AzTrials
AzTrials

Rheumatoid ArthritisPhase 3NCT02046616

A Study of Subcutaneous (SC) Tocilizumab (RoActemra/Actemra) in Participants With Active Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA) and Inadequate Response to Disease-Modifying Anti-Rheumatic Drugs (DMARDs)

A Phase 3 study testing Tocilizumab, Methotrexate and Non-Biologic DMARDs in people with Rheumatoid Arthritis, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 27 sites in 4 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

This Phase IIIb, open-label, single-arm study will evaluate the safety, efficacy, and tolerability of SC tocilizumab (RoActemra/Actemra) in monotherapy or in combination with methotrexate or other non-biologic DMARDs in participants with active RA who are naive to tocilizumab. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Rheumatoid Arthritis
What is being tested?
Tocilizumab, Methotrexate and Non-Biologic DMARDs
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
133 participants
Where
27 sitesin 4 countries
Study dates
28 May 2014to 13 Sep 2016
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Active RA according to the revised ACR (1987) criteria or EULAR/ACR (2010) criteria
  • Moderate to severe RA with a DAS28-ESR score >3.2 points
  • Inadequate response and/or intolerance to MTX or other non-biologic DMARDs and/or where MTX or other non-biologic DMARDs are inappropriate
  • Oral corticosteroids (less than or equal to [</=] 10 mg per day prednisolone or equivalent) and nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) permitted if on stable dose regimen for greater than or equal to [>/=] 4 weeks prior to baseline
  • Permitted non-biologic DMARDs allowed if at stable dose for >/=4 weeks prior to baseline
  • Receiving treatment on an outpatient basis, not including tocilizumab
  • Agreement to use reliable means of contraception as defined by protocol, among females of childbearing potential and males with female partners of childbearing potential

Who cannot join

  • Major surgery (including joint surgery) within 8 weeks prior to screening or planned major surgery within 6 months following baseline
  • Rheumatic autoimmune disease other than RA
  • Functional Class IV as defined by the ACR Classification of Functional Status in Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Diagnosis of juvenile idiopathic arthritis or juvenile RA and/or RA before the age of 16
  • Prior history of or current inflammatory joint disease other than RA
  • Exposure to tocilizumab or any other biologic DMARDs at any time prior to baseline
Show all 18Show fewer
  • Treatment with any investigational agent within 4 weeks (or 5 half-lives of the investigational drug, whichever is longer) of screening
  • Intra-articular or parenteral corticosteroids within 4 weeks prior to baseline
  • History of severe allergic or anaphylactic reactions to human, humanized, or murine monoclonal antibodies
  • Evidence of serious concomitant disease or disorder
  • Known active current or history of recurrent infection
  • Any major episode of infection requiring hospitalization or treatment with intravenous (IV) antibiotics within 4 weeks of screening or oral antibiotics within 2 weeks of screening
  • Active tuberculosis requiring treatment within the previous 3 years
  • Positive for hepatitis B or hepatitis C
  • History of or current active primary or secondary immunodeficiency
  • Pregnant or lactating women
  • Neuropathies or other conditions that might interfere with pain evaluation
  • Inadequate hematologic, renal, or liver function

Trial locations and contacts

27 sites in 4 countries.

27 sites in 4 countries

Sweden9 sites
  • Länssjukhuset Ryhov; Ortoped- och Reumatolog kliniken

    Jönköping, 551 85

  • Uni Hospital Linkoeping; Dept. of Rheumatology

    Linköping, 58185

  • Skånes Universitetssjukhus Lund; Reumatologkliniken

    Lund, 221 85

  • Skånes Universitetssjukhus Malmö; Reumatologkliniken

    Malmö, 205 02

  • Örebro Uni Hospital; Rheumatology

    Örebro, 70185

  • Simrishamns Sjukhus

    Simrishamn, 272 81

  • Karolinska Sjukhuset; Reumatologkliniken D2-1

    Stockholm, 171 76

  • Akademiska sjukhuset, Reumatologkliniken

    Uppsala, 75185

  • Västmanlands sjukhus Västerås, Reumatologkliniken

    Västerås, 72189

Other trials in Sweden

Denmark7 sites
  • Aalborg Universitetshospital Nord, Reumatologisk Afdeling

    Aalborg, 9000

  • Glostrup Hospital, Reumatologisk Afdeling, Ambulatoriet

    Glostrup Municipality, 2600

  • Gentofte Hospital, Medicinsk Afd. C, Klinik for Gigt- og Rygsygdomme

    Hellerup, 2900

  • Holbæk Sygehus, Medicinsk Afd., Reumatologisk Amb.15-2

    Holbæk, 4300

  • Sjællands Universitetshospital, Køge; Reumatologisk Afdeling

    Køge, 4600

  • Odense Universitetshospital, Reumatologisk Afdeling C, Ambulatoriet

    Odense, 5000

  • Svendborg Sygehus, Reumatologisk Ambulatorium

    Svendborg, 5700

Other trials in Denmark

Finland6 sites
  • Helsinki University Central Hospital; Rheumatology Clinic

    Helsinki, 00290

  • Kiljavan Lääketutkimus Oy

    Hyvinkää, 05800

  • Central Hospital of Pohjois-Karjala; Outpatient Clinic of Rheumatology

    Joensuu, 80210

  • Keski-Suomen Keskussairaala; Sisätautien Klinikka

    Jyväskylä, 40620

  • Lappeenranta Central Hospital; Outpatient Clinic of Internal Medicine

    Lappeenranta, 53130

  • Oulu University Hospital; Rheumatology

    Oulu, 90220

Other trials in Finland

Norway5 sites
  • Ålesund Sykehus; Revmatologisk Avdeling

    Ålesund, 6017

  • Haukeland Universitetssykehus; Revmatologisk Avdeling

    Bergen, 5053

  • Drammen sykehus Vestre Viken HF, Revmatologisk avd.

    Drammen, 3004

  • Diakonhjemmet; Reumatolgisk Avdeling

    Oslo, 0370

  • St. Olavs Hospital; Revmatologisk avdeling

    Trondheim, 7030

Other trials in Norway

About this study

Official title: Tocilizumab SC in Patients With Active Rheumatoid Arthritis and Inadequate Response to DMARDs. A Single-Arm, Open-Label Study to Evaluate Safety, Tolerability and Efficacy. In a Subgroup of Patients Inflammation Will Be Measured by Ultrasound.

This Phase IIIb, open-label, single-arm study will evaluate the safety, efficacy, and tolerability of SC tocilizumab (RoActemra/Actemra) in monotherapy or in combination with methotrexate or other non-biologic DMARDs in participants with active RA who are naive to tocilizumab. Participants will receive tocilizumab 162 milligrams (mg) subcutaneously weekly (QW) for 24 weeks.

Being tested
Tocilizumab, Methotrexate, Non-Biologic DMARDs
Medical subject headings
Arthritis, Rheumatoid

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • TocilizumabDrug

    Also called RoActemra, Actemra

    Tocilizumab 162 mg will be administered subcutaneously QW.

  • MethotrexateDrug

    Methotrexate dosing is not specified by the protocol and will be given as per standard practice. Participants must be at a stable dose that was initiated at least 4 weeks prior to baseline.

  • Non-Biologic DMARDsDrug

    Participants will receive non-biologic DMARDs (same non-biologic DMARD that participant was receiving at time of study entry). Dosing is not specified by the protocol and will be given as per standard practice. Participants must be at a stable dose that was initiated at least 4 weeks prior to baseline.

Study groups in NCT02046616
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Tocilizumab Alone or Combined with Methotrexate or Other DMARDExperimentalAll participants will receive tocilizumab as a single fixed dose (monotherapy) or in combination with methotrexate or other non-biologic DMARDs, irrespective of body weight, for 24 weeks.
Receives: Drug: Tocilizumab; Drug: Methotrexate; Drug: Non-Biologic DMARDs

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Change From Baseline in Clinical Disease Activity Index (CDAI) at Week 12

    CDAI was derived as the sum of the following: tender joint count (TJC), swollen joint count (SJC), participant global assessment (PGA) of disease activity, and physician assessment of disease activity. TJC and SJC were taken as the number of tender and swollen joints, respectively, out of 28 assessed joints. PGA and physician assessment of disease activity were scored 0-100 millimeters (mm) and rounded to the nearest centimeter (cm) on a visual analog scale (VAS), where higher scores indicate greater perceived disease activity. The total CDAI score range was 0-76, where higher scores indicate increased disease activity. Change from baseline was averaged among all participants. Negative values indicate improvement/reduction in RA disease activity.

    Measured: Baseline, Week 12

Secondary outcomes (16)
  1. Change From Baseline in Disease Activity Score 28 (DAS28)-Erythrocyte Sedimentation Rate (ESR) Score

    DAS28-ESR was based on TJC, SJC, PGA of disease activity, and laboratory-derived ESR. TJC and SJC were taken as the number of tender and swollen joints, respectively, out of 28 assessed joints. PGA of disease activity was scored 0-100 mm on a VAS, where higher scores indicate greater perceived disease activity. The total DAS28-ESR score was transformed to a single score range of 0-10, where higher scores indicate increased disease activity. Change from baseline was averaged among all participants. Negative values indicate improvement/reduction in RA disease activity.

    Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24

  2. Percentage of Participants With American College of Rheumatology (ACR) Response

    ACR response was assessed on the basis of percent improvement (20% for ACR20, 50% for ACR50, 70% for ACR70) in both TJC and SJC as well as at least three of the following: physician assessment of disease activity, PGA of disease activity, PGA of pain, Health Assessment Questionnaire-Disability Index (HAQ-DI), and either ESR or C-reactive protein level. TJC and SJC were taken as the number of tender and swollen joints, out of 68 and 66 assessed joints, respectively. PGA and physician assessments were scored 0-100 mm on a VAS, where higher scores indicate greater perceived disease activity or pain. HAQ-DI was scored using participant responses to 20 questions assessing activities of daily living (ADLs), with total score scale of 0-3, where higher scores indicate increased functional disability. The percentage of participants meeting criteria for each level of ACR response was reported.

    Measured: Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24

  3. Percentage of Participants With European League Against Rheumatism (EULAR) Response

    EULAR response was assessed by change from baseline and absolute DAS28-ESR score. EULAR response classification was as follows: Good (change >1.2 with absolute score </=3.2), Moderate (change >1.2 with absolute score >3.2 or change >0.6 with absolute score </=5.1), None (change </=0.6 or absolute score >5.1). DAS28-ESR was based on TJC, SJC, and PGA of disease activity, and laboratory-derived ESR. TJC and SJC were taken as the number of tender and swollen joints, respectively, out of 28 assessed joints. PGA of disease activity was scored 0-100 mm on a VAS, where higher scores indicate greater perceived disease activity. The total DAS28-ESR score was transformed to a single score range of 0-10, where higher scores indicate increased disease activity. The percentage of participants meeting criteria for each level of EULAR response was reported.

    Measured: Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24

  4. Change From Baseline in CDAI at Weeks 2, 4, 8, 16, 20, and 24

    CDAI was derived as the sum of the following: TJC, SJC, PGA of disease activity, and physician assessment of disease activity. TJC and SJC were taken as the number of tender and swollen joints, respectively, out of 28 assessed joints. PGA and physician assessment of disease activity were scored 0-100 mm and rounded to the nearest cm on a VAS, where higher scores indicate greater perceived disease activity. The total CDAI score range was 0-76, where higher scores indicate increased disease activity. Change from baseline was averaged among all participants. Negative values indicate improvement/reduction in RA disease activity.

    Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 8, 16, 20, 24

  5. Change From Baseline in Simplified Disease Activity Index (SDAI)

    SDAI was derived as the sum of the following: TJC, SJC, PGA of disease activity, physician assessment of disease activity, and laboratory-derived C-reactive protein level. TJC and SJC were taken as the number of tender and swollen joints, respectively, out of 28 assessed joints. PGA and physician assessment of disease activity were scored 0-100 mm and rounded to the nearest cm on a VAS, where higher scores indicate greater perceived disease activity. The total SDAI score range was 0-86, where higher scores indicate increased disease activity. Change from baseline was averaged among all participants. Negative values indicate improvement/reduction in RA disease activity.

    Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24

  6. Change From Baseline in TJC

    TJC was taken as the number of tender joints out of 28 assessed joints.

    Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24

  7. Change From Baseline in SJC

    SJC was taken as the number of swollen joints out of 28 assessed joints.

    Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24

  8. Percentage of Participants With At Least One Adverse Event Leading to Dosage Modification

    The percentage of participants with at least one adverse event leading to dose/frequency reduction or temporary dose hold was reported.

    Measured: Baseline up to Week 24

  9. Number of Participants With Neutralizing Anti-Tocilizumab Antibodies

    Participants were evaluated for the presence of anti-tocilizumab antibodies. Confirmatory assays were performed in the case of a positive screen assay result.

    Measured: Baseline to FU Week 8 (up to 32 weeks overall)

  10. Tocilizumab Concentration

    Tocilizumab concentration was determined, averaged among all participants, and expressed in micrograms per milliliter (mcg/mL).

    Measured: Predose (30 minutes) at baseline; Weeks 12, 24; and FU Week 8 (up to 32 weeks overall)

  11. Soluble Interleukin-6 Receptor (sIL-6R) Concentration

    sIL-6R concentration was determined, averaged among all participants, and expressed in nanograms per milliliter (ng/mL).

    Measured: Predose (30 minutes) at baseline; Weeks 12, 24; and FU Week 8 (up to 32 weeks overall)

  12. Change From Baseline in Patient Global Assessment of Disease Activity According to VAS

    PGA of disease activity was scored 0-100 mm on a VAS, where higher scores indicate greater perceived disease activity. Change from baseline was averaged among all participants. Negative values indicate improvement/reduction in RA disease activity.

    Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24

  13. Change From Baseline in Patient Global Assessment of RA-Related Pain According to VAS

    PGA of RA-related pain was scored 0-100 mm on a VAS, where higher scores indicate greater perceived pain. Change from baseline was averaged among all participants. Negative values indicate improvement/reduction in RA-related pain.

    Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24

  14. Change From Baseline in HAQ-DI Score

    HAQ-DI consisted of 20 questions assessing ADLs in 8 domains (dress/groom, arise, eat, walk, reach, grip, hygiene) with each item rated 0 (no difficulty) to 3 (unable to do). The highest score recorded for any question in a domain determined the score for that domain, unless assistance was required. The total HAQ-DI score was the sum of domain scores divided by the number of domains answered/scored, for a single score range of 0-3, where higher scores indicate increased functional disability. Change from baseline was averaged among all participants. Negative values indicate improvement in ability to perform ADLs.

    Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24

  15. Compliance With Treatment According to Percentage of Injections Administered

    Participants were provided with diary cards to record home injections. Compliance with treatment was calculated individually for each participant as the actual number of injections as a percentage of the planned number of injections (up to the point of discontinuation for those who discontinued study treatment prematurely) and then averaged among all participants.

    Measured: Baseline up to Week 24

  16. Change From Baseline in Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy-Fatigue (FACIT-F) Score

    FACIT-F consisted of 40 questions/statements assessing chronic illness therapy with special emphasis on fatigue over the past 7 days, with each item rated 0 (not at all) to 4 (very much). During score calculations, negatively-worded item scales (e.g., "I have a lack of energy") were reversed so that higher scores indicated more favorable conditions. The total FACIT-F score was the sum of all item scores and ranged 0-160, and the brief FACIT-F score was the sum of 13 item scores and ranged 0-52, where higher scores indicate greater well-being. Change from baseline was averaged among all participants. Positive values indicate improvement in well-being.

    Measured: Baseline and Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted28 Jan 2014 (estimated)
  2. Study start28 May 2014
  3. Primary completion13 Sep 2016
  4. Study completion13 Sep 2016

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
133 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT02046616
Sponsor's protocol ID
ML28691
Other IDs
2013-002007-34
Status last verified
Apr 2018
First submitted
24 Jan 2014
Last updated
13 Apr 2018

Publications

  • Hammer HB, Jensen Hansen IM, Jarvinen P, Leirisalo-Repo M, Ziegelasch M, Agular B, Terslev L. Rheumatoid arthritis patients with predominantly tender joints rarely achieve clinical remission despite being in ultrasound remission. Rheumatol Adv Pract. 2021 May 14;5(2):rkab030. doi: 10.1093/rap/rkab030. eCollection 2021.

    PubMed 34131623
  • Hammer HB, Hansen I, Jarvinen P, Leirisalo-Repo M, Ziegelasch M, Agular B, Terslev L. Major reduction of ultrasound-detected synovitis during subcutaneous tocilizumab treatment: results from a multicentre 24 week study of patients with rheumatoid arthritis. Scand J Rheumatol. 2021 Jul;50(4):262-270. doi: 10.1080/03009742.2020.1845394. Epub 2021 Jan 19.

    PubMed 33464147
  • Choy E, Caporali R, Xavier R, Fautrel B, Sanmarti R, Bao M, Devenport J, Petho-Schramm A. Effects of concomitant glucocorticoids in TOZURA, a common-framework study programme of subcutaneous tocilizumab in rheumatoid arthritis. Rheumatology (Oxford). 2019 Jun 1;58(6):1056-1064. doi: 10.1093/rheumatology/key393.

    PubMed 30649524
  • Choy E, Caporali R, Xavier R, Fautrel B, Sanmarti R, Bao M, Bernasconi C, Petho-Schramm A. Subcutaneous tocilizumab in rheumatoid arthritis: findings from the common-framework phase 4 study programme TOZURA conducted in 22 countries. Rheumatology (Oxford). 2018 Mar 1;57(3):499-507. doi: 10.1093/rheumatology/kex443.

    PubMed 29244149

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing Tocilizumab, Methotrexate and Non-Biologic DMARDs in people with Rheumatoid Arthritis, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 27 sites in 4 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 7 inclusion and 18 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 13 Apr 2018. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 27 sites in Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Norway. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 13 Apr 2018). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Change From Baseline in Clinical Disease Activity Index (CDAI) at Week 12 (time frame: Baseline, Week 12). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT02046616, which also lists 4 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 13 Apr 2018.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in