AzTrials
AzTrials

Rheumatoid ArthritisPhase 3ACT-MOVENCT02046603

A Study of Tocilizumab (RoActemra/Actemra) in Monotherapy or in Combination With Methotrexate or Other Non-Biologic DMARDs in Participants With Active Rheumatoid Arthritis and an Inadequate Response to Current Non-Biologic DMARD Therapy or the First Anti-TNF Biologic Agent

A Phase 3 study testing Tocilizumab, DMARDs and Oral Corticosteroids in people with Rheumatoid Arthritis, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 38 sites in United Kingdom.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

This open-label study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of tocilizumab as monotherapy or in combination with methotrexate or other non-biologic disease modifying anti-rheumatic drugs (DMARDs) in participants with active rheumatoid arthritis (RA) and an inadequate response to current non-biologic DMARD therapy or… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Rheumatoid Arthritis
What is being tested?
Tocilizumab, DMARDs and Oral Corticosteroids
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
162 participants
Where
38 sitesUnited Kingdom
Study dates
4 Mar 2014to 4 Aug 2016
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Active RA according to the revised (1987) ACR criteria or EULAR/ACR (2010) criteria
  • Participants who have an inadequate response to current non-biologic DMARD therapy or the first anti-TNF agent (in monotherapy or in combination with MTX or other non-biologic DMARDs). Inadequate response to anti-TNF treatment is defined as DAS28 score improvement of less than 1.2 or participants achieving a DAS28 score improvement of 1.2 but not achieving low disease activity (current DAS28-ESR above 3.2) according to a treat-to-target strategy and have not been previously exposed to treatment with tocilizumab. Inadequate response to non-biologic DMARD therapy will be assessed according to local guidelines and the participants will need to be eligible for biologic therapy according to local guidelines
  • Oral corticosteroids (≤10 mg/day prednisone or equivalent) and non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs; up to recommended dose) are permitted if on stable dose regimen for greater than or equal to [≥] 4 weeks prior to baseline
  • Permitted non-biologic DMARDs are allowed if on stable dose for at least 4 weeks prior to baseline
  • Receiving treatment on an outpatient basis, not including tocilizumab
  • Females of childbearing potential and males with female partners of childbearing potential must agree to use reliable means of contraception as defined by protocol during the study and for at least 3 months following the last dose of tocilizumab

Who cannot join

  • Major surgery (including joint surgery) within 8 weeks prior to screening or planned major surgery within 6 months following baseline
  • Rheumatic autoimmune disease other than RA
  • Functional Class IV as defined by the ACR Classification of Functional Status in Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Diagnosis of juvenile idiopathic arthritis or juvenile RA and/or RA before the age of 16
  • Prior history of or current inflammatory joint disease other than RA
  • Exposure to tocilizumab either intravenous or SC at any time prior to baseline
Show all 16Show fewer
  • Treatment with any investigational agent within 4 weeks (or 5 half-lives of the investigational drug, whichever is longer) of screening
  • Intra-articular or parenteral corticosteroids within 4 weeks prior to baseline
  • History of severe allergic or anaphylactic reactions to human, humanized or murine monoclonal antibodies
  • Known active current or history of recurrent infections
  • Major episode of infection requiring hospitalization or treatment with IV antibiotics within 4 weeks of screening or oral antibiotics within 2 weeks of screening
  • Active tuberculosis (TB) requiring treatment within the previous 3 years
  • Positive for hepatitis B or hepatitis C virus infection
  • Primary or secondary immunodeficiency (history of or currently active)
  • Pregnant or lactating women
  • Inadequate hematologic, renal or liver function

Trial locations and contacts

38 sites in 1 country.

38 sites in 1 country

United Kingdom38 sites
  • Aberdeen Royal Infirmary

    Aberdeen, AB25 2ZN

  • Christchurch Hospital; Rheumatology

    Bournemouth, BH23 2JX

  • Royal Sussex County Hospital; Clinical Investigation Research Unit

    Brighton, BN2 5BE

  • Queens Hospital

    Burton-on-Trent, DE13 0RB

  • West Suffolk Hospital

    Bury Saint Edmonds, IP33 2QZ

  • Addenbrooke'S Hospital; Rheumatology Research Unit

    Cambridge, CB2 2QQ

  • Cannock Chase Hospital; Rheumatology

    Cannock, WS11 5XY

  • University Hospital of Wales; Dept of Rhematology

    Cardiff, CF14 4XW

  • Broomfield Hospital

    Chelmsford, CM1 7ET

  • Countess of Chester Hospital; Dept of Rheumatology

    Chester, CH2 1UL

  • Dewsbury & District Hospital; Dept of Rheumatology

    Dewsbury, WF13 4HS

  • Russells Hall Hospital; Rheumatology Department

    Dudley, DY1 2HQ

  • Ninewells Hospital

    Dundee, DD12 9SY

  • Eastbourne District General Hospital; Dept of Rheumatology

    Eastbourne, BN21 2UD

  • Western General Hospital; Pharmacy Department

    Edinburgh, EH4 2XU

  • Gartnavel General Hospital; Rheumatology

    Glasgow, G12 0YN

  • Diana Princess of Wales Hosp.

    Grimsby, DN33 2BA

  • Princess Alexandra Hospital

    Harlow, CM20 1QX

  • Northwick Park Hospital

    Harrow, HA1 3UJ

  • Hemel Hempstead General Hospital; Rheumatology Dept

    Hemel Hempstead, HP2 4AD

  • Hull Royal Infirmary; Rheumatology Department

    Hull, HU3 3JZ

  • Llandudno General Hospital

    Llandudno, LL30 1LB

  • Whipps Cross Hospital; Rheumatology Dept

    London, E11 1NR

  • Royal Free Hospital; Department of Rheumatology

    London, NW3 2QG

  • Maidstone Hospital; Dept of Rheumatology

    Maidstone, ME16 9QQ

  • Wythenshawe Hospital

    Manchester, M23 9QZ

  • Freeman Hospital; Dept of Rheumatology

    Newcastle upon Tyne, NE7 7DN

  • North Tyneside General Hospital

    North Shields, NE29 8NH

  • Norfolk & Norwich Hospital; Rheumatology

    Norwich, NR4 7UY

  • Integrated Care Centre

    Oldham, OL1 1NL

  • Solihull Hospital

    Solihull, B91 2JL

  • Haywood Hospital; Staffordshire Rheumatology Centre

    Stoke-on-Trent, ST6 7AG

  • Great Western Hospital; Dept of Rheumatology

    Swindon, SN3 6BB

  • Torbay Hospital; Dept of Rhematology

    Torquay, TQ2 7AA

  • Royal Cornwall Hospital; Rhuematololgy Dept

    Truro, TR1 3LJ

  • Warrington Hospital

    Warrington, WA5 1QG

  • Wrightington Hospital; Rheumatology

    Wigan, WN6 9EW

  • Wishaw General Hospital

    Wishaw, ML2 0DP

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: Open-Label, Phase IIIb Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Subcutaneous (SC) Tocilizumab Monotherapy or Combination Therapy With Methotrexate (MTX) or Other Non-Biologic Disease Modifying Anti-Rheumatic Drugs (DMARDs) in Patients With Active Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA) Who Have an Inadequate Response to Current Non-Biologic DMARD Therapy or the First Anti-Tumour Necrosis Factor (Anti-TNF) Biologic Agent

This open-label study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of tocilizumab as monotherapy or in combination with methotrexate or other non-biologic disease modifying anti-rheumatic drugs (DMARDs) in participants with active rheumatoid arthritis (RA) and an inadequate response to current non-biologic DMARD therapy or the first anti-tumour necrosis factor (anti-TNF) agent. Participants will receive tocilizumab 162 milligrams (mg) subcutaneously once a week for 52 weeks.

Being tested
Tocilizumab, DMARDs, Oral Corticosteroids, Methotrexate
Medical subject headings
Arthritis, Rheumatoid

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • TocilizumabDrug

    Also called RoActemra, Actemra

    Tocilizumab 162 mg will be administered once a week by SC injection and as a single fixed dose, irrespective of body weight, for the treatment duration of 52 weeks.

  • DMARDsDrug

    Treatment with non-biologic DMARDs, at a stable dose that was initiated at least 4 weeks prior to baseline, is permitted during the study. The study protocol does not specify any particular therapy.

  • Oral CorticosteroidsDrug

    Stable oral corticosteroids doses (≤10 mg/day prednisone or equivalent) are allowed. The study protocol does not specify any additional detail on types of oral corticosteroids.

  • MethotrexateDrug

    Methotrexate per investigator's discretion.

Study groups in NCT02046603
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Tocilizumab MonotherapyExperimentalParticipants will receive a weekly SC injection of tocilizumab 162 mg as monotherapy for 52 weeks.
Receives: Drug: Tocilizumab
Tocilizumab in Combination With Methotrexate or Other DMARDsExperimentalParticipants will receive a weekly SC injection of tocilizumab 162 mg in combination with methotrexate or other non-biologic DMARDs for 52 weeks.
Receives: Drug: Tocilizumab; Drug: DMARDs; Drug: Oral Corticosteroids; Drug: Methotrexate

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Change From Baseline in Disease Activity Score 28-Erythrocyte Sedimentation Rate (DAS28-ESR) at Week 2

    DAS28 was calculated from swollen joint count (SJC) and tender joint count (TJC) using 28 joints count, erythrocyte sedimentation rate (ESR; millimeters per hour [mm/hour]), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 0 to 100 mm Visual Analog Scale [VAS] where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=worst disease activity). DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. Total score range: 0-10, higher score=higher disease activity. DAS28-ESR greater than or equal to (≥) 2.6 to less than or equal to (≤) 3.2 implied low disease activity, greater than (>) 3.2 to ≤5.1 implied moderate disease activity, >5.1 implied high/severe disease, and less than (<) 2.6 implied clinical remission.

    Measured: Baseline, Week 2

  2. Change From Baseline in DAS28-ESR at Week 4

    DAS28 was calculated from SJC and TJC using 28 joints count, ESR (mm/hour), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 0 to 100 mm VAS where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=worst disease activity). DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. Total score range: 0-10, higher score=higher disease activity. DAS28-ESR ≥2.6 to ≤3.2 implied low disease activity, >3.2 to ≤5.1 implied moderate disease activity, >5.1 implied high/severe disease, and <2.6 implied clinical remission.

    Measured: Baseline, Week 4

  3. Change From Baseline in DAS28-ESR at Week 8

    DAS28 was calculated from SJC and TJC using 28 joints count, ESR (mm/hour), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 0 to 100 mm VAS where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=worst disease activity). DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. Total score range: 0-10, higher score=higher disease activity. DAS28-ESR ≥2.6 to ≤3.2 implied low disease activity, >3.2 to ≤5.1 implied moderate disease activity, >5.1 implied high/severe disease, and <2.6 implied clinical remission.

    Measured: Baseline, Week 8

  4. Change From Baseline in DAS28-ESR at Week 12

    DAS28 was calculated from SJC and TJC using 28 joints count, ESR (mm/hour), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 0 to 100 mm VAS where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=worst disease activity). DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. Total score range: 0-10, higher score=higher disease activity. DAS28-ESR ≥2.6 to ≤3.2 implied low disease activity, >3.2 to ≤5.1 implied moderate disease activity, >5.1 implied high/severe disease, and <2.6 implied clinical remission.

    Measured: Baseline, Week 12

  5. Change From Baseline in DAS28-ESR at Week 16

    DAS28 was calculated from SJC and TJC using 28 joints count, ESR (mm/hour), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 0 to 100 mm VAS where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=worst disease activity). DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. Total score range: 0-10, higher score=higher disease activity. DAS28-ESR ≥2.6 to ≤3.2 implied low disease activity, >3.2 to ≤5.1 implied moderate disease activity, >5.1 implied high/severe disease, and <2.6 implied clinical remission.

    Measured: Baseline, Week 16

  6. Change From Baseline in DAS28-ESR at Week 20

    DAS28 was calculated from SJC and TJC using 28 joints count, ESR (mm/hour), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 0 to 100 mm VAS where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=worst disease activity). DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. Total score range: 0-10, higher score=higher disease activity. DAS28-ESR ≥2.6 to ≤3.2 implied low disease activity, >3.2 to ≤5.1 implied moderate disease activity, >5.1 implied high/severe disease, and <2.6 implied clinical remission.

    Measured: Baseline, Week 20

  7. Change From Baseline in DAS28-ESR at Week 24

    DAS28 was calculated from SJC and TJC using 28 joints count, ESR (mm/hour), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 0 to 100 mm VAS where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=worst disease activity). DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. Total score range: 0-10, higher score=higher disease activity. DAS28-ESR ≥2.6 to ≤3.2 implied low disease activity, >3.2 to ≤5.1 implied moderate disease activity, >5.1 implied high/severe disease, and <2.6 implied clinical remission.

    Measured: Baseline, Week 24

  8. Change From Baseline in DAS28-ESR at Week 28

    DAS28 was calculated from SJC and TJC using 28 joints count, ESR (mm/hour), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 0 to 100 mm VAS where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=worst disease activity). DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. Total score range: 0-10, higher score=higher disease activity. DAS28-ESR ≥2.6 to ≤3.2 implied low disease activity, >3.2 to ≤5.1 implied moderate disease activity, >5.1 implied high/severe disease, and <2.6 implied clinical remission.

    Measured: Baseline, Week 28

  9. Change From Baseline in DAS28-ESR at Week 32

    DAS28 was calculated from SJC and TJC using 28 joints count, ESR (mm/hour), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 0 to 100 mm VAS where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=worst disease activity). DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. Total score range: 0-10, higher score=higher disease activity. DAS28-ESR ≥2.6 to ≤3.2 implied low disease activity, >3.2 to ≤5.1 implied moderate disease activity, >5.1 implied high/severe disease, and <2.6 implied clinical remission.

    Measured: Baseline, Week 32

  10. Change From Baseline in DAS28-ESR at Week 36

    DAS28 was calculated from SJC and TJC using 28 joints count, ESR (mm/hour), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 0 to 100 mm VAS where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=worst disease activity). DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. Total score range: 0-10, higher score=higher disease activity. DAS28-ESR ≥2.6 to ≤3.2 implied low disease activity, >3.2 to ≤5.1 implied moderate disease activity, >5.1 implied high/severe disease, and <2.6 implied clinical remission.

    Measured: Baseline, Week 36

  11. Change From Baseline in DAS28-ESR at Week 40

    DAS28 was calculated from SJC and TJC using 28 joints count, ESR (mm/hour), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 0 to 100 mm VAS where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=worst disease activity). DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. Total score range: 0-10, higher score=higher disease activity. DAS28-ESR ≥2.6 to ≤3.2 implied low disease activity, >3.2 to ≤5.1 implied moderate disease activity, >5.1 implied high/severe disease, and <2.6 implied clinical remission.

    Measured: Baseline, Week 40

  12. Change From Baseline in DAS28-ESR at Week 44

    DAS28 was calculated from SJC and TJC using 28 joints count, ESR (mm/hour), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 0 to 100 mm VAS where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=worst disease activity). DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. Total score range: 0-10, higher score=higher disease activity. DAS28-ESR ≥2.6 to ≤3.2 implied low disease activity, >3.2 to ≤5.1 implied moderate disease activity, >5.1 implied high/severe disease, and <2.6 implied clinical remission.

    Measured: Baseline, Week 44

  13. Change From Baseline in DAS28-ESR at Week 48

    DAS28 was calculated from SJC and TJC using 28 joints count, ESR (mm/hour), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 0 to 100 mm VAS where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=worst disease activity). DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. Total score range: 0-10, higher score=higher disease activity. DAS28-ESR ≥2.6 to ≤3.2 implied low disease activity, >3.2 to ≤5.1 implied moderate disease activity, >5.1 implied high/severe disease, and <2.6 implied clinical remission.

    Measured: Baseline, Week 48

  14. Change From Baseline in DAS28-ESR at Week 52

    DAS28 was calculated from SJC and TJC using 28 joints count, ESR (mm/hour), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 0 to 100 mm VAS where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=worst disease activity). DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. Total score range: 0-10, higher score=higher disease activity. DAS28-ESR ≥2.6 to ≤3.2 implied low disease activity, >3.2 to ≤5.1 implied moderate disease activity, >5.1 implied high/severe disease, and <2.6 implied clinical remission.

    Measured: Baseline, Week 52

  15. Change From Baseline in DAS28-ESR at Early Withdrawal

    DAS28 was calculated from SJC and TJC using 28 joints count, ESR (mm/hour), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 0 to 100 mm VAS where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=worst disease activity). DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. Total score range: 0-10, higher score=higher disease activity. DAS28-ESR ≥2.6 to ≤3.2 implied low disease activity, >3.2 to ≤5.1 implied moderate disease activity, >5.1 implied high/severe disease, and <2.6 implied clinical remission.

    Measured: Baseline, early withdrawal (up to Week 52)

Secondary outcomes (22)
  1. Number of Participants Achieving an American College of Rheumatology Criteria 20 (ACR20) Response

    A participant had an ACR20 response if there was at least a 20 percent (%) improvement, ie, reduction from Baseline, in TJC (68 joints) and SJC (66 joints) and in at least 3 of the following 5 parameters: 1) Physician's Global Assessment of Disease Activity [VAS: 0 mm=no disease activity to 100 mm=maximum disease activity]; 2) Patient's Global Assessment of Disease Activity [VAS: 0 mm=no disease activity to 100 mm=maximum disease activity]; 3) Patient's Assessment of Pain [VAS: 0 mm=no pain to 100 mm=unbearable pain]; 4) Health Assessment Questionnaire [20 questions, 8 components: dressing/grooming, arising, eating, walking, hygiene, reach, grip, and activities, averaged to 0=without difficulty to 3=unable to do] and 5) an acute-phase reactant (either C-reactive protein [CRP] or ESR).

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at early withdrawal (up to Week 52)

  2. Number of Participants Achieving an ACR50 Response

    A participant had an ACR50 response if there was at least a 50% improvement, ie, reduction from Baseline, in TJC (68 joints) and SJC (66 joints) and in at least 3 of the following 5 parameters: 1) Physician's Global Assessment of Disease Activity [VAS: 0 mm=no disease activity to 100 mm=maximum disease activity]; 2) Patient's Global Assessment of Disease Activity [VAS: 0 mm=no disease activity to 100 mm=maximum disease activity]; 3) Patient's Assessment of Pain [VAS: 0 mm=no pain to 100 mm=unbearable pain]; 4) Health Assessment Questionnaire [20 questions, 8 components: dressing/grooming, arising, eating, walking, hygiene, reach, grip, and activities, averaged to 0=without difficulty to 3=unable to do] and 5) an acute-phase reactant (either CRP or ESR).

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at early withdrawal (up to Week 52)

  3. Number of Participants Achieving an ACR70 Response

    A participant had an ACR70 response if there was at least a 70% improvement, ie, reduction from Baseline, in TJC (68 joints) and SJC (66 joints) and in at least 3 of the following 5 parameters: 1) Physician's Global Assessment of Disease Activity [VAS: 0 mm=no disease activity to 100 mm=maximum disease activity]; 2) Patient's Global Assessment of Disease Activity [VAS: 0 mm=no disease activity to 100 mm=maximum disease activity]; 3) Patient's Assessment of Pain [VAS: 0 mm=no pain to 100 mm=unbearable pain]; 4) Health Assessment Questionnaire [20 questions, 8 components: dressing/grooming, arising, eating, walking, hygiene, reach, grip, and activities, averaged to 0=without difficulty to 3=unable to do] and 5) an acute-phase reactant (either CRP or ESR).

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at early withdrawal (up to Week 52)

  4. Number of Participants With European League Against Rheumatism (EULAR) Response (Good, Moderate or No Response) Based on DAS28-ESR

    DAS28-ESR was calculated from SJC and TJC using 28 joints count, ESR (mm/hour), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (VAS: 0 mm=no disease activity to 100 mm=maximum disease activity). DAS28-ESR scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. The DAS28-ESR based EULAR response criteria were used to measure individual response as none, good, and moderate, depending on the extent of change from baseline and the level of disease activity reached. Good responders had a change from baseline >1.2 with a DAS28 score ≤3.2; moderate responders had a change from baseline >1.2 with a DAS28 score >3.2 or a change from baseline >0.6 to ≤1.2 with a DAS28 score ≤5.1. Participants with change from baseline >0.6 to ≤1.2 with a DAS28 score >5.1, or any score with change from baseline ≤0.6, were assessed as non-responders.

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at early withdrawal (up to Week 52)

  5. Change From Baseline in Simplified Disease Activity Index (SDAI) at Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at Early Withdrawal

    The SDAI is the numerical sum of five outcome parameters: TJC and SJC based on a 28-joint assessment, patient and physician global assessment of disease activity assessed on 0-10 centimeter (cm) VAS (0 cm= no disease activity and 10 cm= worst disease activity), and CRP in milligrams per liter (mg/L). SDAI total score = 0-86. SDAI ≤3.3 indicates clinical remission, >3.3 to 11 = low disease activity, >11 to 26 = moderate disease activity, and >26 = high (or severe) disease activity.

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at early withdrawal (up to Week 52)

  6. Change From Baseline in Clinical Disease Activity Index (CDAI) at Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at Early Withdrawal

    The CDAI is the numerical sum of four outcome parameters: TJC and SJC based on a 28-joint assessment, patient and physician's global assessment of disease activity assessed on 0-10 cm VAS (0 cm= no disease activity and 10 cm= worst disease activity). CDAI total score = 0-76. CDAI ≤2.8 indicates clinical remission, >2.8 to 10 = low disease activity, >10 to 22 = moderate disease activity, and >22 = high (or severe) disease activity.

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at early withdrawal (up to Week 52)

  7. Percent Change From Baseline in Total TJC on 68 Joints at Week 52

    Number of tender joints was determined by examining 68 joints and identified the joints that were painful under pressure or to passive motion. The number of tender joints was recorded on the joint assessment form at each visit, no tenderness = 0, tenderness = 1; total was calculated by adding all the joints for a maximum score of 68. A reduction in number of tender joints compared to baseline indicates improvement. The outcome is reported as the percent change from baseline to end of treatment (52 weeks).

    Measured: Baseline, Week 52

  8. Change From Baseline in Total TJC on 28 Joints at Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at Early Withdrawal

    Number of tender joints was determined by examining 28 joints and identified the joints that were painful under pressure or to passive motion. The number of tender joints was recorded on the joint assessment form at each visit, no tenderness = 0, tenderness = 1; total was calculated by adding all the joints for a maximum score of 28. A reduction in number of tender joints compared to baseline indicates improvement.

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at early withdrawal (up to Week 52)

  9. Percent Change From Baseline in Total SJC on 66 Joints at Week 52

    Number of swollen joints was determined by examination of 66 joints and identifying when swelling was present. The number of swollen joints was recorded on the joint assessment form at each visit, no swelling = 0, swelling =1; total was calculated by adding all the joints for a maximum score of 66. A reduction in number of swollen joints compared to baseline indicates improvement. The outcome is reported as the percent change from baseline to end of treatment (52 weeks).

    Measured: Baseline, Week 52

  10. Change From Baseline in Total SJC on 28 Joints at Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at Early Withdrawal

    Number of swollen joints was determined by examination of 28 joints and identifying when swelling was present. The number of swollen joints was recorded on the joint assessment form at each visit, no swelling = 0, swelling =1; total was calculated by adding all the joints for a maximum score of 28. A reduction in number of swollen joints compared to baseline indicates improvement.

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at early withdrawal (up to Week 52)

  11. Number of Participants Who Achieved Low Disease Activity as Defined by DAS28-ESR ≤3.2

    DAS28 was calculated from SJC and TJC using 28 joints count, ESR (mm/hour), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 0 to 100 mm VAS where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=worst disease activity). DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. Total score range: 0-10, higher score=higher disease activity. DAS28-ESR ≥2.6 to ≤3.2 implied low disease activity.

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at early withdrawal (up to Week 52)

  12. Number of Participants Who Achieved Remission as Defined by DAS28-ESR <2.6

    DAS28 was calculated from SJC and TJC using 28 joints count, ESR (mm/hour), and patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 0 to 100 mm VAS where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=worst disease activity). DAS28 scores were calculated as [0.56 × square root of TJC] + [0.28 × square root of SJC] + [0.70 × natural log (ESR)] + [0.014 × VAS]. Total score range: 0-10, higher score=higher disease activity. DAS28-ESR <2.6 implied clinical remission.

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at early withdrawal (up to Week 52)

  13. Number of Participants With Non-Biologic DMARD/Corticosteroid Dose Reductions and/or Discontinuation

    Results are reported for number of participants who had non-biologic DMARD/corticosteroid dose reductions and/or discontinuation by reasons for dose reductions or discontinuation (safety reasons, discomfort, lack of efficacy, other reasons, and unknown reasons). Participants may be included under more than one reason.

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, at early withdrawal (up to Week 52), follow-up Week 4 (up to Week 56), and follow-up Week 8 (up to Week 60)

  14. Percentage of Methotrexate Adherence as Assessed by Methotrexate Adherence Questionnaire

    Methotrexate adherence was determined from responses to the question 'Over the last 3 months you were prescribed 12 doses of methotrexate, how many (approximately) have you taken?' Adherence (%) was calculated as: (Approximate number of doses taken/12)*100.

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 12, 24, 36, 52, and at early withdrawal (up to Week 52)

  15. Patient Global Assessment of Disease Activity VAS Score

    Patient global assessment of disease activity was measured on a 0 to 100 mm horizontal VAS where 0 mm=no disease activity and 100 mm=maximum disease activity.

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at early withdrawal (up to Week 52)

  16. Patient Pain VAS Score

    This assessment represents the participant's assessment of his/her current level of pain on a 100 mm horizontal VAS where 0 mm= no pain to 100 mm= unbearable pain.

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at early withdrawal (up to Week 52)

  17. Health Assessment Questionnaire-Disability Index (HAQ-DI) Score

    The HAQ-DI questionnaire measures functional status (disability) and health-related quality of life. It measures the participant's ability to perform everyday tasks. The index consists of 20 questions regarding the function of the upper and lower extremities. These questions are summarized in 8 categories: dressing and grooming, arising, eating, walking, hygiene, reach, grip, and common activities over past week. Each question is evaluated according to the degree of severity on a 4-point scale. Total score for HAQ-DI was the average of all questions and ranges from 0 = without any difficulty to 3 = unable to do.

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at early withdrawal (up to Week 52)

  18. Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy-Fatigue (FACIT-F) Score

    The FACIT-F score was calculated according to a 13-item questionnaire that assesses self-reported fatigue and its impact upon daily activities and function. FACIT-F is a 13-item questionnaire. Participants scored each item on a 5-point scale: 0 (Not at all) to 4 (Very much). The larger the participant's response to the questions (with the exception of 2 negatively stated), the greater the participant's fatigue. For all questions, except for the 2 negatively stated ones, the code was reversed and a new score was calculated as (4 minus the participant's response). The sum of all responses resulted in the FACIT-F score for a total possible score of 0 (worse score) to 52 (better score).

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at early withdrawal (up to Week 52)

  19. Number of Participants Compliant to Tocilizumab Treatment as Measured by Diary Cards and Return Records

    A diary card was provided to participants to record home injections. Participants were asked to return all empty drug supply boxes, unused pre-filled syringe, and diary cards to the clinic at each visit as a measure of drug accountability and participant compliance. A participant was considered compliant if the participant correctly administered all scheduled doses of SC tocilizumab during the assessment period.

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, and at early withdrawal (up to Week 52)

  20. Number of Participants With Anti-Tocilizumab Antibodies

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 12 and 24, at early withdrawal (up to Week 52), and follow-up visit (8 weeks after last dose of tocilizumab, up to 60 weeks)

  21. Serum Levels of Tocilizumab

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 12 and 24, at early withdrawal (up to Week 52), and follow-up visit (8 weeks after last dose of tocilizumab, up to 60 weeks)

  22. Serum Levels of Soluble Interleukin-6 Receptors (sIL-6Rs)

    Measured: Baseline, Weeks 12 and 24, at early withdrawal (up to Week 52), and follow-up visit (8 weeks after last dose of tocilizumab, up to 60 weeks)

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted28 Jan 2014 (estimated)
  2. Study start4 Mar 2014
  3. Primary completion4 Aug 2016
  4. Study completion4 Aug 2016

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
162 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT02046603
Sponsor's protocol ID
ML28641
Other IDs
2013-000054-22
Acronym
ACT-MOVE
Status last verified
May 2018
First submitted
24 Jan 2014
Last updated
7 Dec 2018
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No

Publications

  • Isaacs JD, Salih A, Sheeran T, Patel YI, Douglas K, McKay ND, Naisbett-Groet B, Choy E. Efficacy and safety of subcutaneous tocilizumab in rheumatoid arthritis over 1 year: a UK real-world, open-label study. Rheumatol Adv Pract. 2019 Apr 19;3(1):rkz010. doi: 10.1093/rap/rkz010. eCollection 2019.

    PubMed 31431998
  • Choy E, Caporali R, Xavier R, Fautrel B, Sanmarti R, Bao M, Devenport J, Petho-Schramm A. Effects of concomitant glucocorticoids in TOZURA, a common-framework study programme of subcutaneous tocilizumab in rheumatoid arthritis. Rheumatology (Oxford). 2019 Jun 1;58(6):1056-1064. doi: 10.1093/rheumatology/key393.

    PubMed 30649524
  • Choy E, Caporali R, Xavier R, Fautrel B, Sanmarti R, Bao M, Bernasconi C, Petho-Schramm A. Subcutaneous tocilizumab in rheumatoid arthritis: findings from the common-framework phase 4 study programme TOZURA conducted in 22 countries. Rheumatology (Oxford). 2018 Mar 1;57(3):499-507. doi: 10.1093/rheumatology/kex443.

    PubMed 29244149

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing Tocilizumab, DMARDs and Oral Corticosteroids in people with Rheumatoid Arthritis, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 38 sites in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 6 inclusion and 16 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 7 Dec 2018. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 38 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 7 Dec 2018). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Change From Baseline in Disease Activity Score 28-Erythrocyte Sedimentation Rate (DAS28-ESR) at Week 2 (time frame: Baseline, Week 2). The study lists 15 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT02046603, which also lists 3 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 7 Dec 2018.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in