Colorectal NeoplasmPhase 2/3CAIRO6NCT02758951
Perioperative Systemic Therapy for Isolated Resectable Colorectal Peritoneal Metastases
A Phase 2/3 study testing Perioperative systemic therapy, Perioperative CAPOX-bevacizumab and Perioperative FOLFOX-bevacizumab in people with Colorectal Neoplasm and Colorectal Cancer, run by Koen Rovers at 9 sites in 2 countries.
Trial summary
This is a multicentre, open-label, parallel-group, phase II-III, superiority study that randomises patients with isolated resectable colorectal peritoneal metastases in a 1:1 ratio to receive either perioperative systemic therapy and cytoreductive surgery with HIPEC (experimental arm) or upfront cytoreductive surgery… Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Colorectal Neoplasm, Colorectal Cancer, Colorectal Neoplasms Malignant
- What is being tested?
- Perioperative systemic therapy, Perioperative CAPOX-bevacizumab and Perioperative FOLFOX-bevacizumab
- Type of treatment
- Pill or oral medicine, Injection or infusion, Surgery or procedure
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 358 participants
- Where
- 9 sitesin 2 countries
- Study dates
- 1 Jun 2017to 1 Jun 2029
- Phase
- Phase 2/3
- Are there results?
- Not yet: the study is under way
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
Eligible patients are adults who have:
- a World Health Organisation (WHO) performance status of ≤1;
- histological or cytological proof of PM of a non-appendiceal colorectal adenocarcinoma with ≤50% of the tumour cells being signet ring cells;
- resectable disease determined by a diagnostic laparoscopy/laparotomy in combination with abdominal computed tomography and/or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI); only in patients in whom diagnostic laparoscopy or laparotomy is considered not feasible or valuable (e.g. due to known adhesions impeding adequate PCI scoring), it is also allowed to determine resectability by CT or MRI only (provided that the colorectal PM are histologically or cytologically proven);
- no evidence of systemic colorectal metastases within three months prior to enrolment;
- no systemic therapy for colorectal cancer within six months prior to enrolment;
- no contraindications for CRS-HIPEC;
- no previous CRS-HIPEC;
- no concurrent malignancies that interfere with the planned study treatment or the prognosis of resected colorectal PM.
Importantly, enrolment is allowed for patients with radiologically non-measurable disease. Enrolment is also allowed for patients who are referred to a study centre after a macroscopically complete resection of colorectal PM in a referring centre, since it is assumed that microscopic (and often macroscopic) colorectal PM are still present. The diagnostic laparoscopy/laparotomy may be performed in a referring centre, provided that the peritoneal cancer index (PCI) is appropriately scored and documented before enrolment.
Patients are excluded in case of any comorbidity or condition that prevents safe administration of the planned perioperative systemic therapy, determined by the treating medical oncologist, e.g.:
- Inadequate bone marrow, renal, or liver functions (e.g. haemoglobin <6.0 mmol/L, neutrophils <1.5 x 109/L, platelets <100 x 109/L, serum creatinine >1.5 x ULN, creatinine clearance <30 ml/min, bilirubin >2 x ULN, serum liver transaminases >5 x ULN);
- Previous intolerance of fluoropyrimidines or both oxaliplatin and irinotecan;
- Dehydropyrimidine dehydrogenase deficiency;
- Serious active infections;
- Severe diarrhoea;
- Stomatitis or ulceration in the mouth or gastrointestinal tract;
- Recent major cardiovascular events;
- Unstable or uncompensated respiratory or cardiac disease;
- Bleeding diathesis or coagulopathy;
- Pregnancy or lactation.
The aforementioned laboratory values and tests are to be determined at the discretion of the physician, e.g. only if the patient is suspect for abnormal conditions tests will be conducted.
Trial locations and contacts
9 sites in 2 countries.
9 sites in 2 countries
Netherlands8 sites
Amsterdam University Medical Centre, Location VUMC
Amsterdam
Netherlands Cancer Institute
Amsterdam
Catharina Hospital
Eindhoven
University Medical Centre Groningen
Groningen
St. Antonius Hospital
Nieuwegein
Radboud University Medical Centre
Nijmegen
Erasmus University Medical Centre
Rotterdam
University Medical Centre Utrecht
Utrecht
About this study
Official title: Perioperative Systemic Therapy and Cytoreductive Surgery With HIPEC Versus Upfront Cytoreductive Surgery With HIPEC Alone for Isolated Resectable Colorectal Peritoneal Metastases: a Multicentre, Open-label, Parallel-group, Phase II-III, Randomised Superiority Study
This is a multicentre, open-label, parallel-group, phase II-III, superiority study that randomises patients with isolated resectable colorectal peritoneal metastases in a 1:1 ratio to receive either perioperative systemic therapy and cytoreductive surgery with HIPEC (experimental arm) or upfront cytoreductive surgery with HIPEC alone (control arm).
Read the detailed description
Rationale: cytoreductive surgery with HIPEC (CRS-HIPEC) is a curative intent treatment for patients with isolated resectable colorectal peritoneal metastases (PM). Upfront CRS-HIPEC alone is the standard treatment in the Netherlands. The addition of neoadjuvant and adjuvant systemic therapy (together: perioperative systemic therapy) to CRS-HIPEC could have benefits and drawbacks. Potential benefits are eradication of systemic micrometastases, preoperative intraperitoneal tumour downstaging, elimination of post-surgical residual cancer cells, and improved patient selection for CRS-HIPEC. Potential drawbacks are preoperative disease progression and secondary unresectability for CRS-HIPEC, systemic therapy related toxicity, increased postoperative morbidity, decreased quality of life, and higher costs. Currently, there is a complete lack of randomised studies that prospectively compare the oncological efficacy of perioperative systemic therapy and CRS-HIPEC with upfront CRS-HIPEC alone. Notwithstanding this lack of evidence, perioperative systemic therapy is widely administered to patients with isolated resectable colorectal PM. However, administration and timing of perioperative systemic therapy vary substantially between countries, hospitals, and guidelines. More importantly, it remains unknown whether perioperative systemic therapy has an intention-to-treat benefit in this setting. Therefore, this study randomises patients with isolated resectable colorectal PM to receive either perioperative systemic therapy (experimental arm) or upfront CRS-HIPEC alone (control arm).
Study design: a multicentre, open-label, parallel-group, phase II-III, superiority study that randomises eligible patients in a 1:1 ratio.
Objectives: objectives of the phase II study (80 patients) are to explore the feasibility of accrual, the feasibility, safety, and tolerance of perioperative systemic therapy, and the radiological and pathological response of colorectal PM to neoadjuvant systemic therapy. The primary objective of the phase III study (358 patients) is to compare overall survival between both arms. Secondary objectives are to assess progression-free and disease-free survival, surgical characteristics, major postoperative morbidity, patient-reported outcomes, and costs in both arms. Other objectives are to assess major systemic therapy related toxicity and the objective radiological and pathological response of colorectal PM to neoadjuvant systemic therapy.
Study population: adults who have a good performance status, histological or cytological proof of PM of a colorectal adenocarcinoma, resectable disease, no systemic colorectal metastases within three months prior to enrolment, no systemic therapy for colorectal cancer within six months prior to enrolment, no previous CRS-HIPEC, no contraindications for the planned systemic treatment or CRS-HIPEC, and no relevant concurrent malignancies.
Intervention: at the discretion of the treating medical oncologist, perioperative systemic therapy consists of either four 3-weekly neoadjuvant and adjuvant cycles of capecitabine with oxaliplatin (CAPOX), six 2-weekly neoadjuvant and adjuvant cycles of 5-fluorouracil/leucovorin with oxaliplatin (FOLFOX), or six 2-weekly neoadjuvant cycles of 5-fluorouracil/leucovorin with irinotecan (FOLFIRI) followed by either four 3-weekly (capecitabine) or six 2-weekly (5-fluorouracil/leucovorin) adjuvant cycles of fluoropyrimidine monotherapy. Bevacizumab is added to the first three (CAPOX) or four (FOLFOX/FOLFIRI) neoadjuvant cycles.
Endpoints: primary endpoints of the phase II study are to explore the feasibility and safety of perioperative systemic therapy by comparing proportions of patients undergoing complete CRS-HIPEC and proportions of patients with major postoperative morbidity between both arms. The primary comparative endpoint of the phase III study is overall survival. Major secondary endpoints assessed in both arms are proportions of major postoperative morbidity, progression-free survival, disease-free survival, patient-reported outcomes (PROs), and costs. Major secondary endpoints assessed in the experimental arm are the proportion of patients with major systemic therapy related toxicity and the proportions of patients with objective radiological and pathological responses of colorectal PM to neoadjuvant systemic therapy.
Statistical analysis: the study is powered to detect an increase in 3-year overall survival from 50% in the control arm to 65% in the experimental arm (corresponding hazard ratio 0.62), which is considered to be a clinically relevant difference by the investigators. A total number of 358 patients (179 in each arm) is needed to detect this hypothesized difference with 5% drop-out, 80% power, and a two-sided log-rank test of p<0.05. In August 2024, when several patients in the experimental arm were still receiving trial treatment, a regular follow-up update revealed that 156 events for the primary outcome (i.e. deaths) had occurred. The study then had 85% power to detect the hypothesized hazard ratio of 0.62 for overall survival in the analysis of superiority of the experimental arm relative to the control arm at a two-sided alpha of 0.05. After discussing these data with the Data Monitoring Committee and the medical ethics committee, it was decided to schedule data cut-off for a first analysis of the primary outcome at the time the last patient in the experimental arm (enrolled April 2024) finishes trial treatment, which is expected 1 November 2024 at an estimated number of +/- 172 events (+/- 88% power).
- Conditions
- Colorectal Neoplasm, Colorectal Cancer, Colorectal Neoplasms Malignant, Colorectal Carcinoma, Colorectal Adenocarcinoma, Peritoneal Neoplasms
- Being tested
- Perioperative systemic therapy, Perioperative CAPOX-bevacizumab, Perioperative FOLFOX-bevacizumab, Perioperative FOLFIRI-bevacizumab, CRS-HIPEC, experimental arm
- Keywords
- Colorectal Neoplasms, Peritoneal Neoplasms, Cytoreduction Surgical Procedures, Hyperthermia, Induced, Neoadjuvant Therapy, Adjuvant Chemotherapy, Bevacizumab, Randomized Controlled Trial, Mortality, Progression-Free Survival
- Medical subject headings
- Colorectal Neoplasms, Colonic Neoplasms, Peritoneal Neoplasms, Hyperthermia
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
Perioperative systemic therapyOther
Neoadjuvant systemic therapy should start within four weeks after randomisation. Adjuvant systemic therapy should start within twelve weeks after CRS-HIPEC. In case of unacceptable toxicity or contraindications to oxaliplatin or irinotecan in the neoadjuvant setting, CAPOX or FOLFOX may be switched to FOLFIRI and vice versa. In case of unacceptable toxicity or contraindications to oxaliplatin in the adjuvant setting, CAPOX of FOLFOX may be switched to fluoropyrimidine monotherapy. Dose reduction, prohibited concomitant care, permitted concomitant care, and strategies to improve adherence are not specified a priori, but left to the discretion of the treating medical oncologist. Perioperative systemic therapy can be prematurely discontinued due to radiological or clinical disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, physicians decision, or at patients request.
Perioperative CAPOX-bevacizumabCombination product
Four three-weekly neoadjuvant and adjuvant cycles of CAPOX (130 mg/m2 body-surface area [BSA] of oxaliplatin, intravenously [IV] on day 1; 1000 mg/m2 BSA of capecitabine, orally twice daily on days 1-14), with bevacizumab (7.5 mg/kg body weight, IV on day 1) added to the first three neoadjuvant cycles.
Perioperative FOLFOX-bevacizumabCombination product
Six two-weekly neoadjuvant and adjuvant cycles of FOLFOX (85 mg/m2 body-surface area [BSA] of oxaliplatin, intravenously [IV] on day 1; 400 mg/m2 BSA of leucovorin, IV on day 1; 400/2400 mg/m2 BSA of bolus/continuous 5-fluorouracil, IV on day 1-2), with bevacizumab (5 mg/kg body weight, IV on day 1) added to the first four neoadjuvant cycles.
Perioperative FOLFIRI-bevacizumabCombination product
Six two-weekly neoadjuvant cycles of FOLFIRI (180 mg/m2 body-surface area [BSA] of irinotecan, intravenously [IV] on day 1; 400 mg/m2 BSA of leucovorin, IV on day 1; 400/2400 mg/m2 BSA of bolus/continuous 5-fluorouracil, IV on day 1-2) and either four three-weekly (capecitabine (1000 mg/m2 BSA, orally twice daily on days 1-14) or six two-weekly (400 mg/m2 BSA of leucovorin, IV on day 1; 400/2400 mg/m2 BSA of bolus/continuous 5-fluorouracil, IV on day 1-2) adjuvant cycles of fluoropyrimidine monotherapy, with bevacizumab (5 mg/kg body weight, IV on day 1) added to the first four neoadjuvant cycles.
CRS-HIPEC, experimental armProcedure or surgery
CRS-HIPEC is performed according to the Dutch protocol in all study centres. Until publication of the PRODIGE7 trial, the choice of HIPEC medication (oxaliplatin or mitomycin C) has been left to the discretion of the treating physician, since neither one had a favourable safety or efficacy until then. After publication of the PRODIGE7 trial in 2021, oxaliplatin-based HIPEC was omitted in all centres (and therefore automatically omitted in the present study), and all centres switched to mitomycin C-based HIPEC. CRS-HIPEC should be performed within six weeks after completion of neoadjuvant systemic therapy in case of sufficient clinical condition, and at least six weeks after the last administration of bevacizumab in order to minimise the risk of bevacizumab-related postoperative complications.
CRS-HIPEC, control armProcedure or surgery
CRS-HIPEC is performed according to the Dutch protocol in all study centres. Until publication of the PRODIGE7 trial, the choice of HIPEC medication (oxaliplatin or mitomycin C) has been left to the discretion of the treating physician, since neither one had a favourable safety or efficacy until then. After publication of the PRODIGE7 trial in 2021, oxaliplatin-based HIPEC was omitted in all centres (and therefore automatically omitted in the present study), and all centres switched to mitomycin C-based HIPEC. CRS-HIPEC should be performed within six weeks after randomisation.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Perioperative systemic therapy and CRS-HIPEC | Experimental | At the discretion of the treating physician, perioperative systemic therapy consists of either four 3-weekly neoadjuvant and adjuvant cycles of capecitabine with oxaliplatin (CAPOX), six 2-weekly neoadjuvant and adjuvant cycles of 5-fluorouracil/leucovorin with oxaliplatin (FOLFOX), or six 2-weekly neoadjuvant cycles of 5-fluorouracil/leucovorin with irinotecan (FOLFIRI) followed by either four 3-weekly (capecitabine) or six 2-weekly (5-fluorouracil/leucovorin) adjuvant cycles of fluoropyrimidine monotherapy. Bevacizumab is added to the first three (CAPOX) or four (FOLFOX/FOLFIRI) neoadjuvant cycles.
CRS-HIPEC is performed according to the Dutch protocol in all study centres. Receives: Other: Perioperative systemic therapy; Combination Product: Perioperative CAPOX-bevacizumab; Combination Product: Perioperative FOLFOX-bevacizumab; Combination Product: Perioperative FOLFIRI-bevacizumab; Procedure: CRS-HIPEC, experimental arm |
| Upfront CRS-HIPEC alone | Active comparator | CRS-HIPEC is performed according to the Dutch protocol in all study centres. Receives: Procedure: CRS-HIPEC, control arm |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Overall survival
Time between enrolment and death due to any cause
Measured: From enrolment up to five years thereafter
Secondary outcomes (14)
Progression-free survival
Time between enrolment and physician-determined disease progression before CRS-HIPEC, CRS-HIPEC in case of unresectable disease or incomplete CRS, physician-determined recurrence after CRS-HIPEC, or death due to any cause;
Measured: From enrolment up to five years thereafter
Disease-free survival
Time between macroscopic complete CRS-HIPEC and physician-determined recurrence or death due to any cause
Measured: From enrolment up to five years thereafter
Macroscopic complete CRS-HIPEC
The proportion of patients undergoing macroscopic complete CRS-HIPEC
Measured: From enrolment up to approximately six weeks (control arm) or five months (experimental arm) thereafter
Surgical characteristics: peritoneal cancer index
The peritoneal cancer index during explorative laparotomy
Measured: During CRS-HIPEC, one to five months after enrolment
Surgical characteristics: bowel anastomoses
The proportion of patients with a bowel anastomosis during CRS-HIPEC
Measured: During CRS-HIPEC, , one to five months after enrolment
Surgical characteristics: ostomy formations
The proportion of patients with an ostomy formation during CRS-HIPEC
Measured: During CRS-HIPEC, one to five months after enrolment
Surgical characteristics: operating time
The operating time of CRS-HIPEC
Measured: During CRS-HIPEC, one to five months after enrolment
Major postoperative morbidity
The proportions of patients with Clavien-Dindo grade 3 or higher, grade 4 or higher, and grade 5 postoperative morbidity
Measured: From (intended) CRS-HIPEC up to three months postoperatively
Postoperative hospital stay
The number of days between (intended) CRS-HIPEC and initial discharge
Measured: During the postoperative course of CRS-HIPEC, up to 90 days postoperatively
Postoperative readmissions
The proportion of patients with a readmission within 90 days after (intended) CRS-HIPEC
Measured: From CRS-HIPEC to 90 days postoperatively
Patient-reported outcomes: EQ-5D-5L
Extracted from EQ-5D-5L questionnaire at different points in time
Measured: From enrolment up to five years thereafter
Patient-reported outcomes: QLQ-C30
Extracted from EORTC QLQ-C30 questionnaires at different points in time
Measured: From enrolment up to five years thereafter
Patient-reported outcomes: QLQ-CR29
Extracted from EORTC QLQ-CR29 questionnaire at different points in time
Measured: From enrolment up to five years thereafter
Costs
Extracted from questionnaire (iMTA PCQ, iMTA MCQ) at different points in time
Measured: From enrolment up to five years thereafter
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted3 May 2016 (estimated)
- Study start1 Jun 2017
- Primary completion31 Oct 2024
- Study completion1 Jun 2029 (estimated)
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Publications (4)Papers the sponsor has linked to this study.
- Other trials for Colorectal NeoplasmStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 2/3
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 358 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Koen Rovers
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- Dutch Cancer Society, Comprehensive Cancer Centre The Netherlands, Hoffmann-La Roche
- Responsible party
- Sponsor-investigator, Koen Rovers, Catharina Ziekenhuis Eindhoven
- Investigators
- Ignace H de Hingh, MD, PhD, Study chair, Catharina Hospital, Eindhoven, NetherlandsPieter J Tanis, MD, PhD, Study director, Department of Surgery, Amsterdam University Medical Centre, Location AMC, Amsterdam, NetherlandsCornelis J Punt, MD, PhD, Study director, Department of Medical Oncology, Amsterdam University Medical Centre, Location AMC, Amsterdam, NetherlandsAlexandra R Brandt-Kerkhof, MD, Principal investigator, Department of Surgery, Erasmuc University Medical Centre, Rotterdam, NetherlandsJurriaan B Tuynman, MD, PhD, Principal investigator, Department of Surgery, Amsterdam University Medical Centre, Location VUMC, Amsterdam, NetherlandsArend G Aalbers, MD, Principal investigator, Department of Surgery, Netherlands Cancer Institute, Amsterdam, NetherlandsMarinus J Wiezer, MD, PhD, Principal investigator, Department of Surgery, St. Antonius Hospital, Nieuwegein, NetherlandsPatrick H Hemmer, MD, Principal investigator, Department of Surgery, University Medical Centre Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT02758951
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- NL57644.100.16
- Other IDs
- 2016-001865-99, ISRCTN15977568, NTR6301, 2016
- Acronym
- CAIRO6
- Status last verified
- Mar 2026
- First submitted
- 26 Apr 2016
- Last updated
- 24 Mar 2026
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
- FDA-regulated drug
- No
- FDA-regulated device
- No
- Individual data sharing
- Yes: The full protocol and Dutch informed consent forms are publicly accessible (https://dccg.nl/trial/cairo-6). Participant-level datasets and statistical codes will become available upon reasonable request after the results of the study have been published.
Publications
Rovers KP, Bakkers C, Nienhuijs SW, Burger JWA, Creemers GM, Thijs AMJ, Brandt-Kerkhof ARM, Madsen EVE, van Meerten E, Tuynman JB, Kusters M, Versteeg KS, Aalbers AGJ, Kok NFM, Buffart TE, Wiezer MJ, Boerma D, Los M, de Reuver PR, Bremers AJA, Verheul HMW, Kruijff S, de Groot DJA, Witkamp AJ, van Grevenstein WMU, Koopman M, Nederend J, Lahaye MJ, Kranenburg O, Fijneman RJA, van 't Erve I, Snaebjornsson P, Hemmer PHJ, Dijkgraaf MGW, Punt CJA, Tanis PJ, de Hingh IHJT; Dutch Peritoneal Oncology Group and the Dutch Colorectal Cancer Group. Perioperative Systemic Therapy vs Cytoreductive Surgery and Hyperthermic Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy Alone for Resectable Colorectal Peritoneal Metastases: A Phase 2 Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Surg. 2021 Aug 1;156(8):710-720. doi: 10.1001/jamasurg.2021.1642.
PubMed 34009291Rovers KP, Bakkers C, Simkens GAAM, Burger JWA, Nienhuijs SW, Creemers GM, Thijs AMJ, Brandt-Kerkhof ARM, Madsen EVE, Ayez N, de Boer NL, van Meerten E, Tuynman JB, Kusters M, Sluiter NR, Verheul HMW, van der Vliet HJ, Wiezer MJ, Boerma D, Wassenaar ECE, Los M, Hunting CB, Aalbers AGJ, Kok NFM, Kuhlmann KFD, Boot H, Chalabi M, Kruijff S, Been LB, van Ginkel RJ, de Groot DJA, Fehrmann RSN, de Wilt JHW, Bremers AJA, de Reuver PR, Radema SA, Herbschleb KH, van Grevenstein WMU, Witkamp AJ, Koopman M, Haj Mohammad N, van Duyn EB, Mastboom WJB, Mekenkamp LJM, Nederend J, Lahaye MJ, Snaebjornsson P, Verhoef C, van Laarhoven HWM, Zwinderman AH, Bouma JM, Kranenburg O, van 't Erve I, Fijneman RJA, Dijkgraaf MGW, Hemmer PHJ, Punt CJA, Tanis PJ, de Hingh IHJT; Dutch Peritoneal Oncology Group (DPOG); Dutch Colorectal Cancer Group (DCCG). Perioperative systemic therapy and cytoreductive surgery with HIPEC versus upfront cytoreductive surgery with HIPEC alone for isolated resectable colorectal peritoneal metastases: protocol of a multicentre, open-label, parallel-group, phase II-III, randomised, superiority study (CAIRO6). BMC Cancer. 2019 Apr 25;19(1):390. doi: 10.1186/s12885-019-5545-0.
PubMed 31023318Rovers KP, Bakkers C, van den Heuvel TBM, van de Vlasakker VCJ, Kerkhoff TME, Nienhuijs SW, Burger JWA, Creemers GM, van Hellemond IEG, Tuynman JB, Kusters M, Buffart TE, Aalbers AGJ, Kok NFM, Chalabi M, Boerma D, Brandt-Kerkhof ARM, de Reuver PR, Hemmer PHJ, van Grevenstein WMU, van der Speeten K, Snaebjornsson P, Lee-Law PY, Lahaye MJ, Nederend J, Kranenburg O, Bouma JM, Punt CJA, Dijkgraaf MGW, Tanis PJ, de Hingh IHJT; CAIRO6 Investigators; Dutch Peritoneal Oncology Group and the Dutch Colorectal Cancer Group. Perioperative systemic therapy versus surgery alone for resectable colorectal peritoneal-only metastases (CAIRO6): a randomised, open-label, phase 3 trial. Lancet Oncol. 2026 Jul;27(7):849-863. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(26)00085-9.
PubMed 42372745Peng S, Chen D, Cai J, Yuan Z, Huang B, Li Y, Wang H, Luo Q, Kuang Y, Liang W, Liu Z, Wang Q, Cui Y, Wang H, Liu X. Enhancing cancer-associated fibroblast fatty acid catabolism within a metabolically challenging tumor microenvironment drives colon cancer peritoneal metastasis. Mol Oncol. 2021 May;15(5):1391-1411. doi: 10.1002/1878-0261.12917. Epub 2021 Feb 16.
PubMed 33528867
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 24 Mar 2026. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Perioperative Systemic Therapy and Cytoreductive Surgery With HIPEC Versus Upfront Cytoreductive Surgery With HIPEC Alone for Isolated Resectable Colorectal Peritoneal Metastases: a Multicentre, Open-label, Parallel-group, Phase II-III, Randomised Superiority Study
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT02758951
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- CAIRO6 / NL57644.100.16
- Conditions
- Colorectal Neoplasm, Colorectal Cancer, Colorectal Neoplasms Malignant, Colorectal Carcinoma, Colorectal Adenocarcinoma, Peritoneal Neoplasms
- Keywords
- Colorectal Neoplasms, Peritoneal Neoplasms, Cytoreduction Surgical Procedures, Hyperthermia, Induced, Neoadjuvant Therapy, Adjuvant Chemotherapy, Bevacizumab, Randomized Controlled Trial
- Phase
- Phase 2/3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Active, not recruiting
- Enrolment
- 358 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Koen RoversUniversity, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- Dutch Cancer Society, Comprehensive Cancer Centre The Netherlands, Hoffmann-La Roche
- Study start
- 1 Jun 2017 (actual)
- Primary completion
- 31 Oct 2024 (actual)
- Study completion
- 1 Jun 2029 (estimated)
- First posted
- 3 May 2016 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
This is a multicentre, open-label, parallel-group, phase II-III, superiority study that randomises patients with isolated resectable colorectal peritoneal metastases in a 1:1 ratio to receive either perioperative systemic therapy and cytoreductive surgery with HIPEC (experimental arm) or upfront cytoreductive surgery with HIPEC alone (control arm).
Detailed description
Rationale: cytoreductive surgery with HIPEC (CRS-HIPEC) is a curative intent treatment for patients with isolated resectable colorectal peritoneal metastases (PM). Upfront CRS-HIPEC alone is the standard treatment in the Netherlands. The addition of neoadjuvant and adjuvant systemic therapy (together: perioperative systemic therapy) to CRS-HIPEC could have benefits and drawbacks. Potential benefits are eradication of systemic micrometastases, preoperative intraperitoneal tumour downstaging, elimination of post-surgical residual cancer cells, and improved patient selection for CRS-HIPEC. Potential drawbacks are preoperative disease progression and secondary unresectability for CRS-HIPEC, systemic therapy related toxicity, increased postoperative morbidity, decreased quality of life, and higher costs. Currently, there is a complete lack of randomised studies that prospectively compare the oncological efficacy of perioperative systemic therapy and CRS-HIPEC with upfront CRS-HIPEC alone. Notwithstanding this lack of evidence, perioperative systemic therapy is widely administered to patients with isolated resectable colorectal PM. However, administration and timing of perioperative systemic therapy vary substantially between countries, hospitals, and guidelines. More importantly, it remains unknown whether perioperative systemic therapy has an intention-to-treat benefit in this setting. Therefore, this study randomises patients with isolated resectable colorectal PM to receive either perioperative systemic therapy (experimental arm) or upfront CRS-HIPEC alone (control arm).
Study design: a multicentre, open-label, parallel-group, phase II-III, superiority study that randomises eligible patients in a 1:1 ratio.
Objectives: objectives of the phase II study (80 patients) are to explore the feasibility of accrual, the feasibility, safety, and tolerance of perioperative systemic therapy, and the radiological and pathological response of colorectal PM to neoadjuvant systemic therapy. The primary objective of the phase III study (358 patients) is to compare overall survival between both arms. Secondary objectives are to assess progression-free and disease-free survival, surgical characteristics, major postoperative morbidity, patient-reported outcomes, and costs in both arms. Other objectives are to assess major systemic therapy related toxicity and the objective radiological and pathological response of colorectal PM to neoadjuvant systemic therapy.
Study population: adults who have a good performance status, histological or cytological proof of PM of a colorectal adenocarcinoma, resectable disease, no systemic colorectal metastases within three months prior to enrolment, no systemic therapy for colorectal cancer within six months prior to enrolment, no previous CRS-HIPEC, no contraindications for the planned systemic treatment or CRS-HIPEC, and no relevant concurrent malignancies.
Intervention: at the discretion of the treating medical oncologist, perioperative systemic therapy consists of either four 3-weekly neoadjuvant and adjuvant cycles of capecitabine with oxaliplatin (CAPOX), six 2-weekly neoadjuvant and adjuvant cycles of 5-fluorouracil/leucovorin with oxaliplatin (FOLFOX), or six 2-weekly neoadjuvant cycles of 5-fluorouracil/leucovorin with irinotecan (FOLFIRI) followed by either four 3-weekly (capecitabine) or six 2-weekly (5-fluorouracil/leucovorin) adjuvant cycles of fluoropyrimidine monotherapy. Bevacizumab is added to the first three (CAPOX) or four (FOLFOX/FOLFIRI) neoadjuvant cycles.
Endpoints: primary endpoints of the phase II study are to explore the feasibility and safety of perioperative systemic therapy by comparing proportions of patients undergoing complete CRS-HIPEC and proportions of patients with major postoperative morbidity between both arms. The primary comparative endpoint of the phase III study is overall survival. Major secondary endpoints assessed in both arms are proportions of major postoperative morbidity, progression-free survival, disease-free survival, patient-reported outcomes (PROs), and costs. Major secondary endpoints assessed in the experimental arm are the proportion of patients with major systemic therapy related toxicity and the proportions of patients with objective radiological and pathological responses of colorectal PM to neoadjuvant systemic therapy.
Statistical analysis: the study is powered to detect an increase in 3-year overall survival from 50% in the control arm to 65% in the experimental arm (corresponding hazard ratio 0.62), which is considered to be a clinically relevant difference by the investigators. A total number of 358 patients (179 in each arm) is needed to detect this hypothesized difference with 5% drop-out, 80% power, and a two-sided log-rank test of p<0.05. In August 2024, when several patients in the experimental arm were still receiving trial treatment, a regular follow-up update revealed that 156 events for the primary outcome (i.e. deaths) had occurred. The study then had 85% power to detect the hypothesized hazard ratio of 0.62 for overall survival in the analysis of superiority of the experimental arm relative to the control arm at a two-sided alpha of 0.05. After discussing these data with the Data Monitoring Committee and the medical ethics committee, it was decided to schedule data cut-off for a first analysis of the primary outcome at the time the last patient in the experimental arm (enrolled April 2024) finishes trial treatment, which is expected 1 November 2024 at an estimated number of +/- 172 events (+/- 88% power).
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 2
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Perioperative systemic therapy and CRS-HIPEC | Experimental | Other: Perioperative systemic therapy, Combination Product: Perioperative CAPOX-bevacizumab, Combination Product: Perioperative FOLFOX-bevacizumab, Combination Product: Perioperative FOLFIRI-bevacizumab, Procedure: CRS-HIPEC, experimental armAt the discretion of the treating physician, perioperative systemic therapy consists of either four 3-weekly neoadjuvant and adjuvant cycles of capecitabine with oxaliplatin (CAPOX), six 2-weekly neoadjuvant and adjuvant cycles of 5-fluorouracil/leucovorin with oxaliplatin (FOLFOX), or six 2-weekly neoadjuvant cycles of 5-fluorouracil/leucovorin with irinotecan (FOLFIRI) followed by either four 3-weekly (capecitabine) or six 2-weekly (5-fluorouracil/leucovorin) adjuvant cycles of fluoropyrimidine monotherapy. Bevacizumab is added to the first three (CAPOX) or four (FOLFOX/FOLFIRI) neoadjuvant cycles. CRS-HIPEC is performed according to the Dutch protocol in all study centres. |
| Upfront CRS-HIPEC alone | Active comparator | Procedure: CRS-HIPEC, control armCRS-HIPEC is performed according to the Dutch protocol in all study centres. |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| Perioperative systemic therapyNeoadjuvant systemic therapy should start within four weeks after randomisation. Adjuvant systemic therapy should start within twelve weeks after CRS-HIPEC. In case of unacceptable toxicity or contraindications to oxaliplatin or irinotecan in the neoadjuvant setting, CAPOX or FOLFOX may be switched to FOLFIRI and vice versa. In case of unacceptable toxicity or contraindications to oxaliplatin in the adjuvant setting, CAPOX of FOLFOX may be switched to fluoropyrimidine monotherapy. Dose reduction, prohibited concomitant care, permitted concomitant care, and strategies to improve adherence are not specified a priori, but left to the discretion of the treating medical oncologist. Perioperative systemic therapy can be prematurely discontinued due to radiological or clinical disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, physicians decision, or at patients request. | Other | Perioperative systemic therapy and CRS-HIPEC |
| Perioperative CAPOX-bevacizumabFour three-weekly neoadjuvant and adjuvant cycles of CAPOX (130 mg/m2 body-surface area [BSA] of oxaliplatin, intravenously [IV] on day 1; 1000 mg/m2 BSA of capecitabine, orally twice daily on days 1-14), with bevacizumab (7.5 mg/kg body weight, IV on day 1) added to the first three neoadjuvant cycles. | Combination product | Perioperative systemic therapy and CRS-HIPEC |
| Perioperative FOLFOX-bevacizumabSix two-weekly neoadjuvant and adjuvant cycles of FOLFOX (85 mg/m2 body-surface area [BSA] of oxaliplatin, intravenously [IV] on day 1; 400 mg/m2 BSA of leucovorin, IV on day 1; 400/2400 mg/m2 BSA of bolus/continuous 5-fluorouracil, IV on day 1-2), with bevacizumab (5 mg/kg body weight, IV on day 1) added to the first four neoadjuvant cycles. | Combination product | Perioperative systemic therapy and CRS-HIPEC |
| Perioperative FOLFIRI-bevacizumabSix two-weekly neoadjuvant cycles of FOLFIRI (180 mg/m2 body-surface area [BSA] of irinotecan, intravenously [IV] on day 1; 400 mg/m2 BSA of leucovorin, IV on day 1; 400/2400 mg/m2 BSA of bolus/continuous 5-fluorouracil, IV on day 1-2) and either four three-weekly (capecitabine (1000 mg/m2 BSA, orally twice daily on days 1-14) or six two-weekly (400 mg/m2 BSA of leucovorin, IV on day 1; 400/2400 mg/m2 BSA of bolus/continuous 5-fluorouracil, IV on day 1-2) adjuvant cycles of fluoropyrimidine monotherapy, with bevacizumab (5 mg/kg body weight, IV on day 1) added to the first four neoadjuvant cycles. | Combination product | Perioperative systemic therapy and CRS-HIPEC |
| CRS-HIPEC, experimental armCRS-HIPEC is performed according to the Dutch protocol in all study centres. Until publication of the PRODIGE7 trial, the choice of HIPEC medication (oxaliplatin or mitomycin C) has been left to the discretion of the treating physician, since neither one had a favourable safety or efficacy until then. After publication of the PRODIGE7 trial in 2021, oxaliplatin-based HIPEC was omitted in all centres (and therefore automatically omitted in the present study), and all centres switched to mitomycin C-based HIPEC. CRS-HIPEC should be performed within six weeks after completion of neoadjuvant systemic therapy in case of sufficient clinical condition, and at least six weeks after the last administration of bevacizumab in order to minimise the risk of bevacizumab-related postoperative complications. | Procedure or surgery | Perioperative systemic therapy and CRS-HIPEC |
| CRS-HIPEC, control armCRS-HIPEC is performed according to the Dutch protocol in all study centres. Until publication of the PRODIGE7 trial, the choice of HIPEC medication (oxaliplatin or mitomycin C) has been left to the discretion of the treating physician, since neither one had a favourable safety or efficacy until then. After publication of the PRODIGE7 trial in 2021, oxaliplatin-based HIPEC was omitted in all centres (and therefore automatically omitted in the present study), and all centres switched to mitomycin C-based HIPEC. CRS-HIPEC should be performed within six weeks after randomisation. | Procedure or surgery | Upfront CRS-HIPEC alone |
Primary outcome
Overall survival
Time frame: From enrolment up to five years thereafter
Time between enrolment and death due to any cause
14 secondary outcomes
Progression-free survival
Time frame: From enrolment up to five years thereafter
Disease-free survival
Time frame: From enrolment up to five years thereafter
Macroscopic complete CRS-HIPEC
Time frame: From enrolment up to approximately six weeks (control arm) or five months (experimental arm) thereafter
Surgical characteristics: peritoneal cancer index
Time frame: During CRS-HIPEC, one to five months after enrolment
Surgical characteristics: bowel anastomoses
Time frame: During CRS-HIPEC, , one to five months after enrolment
Surgical characteristics: ostomy formations
Time frame: During CRS-HIPEC, one to five months after enrolment
Surgical characteristics: operating time
Time frame: During CRS-HIPEC, one to five months after enrolment
Major postoperative morbidity
Time frame: From (intended) CRS-HIPEC up to three months postoperatively
Postoperative hospital stay
Time frame: During the postoperative course of CRS-HIPEC, up to 90 days postoperatively
Postoperative readmissions
Time frame: From CRS-HIPEC to 90 days postoperatively
Patient-reported outcomes: EQ-5D-5L
Time frame: From enrolment up to five years thereafter
Patient-reported outcomes: QLQ-C30
Time frame: From enrolment up to five years thereafter
Patient-reported outcomes: QLQ-CR29
Time frame: From enrolment up to five years thereafter
Costs
Time frame: From enrolment up to five years thereafter
Results and safety
This study is still under way. Results are not available in the source record yet.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 24 Mar 2026.
- Results publication: PubMed 34009291Rovers KP, Bakkers C, Nienhuijs SW, Burger JWA, Creemers GM, Thijs AMJ, Brandt-Kerkhof ARM, Madsen EVE, van Meerten E, Tuynman JB, Kusters M, Versteeg KS, Aalbers AGJ, Kok NFM, Buffart TE, Wiezer MJ, Boerma D, Los M, de Reuver PR, Bremers AJA, Verheul HMW, Kruijff S, de Groot DJA, Witkamp AJ, van Grevenstein WMU, Koopman M, Nederend J, Lahaye MJ, Kranenburg O, Fijneman RJA, van 't Erve I, Snaebjornsson P, Hemmer PHJ, Dijkgraaf MGW, Punt CJA, Tanis PJ, de Hingh IHJT; Dutch Peritoneal Oncology Group and the Dutch Colorectal Cancer Group. Perioperative Systemic Therapy vs Cytoreductive Surgery and Hyperthermic Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy Alone for Resectable Colorectal Peritoneal Metastases: A Phase 2 Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Surg. 2021 Aug 1;156(8):710-720. doi: 10.1001/jamasurg.2021.1642.
- Results publication: PubMed 31023318Rovers KP, Bakkers C, Simkens GAAM, Burger JWA, Nienhuijs SW, Creemers GM, Thijs AMJ, Brandt-Kerkhof ARM, Madsen EVE, Ayez N, de Boer NL, van Meerten E, Tuynman JB, Kusters M, Sluiter NR, Verheul HMW, van der Vliet HJ, Wiezer MJ, Boerma D, Wassenaar ECE, Los M, Hunting CB, Aalbers AGJ, Kok NFM, Kuhlmann KFD, Boot H, Chalabi M, Kruijff S, Been LB, van Ginkel RJ, de Groot DJA, Fehrmann RSN, de Wilt JHW, Bremers AJA, de Reuver PR, Radema SA, Herbschleb KH, van Grevenstein WMU, Witkamp AJ, Koopman M, Haj Mohammad N, van Duyn EB, Mastboom WJB, Mekenkamp LJM, Nederend J, Lahaye MJ, Snaebjornsson P, Verhoef C, van Laarhoven HWM, Zwinderman AH, Bouma JM, Kranenburg O, van 't Erve I, Fijneman RJA, Dijkgraaf MGW, Hemmer PHJ, Punt CJA, Tanis PJ, de Hingh IHJT; Dutch Peritoneal Oncology Group (DPOG); Dutch Colorectal Cancer Group (DCCG). Perioperative systemic therapy and cytoreductive surgery with HIPEC versus upfront cytoreductive surgery with HIPEC alone for isolated resectable colorectal peritoneal metastases: protocol of a multicentre, open-label, parallel-group, phase II-III, randomised, superiority study (CAIRO6). BMC Cancer. 2019 Apr 25;19(1):390. doi: 10.1186/s12885-019-5545-0.
- Derived from this study: PubMed 42372745Rovers KP, Bakkers C, van den Heuvel TBM, van de Vlasakker VCJ, Kerkhoff TME, Nienhuijs SW, Burger JWA, Creemers GM, van Hellemond IEG, Tuynman JB, Kusters M, Buffart TE, Aalbers AGJ, Kok NFM, Chalabi M, Boerma D, Brandt-Kerkhof ARM, de Reuver PR, Hemmer PHJ, van Grevenstein WMU, van der Speeten K, Snaebjornsson P, Lee-Law PY, Lahaye MJ, Nederend J, Kranenburg O, Bouma JM, Punt CJA, Dijkgraaf MGW, Tanis PJ, de Hingh IHJT; CAIRO6 Investigators; Dutch Peritoneal Oncology Group and the Dutch Colorectal Cancer Group. Perioperative systemic therapy versus surgery alone for resectable colorectal peritoneal-only metastases (CAIRO6): a randomised, open-label, phase 3 trial. Lancet Oncol. 2026 Jul;27(7):849-863. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(26)00085-9.
- Derived from this study: PubMed 33528867Peng S, Chen D, Cai J, Yuan Z, Huang B, Li Y, Wang H, Luo Q, Kuang Y, Liang W, Liu Z, Wang Q, Cui Y, Wang H, Liu X. Enhancing cancer-associated fibroblast fatty acid catabolism within a metabolically challenging tumor microenvironment drives colon cancer peritoneal metastasis. Mol Oncol. 2021 May;15(5):1391-1411. doi: 10.1002/1878-0261.12917. Epub 2021 Feb 16.
- Related InfoLink provided by the sponsor.
- Individual participant dataSharing planned: Yes. The full protocol and Dutch informed consent forms are publicly accessible (https://dccg.nl/trial/cairo-6). Participant-level datasets and statistical codes will become available upon reasonable request after the results of the study have been published.
Related trials for Colorectal Neoplasm
Not yet recruitingPhase 1
Hepatic Artery Infusion of Carfilzomib in Participants With Liver Metastatic Disease Previously Treated With Hepatic Artery Infusion Pump Therapy
Colorectal Neoplasms, Neoplasms
Active, not recruiting
Streamlined Geriatric and Oncological Evaluation Based On IC Technology
Breast Cancer, Comorbidities and Coexisting Conditions
RecruitingObservational study
Pre- and On-treatment Multi-omics Profiling of Locally Advanced Rectal Cancer
Rectal Neoplasms
Enrolling by invitationObservational study
Natural History Study of Early Life Exposures in Agriculture (ELEA)
Prostate Cancer, Leukemia
RecruitingPhase 2
Tislelizumab in People With Colorectal Cancer
Colorectal Cancer
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Ignace H de Hingh, MD, PhD study chair
Catharina Hospital, Eindhoven, Netherlands
Pieter J Tanis, MD, PhD study director
Department of Surgery, Amsterdam University Medical Centre, Location AMC, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Cornelis J Punt, MD, PhD study director
Department of Medical Oncology, Amsterdam University Medical Centre, Location AMC, Amsterdam, Netherlands
9 sites in 2 countries: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 2/3 study testing Perioperative systemic therapy, Perioperative CAPOX-bevacizumab and Perioperative FOLFOX-bevacizumab in people with Colorectal Neoplasm and Colorectal Cancer, run by Koen Rovers at 9 sites in 2 countries.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: under way, not looking for participants, as of the sponsor's last update on 24 Mar 2026. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 9 sites in Netherlands, Belgium. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this combined phase mean?
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
This study is still under way. Results are not available in the source record yet.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Overall survival (time frame: From enrolment up to five years thereafter). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT02758951, which also lists 4 linked publications.
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 24 Mar 2026.