Facial Rejuvenation With Neurotoxins and/or Hyaluronic Acid FillersNCT02726451
A Study to Examine the Effects of Cosmeceutical Therapy in Subjects Undergoing Full Facial Rejuvenation
A study testing Basic Skin Care and Active Skin Care in people with Facial Rejuvenation With Neurotoxins and/or Hyaluronic Acid Fillers, run by DeNova Research at 1 site in United States.
Trial summary
The primary objective of this study is to determine the efficacy of Sensi Peel®, Rejuvenating Serum, and the C\&E Strength Max skin care products in subjects who undergo full facial rejuvenation, with a botulinum neurotoxin A and/or hyaluronic acid filler, in improving the appearance of the skin, patient satisfaction… Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 21 to 60 years, women onlyHealthy volunteers can take part
- Conditions the study is for
- Facial Rejuvenation With Neurotoxins and/or Hyaluronic Acid Fillers
- What is being tested?
- Basic Skin Care and Active Skin Care
- Could I receive a placebo?
- Yes, some participants may receive a placebo
- How many people
- 20 participants
- Where
- 1 siteUnited States
- Study dates
- Mar 2016to 11 Dec 2016
- Phase
- Interventional
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 21 to 60 years
- Women only
- Healthy volunteers accepted
- Adult
Who may be able to join
- Subject is a female between the ages of 21 and 60;
- Subject requires a full facial rejuvenation with a HA soft tissue filler and/or botulinum neurotoxin, per judgment of the PI or designee;
- Subject is willing and able to provide written informed consent prior to the performance of any study related procedure;
- Subject is willing and able to comply with the protocol requirements; and
- Subject is willing and able to provide written photo consent and adhere to the photography and video procedures such as removal of jewelry and makeup.
Who cannot join
- Subjects who have received any facial filler in the 12-month or neurotoxin treatments in the 4-month period prior to enrollment;
- Previous treatment with any resurfacing facial aesthetic procedure (e.g. deep chemical peeling and laser treatments) within the 12-month period prior to enrollment;
- Previous treatment with photo rejuvenation therapy within the 6-month period prior to enrollment;
- Subjects who plan to undergo facial cosmetic surgery or any aesthetic procedure (e.g. neurotoxins, dermal fillers, laser treatments, and chemical peels), which are not specified in this protocol, during the course of the study;
- A known allergy or sensitivity to any component of the study ingredients;
- Use of systemic steroids or anticoagulation medications;
Show all 25Show fewer
- Subjects with a history of bleeding disorders;
- Subjects with severe allergies manifested by a history of anaphylaxis or presence of multiple severe allergies;
- Subjects with hypersensitivity to botulinum neurotoxin;
- Subject with allergies to gram positive bacterial proteins;
- Sensitivity to sulfides;
- Subjects with allergy to cow's milk protein;
- Subjects with previous history of sensitivity to amide type local anesthetics;
- Subject with surgical alterations to the facial anatomy or marked facial asymmetry;
- Inflammation or infection at the injection site(s);
- Subjects with a history of eyelid or eyebrow ptosis;
- Excessive dermatochalasis, deep dermal scarring, or thick sebaceous skin;
- Subjects with neuromuscular disorders;
- Use of anticholinergic, aminoglycosides or other agents that interfere with neuromuscular transmission (e.g., curare-like agents), or muscle relaxants;
- Subjects with immunodeficiencies such as HIV, lupus, scleroderma, and systemic infections;
- Pregnant, nursing, or sexually active female subjects who are of childbearing potential and who are not willing to use an acceptable form of contraception (e.g., barrier methods used with a spermicidal agent, hormonal methods, IUD, surgical sterilization, abstinence);
- Current history of chronic drug or alcohol abuse;
- Concurrent therapy that, in the investigator's opinion, would interfere with the evaluation of the safety or efficacy of the study product;
- Subjects who, in the investigator's opinion, have a history of poor cooperation, non-compliance with medical treatment, or unreliability; and
- Enrollment in any active study involving the use of investigational devices or drugs.
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
About this study
Official title: A Post-Market, Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Study to Assess the Efficacy of Cosmeceutical Therapy in Subjects Undergoing Full Facial Rejuvenation
The primary objective of this study is to determine the efficacy of Sensi Peel®, Rejuvenating Serum, and the C\&E Strength Max skin care products in subjects who undergo full facial rejuvenation, with a botulinum neurotoxin A and/or hyaluronic acid filler, in improving the appearance of the skin, patient satisfaction with aesthetic appearance, and the projected first impressions.
The secondary objective of this study is to examine patient satisfaction with the continuous use of Sensi Peel®, Rejuvenating Serum, and the C\&E Strength Max products.
- Being tested
- Basic Skin Care, Active Skin Care
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
Basic Skin CareOther
Also called Group A
Facial Wash, Hydrator Plus Broad Spectrum SPF 30, and Rebalance skin care products (PCA SKIN®)
Active Skin CareOther
Also called Group B
Sensi Peel®, Rejuvenating Serum, and C\&E Strength Max skin care products (PCA SKIN®) in addition to the Facial Wash, Hydrator Plus Broad Spectrum SPF 30, and Rebalance skin care products (PCA SKIN®)
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Basic Skin Care | Placebo comparator | Subjects use a basic skin care regimen. Receives: Other: Basic Skin Care |
| Active Skin Care | Active comparator | Subjects use the Sensi Peel®, Rejuvenating Serum, and C\&E Strength Max skin care products in additional to a basic skin care regiment. Receives: Other: Active Skin Care |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
C-GAIS by the PI or Designee
Global aesthetic improvement in subjects is assessed by the PI/designee using the Global Aesthetic Improvement Scale (C-GAIS).
Clinical-Global Aesthetic Improvement Scale (C-GAIS):
3 (Very Much Improved) 2 (Much Improved)
1 (Improved) 0 (No change)
-1 (Worse)
Scores closer to 3 show a more favorable outcome Scores closer to -1 show a less favorable outcome
Measured: Approximately 3 months from the baseline visit
SQA by the PI or Designee
The quality of subjects' skin is assessed by PI/designee using the Skin Quality Assessment (SQA)
Skin Quality Assessment (SQA):
Tone (dyschromia) 0 - severe unevenness
1- moderate to severe unevenness 2 - moderate unevenness 3 - mild unevenness 4 - even
Elasticity (Firmness) 0 - Very poor elasticity
- - poor elasticity
- - fair elasticity
- - good elasticity
- - firm
Texture (Smoothness) 0 - severe
- - moderate to severe
- - moderate
- - mild
- - none
Radiance 0 - severe dullness
- - moderate to severe dullness
- - moderate dullness
- - mild dullness
- - radiant
All scores with a higher number indicate favorable results All scores with a lower number indicate less favorable results
Measured: Approximately 3 months from the baseline visit
Secondary outcomes (3)
Face-Q by Subjects
Subjects self-evaluation of their quality of skin, age-appraisal, and social and psychological assessments are performed using the Face-Q questionnaire.
FACE-Q (Satisfaction with Skin): scored between 1-4 for 12 questions. Total score closer to 48 indicates a more favorable outcome FACE-Q (Satisfaction with Facial Appearance Overall): scored between 1-4 for 10 questions. Total score closer to 40 indicates a more favorable outcome FACE-Q (Aging Appearance Appraisal): scored between 1-4 for 7 questions. Total score closer to 28 indicates a more favorable outcome FACE-Q (Age Appraisal-VAS): scored between -15 to +15. Total score closer to -15 indicates a more favorable outcome FACE-Q (Psychological Well-Being): scored between 1-4 for 10 questions. Total score closer to 40 indicates a more favorable outcome FACE-Q (Social Function):scored between 1-4 for 8 questions. Total score closer to 32 indicates a more favorable outcome
Measured: Final assessment is approximately 3 months from the baseline visit
SSES by Subjects
Changes in self-esteem is assessed using the State Self-Esteem Scale (SSES): performance, social, and appearance
State Self-Esteem Scale (SSES): scored between 1-5 for 20 questions. Scores closer to 100 indicate a more favorable outcome
Measured: Final assessment is approximately 3 months from the baseline visit
FIQ by Blinded Evaluators
The projected first impressions are assessed by blinded evaluators using the First Impression Questionnaire (FIQ).
First Impression Questionnaire (FIQ): scored between 1-10 for 8 questions. Scores closer to 10 for each question indicate a more favorable outcome
Measured: At the conclusion of study assessments (approximately 3 months from the baseline visit)
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted1 Apr 2016 (estimated)
- Study startMar 2016
- Primary completion7 Nov 2016
- Study completion11 Dec 2016
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Other trials for Facial Rejuvenation With Neurotoxins and/or Hyaluronic Acid FillersStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase N/A
- Primary purpose
- Other
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- Single blind
- Who is masked
- Investigator
- Enrolment
- 20 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- DeNova Research
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Steven H Dayan, MD, Principal investigator, DeNova Research
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT02726451
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- PCA-SD-01
- Status last verified
- Sep 2020
- First submitted
- 29 Mar 2016
- Last updated
- 14 Oct 2020
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
- Data monitoring committee
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 14 Oct 2020. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Post-Market, Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Study to Assess the Efficacy of Cosmeceutical Therapy in Subjects Undergoing Full Facial Rejuvenation
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT02726451
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- PCA-SD-01
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 20 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- DeNova ResearchUniversity, hospital or other
- Study start
- Mar 2016
- Primary completion
- 7 Nov 2016 (actual)
- Study completion
- 11 Dec 2016 (actual)
- First posted
- 1 Apr 2016 (estimated)
- Results
- Posted 14 Oct 2020
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
The primary objective of this study is to determine the efficacy of Sensi Peel®, Rejuvenating Serum, and the C\&E Strength Max skin care products in subjects who undergo full facial rejuvenation, with a botulinum neurotoxin A and/or hyaluronic acid filler, in improving the appearance of the skin, patient satisfaction with aesthetic appearance, and the projected first impressions.
The secondary objective of this study is to examine patient satisfaction with the continuous use of Sensi Peel®, Rejuvenating Serum, and the C\&E Strength Max products.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Other
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- Single blind (investigator)
- Number of arms
- 2
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Basic Skin Care | Placebo comparator | Other: Basic Skin CareSubjects use a basic skin care regimen. |
| Active Skin Care | Active comparator | Other: Active Skin CareSubjects use the Sensi Peel®, Rejuvenating Serum, and C\&E Strength Max skin care products in additional to a basic skin care regiment. |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 21 to 60 years
- Sex
- Female only
- Healthy volunteers
- Accepted
- Age groups
- Adult
Key inclusion criteria (5 listed)
- Subject is a female between the ages of 21 and 60;
- Subject requires a full facial rejuvenation with a HA soft tissue filler and/or botulinum neurotoxin, per judgment of the PI or designee;
- Subject is willing and able to provide written informed consent prior to the performance of any study related procedure;
- Subject is willing and able to comply with the protocol requirements; and
- Subject is willing and able to provide written photo consent and adhere to the photography and video procedures such as removal of jewelry and makeup.
Key exclusion criteria (25 listed)
- Subjects who have received any facial filler in the 12-month or neurotoxin treatments in the 4-month period prior to enrollment;
- Previous treatment with any resurfacing facial aesthetic procedure (e.g. deep chemical peeling and laser treatments) within the 12-month period prior to enrollment;
- Previous treatment with photo rejuvenation therapy within the 6-month period prior to enrollment;
- Subjects who plan to undergo facial cosmetic surgery or any aesthetic procedure (e.g. neurotoxins, dermal fillers, laser treatments, and chemical peels), which are not specified in this protocol, during the course of the study;
- A known allergy or sensitivity to any component of the study ingredients;
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| Basic Skin CareAlso: Group AFacial Wash, Hydrator Plus Broad Spectrum SPF 30, and Rebalance skin care products (PCA SKIN®) | Other | Basic Skin Care |
| Active Skin CareAlso: Group BSensi Peel®, Rejuvenating Serum, and C\&E Strength Max skin care products (PCA SKIN®) in addition to the Facial Wash, Hydrator Plus Broad Spectrum SPF 30, and Rebalance skin care products (PCA SKIN®) | Other | Active Skin Care |
Primary outcome
C-GAIS by the PI or Designee
Time frame: Approximately 3 months from the baseline visit
Global aesthetic improvement in subjects is assessed by the PI/designee using the Global Aesthetic Improvement Scale (C-GAIS). Clinical-Global Aesthetic Improvement Scale (C-GAIS): 3 (Very Much Improved) 2 (Much Improved) 1 (Improved) 0 (No change) -1 (Worse) Scores closer to 3 show a more favorable outcome Scores closer to -1 show a less favorable outcome
SQA by the PI or Designee
Time frame: Approximately 3 months from the baseline visit
The quality of subjects' skin is assessed by PI/designee using the Skin Quality Assessment (SQA) Skin Quality Assessment (SQA): Tone (dyschromia) 0 - severe unevenness 1- moderate to severe unevenness 2 - moderate unevenness 3 - mild unevenness 4 - even Elasticity (Firmness) 0 - Very poor elasticity 1. - poor elasticity 2. - fair elasticity 3. - good elasticity 4. - firm Texture (Smoothness) 0 - severe 1. - moderate to severe 2. - moderate 3. - mild 4. - none Radiance 0 - severe dullness 1. - moderate to severe dullness 2. - moderate dullness 3. - mild dullness 4. - radiant All scores with a higher number indicate favorable results All scores with a lower number indicate less favorable results
3 secondary outcomes
Face-Q by Subjects
Time frame: Final assessment is approximately 3 months from the baseline visit
SSES by Subjects
Time frame: Final assessment is approximately 3 months from the baseline visit
FIQ by Blinded Evaluators
Time frame: At the conclusion of study assessments (approximately 3 months from the baseline visit)
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 14 Oct 2020.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Steven H Dayan, MD principal investigator
DeNova Research
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A study testing Basic Skin Care and Active Skin Care in people with Facial Rejuvenation With Neurotoxins and/or Hyaluronic Acid Fillers, run by DeNova Research at 1 site in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 5 inclusion and 25 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 14 Oct 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. Some participants in this study may receive a placebo. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 14 Oct 2020). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
C-GAIS by the PI or Designee (time frame: Approximately 3 months from the baseline visit). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 14 Oct 2020.