AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerESTHERNCT02393924

Human Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor 2 (HER2) Positive Unresectable Locally Advanced or Metastatic Breast Cancer Disease Registry Study

An observational study of Breast Cancer, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 30 sites in United Kingdom.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

This disease registry is a prospective, multicenter non-interventional study designed to observe the different anticancer treatment regimens and their sequencing throughout the course of the disease in participants with unresectable locally advanced breast cancer (LABC) or metastatic breast cancer (mBC) and to… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
How many people
311 participants
Where
30 sitesUnited Kingdom
Study dates
23 Feb 2015to 19 Apr 2023
How long will I take part?
8 Years
Phase
Observational
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Study population: Participants with HER2-positive unresectable LABC or mBC

Who may be able to join

  • Initially diagnosed with HER2-positive unresectable LABC or mBC no more than 6 months prior to enrollment, although they can have received anti-cancer treatment during that time
  • Able and willing to provide written informed consent and to comply with the study protocol

Who cannot join

  • There are no exclusion criteria for entry into this study

Trial locations and contacts

30 sites in 1 country.

30 sites in 1 country

United Kingdom30 sites
  • Kent & Canterbury Hospital

    Canterbury, CT1 3NG

  • Chesterfield Royal Hospital

    Chesterfield, S44 5BL

  • Royal Cornwall Hospital; Dept of Clinical Oncology

    Cornwall, TR1 3LQ

  • Castle Hill Hospital; The Queens Centre for Oncology and Haematology

    Cottingham, HU16 5JG

  • Hairmyres Hospital; Oncology Dept

    East Kilbride, G75 8RG

  • Queen Elizabeth Hospital

    Gateshead, NE9 6SX

  • Raigmore Hospital

    Inverness, IV2 3UV

  • Forth Valley Royal Hospital ; Oncology Department

    Larbert, FK5 4QE

  • Queen Elizabeth Hospital

    London, SE18 4QH

  • Royal Marsden Hospital; Dept of Med-Onc

    London, SW3 6JJ

  • Charing Cross Hospital; Medical Oncology.

    London, W6 8RF

  • Macclesfield District General Hospital

    Macclesfield, SK10 3BL

  • Maidstone Hospital; Kent Oncology Centre

    Maidstone, ME16 9QQ

  • Christie Hospital Nhs Trust; Medical Oncology

    Manchester, M2O 4BX

  • James Cook University Hospital; Oncology and Radiology

    Middlesbrough, TS4 3BW

  • Northampton General Hospital NHS Trust;Oncology Unit

    Northampton, NN1 5BD

  • Mount Vernon & Watford Trust Hospital; Dept. of Clinical Oncology

    Northwood, HA6 2RN

  • Norfolk & Norwich University Hospital; Oncology Department

    Norwich, NR4 7UY

  • Nottingham City Hospital; Oncology

    Nottingham, NG5 1PB

  • Derriford Hospital; Plymouth Oncology Centre

    Plymouth, PL6 8DH

  • Royal Preston Hosp; Rosemere Cancer Ctr

    Preston, PR2 9HT

  • North Wales Cancer Treatment Centre, Glan Clwyd Hospital

    Rhyl, LL18 5UJ

  • Scarborough General Hospital

    Scarborough, YO12 6QL

  • Royal Shrewsbury Hospitals Nhs Trust; Oncology

    Shrewsbury, SY3 8XQ

  • Royal Marsden Hospital; Dept of Medical Oncology

    Sutton, SM2 5PT

  • Singleton Hospital; Pharmacy

    Swansea, SA2 8QA

  • Great Western Hospital, Swindon Cancer Research Unit; Osprey Unit Level 3

    Swindon, SN3 6BB

  • Pinderfields Hospital; Clinical Research Team, Rowan House

    Wakefield, WF1 4DG

  • Yeovil District Hospital; Macmillan Unit

    Yeovil, BA21 4AT

  • Airedale General Hospital; Oncology

    York, BD20 6TD

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: UK - A Disease Registry Study to Prospectively Observe Treatment Patterns and Outcomes in Patients With HER2-Positive Unresectable Locally Advanced or Metastatic Breast Cancer

This disease registry is a prospective, multicenter non-interventional study designed to observe the different anticancer treatment regimens and their sequencing throughout the course of the disease in participants with unresectable locally advanced breast cancer (LABC) or metastatic breast cancer (mBC) and to describe the clinical outcome for each treatment regimen measured as progression-free survival.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
No intervention
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • No interventionOther

Study groups in NCT02393924
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Participants With HER2-Positive Breast CancerEnrolled participants will receive treatment and clinical assessments for their HER2-positive unresectable LABC/mBC as determined by their treating physician, according to the standard of care and routine clinical practice at each site. Participants will be followed until death, withdrawal of consent or study termination, whichever occurs first. Study protocol does not specify any particular drug or treatment regimen.
Receives: Other: No intervention

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Percentage of Participants Receiving Each Unique Treatment Regimen Overall

    Measured: Baseline up to approximately 8 years

  2. Percentage of Participants Receiving Each Unique Treatment Regimen as First-Line Versus Subsequent-Line Therapy

    Measured: Baseline up to approximately 8 years

  3. Percentage of Participants Receiving Each Unique Treatment Regimen Sequence

    Measured: Baseline up to approximately 8 years

  4. Progression-Free Survival

    Tumor response will be evaluated by the Investigator according to site-specific medical practice. Study protocol does not specify any particular method of assessment.

    Measured: From start date of anti-cancer treatment regimen to the date of either disease progression or death (up to approximately 8 years)

Secondary outcomes (16)
  1. Overall Survival (OS)

    Measured: From the date of initiation of treatment to the date of death from any cause (up to approximately 8 years)

  2. Percentage of Participants With Objective Response of Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR)

    Tumor response will be evaluated by the Investigator according to site-specific medical practice. Study protocol does not specify any particular method of assessment.

    Measured: From the date of initiation of treatment to the date of disease progression or death from any cause (up to approximately 8 years)

  3. Duration of Response (DoR)

    Tumor response will be evaluated by the Investigator according to site-specific medical practice. Study protocol does not specify any particular method of assessment.

    Measured: From date of first response (CR or PR) to the date of disease progression (up to approximately 8 years)

  4. Time to Treatment Failure

    Measured: From the date of initiation of treatment to the date of treatment stopped or switched or death from any cause (up to approximately 8 years)

  5. Percentage of Participants With Central Nervous System (CNS) as First Site of Progression

    Measured: From the date of initiation of treatment to the date of disease progression or death from any cause (up to approximately 8 years)

  6. Percentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious AEs (SAEs)

    Measured: Baseline up to approximately 8 years

  7. Percentage of Participants by Reasons for Treatment Modification

    Measured: Baseline up to approximately 8 years

  8. Percentage of Participants Receiving Each Treatment Regimen Categorized by Participant Characteristics

    Measured: Baseline up to approximately 8 years

  9. Number of Treatment Regimens Received

    Measured: Baseline up to approximately 8 years

  10. Euro Quality of Life 5-Dimension Questionnaire (EQ-5D) Score

    Measured: Baseline up to approximately 8 years (assessed every 3 months)

  11. Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Breast (FACT-B) Questionnaire Score

    Measured: Baseline up to approximately 8 years (assessed every 3 months)

  12. Work Productivity and Activity Impairment (WPAI) Questionnaire Score

    Measured: Baseline up to approximately 8 years (assessed every 3 months)

  13. Percentage of Participants with Different Anti-Cancer Treatment Regimens by Country

    Measured: Baseline up to approximately 8 years

  14. Percentage of Participants with History of Breast Cancer by Different Anti-Cancer Treatment Regimens

    Measured: Baseline up to approximately 8 years

  15. Percentage of Participants with CNS-only Disease Progression

    Measured: From the date of initiation of treatment to the date of disease progression or death from any cause (up to approximately 8 years)

  16. Percentage of Participants with Oligometastatic Disease Categorized by Different Anti-Cancer Treatment Regimens

    Measured: Baseline up to approximately 8 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted20 Mar 2015 (estimated)
  2. Study start23 Feb 2015
  3. Primary completion19 Apr 2023
  4. Study completion19 Apr 2023

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Observational
Observational model
Cohort
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrolment
311 participants (actual)
Target duration
8 Years
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT02393924
Sponsor's protocol ID
ML29659
Acronym
ESTHER
Status last verified
Feb 2024
First submitted
12 Mar 2015
Last updated
21 Feb 2024
Results posted
No
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No

Publications

  • Ring A, Sutherland S, Harper-Wynne C, Owen J, Sanglier T, Velikova G. A disease registry study to prospectively observe treatment patterns and outcomes in patients with HER2-positive unresectable LA/MBC: final results of the ESTHER study. Breast Cancer Res Treat. 2025 Jul;212(1):113-121. doi: 10.1007/s10549-025-07708-4. Epub 2025 May 13.

    PubMed 40358647

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

An observational study of Breast Cancer, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 30 sites in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 2 inclusion and 1 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 21 Feb 2024. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 30 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Percentage of Participants Receiving Each Unique Treatment Regimen Overall (time frame: Baseline up to approximately 8 years). The study lists 4 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT02393924, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 21 Feb 2024.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in