Vulvovaginal AtrophyPhase 4NCT02784613
Vulvoscopy Changes of the Vulva, Vestibule and Vagina With Daily Ospemifene in Women With Dyspareunia From VVA
A Phase 4 study testing Ospemifene in people with Vulvovaginal Atrophy and Dyspareunia, run by Sue Goldstein at 1 site in United States.
Trial summary
This is an unblinded study to be conducted at a single research center, San Diego Sexual Medicine. Subjects meeting inclusion and exclusion criteria will receive 60 mg ospemifene daily for twenty weeks. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 21 to 80 years, women only
- Conditions the study is for
- Vulvovaginal Atrophy, Dyspareunia
- What is being tested?
- Ospemifene
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 10 participants
- Where
- 1 siteUnited States
- Study dates
- Jul 2015to 17 Apr 2017
- Phase
- Phase 4
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 21 to 80 years
- Women only
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
Who may be able to join
- Subject provides written informed consent and HIPAA authorization before any study procedures are conducted
- Subject is female
- Subject is aged 21-80 years
- Subject has a body mass index (BMI) < 37 kg/m2
- Subject is menopausal either naturally (at least 12 months amenorrheic) or 6 weeks after a bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy prior to natural menopause subjects with hysterectomy only must have a serum Follicle Stimulating Hormone > 40 milli-International unit /mL
- Subject has vulvovaginal atrophy with dyspareunia
Show all 10Show fewer
- Subject has had a normal mammogram within the last 6 months
- Subject has normal pap smear within last 6 months
- Subject has an endometrial stripe ≤ 4 mm within the last 6 months if she has a uterus
- Subject agrees to comply with the study procedures and visits.
Who cannot join
- Subject has a hypersensitivity to any of the ingredients of ospemifene
- Subject has used ospemifene in the past
- Subject has documented or suspected breast cancer, history of heart attack or stroke
- Subject has clinically significant findings on physical examination
- Subject has uncontrolled hypertension
- Subject has any chronic medical condition or psychologic disorder that the Principal Investigator feels makes her ineligible for the study
Show all 13Show fewer
- Subject is currently on local or systemic androgen therapy including local or systemic testosterone (washout 14 days for local or topical androgen or non-depot injection, 1 month for depot, 6 months for pellet
- Subject is currently on local or systemic estrogen therapy or androgen therapy (washout 14 days for vaginal estrogen, 60 days for oral/transdermal therapy)
- Subject is currently using a Selective Estrogen Receptor Modulator (SERM) or products that have estrogenic or anti-estrogenic effects within last month
- Subject currently using itraconazole, ketoconazole, digitalis or alkaloids heparin or strong cytochrome P 450 3A4 inhibitors
- Subject has a history of substance abuse within 12 months prior, or consuming > 14 alcoholic drinks per week
- Subject has received an investigational drug within 30 days prior to signing consent
- Subject has any condition or exhibits behavior that indicates to the Principal Investigator that the Subject is unlikely to be compliant with study procedures and visits.
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
United States1 site
San Diego Sexual Medicine
San Diego, California, 92120
About this study
Official title: Open-Label Pilot Prospective Vulvoscopy Photography Study of Visible Changes in the Vulva, Vestibule, Vagina Pre/Post 20 Weeks of Daily Administration 60 Mg Ospemifene in Post-Menopausal Women With Dyspareunia From Vulvar Vaginal Atrophy
This is an unblinded study to be conducted at a single research center, San Diego Sexual Medicine. Subjects meeting inclusion and exclusion criteria will receive 60 mg ospemifene daily for twenty weeks. After the informed consent is signed, a baseline physical examination, and vulvoscopy with detailed photography of the vulva, vestibule and vagina, will be performed. Physical examination and vulvoscopy with detailed photography of the vulva, vestibule and vagina, will be repeated prospectively every 4 weeks for a total of 20 weeks. Therefore, physical examination and vulvoscopy with detailed photography of the vulva, vestibule and vagina will be performed prospectively at baseline (vulvoscopy session 1), 4 weeks (vulvoscopy session 2), 8 weeks (vulvoscopy session 3), 12, weeks (vulvoscopy session 4), 16 weeks (vulvoscopy session 5) and 20 weeks (vulvoscopy session 6) following daily administration of 60 mg ospemifene.
Read the detailed description
Ospemifene is indicated for post-menopausal women diagnosed with vulvar vaginal atrophy (VVA) and dyspareunia. While ospemifene clinically significantly reduces pain associated with dyspareunia, there has been little prospective documentation using vulvoscopy with detailed photography of the visible changes to the vulva, vestibule and vaginal region with daily administration of 60 mg ospemifene in post-menopausal women with VVA and dyspareunia. This study will include a total of 6 prospective photographic sessions of the vulva, vestibule and vagina over the 20 weeks administration of 60 mg ospemifene in the study. Comparisons will be made of baseline photography (vulvoscopy session 0) with photography at 4 weeks (vulvoscopy session 1), 8 weeks (vulvoscopy session 2), 12 weeks (vulvoscopy session 3), 16 weeks (vulvoscopy session 4) and 20 weeks (vulvoscopy session 5).
Currently there have been limited prospective studies using vulvoscopy with detailed photography demonstrating visible changes to the vulva, vestibule and vagina following oral administration of 60 mg ospemifene in post-menopausal women with VVA and dyspareunia. Information regarding visible changes to the vulva, vestibule and vagina may be very important to the patient and to the health care provider to best understand the beneficial effects of ospemifene and to ensure patient compliance with treatment.
- Conditions
- Vulvovaginal Atrophy, Dyspareunia
- Being tested
- Ospemifene
- Medical subject headings
- Dyspareunia
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
OspemifeneDrug
Also called Osphena
FDA approved medication for the treatment of vulvovaginal atrophy and dyspareunia
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Ospemifene open label | Experimental | 60 mg ospemifene daily for 20 weeks Receives: Drug: Ospemifene |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Visible Changes to the Vulva, Vestibule and Vaginal Region on Photography
Change in score on the Vulvoscopic Genital Tissue Appearance (VGTA) scale from baseline to 20 weeks was measured using ten parameters: 1) loss of labia majora, 2) loss of labia minora, 3) decreased glans clitoris, 4) prominence of the urethral meatus, 5) stenosis of the introitus, 6) vestibular pallor, 7) vestibular erythema, 8) loss of vestibular moisture, 9) loss of vaginal rugae, and 10) loss of prominence of the anterior vaginal wall to determine health of the vulva, vestibule and vaginal region using vulvoscopic photographs. VGTA scoring ranges from 0 (normal) to 3 (most severe) for each parameter, for a total score ranging from 0 (normal) to 30 (most severe). Each region assessed is reflected as worse for a higher score and better for a lower score in the 0-3 range, and the same for the total score, with 0 being the best possible score and 30 the worse.
Measured: Baseline and 20 weeks
Secondary outcomes (2)
Changes in Pain Scale
Changes in pain as noted on the pain scale (0-3) by q-tip testing of the vestibule by the clinician, with 0 representing no pain at the location and 3 being severe in each location, 1 o'clock, 3 o'clock, 5 o'clock, 6 o'clock, 7 o'clock, 9 o'clock and 11 o'clock circling the vestibule. The maximum total pain score range is 0 (no pain) to the worst score possible of 21 indicating severe pain at all locations.
Measured: Baseline and 20 weeks
Percentage of Sexual Encounters in Which Pain Was Experienced
For each sexual encounter, patients were required to record a ''yes" or "no" response to the following question: Did you experience pain during intercourse? The percentage of sexual encounters in which the woman answered "yes" to this question at baseline (first month of the study) and at week 20 (last month of the study) was compared. The worst score possible was experiencing pain during 100% of sexual encounters and the best possible score was experiencing pain during 0% of sexual encounters at any given assessment period.
Measured: Baseline and 20 weeks
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted27 May 2016 (estimated)
- Study startJul 2015
- Primary completion7 Feb 2017
- Study completion17 Apr 2017
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Publications (5)Papers the sponsor has linked to this study.
- Other trials for Vulvovaginal AtrophyStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 4
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 10 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Sue Goldstein
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Responsible party
- Sponsor-investigator, Sue Goldstein, San Diego Sexual Medicine
- Investigators
- Irwin Goldstein, MD, Principal investigator, San Diego Sexual Medicine
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT02784613
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- SDSM-2015-02
- Status last verified
- Mar 2019
- First submitted
- 20 May 2016
- Last updated
- 2 Apr 2019
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
- Data monitoring committee
- No
- Individual data sharing
- No: Information will be combined and not reported as individual participant data.
Publications
Bachmann GA, Komi JO; Ospemifene Study Group. Ospemifene effectively treats vulvovaginal atrophy in postmenopausal women: results from a pivotal phase 3 study. Menopause. 2010 May-Jun;17(3):480-6. doi: 10.1097/gme.0b013e3181c1ac01.
PubMed 20032798Portman DJ, Bachmann GA, Simon JA; Ospemifene Study Group. Ospemifene, a novel selective estrogen receptor modulator for treating dyspareunia associated with postmenopausal vulvar and vaginal atrophy. Menopause. 2013 Jun;20(6):623-30. doi: 10.1097/gme.0b013e318279ba64.
PubMed 23361170Goldstein SR, Bachmann GA, Koninckx PR, Lin VH, Portman DJ, Ylikorkala O; Ospemifene Study Group. Ospemifene 12-month safety and efficacy in postmenopausal women with vulvar and vaginal atrophy. Climacteric. 2014 Apr;17(2):173-82. doi: 10.3109/13697137.2013.834493. Epub 2013 Nov 23.
PubMed 23984673Simon JA, Lin VH, Radovich C, Bachmann GA; Ospemifene Study Group. One-year long-term safety extension study of ospemifene for the treatment of vulvar and vaginal atrophy in postmenopausal women with a uterus. Menopause. 2013 Apr;20(4):418-27. doi: 10.1097/gme.0b013e31826d36ba.
PubMed 23096251Goldstein SW, Winter AG, Goldstein I. Improvements to the Vulva, Vestibule, Urethral Meatus, and Vagina in Women Treated With Ospemifene for Moderate to Severe Dyspareunia: A Prospective Vulvoscopic Pilot Study. Sex Med. 2018 Jun;6(2):154-161. doi: 10.1016/j.esxm.2018.03.002. Epub 2018 Apr 18.
PubMed 29678557
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 2 Apr 2019. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Open-Label Pilot Prospective Vulvoscopy Photography Study of Visible Changes in the Vulva, Vestibule, Vagina Pre/Post 20 Weeks of Daily Administration 60 Mg Ospemifene in Post-Menopausal Women With Dyspareunia From Vulvar Vaginal Atrophy
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT02784613
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- SDSM-2015-02
- Conditions
- Vulvovaginal Atrophy, Dyspareunia
- Phase
- Phase 4
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 10 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Sue GoldsteinUniversity, hospital or other
- Study start
- Jul 2015
- Primary completion
- 7 Feb 2017 (actual)
- Study completion
- 17 Apr 2017 (actual)
- First posted
- 27 May 2016 (estimated)
- Results
- Posted 2 Apr 2019
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
This is an unblinded study to be conducted at a single research center, San Diego Sexual Medicine. Subjects meeting inclusion and exclusion criteria will receive 60 mg ospemifene daily for twenty weeks. After the informed consent is signed, a baseline physical examination, and vulvoscopy with detailed photography of the vulva, vestibule and vagina, will be performed. Physical examination and vulvoscopy with detailed photography of the vulva, vestibule and vagina, will be repeated prospectively every 4 weeks for a total of 20 weeks. Therefore, physical examination and vulvoscopy with detailed photography of the vulva, vestibule and vagina will be performed prospectively at baseline (vulvoscopy session 1), 4 weeks (vulvoscopy session 2), 8 weeks (vulvoscopy session 3), 12, weeks (vulvoscopy session 4), 16 weeks (vulvoscopy session 5) and 20 weeks (vulvoscopy session 6) following daily administration of 60 mg ospemifene.
Detailed description
Ospemifene is indicated for post-menopausal women diagnosed with vulvar vaginal atrophy (VVA) and dyspareunia. While ospemifene clinically significantly reduces pain associated with dyspareunia, there has been little prospective documentation using vulvoscopy with detailed photography of the visible changes to the vulva, vestibule and vaginal region with daily administration of 60 mg ospemifene in post-menopausal women with VVA and dyspareunia. This study will include a total of 6 prospective photographic sessions of the vulva, vestibule and vagina over the 20 weeks administration of 60 mg ospemifene in the study. Comparisons will be made of baseline photography (vulvoscopy session 0) with photography at 4 weeks (vulvoscopy session 1), 8 weeks (vulvoscopy session 2), 12 weeks (vulvoscopy session 3), 16 weeks (vulvoscopy session 4) and 20 weeks (vulvoscopy session 5).
Currently there have been limited prospective studies using vulvoscopy with detailed photography demonstrating visible changes to the vulva, vestibule and vagina following oral administration of 60 mg ospemifene in post-menopausal women with VVA and dyspareunia. Information regarding visible changes to the vulva, vestibule and vagina may be very important to the patient and to the health care provider to best understand the beneficial effects of ospemifene and to ensure patient compliance with treatment.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 1
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Ospemifene open label | Experimental | Drug: Ospemifene60 mg ospemifene daily for 20 weeks |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 21 to 80 years
- Sex
- Female only
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Key inclusion criteria (10 listed)
- Subject provides written informed consent and HIPAA authorization before any study procedures are conducted
- Subject is female
- Subject is aged 21-80 years
- Subject has a body mass index (BMI) < 37 kg/m2
- Subject is menopausal either naturally (at least 12 months amenorrheic) or 6 weeks after a bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy prior to natural menopause subjects with hysterectomy only must have a serum Follicle Stimulating Hormone > 40 milli-International unit /mL
Key exclusion criteria (13 listed)
- Subject has a hypersensitivity to any of the ingredients of ospemifene
- Subject has used ospemifene in the past
- Subject has documented or suspected breast cancer, history of heart attack or stroke
- Subject has clinically significant findings on physical examination
- Subject has uncontrolled hypertension
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| OspemifeneAlso: OsphenaFDA approved medication for the treatment of vulvovaginal atrophy and dyspareunia | Drug | Ospemifene open label |
Primary outcome
Visible Changes to the Vulva, Vestibule and Vaginal Region on Photography
Time frame: Baseline and 20 weeks
Change in score on the Vulvoscopic Genital Tissue Appearance (VGTA) scale from baseline to 20 weeks was measured using ten parameters: 1) loss of labia majora, 2) loss of labia minora, 3) decreased glans clitoris, 4) prominence of the urethral meatus, 5) stenosis of the introitus, 6) vestibular pallor, 7) vestibular erythema, 8) loss of vestibular moisture, 9) loss of vaginal rugae, and 10) loss of prominence of the anterior vaginal wall to determine health of the vulva, vestibule and vaginal region using vulvoscopic photographs. VGTA scoring ranges from 0 (normal) to 3 (most severe) for each parameter, for a total score ranging from 0 (normal) to 30 (most severe). Each region assessed is reflected as worse for a higher score and better for a lower score in the 0-3 range, and the same for the total score, with 0 being the best possible score and 30 the worse.
2 secondary outcomes
Changes in Pain Scale
Time frame: Baseline and 20 weeks
Percentage of Sexual Encounters in Which Pain Was Experienced
Time frame: Baseline and 20 weeks
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 2 Apr 2019.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
- Background: PubMed 20032798Bachmann GA, Komi JO; Ospemifene Study Group. Ospemifene effectively treats vulvovaginal atrophy in postmenopausal women: results from a pivotal phase 3 study. Menopause. 2010 May-Jun;17(3):480-6. doi: 10.1097/gme.0b013e3181c1ac01.
- Background: PubMed 23361170Portman DJ, Bachmann GA, Simon JA; Ospemifene Study Group. Ospemifene, a novel selective estrogen receptor modulator for treating dyspareunia associated with postmenopausal vulvar and vaginal atrophy. Menopause. 2013 Jun;20(6):623-30. doi: 10.1097/gme.0b013e318279ba64.
- Background: PubMed 23984673Goldstein SR, Bachmann GA, Koninckx PR, Lin VH, Portman DJ, Ylikorkala O; Ospemifene Study Group. Ospemifene 12-month safety and efficacy in postmenopausal women with vulvar and vaginal atrophy. Climacteric. 2014 Apr;17(2):173-82. doi: 10.3109/13697137.2013.834493. Epub 2013 Nov 23.
- Background: PubMed 23096251Simon JA, Lin VH, Radovich C, Bachmann GA; Ospemifene Study Group. One-year long-term safety extension study of ospemifene for the treatment of vulvar and vaginal atrophy in postmenopausal women with a uterus. Menopause. 2013 Apr;20(4):418-27. doi: 10.1097/gme.0b013e31826d36ba.
- Results publication: PubMed 29678557Goldstein SW, Winter AG, Goldstein I. Improvements to the Vulva, Vestibule, Urethral Meatus, and Vagina in Women Treated With Ospemifene for Moderate to Severe Dyspareunia: A Prospective Vulvoscopic Pilot Study. Sex Med. 2018 Jun;6(2):154-161. doi: 10.1016/j.esxm.2018.03.002. Epub 2018 Apr 18.
- Individual participant dataSharing planned: No. Information will be combined and not reported as individual participant data.
Related trials for Vulvovaginal Atrophy
RecruitingPhase 2
Proof of Concept Study of Vaginal AZU-101 in Vulvovaginal Atrophy in Postmenopausal Women
Vulvo Vaginal Atrophy (VVA)
Recruiting
F-GYN for Vaginal Dryness and Vulvovaginal Atrophy
Atrophic Vaginitis, Atrophic Vulvovaginitis
Recruiting
A Laser and Topical Treatment Combination in the Vulvo-vaginal Atrophy Management in Breast Cancer Patients.
Female Urogenital Diseases, Breast Cancer Female
Not yet recruitingObservational study
Retrospective Cohort Study of Symptoms and Quality of Life in Women With Genitourinary Syndrome of Menopause.
Vulvar Atrophy, Vulvovaginal Signs and Symptoms
RecruitingObservational study
Determining the Extent of the Genitourinary Syndrome of Menopause Burden in Breast Cancer Survivors
Genitourinary Syndrome of Menopause (GSM), Breast Cancer
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Irwin Goldstein, MD principal investigator
San Diego Sexual Medicine
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 4 study testing Ospemifene in people with Vulvovaginal Atrophy and Dyspareunia, run by Sue Goldstein at 1 site in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 10 inclusion and 13 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 2 Apr 2019. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 4 studies take place after a treatment is approved, to learn more about its long-term benefits and risks in everyday use.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 2 Apr 2019). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Visible Changes to the Vulva, Vestibule and Vaginal Region on Photography (time frame: Baseline and 20 weeks). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT02784613, which also lists 5 linked publications.
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 2 Apr 2019.