HIV InfectionsPhase 3NCT02733419
Efficacy, and Safety Study of Optimized Background Antiretroviral Regimen (OB) in Combination With Enfuvirtide in the Treatment-Experienced Participants With Human Immunodeficiency Virus-1 (HIV-1) Infection
A Phase 3 study testing Enfuvirtide and Optimized background antiretroviral regimen (OB) in people with HIV Infections, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 71 sites in France.
Trial summary
This is an open-label, randomized and multi-center study to compare the efficacy and safety of continued enfuvirtide (Fuzeon) plus (+) OB therapy versus OB alone in participants with HIV-1 infection. Participants will receive an initial 28 week induction treatment with enfuvirtide + OB. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- HIV Infections
- What is being tested?
- Enfuvirtide and Optimized background antiretroviral regimen (OB)
- Type of treatment
- Injection or infusion
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 84 participants
- Where
- 71 sitesFrance
- Study dates
- Dec 2004to Mar 2008
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
Who may be able to join
- Participants with HIV-1 infection
- Female participants without any risk of pregnancy
- Participants previously treated with drugs of 2 or 3 different antiretroviral classes
- Participants currently on highly active antiretroviral treatment (HAART) for more than 4 weeks and with a plasma viral load between 1,000 and 300,000 copies of HIV-1 ribonucleic acid per milliliter (RNA/mL)
- Participants with the possibility of potentially effective OB without enfuvirtide, consisting to 2 to 5 drugs, at least two of which are active from at least two different antiretroviral classes
- Cluster of differentiation 4 (CD4) cell count greater than (>) 50 cells/cubic millimeter (mm^3) at screening
- Participants in whom resistance mutations have been detected in reverse transcriptase and/or protease genes
- Enfuvirtide-naive participants
Who cannot join
- Women of childbearing age not using effective mechanical contraception
- Pregnant or breastfeeding women
- Presence of HIV-2 coinfection
- Participants participating or having participated to another clinical trial during the 30 days prior to selection for this trial
- Participants having previously been treated with enfuvirtide
- Presence active opportunistic infection within 1 month of study entry
Show all 10Show fewer
- Existence of Grade 4 clinical or laboratory abnormalities
- Cirrhosis or severe hepatic failure
- Uncontrolled diabetes or requiring insulin
- Consumption of alcohol and/or narcotics and/or other substances
Trial locations and contacts
71 sites in 1 country.
71 sites in 1 country
France71 sites
Study site
Aix-en-Provence, 13616
Study site
Angers, 49933
Study site
Annecy, 74011
Study site
Argenteuil, 95107
Study site
Auch, 32008
Study site
Aulnay-sous-Bois, 93600
Study site
Avignon, 84902
Study site
Basse-terre, 97100
Study site
Besançon, 25030
Study site
Bobigny, 93009
Study site
Bordeaux, 33000
Study site
Bordeaux, 33076
Study site
Boulogne, 62321
Study site
Bourg-en-Bresse, 01012
Study site
Caen, 14033
Study site
Carpentras, 84200
Study site
Cayenne, 97300
Study site
Cayenne, 97306
Study site
Colmar, 68024
Study site
Corbeil-Essonnes, 91106
Study site
Créteil, 94000
Study site
Fort-de-france, 97261
Study site
Garches, 92380
Study site
Kourou, 97487
Study site
La Roche-sur-Yon, 85025
Study site
Lagny-sur-Marne, 77405
Study site
Levallois-Perret, 92309
Study site
Lyon, 69317
Study site
Lyon, 69437
Study site
Mâcon, 71000
Study site
Mantes-la-Jolie, 78200
Study site
Marseille, 13006
Study site
Marseille, 13274
Study site
Marseille, 13385
Study site
Marseille, 13915
Study site
Matoury, 97351
Study site
Montpellier, 34295
Study site
Nantes, 44035
Study site
Nice, 06202
Study site
Nîmes, 30029
Study site
Niort, 79021
Study site
Orléans, 45100
Study site
Paris, 75010
Study site
Paris, 75015
Study site
Paris, 75018
Study site
Paris, 75571
Study site
Paris, 75651
Study site
Paris, 75674
Study site
Paris, 75743
Study site
Paris, 75970
Study site
Pau, 64046
Study site
Perpignan, 66046
Study site
Pessac, 33600
Study site
Pointe à Pitre, 97159
Study site
Pontoise, 95303
Study site
Quimper, 29000
Study site
Rennes, 35033
Study site
Rouen, 73031
Study site
Saint-Denis, 93202
Study site
Saint-Denis, 97400
Study site
Saint-Dizier, 52115
Study site
Saint-Pierre, 97448
Study site
Strasbourg, 67091
Study site
Suresnes, 92150
Study site
Toulon, 83000
Study site
Toulouse, 31052
Study site
Toulouse, 31059
Study site
Tours, 37044
Study site
Valenciennes, 59322
Study site
Vandœuvre-lès-Nancy, 54511
Study site
Villejuif, 94804
About this study
Official title: Open-label, Randomised and Multi-center Study Evaluating the Efficacy and Safety of an Optimised Background Antiretroviral Regimen (OB) Compared to OB Associated With Enfuvirtide in Previously Treated HIV-1 Infected Patients in Virological Success After a 28-week Induction Treatment With Enfuvirtide Plus OB
This is an open-label, randomized and multi-center study to compare the efficacy and safety of continued enfuvirtide (Fuzeon) plus (+) OB therapy versus OB alone in participants with HIV-1 infection. Participants will receive an initial 28 week induction treatment with enfuvirtide + OB. After 28 weeks participants with a plasma viral load less than or equal to (</=) 400 copies/milliliter (mL) at Week 16 and less than (<) 50 copies/mL at Week 24 will be randomized in the ratio 1:1 to receive either enfuvirtide + OB or OB alone for another 24 weeks (up to Week 52).
- Conditions
- HIV Infections
- Being tested
- Enfuvirtide, Optimized background antiretroviral regimen (OB)
- Medical subject headings
- HIV Infections
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
EnfuvirtideDrug
Also called Fuzeon
Participants will receive 90 mg enfuvirtide subcutaneously (SC) b.i.d.
Optimized background antiretroviral regimen (OB)Drug
Participants will receive OB (nucleoside and or non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitor and protease inhibitor) as per investigator's discretion. Protocol does not specify any particular OB drugs.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Enfuvirtide + OB (Not Randomized) | Experimental | Participants will receive enfuvirtide 90 milligram (mg) twice daily (b.i.d.) and OB as per investigator's discretion for 28 weeks during induction period. After induction period participants not meeting the randomization criteria will receive enfuvirtide 90 mg b.i.d and OB for next 24 weeks (up to Week 52). Receives: Drug: Enfuvirtide; Drug: Optimized background antiretroviral regimen (OB) |
| Enfuvirtide + OB (Randomized) | Experimental | Participants will receive enfuvirtide 90 mg b.i.d. and OB as per investigator's discretion for 28 weeks during induction period. After induction period participants meeting the randomization criteria will be randomized to receive enfuvirtide 90 mg b.i.d. and OB for next 24 weeks (up to Week 52). Receives: Drug: Enfuvirtide; Drug: Optimized background antiretroviral regimen (OB) |
| OB alone (Randomized) | Experimental | Participants will receive enfuvirtide 90 mg b.i.d. and OB as per investigator's discretion for 28 weeks during induction period. After induction period participants meeting the randomization criteria will be randomized to receive OB alone for next 24 weeks (up to Week 52). Receives: Drug: Enfuvirtide; Drug: Optimized background antiretroviral regimen (OB) |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Percentage of randomized participants without virologic failure and with a viral load < 50 copies/mL at Week 52
Measured: Week 52
Secondary outcomes (13)
Number of participants with virologic response (viral load < 50 copies/mL, 200 copies/mL, and 400 copies/mL)
Measured: Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 24, 28, 32, 36, 44, and 52
Number of participants who complied with enfuvirtide and OB treatments as measured by pharmacokinetic score
Measured: Weeks 2, 4, 8, and 24
Quality of life as assessed by medical outcomes study-HIV (MOS-HIV) questionnaire score
Measured: Day 0 (inclusion), Weeks 4, 12, 24, 28, 32, 44, and 52 or premature withdrawal
Change from baseline in viral load
Measured: Baseline up to Week 52 or premature withdrawal
Proviral deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) level
Measured: Day 0 (inclusion), Weeks 28, and 52 or premature withdrawal
Time to reappearance of viral load above 50 copies/mL in randomized participants
Measured: 52 weeks
Changes from baseline in CD4 and CD8 cell counts
Measured: Day -35 (screening), Day 0 (inclusion), Weeks 4, 12, 24, 28, 36, 44, and 52 or premature withdrawal
Number of virologic failure participants with reverse transcriptase, protease, and coating resistance mutations for plasma HIV-1 RNA and proviral DNA
Measured: Day 0 (inclusion) up to Week 52
Number of participants with cause of virologic failure
Measured: Day 0 (inclusion), Weeks 2, 4, 8, 16, 28, 32, 36, 44, and 52 or premature withdrawal
Number of participants who complied with enfuvirtide treatment, as assessed by counting treatment units returned versus supplied
Measured: Weeks 4, 8, 12, 16, 24, 28, 32, 36, 44, and 52
Number of participants with adverse events
Measured: Day 0 (inclusion), Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 24, 28, 32, 36, 44, and 52 or premature withdrawal and follow-up (approximately up to 452 days)
Number of participants with missed treatment doses or injections as assessed by compliance questionnaire
Measured: Day 0 (inclusion), Weeks 4, 12, 24, 28, 32, 44, and 52 or premature withdrawal
Number of participants with injection site reaction
Measured: Day 0 (inclusion), Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 24, 28, 32, 36, 44, and 52 or premature withdrawal and follow-up (approximately up to 452 days)
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted11 Apr 2016 (estimated)
- Study startDec 2004
- Primary completionMar 2008
- Study completionMar 2008
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for HIV InfectionsStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Hoffmann-La RocheThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 84 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Hoffmann-La Roche
- Sponsor type
- Industry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Clinical Trials, Study chair, Hoffmann-La Roche
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT02733419
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- ML18242
- Status last verified
- Apr 2016
- First submitted
- 5 Apr 2016
- Last updated
- 11 Apr 2016
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 11 Apr 2016. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Open-label, Randomised and Multi-center Study Evaluating the Efficacy and Safety of an Optimised Background Antiretroviral Regimen (OB) Compared to OB Associated With Enfuvirtide in Previously Treated HIV-1 Infected Patients in Virological Success After a 28-week Induction Treatment With Enfuvirtide Plus OB
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT02733419
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- ML18242
- Conditions
- HIV Infections
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 84 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Hoffmann-La RocheIndustry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Study start
- Dec 2004
- Primary completion
- Mar 2008 (actual)
- Study completion
- Mar 2008 (actual)
- First posted
- 11 Apr 2016 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
This is an open-label, randomized and multi-center study to compare the efficacy and safety of continued enfuvirtide (Fuzeon) plus (+) OB therapy versus OB alone in participants with HIV-1 infection. Participants will receive an initial 28 week induction treatment with enfuvirtide + OB. After 28 weeks participants with a plasma viral load less than or equal to (</=) 400 copies/milliliter (mL) at Week 16 and less than (<) 50 copies/mL at Week 24 will be randomized in the ratio 1:1 to receive either enfuvirtide + OB or OB alone for another 24 weeks (up to Week 52).
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 3
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Enfuvirtide + OB (Not Randomized) | Experimental | Drug: Enfuvirtide, Drug: Optimized background antiretroviral regimen (OB)Participants will receive enfuvirtide 90 milligram (mg) twice daily (b.i.d.) and OB as per investigator's discretion for 28 weeks during induction period. After induction period participants not meeting the randomization criteria will receive enfuvirtide 90 mg b.i.d and OB for next 24 weeks (up to Week 52). |
| Enfuvirtide + OB (Randomized) | Experimental | Drug: Enfuvirtide, Drug: Optimized background antiretroviral regimen (OB)Participants will receive enfuvirtide 90 mg b.i.d. and OB as per investigator's discretion for 28 weeks during induction period. After induction period participants meeting the randomization criteria will be randomized to receive enfuvirtide 90 mg b.i.d. and OB for next 24 weeks (up to Week 52). |
| OB alone (Randomized) | Experimental | Drug: Enfuvirtide, Drug: Optimized background antiretroviral regimen (OB)Participants will receive enfuvirtide 90 mg b.i.d. and OB as per investigator's discretion for 28 weeks during induction period. After induction period participants meeting the randomization criteria will be randomized to receive OB alone for next 24 weeks (up to Week 52). |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Key inclusion criteria (8 listed)
- Participants with HIV-1 infection
- Female participants without any risk of pregnancy
- Participants previously treated with drugs of 2 or 3 different antiretroviral classes
- Participants currently on highly active antiretroviral treatment (HAART) for more than 4 weeks and with a plasma viral load between 1,000 and 300,000 copies of HIV-1 ribonucleic acid per milliliter (RNA/mL)
- Participants with the possibility of potentially effective OB without enfuvirtide, consisting to 2 to 5 drugs, at least two of which are active from at least two different antiretroviral classes
Key exclusion criteria (10 listed)
- Women of childbearing age not using effective mechanical contraception
- Pregnant or breastfeeding women
- Presence of HIV-2 coinfection
- Participants participating or having participated to another clinical trial during the 30 days prior to selection for this trial
- Participants having previously been treated with enfuvirtide
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| EnfuvirtideAlso: FuzeonParticipants will receive 90 mg enfuvirtide subcutaneously (SC) b.i.d. | Drug | Enfuvirtide + OB (Not Randomized), Enfuvirtide + OB (Randomized), OB alone (Randomized) |
| Optimized background antiretroviral regimen (OB)Participants will receive OB (nucleoside and or non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitor and protease inhibitor) as per investigator's discretion. Protocol does not specify any particular OB drugs. | Drug | Enfuvirtide + OB (Not Randomized), Enfuvirtide + OB (Randomized), OB alone (Randomized) |
Primary outcome
Percentage of randomized participants without virologic failure and with a viral load < 50 copies/mL at Week 52
Time frame: Week 52
13 secondary outcomes
Number of participants with virologic response (viral load < 50 copies/mL, 200 copies/mL, and 400 copies/mL)
Time frame: Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 24, 28, 32, 36, 44, and 52
Number of participants who complied with enfuvirtide and OB treatments as measured by pharmacokinetic score
Time frame: Weeks 2, 4, 8, and 24
Quality of life as assessed by medical outcomes study-HIV (MOS-HIV) questionnaire score
Time frame: Day 0 (inclusion), Weeks 4, 12, 24, 28, 32, 44, and 52 or premature withdrawal
Change from baseline in viral load
Time frame: Baseline up to Week 52 or premature withdrawal
Proviral deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) level
Time frame: Day 0 (inclusion), Weeks 28, and 52 or premature withdrawal
Time to reappearance of viral load above 50 copies/mL in randomized participants
Time frame: 52 weeks
Changes from baseline in CD4 and CD8 cell counts
Time frame: Day -35 (screening), Day 0 (inclusion), Weeks 4, 12, 24, 28, 36, 44, and 52 or premature withdrawal
Number of virologic failure participants with reverse transcriptase, protease, and coating resistance mutations for plasma HIV-1 RNA and proviral DNA
Time frame: Day 0 (inclusion) up to Week 52
Number of participants with cause of virologic failure
Time frame: Day 0 (inclusion), Weeks 2, 4, 8, 16, 28, 32, 36, 44, and 52 or premature withdrawal
Number of participants who complied with enfuvirtide treatment, as assessed by counting treatment units returned versus supplied
Time frame: Weeks 4, 8, 12, 16, 24, 28, 32, 36, 44, and 52
Number of participants with adverse events
Time frame: Day 0 (inclusion), Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 24, 28, 32, 36, 44, and 52 or premature withdrawal and follow-up (approximately up to 452 days)
Number of participants with missed treatment doses or injections as assessed by compliance questionnaire
Time frame: Day 0 (inclusion), Weeks 4, 12, 24, 28, 32, 44, and 52 or premature withdrawal
Number of participants with injection site reaction
Time frame: Day 0 (inclusion), Weeks 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 24, 28, 32, 36, 44, and 52 or premature withdrawal and follow-up (approximately up to 452 days)
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 11 Apr 2016.
Related trials for HIV Infections
Not yet recruiting
HealthMpowerment Korea: Pilot Testing the Cultural Adaptation of a Digital HIV Intervention for Men Who Have Sex With Men in South Korea
HIV Infections, HIV Prevention and Care
Not yet recruiting
Prescribe to Prevent HIV: A Hybrid Trial Helping Addiction Clinics Prevent HIV & Infections Through Safer Drug Use Support
People Who Use Opioids/People With Opioid Use Disorder (OUD)
Recruiting
Evaluating the Impact of Using the B-OK Bottles for HIV and ART Literacy in South Africa
HIV, HIV Treatment
Recruiting
Trial Phase: Syndemic Adapted Medly Uganda
Mental Health
RecruitingObservational study
Olfactory Function and Model-Based Behavior in People Living With HIV and SUD
HIV, Substance Use Disorder
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Clinical Trials study chair
Hoffmann-La Roche
71 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing Enfuvirtide and Optimized background antiretroviral regimen (OB) in people with HIV Infections, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 71 sites in France.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 8 inclusion and 10 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 11 Apr 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 71 sites in France. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Percentage of randomized participants without virologic failure and with a viral load < 50 copies/mL at Week 52 (time frame: Week 52). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 11 Apr 2016.