Met Criteria of Potential Clinical Concern

    Vital signs included blood pressure (BP; supine, sitting and standing) and pulse rate. Vital signs criteria of potential clinical concern were 1), BP: sitting systolic BP (SBP) greater than or equal to (>=) 30 millimeters of mercury (mm Hg) change from baseline, sitting SBP =<20 mmHg change from baseline, supine/sitting/standing SBP less than (<) 90 mm Hg; sitting diastolic BP (DBP) >=20 mm Hg change from baseline, sitting SBP =<20 mmHg change from baseline, supine/sitting/standing DBP <50 mm Hg; 2), pulse rate (supine): <40 or greater than (>) 120 beats per minute (bpm).

    Measured: Day 1 up to Day 14

  8. Number of Participants With Post-baseline Electrocardiograms (ECGs) Data Met Criteria of Potential Clinical Concern

    ECG criteria of potential clinical concern were 1), PR interval: >=300 milliseconds (msec); >=25% increase when baseline >200 msec; or increase >=50% when baseline <=200 msec; 2), QRS interval: >=140 msec; >=50% increase from baseline; 3), QTc interval using Fridericia's formula (QTcF interval): absolute value >=450 - <480 msec, >=480-<500 msec, >500 msec; absolute change 30 - <60, >=60 msec.

    Measured: Day 1 up to Day 14

  9. Plasma PF-04937319 Area Under the Concentration Time Curve From Time 0 to 24 Hours (AUC24) of PF-04937319 at Day 14

    The PK parameters were summarized descriptively by treatment as appropriate. Two (2) PK parameters specified in the protocol and SAP were not reported: AUClast was not reported since it was the same as AUC24 in this study, and apparent volume of distribution (Vz/F) was not reported since the log-linear terminal phase of the concentration-time profiles was not consistently well characterized in the 24-hour sampling period.

    Measured: Predose, 1.5, 3, 5, 6.5, 8, 11, 12.5, and 14 hours on Days 0 and 14; and predose on Days 7 and 15.

  10. Plasma PF-04937319 Apparent Clearance (CL/F) on Day 14

    The PK parameters were summarized descriptively by treatment as appropriate. Clearance of a drug is a measure of the rate at which a drug is metabolized or eliminated by normal biological processes. Clearance obtained after oral dose (apparent oral clearance) is influenced by the fraction of the dose absorbed. Clearance was estimated from population PK modeling. Drug clearance is a quantitative measure of the rate at which a drug substance is removed from the blood.

    Measured: Predose, 1.5, 3, 5, 6.5, 8, 11, 12.5, and 14 hours on Days 0 and 14; and predose on Days 7 and 15.

  11. Plasma PF-04937319 Average Concentration Over the 24-hour Period (Cav) on Day 14

    Cav was average concentration over the 24-hour period. The PK parameters were summarized descriptively by treatment as appropriate.

    Measured: Predose, 1.5, 3, 5, 6.5, 8, 11, 12.5, and 14 hours on Days 0 and 14; and predose on Days 7 and 15.

  12. Plasma PF-04937319 Highest Observed Concentration (Cmax) on Day 14

    Cmax was highest observed concentration. The PK parameters were summarized descriptively by treatment as appropriate.

    Measured: Predose, 1.5, 3, 5, 6.5, 8, 11, 12.5, and 14 hours on Days 0 and 14; and predose on Days 7 and 15.

  13. Plasma PF-04937319 Lowest Observed Concentration During the 24-hour Period (Cmin) on Day 14

    Cmin lowest observed concentration during the 24-hour period. The PK parameters were summarized descriptively by treatment as appropriate.

    Measured: Predose, 1.5, 3, 5, 6.5, 8, 11, 12.5, and 14 hours on Days 0 and 14; and predose on Days 7 and 15.

  14. Plasma PF-04937319 Time for Cmax (Tmax) on Day 14

    Tmax was time of maximum concentration. The PK parameters were summarized descriptively by treatment as appropriate.

    Measured: Predose, 1.5, 3, 5, 6.5, 8, 11, 12.5, and 14 hours on Days 0 and 14; and predose on Days 7 and 15.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted2 Sep 2013 (estimated)
  2. Study startOct 2013
  3. Primary completionMar 2014
  4. Study completionMar 2014

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Basic science
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Crossover
Masking
Triple blind
Who is masked
Participant, Care provider, Investigator
Enrolment
33 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT01933672
Sponsor's protocol ID
B1621019
Status last verified
Aug 2016
First submitted
28 Aug 2013
Last updated
27 Sep 2016
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing PF-04937319 once-daily, PF-04937319 split-dose and Sitagliptin once-daily in people with Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus, run by Pfizer at 8 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 1 inclusion and 4 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 27 Sep 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 8 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 27 Sep 2016). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Change From Baseline in Weighted Mean Daily Glucose (WMDG) at Day 14 (time frame: Prior to morning dose (Hour 0) and at 1.5, 3, 5, 6.5, 8, 11, 12.5, 14, 16, 20, and 24 hours post morning dose on Days 0 (baseline) and Day 14). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 27 Sep 2016.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in