Chronic Heart FailureDT2NCT01966458
A Clinical Trial to Evaluate the HeartWare™ Ventricular Assist System (ENDURANCE SUPPLEMENTAL TRIAL)
A study testing HeartWare® VAS (HVAD) in people with Chronic Heart Failure, run by Medtronic Cardiac Rhythm and Heart Failure at 47 sites in United States.
Trial summary
This is a prospective, randomized, controlled, unblinded, multi-center evaluation of safety and efficacy in patients implanted with a HeartWare® HVAD who receive improved blood pressure management. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Chronic Heart Failure
- What is being tested?
- HeartWare® VAS (HVAD)
- Type of treatment
- Medical device
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 494 participants
- Where
- 47 sitesUnited States
- Study dates
- Oct 2013to Aug 2020
- Phase
- Interventional
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
Who may be able to join
- Must be ≥18 years of age at consent
- Body Surface Area (BSA) ≥ 1.2 m2
- Patients with advanced heart failure symptoms (Class IIIB or IV) who are: (patient must meet one of the following)a. On optimal medical management, including dietary salt restriction and diuretics, for at least 45 out of the last 60 days and are failing to respond; or b. In Class III or Class IV heart failure for at least 14 days, and dependent on intra-aortic balloon pump (IABP) for 7 days and/or inotropes for at least 14 days
- Left ventricular ejection fraction ≤ 25%
- LVAD implant is intended as destination therapy
- Must be able to receive either the HeartWare® HVAD or control LVAD
Show all 9Show fewer
- Patient must agree to participate in and comply with an improved blood pressure management program, including maintenance of a patient diary.
- Female patients of childbearing potential must agree to use adequate contraceptive precautions (defined as oral contraceptives, intrauterine devices, surgical contraceptives or a combination of condom and spermicide) for the duration of the study.
- The patient or legally authorized representative has signed the informed consent form
Who cannot join
- Body Mass Index (BMI) > 40
- Existence of any ongoing mechanical circulatory support (MCS) other than an intra-aortic balloon pump (IABP)
- Prior cardiac transplant.
- History of confirmed, untreated abdominal or thoracic aortic aneurysm > 5 cm.
- Cardiothoracic surgery within 30 days of randomization.
- Acute myocardial infarction within 14 days of implant as diagnosed by ST or T wave changes on the ECG, diagnostic biomarkers, ongoing pain and hemodynamic abnormalities as described (Figure 2) in the guidelines published in ACC/AHA 2007 Guidelines for the Management of Patients with Unstable Angina/Non-ST-Elevation Myocardial Infarction ;.
Show all 28Show fewer
- Patients eligible for cardiac transplantation
- On ventilator support for > 72 hours within the four days immediately prior to randomization and implant.
- Pulmonary embolus within three weeks of randomization as documented by computed tomography (CT) scan or nuclear scan.
- Symptomatic cerebrovascular disease, stroke within 180 days of randomization or > 80% stenosis of carotid or cranial vessels.
- Uncorrected moderate to severe aortic insufficiency. Correction may include repair or bioprosthesis at the time of implant.
- Severe right ventricular failure as defined by the anticipated need for right ventricular assist device (RVAD) support or extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) at the time of screening/randomization or right atrial pressure > 20 mmHg on multiple inotropes or right ventricular ejection fraction (RVEF) <15% with clinical signs of severe right heart failure (e.g. Lower extremity edema, ascites or pleural effusions refractory to treatment with diuretics and two inotropic drugs).
- Active, uncontrolled infection diagnosed by a combination of clinical symptoms and laboratory testing, including but not limited to, continued positive cultures, elevated temperature and white blood cell (WBC) count, hypotension, tachycardia, generalized malaise despite appropriate antibiotic, antiviral or antifungal treatment.
- Uncorrected thrombocytopenia or generalized coagulopathy (e.g., platelet count < 75,000, INR > 2.0 or PTT > 2.5 times control in the absence of anticoagulation therapy).
- Intolerance to anticoagulant or antiplatelet therapies or any other peri- or postoperative therapy that the investigator may administer based upon the patient's health status.
- Serum creatinine > 3.0 mg/dL within 72 hours of randomization or requiring dialysis or ultrafiltration.
- Specific liver enzymes [AST (SGOT) and ALT (SGPT] > 3 times upper limit of normal within 72 hours of randomization.
- A total bilirubin > 3 mg/dl within 72 hours of randomization, or biopsy proven liver cirrhosis or portal hypertension.
- Pulmonary vascular resistance is demonstrated to be unresponsive to pharmacological manipulation and the PVR > 6 Wood units.
- Patients with a mechanical heart valve.
- Etiology of heart failure is due to, or associated with, uncorrected thyroid disease, obstructive cardiomyopathy, pericardial disease, amyloidosis, active myocarditis or restrictive cardiomyopathy
- History of severe COPD or severe restrictive lung disease (e.g. FEV1 <50%)
- Participation in any other study involving investigational drugs or devices
- Severe illness, other than heart disease, which would limit survival to < 3 years
- Peripheral vascular disease with rest pain or ischemic ulcers of the extremities
- Pregnancy
- Patient unwilling or unable to comply with study requirements
- Technical obstacles, which pose an inordinately high surgical risk, in the judgment of the investigator
Trial locations and contacts
47 sites in 1 country.
47 sites in 1 country
United States47 sites
University of Michigan Hospital
Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48109
The Emory Clinic Inc.
Atlanta, Georgia, 30322
Saint Joseph Hospital of Atlanta
Atlanta, Georgia, 30342
University of Maryland
Baltimore, Maryland, 21201
Johns Hopkins Hospital
Baltimore, Maryland, 21287
The University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, Alabama, 35294
Tufts Medical Center
Boston, Massachusetts, 02111
Northwestern Memorial Hospital
Chicago, Illinois, 60611
University of Chicago
Chicago, Illinois, 60637
Cleveland Clinic Foundatiojn
Cleveland, Ohio, 44195
Ohio State University Medical Center
Columbus, Ohio, 43210
Baylor University Medical Center
Dallas, Texas, 75246
UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
Dallas, Texas, 75390
Henry Ford Hospital
Detroit, Michigan, 48202
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, North Carolina, 27710
Inova Fairfax Hospital
Falls Church, Virginia, 22042
University of Florida Gainesville
Gainesville, Florida, 32610
Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
Hershey, Pennsylvania, 17033
Texas Heart Institute
Houston, Texas, 77030
The Methodist Hospital
Houston, Texas, 77030
IU Health Methodist
Indianapolis, Indiana, 46202
St. Vincent Health
Indianapolis, Indiana, 46260
The University of Southern California
Los Angeles, California, 90033
Cedars Sinai Medical Center
Los Angeles, California, 90048
Jewish Hospital
Louisville, Kentucky, 40202
University of Miami / Jackson Memorial Hospital
Miami, Florida, 33136
Aurora St. Luke's Medical Center
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, 53215
Abbott Northwestern
Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55407
Intermountain Medical Center
Murray, Utah, 84107
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, Tennessee, 37232-8802
John Ochsner Heart & Vascular Institute
New Orleans, Louisiana, 70115
New York Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia
New York, New York, 10032
Sentara Norfolk
Norfolk, Virginia, 23507
Advocate Christ Medical Center
Oak Lawn, Illinois, 60453
University of Pennsylvania Hospital
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104
Mayo Clinic (Arizona)
Phoenix, Arizona, 85054
UPMC Presbyterian
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15213
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, Oregon, 97239
Mayo Clinic / St. Marys Hospital
Rochester, Minnesota, 55902
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah, 84132
University of Washington Medical Center
Seattle, Washington, 98195
Northwest Cardiothoracic &Transplant Surgeons
Spokane, Washington, 99204
Washington University / Barnes Jewish Hospital
St Louis, Missouri, 63110
Stanford University School of Medicine
Stanford, California, 94305
Tampa Transplant Institute/Tampa General Hospital
Tampa, Florida, 33606
Montefiore Medical Center
The Bronx, New York, 10467
Washington Hospital Center
Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20010
About this study
Official title: A Prospective, Randomized, Controlled, Unblinded, Multi-Center Clinical Trial to Evaluate the HeartWare™ Ventricular Assist Device System for Destination Therapy of Advanced Heart Failure
This is a prospective, randomized, controlled, unblinded, multi-center evaluation of safety and efficacy in patients implanted with a HeartWare® HVAD who receive improved blood pressure management. Subjects have chronic Stage D or NYHA Class IIIB/IV left ventricular failure who have received and failed optimal medical therapy, and who are ineligible for cardiac transplantation.
Read the detailed description
The study will evaluate non-inferiority of neurologic injury incidence in a new cohort of subjects receiving improved blood pressure management to a control group (i.e., any FDA-approved LVAD for destination therapy). Secondary endpoints include: a comparison of stroke/TIA incidence to a reference observed in the original IDE clinical trial (HW004) that did not specify improved blood pressure management; and non-inferiority of stroke-free success on the originally implanted device to the control group. Subjects will be randomized to HeartWare® HVAD or control LVAD in a 2:1 ratio. Each subject receiving the HeartWare® HVAD or control LVAD is followed to the primary and secondary endpoints at 12 months, with a subsequent follow-up period extending to 60 months post-implant.
- Conditions
- Chronic Heart Failure
- Being tested
- HeartWare® VAS (HVAD), Control LVAD
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
HeartWare® VAS (HVAD)Device
The HeartWare® VAS is an implantable centrifugal pump that was designed to provide flows up to 10 L/min in a small device that is both lightweight and simple to use.
Control LVADDevice
Any FDA-approved LVAD for destination therapy.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| HeartWare® VAS (HVAD) | Experimental | Implant of HeartWare® Ventricular Assist System Receives: Device: HeartWare® VAS (HVAD) |
| Control LVAD | Active comparator | Implant of FDA-approved LVAD approved for destination therapy Receives: Device: Control LVAD |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Number of Participants With Neurologic Injury
The primary endpoint is the percent of participants at 12 months on the originally implanted device with neurologic injury, defined as a stroke with Modified Rankin Scale (MRS) > 0 at 24-weeks post-stroke, or a transient ischemic attack (TIA), or a spinal cord infarction (SCI). The Modified Rankin Scale is scored from 0 to 6, where 0 indicates an absence of symptoms and 6 indicates death. A score of 4 or higher indicates moderately severe or greater disability.
Measured: Implant to 12 Months
Secondary outcomes (2)
Number of HeartWare VAS Participants With Stroke/TIA
The first secondary endpoint is the number of HeartWare VAS participants with stroke/TIA at 12 months on the originally implanted device.
Measured: Implant to 12 Months
Number of Participants With Stroke-Free Success
Success is defined as alive on the originally implanted device, electively transplanted or explanted due to subject recovery and free from disabling stroke (Modified Rankin Scale >=4).
Measured: Implant to 12 Months
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted21 Oct 2013 (estimated)
- Study startOct 2013
- Primary completionAug 2016
- Study completionAug 2020
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Publications (3)Papers the sponsor has linked to this study.
- Other trials for Chronic Heart FailureStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Medtronic Cardiac Rhythm and Heart FailureThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase N/A
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 494 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Medtronic Cardiac Rhythm and Heart Failure
- Sponsor type
- Industry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Francis Pagani, MD, Principal investigator, University of Michigan HospitalJoseph Rogers, MD, Principal investigator, Duke University
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT01966458
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- HW004-A
- Acronym
- DT2
- Status last verified
- Oct 2020
- First submitted
- 17 Oct 2013
- Last updated
- 23 Oct 2020
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
Publications
Mahr C, McGee E Jr, Cheung A, Mokadam NA, Strueber M, Slaughter MS, Danter MR, Levy WC, Cheng RK, Beckman JA, May DM, Ismyrloglou E, Tsintzos SI, Silvestry SC. Cost-Effectiveness of Thoracotomy Approach for the Implantation of a Centrifugal Left Ventricular Assist Device. ASAIO J. 2020 Aug;66(8):855-861. doi: 10.1097/MAT.0000000000001209.
PubMed 32740343Silvestry SC, Mahr C, Slaughter MS, Levy WC, Cheng RK, May DM, Ismyrloglou E, Tsintzos SI, Tuttle E, Cook K, Birk E, Gomes A, Graham S, Cotts WG. Cost-Effectiveness of a Small Intrapericardial Centrifugal Left Ventricular Assist Device. ASAIO J. 2020 Aug;66(8):862-870. doi: 10.1097/MAT.0000000000001211.
PubMed 32740129Milano CA, Rogers JG, Tatooles AJ, Bhat G, Slaughter MS, Birks EJ, Mokadam NA, Mahr C, Miller JS, Markham DW, Jeevanandam V, Uriel N, Aaronson KD, Vassiliades TA, Pagani FD; ENDURANCE Investigators. HVAD: The ENDURANCE Supplemental Trial. JACC Heart Fail. 2018 Sep;6(9):792-802. doi: 10.1016/j.jchf.2018.05.012. Epub 2018 Jul 11.
PubMed 30007559
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 23 Oct 2020. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Prospective, Randomized, Controlled, Unblinded, Multi-Center Clinical Trial to Evaluate the HeartWare™ Ventricular Assist Device System for Destination Therapy of Advanced Heart Failure
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT01966458
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- DT2 / HW004-A
- Conditions
- Chronic Heart Failure
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 494 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Medtronic Cardiac Rhythm and Heart FailureIndustry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Study start
- Oct 2013 (actual)
- Primary completion
- Aug 2016 (actual)
- Study completion
- Aug 2020 (actual)
- First posted
- 21 Oct 2013 (estimated)
- Results
- Posted 23 Apr 2018
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
This is a prospective, randomized, controlled, unblinded, multi-center evaluation of safety and efficacy in patients implanted with a HeartWare® HVAD who receive improved blood pressure management. Subjects have chronic Stage D or NYHA Class IIIB/IV left ventricular failure who have received and failed optimal medical therapy, and who are ineligible for cardiac transplantation.
Detailed description
The study will evaluate non-inferiority of neurologic injury incidence in a new cohort of subjects receiving improved blood pressure management to a control group (i.e., any FDA-approved LVAD for destination therapy). Secondary endpoints include: a comparison of stroke/TIA incidence to a reference observed in the original IDE clinical trial (HW004) that did not specify improved blood pressure management; and non-inferiority of stroke-free success on the originally implanted device to the control group. Subjects will be randomized to HeartWare® HVAD or control LVAD in a 2:1 ratio. Each subject receiving the HeartWare® HVAD or control LVAD is followed to the primary and secondary endpoints at 12 months, with a subsequent follow-up period extending to 60 months post-implant.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 2
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| HeartWare® VAS (HVAD) | Experimental | Device: HeartWare® VAS (HVAD)Implant of HeartWare® Ventricular Assist System |
| Control LVAD | Active comparator | Device: Control LVADImplant of FDA-approved LVAD approved for destination therapy |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Key inclusion criteria (9 listed)
- Must be ≥18 years of age at consent
- Body Surface Area (BSA) ≥ 1.2 m2
- Patients with advanced heart failure symptoms (Class IIIB or IV) who are: (patient must meet one of the following)a. On optimal medical management, including dietary salt restriction and diuretics, for at least 45 out of the last 60 days and are failing to respond; or b. In Class III or Class IV heart failure for at least 14 days, and dependent on intra-aortic balloon pump (IABP) for 7 days and/or inotropes for at least 14 days
- Left ventricular ejection fraction ≤ 25%
- LVAD implant is intended as destination therapy
Key exclusion criteria (28 listed)
- Body Mass Index (BMI) > 40
- Existence of any ongoing mechanical circulatory support (MCS) other than an intra-aortic balloon pump (IABP)
- Prior cardiac transplant.
- History of confirmed, untreated abdominal or thoracic aortic aneurysm > 5 cm.
- Cardiothoracic surgery within 30 days of randomization.
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| HeartWare® VAS (HVAD)The HeartWare® VAS is an implantable centrifugal pump that was designed to provide flows up to 10 L/min in a small device that is both lightweight and simple to use. | Device | HeartWare® VAS (HVAD) |
| Control LVADAny FDA-approved LVAD for destination therapy. | Device | Control LVAD |
Primary outcome
Number of Participants With Neurologic Injury
Time frame: Implant to 12 Months
The primary endpoint is the percent of participants at 12 months on the originally implanted device with neurologic injury, defined as a stroke with Modified Rankin Scale (MRS) > 0 at 24-weeks post-stroke, or a transient ischemic attack (TIA), or a spinal cord infarction (SCI). The Modified Rankin Scale is scored from 0 to 6, where 0 indicates an absence of symptoms and 6 indicates death. A score of 4 or higher indicates moderately severe or greater disability.
2 secondary outcomes
Number of HeartWare VAS Participants With Stroke/TIA
Time frame: Implant to 12 Months
Number of Participants With Stroke-Free Success
Time frame: Implant to 12 Months
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 23 Oct 2020.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
- Derived from this study: PubMed 32740343Mahr C, McGee E Jr, Cheung A, Mokadam NA, Strueber M, Slaughter MS, Danter MR, Levy WC, Cheng RK, Beckman JA, May DM, Ismyrloglou E, Tsintzos SI, Silvestry SC. Cost-Effectiveness of Thoracotomy Approach for the Implantation of a Centrifugal Left Ventricular Assist Device. ASAIO J. 2020 Aug;66(8):855-861. doi: 10.1097/MAT.0000000000001209.
- Derived from this study: PubMed 32740129Silvestry SC, Mahr C, Slaughter MS, Levy WC, Cheng RK, May DM, Ismyrloglou E, Tsintzos SI, Tuttle E, Cook K, Birk E, Gomes A, Graham S, Cotts WG. Cost-Effectiveness of a Small Intrapericardial Centrifugal Left Ventricular Assist Device. ASAIO J. 2020 Aug;66(8):862-870. doi: 10.1097/MAT.0000000000001211.
- Derived from this study: PubMed 30007559Milano CA, Rogers JG, Tatooles AJ, Bhat G, Slaughter MS, Birks EJ, Mokadam NA, Mahr C, Miller JS, Markham DW, Jeevanandam V, Uriel N, Aaronson KD, Vassiliades TA, Pagani FD; ENDURANCE Investigators. HVAD: The ENDURANCE Supplemental Trial. JACC Heart Fail. 2018 Sep;6(9):792-802. doi: 10.1016/j.jchf.2018.05.012. Epub 2018 Jul 11.
Related trials for Chronic Heart Failure
Not yet recruiting
RELIEVE-HFrEF TRIAL: REducing Lung congestIon Symptoms Using the v-wavE Shunt in adVancEd Heart Failure With Reduced EF
Heart Failure and Reduced Ejection Fraction, Heart Failure Chronic
Not yet recruiting
Community Health Worker Nutrition Self-Management Support for Cardio-Kidney-Metabolic Health
Hypertension (HTN), CKD - Chronic Kidney Disease
RecruitingPhase 4
The Effects of Low-Dose Versus High-Dose Intravenous IRON Therapy With Ferric DerisomaltOSE in Patients With Chronic Heart Failure and Iron Deficiency
Heart Failure, Iron Deficiency
Recruiting
WIN Ratio Analysis to Determine a Strategy of Non- Invasive SUpport for Respiratory Failure in the EmeRgency Department
Acute Hypoxic Respiratory Failure, Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome (ARDS)
RecruitingObservational study
Norepinephrine in the Management of General Anesthesia-Induced Arterial Hypotension in Chronic Heart Failure Patients
Hypotension
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Francis Pagani, MD principal investigator
University of Michigan Hospital
Joseph Rogers, MD principal investigator
Duke University
47 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A study testing HeartWare® VAS (HVAD) in people with Chronic Heart Failure, run by Medtronic Cardiac Rhythm and Heart Failure at 47 sites in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 9 inclusion and 28 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 23 Oct 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 47 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 23 Apr 2018). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Number of Participants With Neurologic Injury (time frame: Implant to 12 Months). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT01966458, which also lists 3 linked publications.
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 23 Oct 2020.