Venous ThrombosisNCT01947959
Study of Rivaroxaban Use and Potential Adverse Outcomes in Routine Clinical Practice (Germany)
An observational study of Venous Thrombosis and Pulmonary Embolism, run by Bayer at 1 site in Germany.
Trial summary
This prospective cohort study will provide information about: characteristics of Rivaroxaban use in patients who are prescribed Rivaroxaban for the first time compared to patients who are prescribed Phenprocoumon for the first time, the occurrence of intracranial haemorrhage, gastrointestinal and urogenital bleeding… Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 2 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Venous Thrombosis, Pulmonary Embolism, Atrial Fibrillation
- What is being tested?
- Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, Bay59-7939)
- Type of treatment
- Pill or oral medicine
- How many people
- 665,533 participants
- Where
- 1 siteGermany
- Study dates
- 22 Dec 2011to 30 Sep 2020
- Phase
- Observational
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 2 years and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Child, Adult, Older adult
Study population: All patients aged 2 years and above who have been enrolled in German Pharmacoepidemiological Research Database (GePaRD) for at least one year.
Who may be able to join
- All male and female patients who have been prescribed for the first time either Rivaroxaban or standard of care from the date of market authorization of rivaroxaban to Dec 31, 2017
Who cannot join
- Patients who have any record of being dispensed their index drug in the year before index date (i.e. cohort entry), or who qualify for both cohorts on the same day
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
About this study
Official title: A Pharmacoepidemiological Study of Rivaroxaban Use and Potential Adverse Outcomes in Routine Clinical Pratice in Germany
This prospective cohort study will provide information about: characteristics of Rivaroxaban use in patients who are prescribed Rivaroxaban for the first time compared to patients who are prescribed Phenprocoumon for the first time, the occurrence of intracranial haemorrhage, gastrointestinal and urogenital bleeding, and the occurrence of non-infective liver disease.
- Being tested
- Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, Bay59-7939), Standard of care
- Keywords
- Rivaroxaban, Stroke Prevention in Atrial Fibrillation, Anticoagulants, Hematologic Agents, Therapeutic Uses, Observational, Venous Thromboembolism, Secondary Prevention of Acute Coronary Syndrome, Intracranial Hemorrhages, Gastrointestinal Hemorrhage
- Medical subject headings
- Venous Thrombosis, Pulmonary Embolism, Atrial Fibrillation, Acute Coronary Syndrome, Venous Thromboembolism, Intracranial Hemorrhages, Gastrointestinal Hemorrhage
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, Bay59-7939)Drug
The treatment of DVT or PE, and prevention of recurrent DVT and PE in adult patients (15 mg rivaroxaban twice daily [bid] for 3 weeks, then 15 mg or 20 mg once daily [od], tablets).
The prevention of stroke and systemic embolism in adult patients with non-valvular atrial fibrillation (stroke prevention in atrial fibrillation [SPAF]) with one or more risk factors (20 mg rivaroxaban [od], tablets).
The prevention of venous thromboembolism (VTE) in adult patients undergoing elective hip or knee replacement surgery (recommended dose: 10 mg rivaroxaban [od] tablets for 35 days following hip replacement surgery and 14 days following knee replacement surgery).
Co-administered with acetylsalicylic acid (ASA) alone or with ASA plus clopidogrel or ticlopidine, for the prevention of atherothrombotic events in adult patients after an acute coronary syndrome (ACS) with elevated cardiac biomarkers (recommended dose 2.5 mg rivaroxaban tablets [bid]).
Standard of careDrug
For DVT/PE treatment and SPAF, standard of care is treatment with the most widely used vitamin K antagonist, phenprocoumon, and for the secondary prevention of ACS, standard of care is antiplatelet drug(s) such as low-dose acetylsalicylic acid, clopidogrel, dipyridamole, prasugrel, ticlopidine and ticagrelor.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Rivaroxaban | Patients who have been prescribed Rivaroxaban for the first time Receives: Drug: Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, Bay59-7939) | |
| Standard of care | Patients who have been prescribed Standard of care for the first time Receives: Drug: Standard of care |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Descriptive analysis of demographic and clinical characteristics of patients who are prescribed oral rivaroxaban for the first time in comparison with those who are prescribed standard of care for the first time
Age and sex distribution Proportion of patients defined as naïve, non-naïve, recent switchers and distant switchers Type and estimated duration of other anticoagulant use among the non-naïve group and for all patients Number of pregnancies and pregnancy outcomes' Use of specific prescribed medications confirming ACS indication Use of other prescribed medications Comorbidity based on inpatient and outpatient diagnoses Renal disease based on in- and outpatient diagnoses Healthcare utilization (e.g. number of hospital admissions).
Measured: up to 8 years
Characteristics of rivaroxaban use in comparison with standard of care
Estimated dose of index drug at index date and estimated duration of treatment Where available, the diagnosis associated with the prescribing of the index drug (where not available, estimated dose and duration of index drug will be used as a proxy for the associated diagnosis among rivaroxaban users) Dispensed amount (can be used to estimate duration of treatment)
Measured: up to 8 years
Safety: occurrence of intracranial haemorrhage leading to hospitalization among users of rivaroxaban in comparison with individuals receiving current standard of care
Cases of intracranial haemorrhage will be identified in hospitalized patients with a discharge diagnosis of intracranial haemorrhage that meet the criteria for one of the three following categories:
Incident cases of intracerebral haemorrhage Incident cases of subarachnoid haemorrhage Incident cases of epidural, dural, subdural and arachnoid haemorrhage
Measured: up to 8 years
Safety: occurrence of gastrointestinal bleeding leading to hospitalization among users of rivaroxaban in comparison with individuals receiving current standard of care
A patient will have to meet the following criteria to be considered a case of gastrointestinal bleeding: A hospital admission with a discharge diagnosis of gastrointestinal bleeding, i.e. a bleeding riginating in the upper or lower gastrointestinal tract or, more specifically, in the oesophagus, stomach, duodenum, jejunum, ileum, colon or rectum. For upper gastrointestinal bleeding: the lesion type being erosion, gastritis, duodenitis or peptic (gastric or duodenal) ulcer.
Measured: up to 8 years
Safety: occurrence urogenital bleeding leading to hospitalization among users of rivaroxaban in comparison with individuals receiving current standard of care
A patient will have to meet the following criteria to be considered a case of urogenital bleeding:
A hospital admission with a discharge diagnosis of urogenital bleeding.
Measured: up to 8 years
Secondary outcomes (6)
Safety: occurrence of bleeding events leading to hospitalization not specified as primary safety outcomes ("other bleeding") in individuals receiving rivaroxaban, in comparison with those receiving current standard of care
A patient will have to meet the following criteria to be considered a case of "other bleeding":
A hospital admission with a discharge diagnosis of "other bleeding"
Measured: up to 8 years
Safety: occurrence of non-infective liver disease leading to hospitalization in individuals receiving rivaroxaban in comparison with those receiving current standard of care
A patient will have to meet all of the following criteria to be considered a case of non-infective liver disease:
A hospital admission with a discharge diagnosis of acute liver injury. No diagnosis of cancer, other liver disease (including infectious hepatitis, chronic liver disease etc.), gallbladder or pancreatic disease, or alcoholism
Measured: up to 8 years
Effectiveness: occurrence of deep vein thrombosis (DVT) or pulmonary embolism (PE) in individuals receiving rivaroxaban in comparison with those receiving current standard of care
A patient will have to meet the following criteria to be considered a case of DVT or PE:
A hospital admission with a discharge diagnosis of DVT or PE, or an ambulatory diagnosis of DVT with a dispensation of another antithrombotic agent
Measured: up to 8 years
Effectiveness: occurrence of Ischaemic stroke in individuals receiving rivaroxaban in comparison with those receiving current standard of care
A patient will have to meet the following criteria to be considered a case of ischaemic stroke:
A hospital admission with a main discharge diagnosis of ischaemic stroke.
Measured: up to 8 years
Effectiveness: occurrence acute myocardial infarction (MI) in individuals receiving rivaroxaban in comparison with those receiving current standard of care
A patient will have to meet all of the following criteria to be considered a case of acute myocardial infarction: A hospital admission with a main discharge diagnosis of acute MI
Measured: up to 8 years
All-cause mortality as well as cause-specific mortality
Deaths can be identified from core data and hospital data
Measured: up to 8 years
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted23 Sep 2013 (estimated)
- Study start22 Dec 2011
- Primary completion30 Sep 2020
- Study completion30 Sep 2020
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Venous ThrombosisStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by BayerThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Observational
- Observational model
- Cohort
- Time perspective
- Prospective
- Enrolment
- 665,533 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Bayer
- Sponsor type
- Industry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Collaborators
- Janssen Research & Development, LLC
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Bayer Study Director, Study director, Bayer
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT01947959
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- 16159
- Other IDs
- XA1201, EUPAS11145
- Status last verified
- Oct 2021
- First submitted
- 11 Sep 2013
- Last updated
- 22 Oct 2021
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- No
- FDA-regulated drug
- No
- FDA-regulated device
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 22 Oct 2021. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Pharmacoepidemiological Study of Rivaroxaban Use and Potential Adverse Outcomes in Routine Clinical Pratice in Germany
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT01947959
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- 16159
- Keywords
- Rivaroxaban, Stroke Prevention in Atrial Fibrillation, Anticoagulants, Hematologic Agents, Therapeutic Uses, Observational, Venous Thromboembolism, Secondary Prevention of Acute Coronary Syndrome
- Study type
- Observational
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 665,533 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- BayerIndustry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Collaborators
- Janssen Research & Development, LLC
- Study start
- 22 Dec 2011 (actual)
- Primary completion
- 30 Sep 2020 (actual)
- Study completion
- 30 Sep 2020 (actual)
- First posted
- 23 Sep 2013 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
This prospective cohort study will provide information about: characteristics of Rivaroxaban use in patients who are prescribed Rivaroxaban for the first time compared to patients who are prescribed Phenprocoumon for the first time, the occurrence of intracranial haemorrhage, gastrointestinal and urogenital bleeding, and the occurrence of non-infective liver disease.
Study design
- Observational model
- Cohort
- Time perspective
- Prospective
- Number of arms
- 2
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Rivaroxaban | – | Drug: Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, Bay59-7939)Patients who have been prescribed Rivaroxaban for the first time |
| Standard of care | – | Drug: Standard of carePatients who have been prescribed Standard of care for the first time |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 2 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Child, Adult, Older adult
- Study population
- All patients aged 2 years and above who have been enrolled in German Pharmacoepidemiological Research Database (GePaRD) for at least one year.
Key inclusion criteria (1 listed)
- All male and female patients who have been prescribed for the first time either Rivaroxaban or standard of care from the date of market authorization of rivaroxaban to Dec 31, 2017
Key exclusion criteria (1 listed)
- Patients who have any record of being dispensed their index drug in the year before index date (i.e. cohort entry), or who qualify for both cohorts on the same day
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, Bay59-7939)The treatment of DVT or PE, and prevention of recurrent DVT and PE in adult patients (15 mg rivaroxaban twice daily [bid] for 3 weeks, then 15 mg or 20 mg once daily [od], tablets). The prevention of stroke and systemic embolism in adult patients with non-valvular atrial fibrillation (stroke prevention in atrial fibrillation [SPAF]) with one or more risk factors (20 mg rivaroxaban [od], tablets). The prevention of venous thromboembolism (VTE) in adult patients undergoing elective hip or knee replacement surgery (recommended dose: 10 mg rivaroxaban [od] tablets for 35 days following hip replacement surgery and 14 days following knee replacement surgery). Co-administered with acetylsalicylic acid (ASA) alone or with ASA plus clopidogrel or ticlopidine, for the prevention of atherothrombotic events in adult patients after an acute coronary syndrome (ACS) with elevated cardiac biomarkers (recommended dose 2.5 mg rivaroxaban tablets [bid]). | Drug | Rivaroxaban |
| Standard of careFor DVT/PE treatment and SPAF, standard of care is treatment with the most widely used vitamin K antagonist, phenprocoumon, and for the secondary prevention of ACS, standard of care is antiplatelet drug(s) such as low-dose acetylsalicylic acid, clopidogrel, dipyridamole, prasugrel, ticlopidine and ticagrelor. | Drug | Standard of care |
Primary outcome
Descriptive analysis of demographic and clinical characteristics of patients who are prescribed oral rivaroxaban for the first time in comparison with those who are prescribed standard of care for the first time
Time frame: up to 8 years
Age and sex distribution Proportion of patients defined as naïve, non-naïve, recent switchers and distant switchers Type and estimated duration of other anticoagulant use among the non-naïve group and for all patients Number of pregnancies and pregnancy outcomes' Use of specific prescribed medications confirming ACS indication Use of other prescribed medications Comorbidity based on inpatient and outpatient diagnoses Renal disease based on in- and outpatient diagnoses Healthcare utilization (e.g. number of hospital admissions).
Characteristics of rivaroxaban use in comparison with standard of care
Time frame: up to 8 years
Estimated dose of index drug at index date and estimated duration of treatment Where available, the diagnosis associated with the prescribing of the index drug (where not available, estimated dose and duration of index drug will be used as a proxy for the associated diagnosis among rivaroxaban users) Dispensed amount (can be used to estimate duration of treatment)
Safety: occurrence of intracranial haemorrhage leading to hospitalization among users of rivaroxaban in comparison with individuals receiving current standard of care
Time frame: up to 8 years
Cases of intracranial haemorrhage will be identified in hospitalized patients with a discharge diagnosis of intracranial haemorrhage that meet the criteria for one of the three following categories: Incident cases of intracerebral haemorrhage Incident cases of subarachnoid haemorrhage Incident cases of epidural, dural, subdural and arachnoid haemorrhage
Safety: occurrence of gastrointestinal bleeding leading to hospitalization among users of rivaroxaban in comparison with individuals receiving current standard of care
Time frame: up to 8 years
A patient will have to meet the following criteria to be considered a case of gastrointestinal bleeding: A hospital admission with a discharge diagnosis of gastrointestinal bleeding, i.e. a bleeding riginating in the upper or lower gastrointestinal tract or, more specifically, in the oesophagus, stomach, duodenum, jejunum, ileum, colon or rectum. For upper gastrointestinal bleeding: the lesion type being erosion, gastritis, duodenitis or peptic (gastric or duodenal) ulcer.
Safety: occurrence urogenital bleeding leading to hospitalization among users of rivaroxaban in comparison with individuals receiving current standard of care
Time frame: up to 8 years
A patient will have to meet the following criteria to be considered a case of urogenital bleeding: A hospital admission with a discharge diagnosis of urogenital bleeding.
6 secondary outcomes
Safety: occurrence of bleeding events leading to hospitalization not specified as primary safety outcomes ("other bleeding") in individuals receiving rivaroxaban, in comparison with those receiving current standard of care
Time frame: up to 8 years
Safety: occurrence of non-infective liver disease leading to hospitalization in individuals receiving rivaroxaban in comparison with those receiving current standard of care
Time frame: up to 8 years
Effectiveness: occurrence of deep vein thrombosis (DVT) or pulmonary embolism (PE) in individuals receiving rivaroxaban in comparison with those receiving current standard of care
Time frame: up to 8 years
Effectiveness: occurrence of Ischaemic stroke in individuals receiving rivaroxaban in comparison with those receiving current standard of care
Time frame: up to 8 years
Effectiveness: occurrence acute myocardial infarction (MI) in individuals receiving rivaroxaban in comparison with those receiving current standard of care
Time frame: up to 8 years
All-cause mortality as well as cause-specific mortality
Time frame: up to 8 years
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 22 Oct 2021.
Related trials for Venous Thrombosis
RecruitingPhase 2
SBRT With Immunotherapy and Atezo-Bev in HCC With Major Portal Vein Thrombosis
HCC
Active, not recruitingObservational study
Real World Evidence in China: Faricimab Use in Diabetic Macular Edema, Retinal Vein Occlusion, and Neovascular Age-Related Macular Degeneration (The Farseeing Study)
Diabetic Macular Edema, Neovascular Age-related Macular Degeneration
RecruitingPhase 3
REGN7508 Versus Apixaban and Enoxaparin for Thromboprophylaxis After Total Knee Arthroplasty in Adults
Venous Thromboembolism (VTE)
RecruitingPhase 3
Treatment and Secondary Prevention of Venous Thromboembolism (VTE) in Adult Participants With Solid and Hematologic Cancers
Venous Thromboembolism (VTE)
RecruitingPhase 3
REGN7508 in Adult Participants for Prevention of Cancer-Associated Thrombosis
Cancer-Associated Thrombosis (CAT)
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Bayer Study Director study director
Bayer
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
An observational study of Venous Thrombosis and Pulmonary Embolism, run by Bayer at 1 site in Germany.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 1 inclusion and 1 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 22 Oct 2021. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in Germany. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Descriptive analysis of demographic and clinical characteristics of patients who are prescribed oral rivaroxaban for the first time in comparison with those who are prescribed standard of care for the first time (time frame: up to 8 years). The study lists 5 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 22 Oct 2021.