AzTrials
AzTrials

Renal Cell CarcinomaPhase 3IMmotion151NCT02420821

A Study of Atezolizumab in Combination With Bevacizumab Versus Sunitinib in Participants With Untreated Advanced Renal Cell Carcinoma (RCC)

A Phase 3 study testing Atezolizumab (MPDL3280A), an engineered anti-PD-L1 antibody, Bevacizumab and Sunitinib in people with Renal Cell Carcinoma, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 154 sites in 21 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

This multi-center, randomized, open-label study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of atezolizumab plus bevacizumab versus sunitinib in participants with inoperable, locally advanced, or metastatic RCC who have not received prior systemic active or experimental therapy, either in the adjuvant or metastatic setting. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Renal Cell Carcinoma
What is being tested?
Atezolizumab (MPDL3280A), an engineered anti-PD-L1 antibody, Bevacizumab and Sunitinib
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
915 participants
Where
154 sitesin 21 countries
Study dates
20 May 2015to 13 Dec 2021
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Definitive diagnosis of unresectable locally advanced or metastatic RCC with clear-cell histology and/or a component of sarcomatoid carcinoma, with no prior treatment in the metastatic setting
  • Evaluable Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center risk score
  • Measurable disease, as defined by RECIST v1.1
  • Karnofsky performance status greater than or equal to 70%
  • Adequate hematologic and end-organ function prior to randomization

Who cannot join

  • Disease-Specific Exclusions:
  • Radiotherapy for RCC within 14 days prior to treatment
  • Active central nervous system disease
  • Uncontrolled pleural effusion, pericardial effusion, or ascites
  • Uncontrolled hypercalcemia
  • Any other malignancies within 5 years except for low-risk prostate cancer or those with negligible risk of metastasis or death
Show all 25Show fewer
  • General Medical Exclusions:
  • Life expectancy less than 12 weeks
  • Participation in another experimental drug study within 4 weeks prior to treatment
  • Pregnant or lactating women
  • Known hypersensitivity to any component of atezolizumab or other study medication
  • History of autoimmune disease except controlled, treated hypothyroidism or type I diabetes mellitus
  • History of idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, organizing pneumonia, drug-induced pneumonitis, or idiopathic pneumonitis
  • Positive human immunodeficiency virus test
  • Active or chronic hepatitis B or C
  • Severe infections within 4 weeks prior to treatment
  • Exposure to oral or IV antibiotics within 2 weeks prior to treatment
  • Live attenuated vaccines within 4 weeks prior to treatment (for influenza vaccination participants must agree not to receive live, attenuated influenza vaccine within 4 weeks prior to treatment, during treatment or within 5 months following the last dose)
  • Significant cardiovascular disease
  • Prior allogeneic stem cell or solid organ transplantation
  • Prior treatment with cluster of differentiation 137 agonists, anti-cytotoxic T-lymphocyte associated protein-4, anti-programmed death (PD)-1, or anti-PD-L1 therapeutic antibody or pathway-targeting agents
  • Treatment with immunostimulatory agents for non-malignant conditions within 6 weeks or immunosuppressive agents within 2 weeks prior to treatment
  • Bevacizumab- and Sunitinib-Specific Exclusions:
  • History of hypertensive crisis or hypertensive encephalopathy
  • Baseline electrocardiogram showing corrected QT interval greater than 460 milliseconds

Trial locations and contacts

154 sites in 21 countries.

154 sites in 21 countries

United States28 sites
  • New York Oncology Hematology,P.C.-Albany

    Albany, New York, 12208

  • Piedmont Cancer Institute, PC

    Atlanta, Georgia, 30318

  • University of Colorado; Anschutz Cancer Pavilion

    Aurora, Colorado, 80045

  • Lynn Cancer Institute/Boca Raton Regional Hospital

    Boca Raton, Florida, 33486

  • Massachusetts General Hospital

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02114

  • Dana Farber Cancer Inst.

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02115

  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02215

  • Rocky Mountain Cancer Center; Medical Oncology

    Boulder, Colorado, 80303

  • SCRI Tennessee Oncology Chattanooga

    Chattanooga, Tennessee, 37404

  • The University of Chicago

    Chicago, Illinois, 60637

  • Oncology Hematology Care Inc

    Cincinnati, Ohio, 45242

  • Cleveland Clinic Foundation; Taussig Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44195

  • Texas Oncology-Baylor Sammons Cancer Center

    Dallas, Texas, 75246

  • Hackensack University Medical Center

    Hackensack, New Jersey, 07601

  • Comprehensive Cancer Centers of Nevada - Eastern Avenue

    Las Vegas, Nevada, 89169

  • Norton Cancer Institute

    Louisville, Kentucky, 40202

  • Sarah Cannon Cancer Center and Research Institute

    Nashville, Tennessee, 37203

  • Vanderbilt Univ Medical Ctr

    Nashville, Tennessee, 37232

  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10065

  • University of California at Irvine Medical Center; Department of Oncology

    Orange, California, 92868

  • Florida Cancer Specialists - Port Charlotte

    Port Charlotte, Florida, 33980

  • Oncology and Hematology Associates of SW Virginia-Raonoke

    Roanoke, Virginia, 24014

  • University of California

    San Francisco, California, 94158

  • Seattle Cancer Care Alliance

    Seattle, Washington, 98109

  • Florida Cancer Specialist, North Region

    St. Petersburg, Florida, 33705

  • Northwest Cancer Specialists, P.C.

    Tigard, Oregon, 97223

  • University of Arizona Cancer Center

    Tucson, Arizona, 85719

  • Georgetown U; Lombardi Comp Can

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20016-1468

Other trials in United States

Japan23 sites
  • Nagoya University Hospital; Urology

    Aichi, 466-8560

  • Chiba Cancer Center

    Chiba, 260-8717

  • Kyushu University Hospital

    Fukuoka, 812-8582

  • Gunma University Hospital

    Gunma, 371-8511

  • Hokkaido University Hospital

    Hokkaido, 060-8648

  • University of Tsukuba Hospital; Urology

    Ibaraki, 305-8576

  • Yokohama City University Hospital

    Kanagawa, 236-0004

  • Kitasato University Hospital

    Kanagawa, 252-0375

  • Kumamoto University Hospital

    Kumamoto, 860-8556

  • Niigata University Medical & Dental Hospital

    Niigata, 951-8520

  • Iwate Medical University Hospital

    Numakunai, 028-3695

  • Okayama University Hospital

    Okayama, 700-8558

  • Osaka International Cancer Institute; Urology

    Osaka, 541-8567

  • Osaka Metropolitan University Hospital

    Osaka, 545-8586

  • Osaka University Hospital

    Osaka, 565-0871

  • Kindai University Hospital

    Osaka, 589-8511

  • Tokushima University Hospital

    Tokushima, 770-8503

  • Toranomon Hospital

    Tokyo, 105-8470

  • Tokyo Medical and Dental University Hospital

    Tokyo, 113-8519

  • Nippon Medical School Hospital

    Tokyo, 113-8603

  • The Cancer Institute Hospital, JFCR; Urology

    Tokyo, 135-8550

  • Keio University Hospital

    Tokyo, 160-8582

  • Tokyo Women's Medical University

    Tokyo, 162-0054

Other trials in Japan

France11 sites
  • ICO Paul Papin; Oncologie Medicale.

    Angers, 49055

  • Hopital Saint Andre; Oncologie 2

    Bordeaux, 33075

  • Centre Francois Baclesse; Urologie Gynecologie

    Caen, 14076

  • Centre Oscar Lambret

    Lille, 59020

  • Centre Léon Bérard

    Lyon, 69373

  • Institut Paoli Calmettes; Oncologie Medicale

    Marseille, 13273

  • Centre D'Oncologie de Gentilly; Oncology

    Nancy, 54100

  • APHP - Hospital Saint Louis

    Paris, 75475

  • Hopital Europeen Georges Pompidou; Service D'Oncologie Medicale

    Paris, 75908

  • ICO - Site René Gauducheau

    Saint-Herblain, 44805

  • Institut Gustave Roussy; Departement Oncologie Medicale

    Villejuif, 94805

Other trials in France

United Kingdom11 sites
  • Clatterbridge Cancer Centre

    Bebington, CH63 4JY

  • Queen Elizabeth Hospital

    Birmingham, B15 2TH

  • Royal Blackburn Hospital

    Blackburn, BB2 3HH

  • Addenbrookes Nhs Trust; Oncology Clinical Trials Unit

    Cambridge, CB2 0QQ

  • Barts Health NHS Trust - St Bartholomew's Hospital

    London, EC1A 7BE

  • Royal Free Hospital; Dept of Oncology

    London, NW3 2QG

  • Christie Hospital Nhs Trust; Medical Oncology

    Manchester, M2O 4BX

  • Churchill Hospital; Oxford Cancer and Haematology Centre

    Oxford, OX3 7LJ

  • Southampton General Hospital; Medical Oncology

    Southampton, SO16 6YD

  • Royal Marsden Hospital; Dept of Medical Oncology

    Sutton, SM2 5PT

  • Singleton Hospital; Pharmacy Department

    Swansea, SA2 8QA

Other trials in United Kingdom

Canada10 sites
  • Royal Victoria Hospital

    Barrie, Ontario, L4M 6M2

  • Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre; Oncology

    Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3H 2Y9

  • Hamilton Health Sciences - Juravinski Cancer Centre

    Hamilton, Ontario, L8V 5C2

  • London Regional Cancer Centre

    London, Ontario, N6A 4L6

  • Jewish General Hospital

    Montreal, Quebec, H3T 1E2

  • Lakeridge Health Oshawa; Oncology

    Oshawa, Ontario, L1G 2B9

  • The Ottawa Hospital Cancer Centre; Oncology

    Ottawa, Ontario, K1H 8L6

  • CHU de Quebec Hotel-Dieu de Quebec

    Québec, Quebec, G1R 2J6

  • Sunnybrook Odette Cancer Centre

    Toronto, Ontario, M4N 3M5

  • Princess Margaret Cancer Center

    Toronto, Ontario, M5G 1Z5

Other trials in Canada

Spain9 sites
  • Hospital Univ Vall d'Hebron; Servicio de Oncologia

    Barcelona, 08035

  • Hospital Clínic i Provincial; Servicio de Oncología

    Barcelona, 08036

  • Hospital Duran i Reynals; Oncologia

    Barcelona, 08907

  • Hospital Universitario Reina Sofia; Servicio de Oncologia

    Córdoba, Cordoba, 14004

  • Hospital General Universitario Gregorio Marañon; Servicio de Oncologia

    Madrid, 28007

  • Hospital Ramon y Cajal; Servicio de Oncologia

    Madrid, 28034

  • Hospital Universitario 12 de Octubre; Servicio de Oncologia

    Madrid, 28041

  • Corporacio Sanitaria Parc Tauli; Servicio de Oncologia

    Sabadell, Barcelona, 8208

  • Hospital Universitario Virgen del Rocio; Servicio de Oncologia

    Seville, 41013

Other trials in Spain

Italy8 sites
  • Azienda USL8 Arezzo-Presidio Ospedaliero 1 San Donato;U.O.C. Oncologia

    Arezzo, Tuscany, 52100

  • IRST Istituto Scientifico Romagnolo Per Lo Studio E Cura Dei Tumori, Sede Meldola; Oncologia Medica

    Meldola, Emilia-Romagna, 47014

  • Irccs Ospedale San Raffaele;Oncologia Medica

    Milan, Lombardy, 20132

  • Asst Grande Ospedale Metropolitano Niguarda; Dipartimento Di Ematologia Ed Oncologia

    Milan, Lombardy, 20162

  • A.O. Universitaria Policlinico Di Modena; Oncologia

    Modena, Emilia-Romagna, 41100

  • Az. Osp. Cardarelli; Divisione Di Oncologia

    Naples, Campania, 80131

  • Fondazione IRCCS Policlinico San Matteo, Oncologia

    Pavia, Lombardy, 27100

  • Azienda Ospedaliera San Camillo Forlanini; Oncologia Medica

    Rome, Lazio, 00152

Other trials in Italy

Australia7 sites
  • Lifehouse

    Camperdown, New South Wales, 2050

  • Austin Hospital; Medical Oncology

    Heidelberg, Victoria, 3084

  • Ashford Cancer Center Research

    Kurralta Park, South Australia, 5037

  • Macquarie University Hospital

    Macquarie Park, New South Wales, 2109

  • St John of God Hospital

    Murdoch, Western Australia, 6150

  • Icon Cancer Foundation

    South Brisbane, Queensland, 4101

  • Calvary Mater Newcastle; Medical Oncology

    Waratah, New South Wales, 2298

Other trials in Australia

South Korea7 sites
  • Chungnam National University Hospital

    Daejeon, 35015

  • National Cancer Center

    Goyang-si, 10408

  • Seoul National University Bundang Hospital

    Seongnam-si, 13620

  • Severance Hospital, Yonsei University Health System

    Seoul, 003-722

  • Seoul National University Hospital

    Seoul, 03080

  • Asan Medical Center

    Seoul, 05505

  • Samsung Medical Center

    Seoul, 135-710

Other trials in South Korea

Germany5 sites
  • Universitätsklinikum "Carl Gustav Carus"; Klinik und Poliklinik für Urologie

    Dresden, 01307

  • Universitätsklinikum Essen; Innere Klinik und Poliklinik für Tumorforschung

    Essen, 45122

  • Nationales Centrum für Tumorerkrankungen Heidelberg (NCT); Thoraxklinik Heidelberg

    Heidelberg, 69120

  • Klinikum d.Universität München Campus Großhadern

    München, 81377

  • Universitätsklinikum Tübingen; Klinik für Urologie

    Tübingen, 72076

Other trials in Germany

Thailand5 sites
  • Chulalongkorn Hospital; Medical Oncology

    Bangkok, 10330

  • Ramathibodi Hospital; Dept of Med.-Div. of Med. Onc

    Bangkok, 10400

  • Faculty of Med. Siriraj Hosp.; Med.-Div. of Med. Oncology

    Bangkok, 10700

  • Maharaj Nakorn Chiangmai Hospital; Department of Surgery/ Urology unit

    Chiang Mai, 50200

  • Songklanagarind Hospital; Department of Oncology

    Songkhla, 90110

Other trials in Thailand

Brazil4 sites
  • Hospital de Caridade de Ijui; Oncologia

    Ijuí, Rio Grande do Sul, 98700-000

  • Santa Casa de Misericordia de Porto Alegre

    Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, 90050-170

  • Hospital Sao Lucas - PUCRS

    Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, 90610-000

  • Instituto do Cancer do Estado de Sao Paulo - ICESP

    São Paulo, São Paulo, 01246-000

Other trials in Brazil

Czechia4 sites
  • Masarykuv onkologicky ustav

    Brno, 656 53

  • Fakultni nemocnice Olomouc; Onkologicka klinika

    Olomouc, 779 00

  • Fakultni Poliklinika Vseobecne Fakultni Niemocnice; Onkologicka Klinika

    Prague, 128 08

  • Thomayerova nemocnice

    Praha 4 - Krc, 140 59

Other trials in Czechia

Poland4 sites
  • Centrum Onkologii Ziemi Lubelskiej im. św. Jana z Dukli

    Lublin, 20-090

  • Szpital Kliniczny; Przemienienia Panskiego;Uniwersytetu Medyczny im.; Karola Marcinkowskiego w Pozna

    Poznan, 60-569

  • Saint Elizabeth's Hospital

    Warsaw, 02-616

  • MAGODENT Sp. z o.o.

    Warsaw, 04-125

Other trials in Poland

Russia4 sites
  • ALTAI REGIONAL ONCOLOGICAL CENTER; "Nadezhda" Clinic

    Barnaul, Altayskiy Kray, 656049

  • P.A. Herzen Oncological Inst. ; Oncology

    Moscow, 125284

  • City Clinical Oncology Hospital

    Moscow, 143423

  • GBUZ Nizhegorodskay Region: Clinical Diagnostic Center

    Nizhny Novgorod, Niznij Novgorod, 603001

Other trials in Russia

Denmark3 sites
  • Aarhus Universitetshospital; Kræftafdelingen

    Aarhus N, 8200

  • Herlev Hospital; Afdeling for Kræftbehandling

    Herlev, 2730

  • Odense Universitetshospital, Onkologisk Afdeling R

    Odense C, 5000

Other trials in Denmark

Taiwan3 sites
  • Taichung Veterans General Hospital; Division of Urology

    Taichung, 407

  • National Taiwan Uni Hospital; Dept of Oncology

    Taipei, 100

  • Chang Gung Medical Foundation-Linkou, Urinary Oncology

    Taoyuan, 333

Other trials in Taiwan

Turkey (Türkiye)3 sites
  • Hacettepe University Medical Faculty

    Ankara, 06100

  • Trakya University Medical Faculty Research And Practice Hospital Medical Oncology Department

    Edirne, 22770

  • Istanbul Uni Cerrahpasa Medical Faculty Hospital; Medical Oncology

    Istanbul, 34300

Other trials in Turkey (Türkiye)

Mexico2 sites
  • Cancerología

    Querétaro, 76090

  • Centro Oncologico Estatal ISSEMYM

    Toluca, 50180

Other trials in Mexico

Singapore2 sites
  • National University Hospital

    Singapore, 117599

  • National Cancer Centre; Medical Oncology

    Singapore, 169610

Other trials in Singapore

Bosnia and Herzegovina1 site
  • University Clinical Centre of the Republic of Srpska

    Banja Luka, 78000

Other trials in Bosnia and Herzegovina

About this study

Official title: A Phase III, Open-Label, Randomized Study of Atezolizumab (Anti-PD-L1 Antibody) in Combination With Bevacizumab Versus Sunitinib in Patients With Untreated Advanced Renal Cell Carcinoma

This multi-center, randomized, open-label study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of atezolizumab plus bevacizumab versus sunitinib in participants with inoperable, locally advanced, or metastatic RCC who have not received prior systemic active or experimental therapy, either in the adjuvant or metastatic setting.

Being tested
Atezolizumab (MPDL3280A), an engineered anti-PD-L1 antibody, Bevacizumab, Sunitinib
Medical subject headings
Carcinoma, Renal Cell

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • Atezolizumab (MPDL3280A), an engineered anti-PD-L1 antibodyDrug

    Also called Tecentriq, MPDL3280A

    Atezolizumab will be administered at a fixed dose of 1200 milligrams (mg) via intravenous (IV) infusion on Days 1 and 22 of each 42-day cycle.

  • BevacizumabDrug

    Also called Avastin

    Bevacizumab will be administered at a dose of 15 milligrams per kilogram (mg/kg) via IV infusion on Days 1 and 22 of each 42-day cycle.

  • SunitinibDrug

    Also called Sutent

    Sunitinib will be administered at a dose of 50 mg once daily, orally via capsule, on Day 1 through Day 28 of each 42-day cycle.

Study groups in NCT02420821
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Atezolizumab + BevacizumabExperimentalParticipants will receive both atezolizumab and bevacizumab until loss of clinical benefit, unacceptable toxicity or symptomatic deterioration attributed to disease progression, withdrawal of consent, or death, whichever occurs first.
Receives: Drug: Atezolizumab (MPDL3280A), an engineered anti-PD-L1 antibody; Drug: Bevacizumab
SunitinibActive comparatorParticipants will receive sunitinib until loss of clinical benefit, unacceptable toxicity or symptomatic deterioration attributed to disease progression, withdrawal of consent, or death, whichever occurs first.
Receives: Drug: Sunitinib

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Percentage of Participants With Disease Progression as Determined by the Investigator According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1) or Death From Any Cause in Programmed Death-Ligand 1 (PD-L1)-Selected Population

    Tumor response was assessed by the investigator according to RECIST v1.1. Disease Progression (PD) was defined as greater than or equal to (>/=) 20 percent (%) relative increase in the sum of diameters (SoD) of all target lesions (TLs), taking as reference the smallest SoD on study, including baseline, and an absolute increase of >/=5 millimeters (mm); >/=1 new lesion(s); and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-TLs.

    Measured: Baseline until documented PD or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  2. Progression-Free Survival (PFS) as Determined by the Investigator According to RECIST v1.1 in PD-L1-Selected Population

    PFS was defined as the time from randomization to PD, as determined by the investigator per RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. PD: >/=20% relative increase in the SoD of all TLs, taking as reference the smallest SoD on study, including baseline, and an absolute increase of >/=5 mm; >/=1 new lesion(s); and/or unequivocal progression of non-TLs. Participants without PFS event were censored at the last tumor assessment date. Participants with no post-baseline tumor assessments were censored at the randomization date + 1 day. Participants with a PFS event who missed >/=2 scheduled assessments immediately prior to the PFS event were censored at the last tumor assessment prior to the missed visits. Median PFS was estimated by Kaplan-Meier method and 95% confidence interval (CI) was assessed using the method of Brookmeyer and Crowley.

    Measured: Baseline until documented PD or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  3. Percentage of Participants Who Died of Any Cause in ITT Population

    Percentage of participants who died of any cause was reported.

    Measured: Baseline until death from any cause (until data cut-off date 14 February 2020, up to approximately 57 months)

  4. Overall Survival (OS) in ITT Population

    OS was defined as the time from randomization to death due to any cause. Participants who were not reported as having died at the date of analysis were censored at the date when they were last known to be alive. Participants who did not have post-baseline information were censored at the date of randomization + 1 day. Median OS was estimated by Kaplan-Meier method and 95% CI was assessed using the method of Brookmeyer and Crowley.

    Measured: Baseline until death from any cause (until data cut-off date 14 February 2020, up to approximately 57 months)

Secondary outcomes (31)
  1. Percentage of Participants Who Died of Any Cause in PD-L1-Selected Population

    Percentage of participants who died of any cause was reported.

    Measured: Baseline until death from any cause (until data cut-off date 14 February 2020, up to approximately 57 months)

  2. OS in PD-L1-Selected Population

    OS was defined as the time from randomization to death due to any cause. Participants who were not reported as having died at the date of analysis were censored at the date when they were last known to be alive. Participants who did not have post-baseline information were censored at the date of randomization + 1 day. Median OS was estimated by Kaplan-Meier method and 95% CI was assessed using the method of Brookmeyer and Crowley.

    Measured: Baseline until death from any cause (until data cut-off date 14 February 2020, up to approximately 57 months)

  3. Percentage of Participants With PD as Determined by an Independent Review Committee (IRC) According to RECIST v1.1 or Death From Any Cause in ITT Population

    Tumor response was assessed by an IRC according to RECIST v1.1. PD was defined as >/=20% relative increase in the SoD of all TLs, taking as reference the smallest SoD on study, including baseline, and an absolute increase of >/=5 mm; >/=1 new lesion(s); and/or unequivocal progression of non-TLs.

    Measured: Baseline until documented PD or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  4. PFS as Determined by an IRC According to RECIST v1.1 in ITT Population

    PFS was defined as the time from randomization to PD, as determined by an IRC per RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. PD: >/=20% relative increase in the SoD of all TLs, taking as reference the smallest SoD on study, including baseline, and an absolute increase of >/=5 mm; >/=1 new lesion(s); and/or unequivocal progression of non-TLs. Participants without PFS event were censored at the last tumor assessment date. Participants with no post-baseline tumor assessments were censored at the randomization date + 1 day. Median PFS was estimated by Kaplan-Meier method and 95% CI was assessed using the method of Brookmeyer and Crowley.

    Measured: Baseline until documented PD or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  5. Percentage of Participants With PD as Determined by an IRC According to RECIST v1.1 or Death From Any Cause in PD-L1-Selected Population

    Tumor response was assessed by an IRC according to RECIST v1.1. PD was defined as >/=20% relative increase in the SoD of all TLs, taking as reference the smallest SoD on study, including baseline, and an absolute increase of >/=5 mm; >/=1 new lesion(s); and/or unequivocal progression of non-TLs.

    Measured: Baseline until documented PD or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  6. PFS as Determined by an IRC According to RECIST v1.1 in PD-L1-Selected Population

    PFS was defined as the time from randomization to PD, as determined by an IRC per RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. PD: >/=20% relative increase in the SoD of all TLs, taking as reference the smallest SoD on study, including baseline, and an absolute increase of >/=5 mm; >/=1 new lesion(s); and/or unequivocal progression of non-TLs. Participants without PFS event were censored at the last tumor assessment date. Participants with no post-baseline tumor assessments were censored at the randomization date + 1 day. Median PFS was estimated by Kaplan-Meier method and 95% CI was assessed using the method of Brookmeyer and Crowley.

    Measured: Baseline until documented PD or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  7. Percentage of Participants With an Objective Response of Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR) as Determined by the Investigator According to RECIST v1.1 in Objective Response Rate (ORR)-Evaluable Population

    Tumor response was assessed by the investigator according to RECIST v1.1. Objective response was defined as percentage of participants with a documented CR or PR. CR was defined as disappearance of all TLs/non-TLs and (if applicable) normalization of tumor marker level or reduction in short axis of any pathological lymph nodes to less than (<) 10 mm. PR was defined as >/=30% decrease in the SoD of TLs (taking as reference the baseline SoD) or persistence of >/=1 non-TL(s) and/or (if applicable) maintenance of tumor marker level above the normal limits. The 95% CI was computed using Clopper-Pearson approach. Participants without any post-baseline tumor assessments were considered non-responders.

    Measured: Baseline until documented CR/PR, PD, or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  8. Duration of Response (DOR) as Determined by the Investigator According to RECIST v1.1 in DOR-Evaluable Population

    DOR was defined as the time from the first occurrence of CR/PR to PD as determined by the investigator per RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. CR: disappearance of TLs/non-TLs and normalization of tumor marker level or reduction in short axis of any pathological lymph nodes to <10 mm. PR: >/=30% decrease in the SoD of TLs (taking as reference the baseline SoD) or persistence of >/=1 non-TL(s) and/or maintenance of tumor marker level above the normal limits. PD: >/=20% relative increase in the SoD of all TLs, taking as reference the smallest SoD on study, including baseline, and an absolute increase of >/=5 mm; >/=1 new lesion(s); and/or unequivocal progression of non-TLs. Participants without PD or death after a CR/PR were censored at last tumor assessment. Participants without tumor assessments after a CR/PR were censored at first CR/PR + 1 day. Median DOR was estimated by Kaplan-Meier method and 95% CI by the method of Brookmeyer and Crowley.

    Measured: Baseline until documented CR/PR, PD, or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  9. Percentage of Participants With an Objective Response of CR or PR as Determined by an IRC According to RECIST v1.1 in ORR-Evaluable Population

    Tumor response was assessed by an IRC according to RECIST v1.1. Objective response was defined as percentage of participants with a documented CR or PR. CR was defined as disappearance of all TLs/non-TLs and (if applicable) normalization of tumor marker level or reduction in short axis of any pathological lymph nodes to <10 mm. PR was defined as >/=30% decrease in the SoD of TLs (taking as reference the baseline SoD) or persistence of >/=1 non-TL(s) and/or (if applicable) maintenance of tumor marker level above the normal limits. The 95% CI was computed using Clopper-Pearson approach. Participants without any post-baseline tumor assessments were considered non-responders.

    Measured: Baseline until documented CR/PR, PD, or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  10. DOR as Determined by an IRC According to RECIST v1.1 in DOR-Evaluable Population

    DOR was defined as the time from the first occurrence of CR/PR to PD as determined by an IRC per RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. CR: disappearance of TLs/non-TLs and normalization of tumor marker level or reduction in short axis of any pathological lymph nodes to <10 mm. PR: >/=30% decrease in the SoD of TLs (taking as reference the baseline SoD) or persistence of >/=1 non-TL(s) and/or maintenance of tumor marker level above the normal limits. PD: >/=20% relative increase in the SoD of all TLs, taking as reference the smallest SoD on study, including baseline, and an absolute increase of >/=5 mm; >/=1 new lesion(s); and/or unequivocal progression of non-TLs. Participants without PD or death after a CR/PR were censored at last tumor assessment. Participants without tumor assessments after a CR/PR were censored at first CR/PR + 1 day. Median DOR was estimated by Kaplan-Meier method and 95% CI by the method of Brookmeyer and Crowley.

    Measured: Baseline until documented CR/PR, PD, or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  11. Percentage of Participants With PD as Determined by the Investigator According to Immune-Modified RECIST or Death From Any Cause in ITT Population

    Tumor response was assessed by the investigator according to immune-modified RECIST. PD was defined as >/=20% relative increase in the SoD of all TLs and all new measurable lesions, taking as reference the smallest SoD on study, including baseline, and an absolute increase of >/=5 mm.

    Measured: Baseline until documented PD or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  12. PFS as Determined by the Investigator According to Immune-Modified RECIST in ITT Population

    PFS was defined as the time from randomization to PD, as determined by the investigator per immune-modified RECIST or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. PD: >/=20% relative increase in the SoD of all TLs and all new measurable lesions, taking as reference the smallest SoD on study, including baseline, and an absolute increase of >/=5 mm. Participants without PFS event were censored at the last tumor assessment date. Participants with no post-baseline tumor assessments were censored at the randomization date + 1 day. Median PFS was estimated by Kaplan-Meier method and 95% CI was assessed using the method of Brookmeyer and Crowley.

    Measured: Baseline until documented PD or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  13. Percentage of Participants With an Objective Response of CR or PR as Determined by the Investigator According to Immune-Modified RECIST in ORR-Evaluable Population

    Tumor response was assessed by the investigator according to immune-modified RECIST. Objective response was defined as percentage of participants with a documented CR or PR. CR was defined as disappearance of all TLs/non-TLs or reduction in short axis of any pathological lymph nodes to <10 mm. PR was defined as >/=30% decrease in the SoD of TLs and all new measurable lesions (taking as reference the baseline SoD), in the absence of CR. The 95% CI was computed using Clopper-Pearson approach. Participants without any post-baseline tumor assessments were considered non-responders.

    Measured: Baseline until documented CR/PR, PD, or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  14. DOR as Determined by the Investigator According to Immune-Modified RECIST in DOR-Evaluable Population

    DOR was defined as the time from the first occurrence of CR/PR to PD as determined by the investigator per immune-modified RECIST or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. CR: disappearance of TLs/non-TLs or reduction in short axis of any pathological lymph nodes to <10 mm. PR: >/=30% decrease in the SoD of TLs and all new measurable lesions (taking as reference the baseline SoD), in the absence of CR. PD: >/=20% relative increase in the SoD of all TLs and all new measurable lesions, taking as reference the smallest SoD on study, including baseline, and an absolute increase of >/=5 mm. Participants without PD or death after a CR/PR were censored at last tumor assessment. Participants without tumor assessments after a CR/PR were censored at first CR/PR + 1 day. Median DOR was estimated by Kaplan-Meier method and 95% CI by the method of Brookmeyer and Crowley.

    Measured: Baseline until documented CR/PR, PD, or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  15. Percentage of Participants With PD as Determined by the Investigator According to RECIST v1.1 or Death From Any Cause in ITT Population

    Tumor response was assessed by the investigator according to RECIST v1.1. PD was defined as >/=20% relative increase in the SoD of all TLs, taking as reference the smallest SoD on study, including baseline, and an absolute increase of >/=5 mm; >/=1 new lesion(s); and/or unequivocal progression of non-TLs.

    Measured: Baseline until documented PD or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  16. PFS as Determined by the Investigator According to RECIST v1.1 in ITT Population

    PFS was defined as the time from randomization to PD, as determined by the investigator per RECIST v1.1 or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. PD: >/=20% relative increase in the SoD of all TLs, taking as reference the smallest SoD on study, including baseline, and an absolute increase of >/=5 mm; >/=1 new lesion(s); and/or unequivocal progression of non-TLs. Participants without PFS event were censored at the last tumor assessment date. Participants with no post-baseline tumor assessments were censored at the randomization date + 1 day. Participants with a PFS event who missed >/=2 scheduled assessments immediately prior to the PFS event were censored at the last tumor assessment prior to the missed visits. Median PFS was estimated by Kaplan-Meier method and 95% CI was assessed using the method of Brookmeyer and Crowley.

    Measured: Baseline until documented PD or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  17. Percentage of Participants With PD as Determined by the Investigator According to RECIST v1.1 or Death From Any Cause in Participants With Sarcomatoid Histology

    Tumor response was assessed by the investigator according to RECIST v1.1. PD was defined as >/=20% relative increase in the SoD of all TLs, taking as reference the smallest SoD on study, including baseline, and an absolute increase of >/=5 mm; >/=1 new lesion(s); and/or unequivocal progression of non-TLs.

    Measured: Baseline until documented PD or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  18. PFS as Determined by the Investigator According to RECIST v1.1 in Participants With Sarcomatoid Histology

    PFS was defined as the time from randomization to PD, as determined by the investigator per RECIST v1.1 or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. PD: >/=20% relative increase in the SoD of all TLs, taking as reference the smallest SoD on study, including baseline, and an absolute increase of >/=5 mm; >/=1 new lesion(s); and/or unequivocal progression of non-TLs. Participants without PFS event were censored at the last tumor assessment date. Participants with no post-baseline tumor assessments were censored at the randomization date + 1 day. Median PFS was estimated by Kaplan-Meier method and 95% CI was assessed using the method of Brookmeyer and Crowley.

    Measured: Baseline until documented PD or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)

  19. Percentage of Participants Who Died of Any Cause in Participants With Sarcomatoid Histology

    Percentage of participants with sarcomatoid histology who died of any cause was reported.

    Measured: Baseline until death from any cause (until data cut-off date 14 February 2020, up to approximately 57 months)

  20. OS in Participants With Sarcomatoid Histology

    OS was defined as the time from randomization to death due to any cause. Participants who were not reported as having died at the date of analysis were censored at the date when they were last known to be alive. Participants who did not have post-baseline information were censored at the date of randomization + 1 day. Median OS was estimated by Kaplan-Meier method and 95% CI was assessed using the method of Brookmeyer and Crowley.

    Measured: Baseline until death from any cause (until data cut-off date 14 February 2020, up to approximately 57 months)

  21. Change From Baseline in Symptom Interference as Determined by M.D. Anderson Symptom Inventory (MDASI) Part II Score

    The MDASI is a cancer-related, multi-symptom, valid, and reliable self-report questionnaire that comprises of 23 items and two subscales: symptom severity (17 items) and symptom interference (6 items). In Part II, participants were asked to rate how much the symptoms have interfered with 6 areas of function (general activity, walking, work, mood, relations with other people, and enjoyment of life) in the last 24 hours. Each item was rated on a scale of 0 (does not interfere) to 10 (interfered completely) and total Part II score was calculated as an average of 6-item scores. Repeated measures model-estimated least-squares (LS) mean score for changes from baseline is reported at each timepoint, where a negative value indicates improvement. Here, 'Number Analyzed' = number of participants evaluable at specified time point.

    Measured: Baseline (Day 1 Cycle 1); Day 22 Cycle 1; Day 1 and 22 of every cycle from Cycle 2 up to Cycle 19; Cycle length = 42 days

  22. Change From Baseline in Symptom Severity as Determined by MDASI Part I Score

    The MDASI is a cancer-related, multi-symptom, valid, and reliable self-report questionnaire that comprises of 23 items and two subscales: symptom severity (17 items) and symptom interference (6 items). In Part I, participants were asked to rate how severe the symptoms (pain, fatigue, nausea, disturbed sleep, feeling of being distressed, shortness of breath, remembering things, lack of appetite, drowsy, dry mouth, feeling sad, vomiting, numbness or tingling, rash/skin changes, headache, mouth/throat sores, and diarrhea) were when "at their worst" in the last 24 hours. Each item was rated on a scale of 0 (not present) to 10 (as bad as you can imagine). Mixed-effects model-estimated LS mean score for change from baseline at the end-of treatment is reported for each item, where a negative value indicates improvement.

    Measured: Baseline; End of Treatment (EoT) visit (up to approximately 27 months)

  23. Change From Baseline in Symptom Severity as Determined by Brief Fatigue Inventory (BFI) Interference Scale Score

    The BFI is a valid and reliable self-report questionnaire used to assess the severity and impact of cancer-related fatigue. BFI interference subscale (6 items) assessed the impact of fatigue on global domains (general activity, mood, walking ability, normal work, relations with other people, and enjoyment of life) in the last 24 hours. Each item was rated on a scale of 0 (does not interfere) to 10 (interfered completely). Change from baseline in the mean score of all 6 items at each timepoint is reported, where a negative value indicates improvement.

    Measured: Baseline (Day 1 Cycle 1); every week for first 12 weeks, Days 1 and 22 of each cycle (Cycle 3 up to 19), within 30 days of PD (up to 27 months), at EoT (up to 27 months) and at 6, 12, 24, and 36 weeks after EoT (overall up to 27 months); 1 cycle=42 days

  24. Change From Baseline in Symptom Severity as Determined by BFI Worst Fatigue Item

    The BFI is a valid and reliable self-report questionnaire used to assess the severity and impact of cancer-related fatigue. BFI worst fatigue item assessed the severity of fatigue at its worst in the last 24 hours. The item was rated on a scale of 0 (not present) to 10 (as bad as you can imagine). Change from baseline in the score at each time point is reported, where a negative value indicates improvement.

    Measured: Baseline (Day 1 Cycle 1); every week for first 12 weeks, Days 1 and 22 of each cycle (Cycle 3 up to 19), within 30 days of PD (up to 27 months), at EoT (up to 27 months) and at 6, 12, 24, and 36 weeks after EoT (overall up to 27 months); 1 cycle=42 days

  25. Change From Baseline in Treatment Side Effects Burden as Determined by Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy Kidney Symptom Index (FKSI-19) General Population 5 (GP5) Item Score

    The FKSI-19 is a 19-item tool designed to assess the most important symptoms and concerns related to treatment effectiveness in advanced kidney cancer. The FKSI-19 GP5 item (bothered by the side effect of treatment) assessed side effects burden in the past 7 days on a 5-point scale (0=not at all, 1=a little bit, 2=somewhat, 3=quite a bit, 4=very much). Repeated measures model-estimated LS mean score for changes from baseline is reported at each timepoint, where a negative value indicates improvement.

    Measured: Day 1 and 22 of every cycle (Baseline = Day 1 Cycle 1) up to Cycle 19; Cycle length = 42 days

  26. Number of Participants With Anti-Therapeutic Antibodies (ATAs) Against Atezolizumab

    The number of participants with "Treatment-induced ATAs" and "Treatment-enhanced ATA" against atezolizumab at any time during or after treatment was reported. Treatment-induced ATA = a participant with negative or missing Baseline ATA result(s) and at least one positive post-Baseline ATA result. Treatment-enhanced ATA = a participant with positive ATA result at Baseline who has one or more post Baseline titer results that are at least 0.60 titer unit greater than the Baseline titer result. Here, 'Overall Number of Participants Analyzed' = number of participants with a non-missing baseline ATA sample; 'Number Analyzed' = number of participants with a non-missing ATA sample at indicated timepoint.

    Measured: Baseline (Predose [Hour 0] at Day 1 Cycle 1); Post-Baseline (Predose at Cycles 2, 4, and 8, and every eight cycles thereafter up to EoT [up to approximately 27 months] and 120 days after EoT [up to approximately 27 months]) (Cycle length=42 days)

  27. Number of Participants With ATAs Against Bevacizumab

    The number of participants with "Treatment-induced ATAs" and "Treatment-enhanced ATA" against bevacizumab at any time during or after treatment was reported. Treatment-induced ATA = a participant with negative or missing Baseline ATA result(s) and at least one positive post-Baseline ATA result. Treatment-enhanced ATA = a participant with positive ATA result at Baseline who has one or more post Baseline titer results that are at least 0.60 titer unit greater than the Baseline titer result.

    Measured: Baseline (Predose [Hour 0] at Day 1 Cycle 1); Post-Baseline (Predose at Cycle 3, at EoT [up to approximately 27 months] and at 120 days after EoT [up to approximately 27 months]) (Cycle length=42 days)

  28. Maximum Observed Serum Concentration (Cmax) for Atezolizumab

    Cmax for atezolizumab was estimated from plasma concentration versus time data.

    Measured: 30 minutes after the end of bevacizumab infusion (atezolizumab infusion duration: 30-60 min; bevacizumab infusion duration: 30-90 minutes) on Day 1 of Cycle 1 (Cycle length = 42 days)

  29. Minimum Observed Serum Concentration (Cmin) for Atezolizumab

    Cmin for atezolizumab was estimated from plasma concentration versus time data.

    Measured: Predose (Hour 0) on Day 22 of Cycle 1; predose (Hour 0) on Day 1 of Cycles 2; Cycle length = 42 days

  30. Cmax for Bevacizumab

    Cmax for bevacizumab was estimated from plasma concentration versus time data.

    Measured: 30 minutes after the end of bevacizumab infusion (atezolizumab infusion duration: 30-60 min; bevacizumab infusion duration: 30-90 minutes) on Day 1 of Cycle 1 (Cycle length = 42 days)

  31. Cmin for Bevacizumab

    Cmin for bevacizumab was estimated from plasma concentration versus time data.

    Measured: Pre-dose (Hour 0) on Day 1 of Cycle 3 (Cycle length = 42 days)

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted20 Apr 2015 (estimated)
  2. Study start20 May 2015
  3. Primary completion14 Feb 2020
  4. Study completion13 Dec 2021

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
915 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT02420821
Sponsor's protocol ID
WO29637
Other IDs
2014-004684-20, 2014
Acronym
IMmotion151
Status last verified
Jan 2023
First submitted
15 Apr 2015
Last updated
30 Jan 2023

Publications

  • Re C, Ince WHJ, Bickley L, Blackmur JP, Ismail MH, Kyeremeh J, Kuusk T, Serrao EM, Jones JO, Stewart GD. Oligoprogressive renal cell carcinoma: What is the role of surgery? BJU Int. 2026 Aug;138(2):219-228. doi: 10.1111/bju.70281. Epub 2026 Apr 13.

    PubMed 41969229
  • Aldin A, Besiroglu B, Adams A, Monsef I, Piechotta V, Tomlinson E, Hornbach C, Dressen N, Goldkuhle M, Maisch P, Dahm P, Heidenreich A, Skoetz N. First-line therapy for adults with advanced renal cell carcinoma: a systematic review and network meta-analysis. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2023 May 4;5(5):CD013798. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD013798.pub2.

    PubMed 37146227
  • Motzer RJ, Powles T, Atkins MB, Escudier B, McDermott DF, Alekseev BY, Lee JL, Suarez C, Stroyakovskiy D, De Giorgi U, Donskov F, Mellado B, Banchereau R, Hamidi H, Khan O, Craine V, Huseni M, Flinn N, Dubey S, Rini BI. Final Overall Survival and Molecular Analysis in IMmotion151, a Phase 3 Trial Comparing Atezolizumab Plus Bevacizumab vs Sunitinib in Patients With Previously Untreated Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma. JAMA Oncol. 2022 Feb 1;8(2):275-280. doi: 10.1001/jamaoncol.2021.5981.

    PubMed 34940781
  • Atkins MB, Rini BI, Motzer RJ, Powles T, McDermott DF, Suarez C, Bracarda S, Stadler WM, Donskov F, Gurney H, Oudard S, Uemura M, Lam ET, Grullich C, Quach C, Carroll S, Ding B, Zhu QC, Piault-Louis E, Schiff C, Escudier B. Patient-Reported Outcomes from the Phase III Randomized IMmotion151 Trial: Atezolizumab + Bevacizumab versus Sunitinib in Treatment-Naive Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma. Clin Cancer Res. 2020 Jun 1;26(11):2506-2514. doi: 10.1158/1078-0432.CCR-19-2838. Epub 2020 Mar 3.

    PubMed 32127394
  • Rini BI, Powles T, Atkins MB, Escudier B, McDermott DF, Suarez C, Bracarda S, Stadler WM, Donskov F, Lee JL, Hawkins R, Ravaud A, Alekseev B, Staehler M, Uemura M, De Giorgi U, Mellado B, Porta C, Melichar B, Gurney H, Bedke J, Choueiri TK, Parnis F, Khaznadar T, Thobhani A, Li S, Piault-Louis E, Frantz G, Huseni M, Schiff C, Green MC, Motzer RJ; IMmotion151 Study Group. Atezolizumab plus bevacizumab versus sunitinib in patients with previously untreated metastatic renal cell carcinoma (IMmotion151): a multicentre, open-label, phase 3, randomised controlled trial. Lancet. 2019 Jun 15;393(10189):2404-2415. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(19)30723-8. Epub 2019 May 9.

    PubMed 31079938

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing Atezolizumab (MPDL3280A), an engineered anti-PD-L1 antibody, Bevacizumab and Sunitinib in people with Renal Cell Carcinoma, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 154 sites in 21 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 5 inclusion and 25 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 30 Jan 2023. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 154 sites in United States, Japan, France, United Kingdom, Canada and 16 more countries. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 3 Oct 2018). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Percentage of Participants With Disease Progression as Determined by the Investigator According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1) or Death From Any Cause in Programmed Death-Ligand 1 (PD-L1)-Selected Population (time frame: Baseline until documented PD or death, whichever occurred first (until data cut-off date 29 September 2017, up to approximately 24 months)). The study lists 4 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT02420821, which also lists 5 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 30 Jan 2023.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in