AzTrials
AzTrials

Zika Virus InfectionPhase 1NCT03008122

Phase I, Randomized, Double-blinded, Placebo-Controlled Dose De-escalation Study to Evaluate Safety and Immunogenicity of Alum Adjuvanted Zika Virus Purified Inactivated Vaccine (ZPIV) in Adults in a Flavivirus Endemic Area

A Phase 1 study testing Zika Virus Purified Inactivated Vaccine (ZPIV) in people with Zika Virus Infection, run by National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) at 1 site in Puerto Rico.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

This study is randomized, double-blinded, placebo-controlled, Phase 1, dose de-escalation study to evaluate the safety, reactogenicity, and immunogenicity of Alum Adjuvanted Zika Virus Purified Inactivated Vaccine (ZPIV) administered to healthy male and non-pregnant female adult subjects. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 21 to 49 yearsHealthy volunteers can take part
Conditions the study is for
Zika Virus Infection
What is being tested?
Zika Virus Purified Inactivated Vaccine (ZPIV)
Type of treatment
Vaccines
Could I receive a placebo?
Yes, some participants may receive a placebo
How many people
91 participants
Where
1 sitePuerto Rico
Study dates
21 Mar 2017to 10 Aug 2021
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 21 to 49 years
  • All sexes
  • Healthy volunteers accepted
  • Adult

Who may be able to join

  • Must be a male or non-pregnant, non-breastfeeding female between the age of 21 and 49 years, inclusive at the time of screening and enrollment.
  • Must be willing and able to read, sign and date the informed consent document before study related procedures are performed.
  • Must be willing and able to comply with study requirements and available for follow-up visits for the entire study.
  • Must have a means to be contacted by telephone.
  • Must have a body mass index (BMI) > /= 18.1 and < 35.0 kg/m2.
  • Must have acceptable* screening laboratory findings within 28 days before enrollment.
Show all 31Show fewer
  • Acceptable clinical laboratory parameters include:
  • Hemoglobin: women: > /= 11.5 g/dL; men > /= 13.5 g/dL
  • Hemotocrit: women: > /= 34.5%; men > /= 40.5%
  • White blood cell count: > /= 3.500 cells/mm3 but < /= 10,800 cells/mm3
  • Platelets: > /= 150,000 but < /= 450,000 per mm3
  • Urine dipstick (clean urine sample): protein < 1+, glucose negative
  • Serum creatinine < /= 1 x institutional upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Blood urea nitrogen (BUN) < 25
  • Alanine aminotransferase (ALT) and aspartate aminotransferase (AST) < 1.25 x institutional ULN
  • Total bilirubin < 1.25 x institutional ULN
  • Note: If laboratory screening tests are out of acceptable range, repeat of screening tests is permitted once, provided there is an alternative explanation for the out of range value.
  • Must be in good health based on the investigator's clinical judgment when considering findings from past medical history, medication use, vital signs, and an abbreviated physical examination.
  • Note 1: Good health is defined by the absence of any medical condition described in the exclusion criteria in a subject with a normal abbreviated physical exam and vital signs. If the subject has a preexisting condition not listed in exclusion criteria, it cannot meet any of the following criteria: 1) first diagnosed in last 3 months; 2) worsening in terms of clinical outcome in last 6 months; or 3) involves need for medication that may pose a risk to subject's safety or impede assessment of adverse events or immunogenicity if they participate in study.
  • Note 2: An abbreviated physical exam differs from a complete exam in that it does not include a genitourinary and rectal exam.
  • Note 3: Vital signs must be normal by protocol toxicity grading scale or determined to be normal-variant by investigator. In the event of an abnormal heart rate or blood pressure due to physiological variation or activity, the subject may rest for 10 minutes in a quiet room, and then blood pressure and/or heart rate may be re-measured. Repeated vital signs may be used to determine eligibility.
  • Women of childbearing potential* must have a negative serum pregnancy test at screening and a negative urine pregnancy test immediately prior to each vaccination.
  • Note: All female subjects are considered of childbearing potential unless postmenopausal or surgically sterilized and > /= 3 months have passed since sterilization procedure. Postmenopausal is defined as amenorrhea for > /= 12 months without an alternative medical cause. Permanent female sterilization procedures include tubal ligation, bilateral salpingectomy, hysterectomy, bilateral oophorectomy, or successful Essure placement.
  • Women of childbearing potential must use an acceptable method of contraception* from one month (30 days) prior to the first vaccination until the end of the study.
  • Acceptable methods of contraception include the following:
  • Use highly effective contraceptive methods, defined by < 1% failure rate per year independent of user adherence, including long-acting reversible contraception (LARC): progestin-releasing subdermal implants and intrauterine devices (IUD), OR
  • Use effective contraceptive methods, defined by 5-9% failure rate with typical use and < 1% failure rate with consistent and correct use, including: prescription oral contraceptives, contraceptive injections, combined pill, progestin-only pill, hormone-releasing transdermal patch or vaginal ring, and depot medroxyprogesterone acetate injection (Depo-Provera), OR
  • Male sex partners must have had a vasectomy > /= 3 months prior to first vaccination, OR
  • Practice abstinence defined as refraining from heterosexual intercourse from 30 days before first vaccination until the end of the study.
  • Female subjects must agree to not donate eggs (ova, oocytes) from the start of screening period until the end of the study.
  • Subjects must provide concurrent consent at the time of enrollment and 1st vaccination to future use of stored blood samples to measure immunity to ZIKV.

Who cannot join

  • Has plans to become pregnant during the course of the study, or is currently pregnant or breastfeeding.
  • Plans to receive a licensed flavivirus vaccine or participate in another flavivirus vaccine trial during the study.
  • Has positive serology for HIV 1/2, Hepatitis C virus, or Hepatitis B surface antigen.
  • Has known or suspected congenital or acquired immunodeficiency, or recent history or current use of immunosuppressive therapy* *Anti-cancer chemotherapy or radiation therapy within the preceding 6 months, or long-term (at least 2 weeks within the previous 3 months) systemic corticosteroids therapy (at a dose of at least 0.5 mg/kg/day). Intranasal or topical prednisone (or equivalent) is allowed.
  • Had organ and/or stem cell transplantation whether or not on chronic immunosuppressive therapy.
  • Has history of malignancy other than squamous cell or basal cell skin cancer, unless there has been surgical excision that is considered to have achieved cure*.
Show all 34Show fewer
  • Subjects with a history of skin cancer must not be vaccinated at the previous tumor site.
  • Has history of chronic or acute severe neurologic condition*.
  • Including history of Guillain-Barre syndrome, seizure disorder or epilepsy, Bell's palsy, meningitis, or disease with any focal neurologic deficits.
  • Has diabetes mellitus type 1 or type 2, including cases controlled with diet alone.
  • Note: history of isolated gestational diabetes is not an exclusion criterion.
  • Has history of thyroidectomy, or thyroid disease requiring medication during the last 12 months.
  • Has major psychiatric illness during last 12 months that in the investigator's opinion would preclude participation.
  • Has history of other chronic disease or condition*.
  • Includes the conditions and diagnoses defined as AESI in section 9, as well as autoimmune disease, hypercholesterolemia, chronic hepatitis or cirrhosis, chronic pulmonary disease, chronic renal disease, and chronic cardiac disease including hypertension even if medically controlled
  • Vital signs must be normal by protocol toxicity grading scale or determined to be normal-variant by investigator. In the event of an abnormal heart rate or blood pressure due to physiological variation or activity, the subject may rest for 10 minutes in a quiet room, and then blood pressure and/or heart rate may be re-measured. Repeated vital signs may be used to determine eligibility.
  • Has current or past history of substance abuse that in the investigator's opinion would preclude participation.
  • Has tattoos, scars, or other marks on both deltoid areas that would, in the opinion of the investigator, interfere with assessment of the vaccination site.
  • Has a history of chronic urticaria (recurrent hives).
  • Has known allergy or history of anaphylaxis or other serious reaction to a vaccine or vaccine component*.
  • Including aluminum hydroxide (alum) or aminoglycosides (e.g., neomycin and streptomycin).
  • Had major surgery (per the investigator's judgment) in the month prior to screening or plans to have major surgery during the study.
  • Received blood products or immunoglobulin in the 3 months prior to screening or planned use during the course of the study.
  • Donated a unit of blood within 8 weeks before Day 1 or plans to donate blood during the course of the study.
  • Received live attenuated vaccine from 30 days before Day 1 or plans to receive a live attenuated vaccine from Day 1 until 30 days after the last vaccination.
  • Received killed or inactivated vaccine from 14 days before Day 1 or plans to receive a killed or inactivated vaccine from Day 1 until 14 days after the last vaccination.
  • Received experimental therapeutic agents within 3 months prior to the first study vaccination or plans to receive any experimental therapeutic agents during the course of the study.
  • Is currently participating or plans to participate in another clinical study involving an investigational product, blood drawing, or an invasive procedure listed below.
  • An invasive procedure requiring administration of anesthetics or intravenous dyes or removal of tissue would be excluded. This includes endoscopy, bronchoscopy, or administration of IV contrast.
  • Has an acute illness or temperature > /= 38.0ºC on Day 1 or Day 29* or within 2 days prior to vaccination.
  • Subjects with fever or an acute illness on the day of vaccination or in the 2 days prior to vaccination may be re-assessed and enrolled if healthy or only minor residual symptoms remain within 2 days of Day 1 or Day 29.
  • Is a study site employee* or staff paid entirely or partially by the OCRR contract or subcontract for the trial, or staff who are supervised by the PI or Sub-Investigators.
  • Including the Principal Investigator, sub-Investigators listed in Form FDA 1572 or Investigator of Record Form
  • In the investigator's opinion, the subject cannot communicate reliably, is unlikely to adhere to the study requirements, or has a condition that would limit their ability to complete the study.

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

Puerto Rico1 site
  • Ponce School of Medicine CAIMED Center

    Ponce, 00716

Other trials in Puerto Rico

About this study

Official title: Phase I, Randomized, Double-blinded, Placebo-Controlled Dose De-escalation Study to Evaluate the Safety and Immunogenicity of Alum Adjuvanted Zika Virus Purified Inactivated Vaccine (ZPIV) Administered by the Intramuscular Route in Adult Subjects Who Reside in a Flavivirus Endemic Area

This study is randomized, double-blinded, placebo-controlled, Phase 1, dose de-escalation study to evaluate the safety, reactogenicity, and immunogenicity of Alum Adjuvanted Zika Virus Purified Inactivated Vaccine (ZPIV) administered to healthy male and non-pregnant female adult subjects. This study will enroll 90 healthy male and non-pregnant female subjects between the ages of 21 and 49 and will be conducted at Ponce Medical School Foundation, Inc.-CAIMED in Ponce, Puerto Rico. The duration of each subject's participation is approximately 26 months from recruitment through the last study visit. The entire study is expected to take approximately 49 months to complete. Two dose levels will be evaluated. Each subject will receive either placebo or 5 mcg (Group 1) or 2.5 mcg (Group 2) of ZPIV administered by intramuscular (IM) injection on Days 1 and 29. Solicited local and systemic reactogenicity data will be collected from all subjects through Day 8 after each vaccination. All subjects will be monitored for occurrence of unsolicited adverse events until 28 days after the second vaccination. The study will consist of a screening period of up to 28 days, a vaccination period in which subjects will receive a prime dose of vaccine on Day 1 followed by a boost on Day 29, and a follow-up period of 24 months post boost vaccination. Primary objectives are: 1) Assess the safety and reactogenicity of a homologous prime boost regimen of ZPIV given at two different dose levels. 2) Compare the safety and reactogenicity of ZPIV after each vaccination, between dosage groups, and by pre-vaccination flavivirus immune status.

Read the detailed description

This study is a single-center, randomized, double-blinded, placebo-controlled, Phase 1, dose de-escalation study to evaluate the safety, reactogenicity, and immunogenicity of a purified inactivated, alum-adjuvanted ZIKV vaccine (ZPIV) administered in a homologous prime-boost regimen to healthy male and non-pregnant female adult subjects living in a flavivirus-endemic area. This study will enroll 90 subjects between the ages of 21 and 49 and will be conducted at Ponce Medical School Foundation, Inc.-CAIMED in Ponce, Puerto Rico. The entire duration of each subject's participation is approximately 26 months including recruitment and collection of data on the safety and reactogenicity of the study vaccine and collection of samples for the assessment of immunogenicity. This study is expected to take approximately 49 months to complete. Two dose levels will be evaluated. Each subject will receive either placebo or 5 mcg (Group 1) or 2.5 mcg (Group 2) of ZPIV administered by intramuscular (IM) injection on Days 1 and 29. The study will consist of a screening period of up to 28 days, a vaccination period in which subjects will receive a prime dose of vaccine on Day 1 followed by a homologous boost on Day 29, and a follow-up period of 24 months post boost vaccination. The study will begin with enrollment of 2 sentinel subjects in Group 1 who will receive 5 mcg ZPIV open label. One sentinel subject will be vaccinated, followed for one day for safety and reactogenicity, and if no halting rules are met per determination of the PI and co-PI, then the second sentinel subject will receive 5 mcg ZPIV open-label. Both sentinels will be followed for safety through Day 8 and if no predefined halting rules are met and no safety concerns are identified, then enrollment of the Group 1 non-sentinel subjects will proceed in double-blind fashion. The same procedure will be used for administration of the boost vaccination to the Group 1 sentinels: 1 sentinel (can be either) will receive 5 mcg ZPIV open-label, be followed for one day for safety and reactogenicity, and if no halting rules are met, then the 2nd sentinel will receive the boost vaccine. Both sentinels will be followed until Day 8 after 2nd vaccination for safety and reactogenicity and if no halting rules are met, then boost vaccination of the Group 1 non-sentinel subjects can proceed. Enrollment of the 2.5 mcg ZPIV group (Group 2) can begin after or at the same time non-sentinel subjects in Group 1 receive the 1st dose of vaccine. As of December 18, 2017, the majority of non-sentinel subjects in Group 1 have already received the 1st dose and have been followed until Day 8 for safety and reactogenicity, and no halting rules have been met or safety concerns identified. As this is a dose de-escalation study, concurrent enrollment of some remaining non-sentinel subjects in Groups 1 is permitted after enrollment of Group 2 subjects has begun; also, no sentinel subjects will be used in Group 2. All subjects in Group 2 will receive study product or placebo in double-blind fashion. The original study design planned to enroll 40 ZPIV recipients and 5 placebo recipients in each Group. However, due a natural disaster (hurricane Maria), 11 subjects enrolled in Group 1 had loss of samples at key timepoints. To rebalance the number of evaluable subjects between Groups, Group 1 enrollment will be increased by 5 subjects and Group 2 enrollment will be decreased by 5 subjects, for a total enrollment of 50 subjects in Group 1 and 40 in Group 2. Treatment assignments for both groups will be assigned according to the originally planned 8:1 ratio of ZPIV: placebo. Without compromising the blind of the study, we can anticipate approximately 35 evaluable ZPIV recipients and approximately 5 evaluable placebo recipients in each group. All subjects will receive a homologous boost of ZPIV or placebo 28 days post-prime if no halting rules precluding second vaccination are met (Section 9). All subjects will be monitored for occurrence of unsolicited AEs until 28 days after the second vaccination SAEs, AESIs, and history of new medical conditions with onset after the first vaccination will be collected for the duration of the study. Blood for evaluation of antibodies to ZIKV by ELISA and neutralizing antibody assays will be collected at Visit 00, prior to each vaccination, and at multiple timepoints afterward. Primary objectives are: 1) Assess the safety and reactogenicity of a homologous prime boost regimen of ZPIV given at two different dose levels in a dose de-escalation format in healthy adult subjects who live in Puerto Rico, a flavivirus endemic area. 2) Compare the safety and reactogenicity profile of ZPIV after each vaccination, between dosage groups, and by pre-vaccination flavivirus immune status. Secondary Objectives are: 1) Assess the humoral immune response to a homologous prime-boost regimen of ZPIV after each dose of vaccine as determined by kinetics of the immune responses, seroconversion rates, and Geometric Mean Titers (GMT) overall, and compare results between dosage groups and by pre-vaccination flavivirus immune status. 2) Assess the durability of the humoral immune response to ZPIV at 6, 12, 18, and 24 months after the second vaccine administration overall, and compare results between dosage groups and by pre-vaccination flavivirus immune status.

Being tested
Placebo, Zika Virus Purified Inactivated Vaccine (ZPIV)
Keywords
Flavivirus, Inactivated, Phase I, Vaccine, ZIKA, ZPIV
Medical subject headings
Zika Virus Infection

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • PlaceboOther

    Placebo

  • Zika Virus Purified Inactivated Vaccine (ZPIV)Biological

    Zika Virus Purified Inactivated Vaccine with aluminum hydroxide adjuvant.

Study groups in NCT03008122
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Group 1Experimental5 mcg ZPIV administered IM in a homologous prime-boost regimen on Day 1 and Day 29 , n=45 (2 sentinels, 43 non-sentinels) or placebo, n=5
Receives: Other: Placebo; Biological: Zika Virus Purified Inactivated Vaccine (ZPIV)
Group 2Experimental2.5 mcg ZPIV administered IM in a homologous prime-boost regimen on Day 1 and Day 29, n=35 or placebo, n=5
Receives: Other: Placebo; Biological: Zika Virus Purified Inactivated Vaccine (ZPIV)

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Local Events Post Dose 1 by Treatment Group for All Participants

    The following injection site reactogenicity events were measured: pain, tenderness, pruritus, ecchymosis, erythema, and induration. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  2. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Local Events Post Dose 2 by Treatment Group for All Participants

    The following injection site reactogenicity events were measured: pain, tenderness, pruritus, ecchymosis, erythema, and induration. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  3. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Local Events Post Dose 1 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive Participants

    The following injection site reactogenicity events were measured: pain, tenderness, pruritus, ecchymosis, erythema, and induration. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  4. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Local Events Post Dose 2 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive Participants

    The following injection site reactogenicity events were measured: pain, tenderness, pruritus, ecchymosis, erythema, and induration. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  5. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Local Events Post Dose 1 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative Participants

    The following injection site reactogenicity events were measured: pain, tenderness, pruritus, ecchymosis, erythema, and induration. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  6. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Local Events Post Dose 2 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative Participants

    The following injection site reactogenicity events were measured: pain, tenderness, pruritus, ecchymosis, erythema, and induration. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  7. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Local Events Post Dose 1 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seropositive Participants

    The following injection site reactogenicity events were measured: pain, tenderness, pruritus, ecchymosis, erythema, and induration. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  8. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Local Events Post Dose 2 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seropositive Participants

    The following injection site reactogenicity events were measured: pain, tenderness, pruritus, ecchymosis, erythema, and induration. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  9. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Local Events Post Dose 1 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seronegative Participants

    The following injection site reactogenicity events were measured: pain, tenderness, pruritus, ecchymosis, erythema, and induration. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  10. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Local Events Post Dose 2 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seronegative Participants

    The following injection site reactogenicity events were measured: pain, tenderness, pruritus, ecchymosis, erythema, and induration. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 29 though Day 36

  11. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Local Events Post Dose 1 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seropositive Participants

    The following injection site reactogenicity events were measured: pain, tenderness, pruritus, ecchymosis, erythema, and induration. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  12. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Local Events Post Dose 2 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seropositive Participants

    The following injection site reactogenicity events were measured: pain, tenderness, pruritus, ecchymosis, erythema, and induration. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  13. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Local Events Post Dose 1 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seronegative Participants

    The following injection site reactogenicity events were measured: pain, tenderness, pruritus, ecchymosis, erythema, and induration. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  14. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Local Events Post Dose 2 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seronegative Participants

    The following injection site reactogenicity events were measured: pain, tenderness, pruritus, ecchymosis, erythema, and induration. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  15. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Systemic Events Post Dose 1 by Treatment Group for All Participants

    The following systemic solicited events were measured: feverishness, fatigue, malaise, myalgia, arthralgia, headache, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain, rash, and fever. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  16. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Systemic Events Post Dose 2 by Treatment Group for All Participants

    The following systemic solicited events were measured: feverishness, fatigue, malaise, myalgia, arthralgia, headache, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain, rash, and fever. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  17. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Systemic Events Post Dose 1 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive Participants

    The following systemic solicited events were measured: feverishness, fatigue, malaise, myalgia, arthralgia, headache, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain, rash, and fever. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  18. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Systemic Events Post Dose 2 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive Participants

    The following systemic solicited events were measured: feverishness, fatigue, malaise, myalgia, arthralgia, headache, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain, rash, and fever. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  19. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Systemic Events Post Dose 1 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative Participants

    The following systemic solicited events were measured: feverishness, fatigue, malaise, myalgia, arthralgia, headache, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain, rash, and fever. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  20. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Systemic Events Post Dose 2 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative Participants

    The following systemic solicited events were measured: feverishness, fatigue, malaise, myalgia, arthralgia, headache, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain, rash, and fever. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  21. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Systemic Events Post Dose 1 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seropositive Participants

    The following systemic solicited events were measured: feverishness, fatigue, malaise, myalgia, arthralgia, headache, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain, rash, and fever. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  22. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Systemic Events Post Dose 2 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seropositive Participants

    The following systemic solicited events were measured: feverishness, fatigue, malaise, myalgia, arthralgia, headache, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain, rash, and fever. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  23. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Systemic Events Post Dose 1 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seronegative Participants

    The following systemic solicited events were measured: feverishness, fatigue, malaise, myalgia, arthralgia, headache, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain, rash, and fever. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  24. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Systemic Events Post Dose 2 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seronegative Participants

    The following systemic solicited events were measured: feverishness, fatigue, malaise, myalgia, arthralgia, headache, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain, rash, and fever. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  25. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Systemic Events Post Dose 1 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seropositive Participants

    The following systemic solicited events were measured: feverishness, fatigue, malaise, myalgia, arthralgia, headache, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain, rash, and fever. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  26. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Systemic Events Post Dose 2 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seropositive Participants

    The following systemic solicited events were measured: feverishness, fatigue, malaise, myalgia, arthralgia, headache, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain, rash, and fever. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  27. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Systemic Events Post Dose 1 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seronegative Participants

    The following systemic solicited events were measured: feverishness, fatigue, malaise, myalgia, arthralgia, headache, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain, rash, and fever. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  28. Frequency and Severity of Solicited Systemic Events Post Dose 2 by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seronegative Participants

    The following systemic solicited events were measured: feverishness, fatigue, malaise, myalgia, arthralgia, headache, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain, rash, and fever. Participants who reported not having a symptom are listed as "None", while participants who did not complete their Memory Aid or could not remember whether they had a symptom are listed as "Not Reported". Severity is the maximum severity reported over all solicited symptoms post dosing for each participant.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  29. Frequency and Severity of Unsolicited Adverse Events by Treatment Group for All Participants

    Adverse events (AEs) are defined as any untoward medical occurrence regardless of its causal relationship to study treatment. Number of participants with an AE are summarized by MedDRA System Organ Class (SOC). If a condition was present at screening, it was not considered an AE unless the severity worsened.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 57

  30. Frequency and Severity of Unsolicited Adverse Events by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive Participants

    Adverse events (AEs) are defined as any untoward medical occurrence regardless of its causal relationship to study treatment. Number of participants with an AE are summarized by MedDRA System Organ Class (SOC). If a condition was present at screening, it was not considered an AE unless the severity worsened.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 57

  31. Frequency and Severity of Unsolicited Adverse Events by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative Participants

    Adverse events (AEs) are defined as any untoward medical occurrence regardless of its causal relationship to study treatment. Number of participants with an AE are summarized by MedDRA System Organ Class (SOC). If a condition was present at screening, it was not considered an AE unless the severity worsened.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 57

  32. Frequency and Severity of Unsolicited Adverse Events by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seropositive Participants

    Adverse events (AEs) are defined as any untoward medical occurrence regardless of its causal relationship to study treatment. Number of participants with an AE are summarized by MedDRA System Organ Class (SOC). If a condition was present at screening, it was not considered an AE unless the severity worsened.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 57

  33. Frequency and Severity of Unsolicited Adverse Events by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seronegative Participants

    Adverse events (AEs) are defined as any untoward medical occurrence regardless of its causal relationship to study treatment. Number of participants with an AE are summarized by MedDRA System Organ Class (SOC). Each participant was counted once per SOC. If a condition was present at screening, it was not considered an AE unless the severity worsened.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 57

  34. Frequency and Severity of Unsolicited Adverse Events by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seropositive Participants

    Adverse events (AEs) are defined as any untoward medical occurrence regardless of its causal relationship to study treatment. Number of participants with an AE are summarized by MedDRA System Organ Class (SOC). If a condition was present at screening, it was not considered an AE unless the severity worsened.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 57

  35. Frequency and Severity of Unsolicited Adverse Events by Treatment Group for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seronegative Participants

    Adverse events (AEs) are defined as any untoward medical occurrence regardless of its causal relationship to study treatment. Number of participants with an AE are summarized by MedDRA System Organ Class (SOC). If a condition was present at screening, it was not considered an AE unless the severity worsened.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 57

  36. Frequency and Type of Serious Adverse Events (SAE) Considered Related to Study Vaccine for All Participants

    SAEs included any untoward medical occurrence that resulted in death; was life threatening; was a persistent/significant disability/incapacity; required inpatient hospitalization or prolongation or a congenital anomaly/birth defect.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 750

  37. Duration of Serious Adverse Events (SAE) Considered Related to Study Vaccine for All Participants

    SAEs included any untoward medical occurrence that resulted in death; was life threatening; was a persistent/significant disability/incapacity; required inpatient hospitalization or prolongation or a congenital anomaly/birth defect.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 750

  38. Frequency and Type of Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI) Considered Related to Study Vaccine for All Participants

    For this study Neurologic and Neuroinflammatory Disorders after the first vaccination were considered as Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI).

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 750

  39. Duration of Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI) Considered Related to Study Vaccine for All Participants

    For this study Neurologic and Neuroinflammatory Disorders after the first vaccination were considered as Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI).

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 750

  40. Frequency of New Onset Chronic Medical Conditions for All Participants

    New onset chronic medical conditions (NOCMCs) were any new medical conditions reported from the first administration of study vaccine until the end of the study.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 750

  41. Comparison of Frequency and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 1 for All Participants

    The number of participants experiencing each adverse event are listed.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  42. Comparison of the Frequency and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 2 for All Participants

    The number of participants experiencing each adverse event are listed.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  43. Comparison of the Frequency and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 1 for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive Participants

    The number of participants experiencing each adverse event are listed.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  44. Comparison of the Frequency and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 2 for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive Participants

    The number of participants experiencing each adverse event are listed.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  45. Comparison of the Frequency and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 1 for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative Participants

    The number of participants experiencing each adverse event are listed.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  46. Comparison of the Frequency and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 2 for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative Participants

    The number of participants experiencing each adverse event are listed.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  47. Comparison of the Frequency and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 1 for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seropositive Participants

    The number of participants experiencing each adverse event are listed.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  48. Comparison of the Frequency and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 2 for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seropositive Participants

    The number of participants experiencing each adverse event are listed.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  49. Comparison of the Frequency, Type, and Duration of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 1 for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seronegative Participants

    The number of participants experiencing each adverse event and the median duration of adverse events are listed.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  50. Comparison of the Frequency, Type, and Duration of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 2 for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seronegative Participants

    The number of participants experiencing each adverse event and the median duration of adverse events are listed.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  51. Comparison of the Frequency and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 1 for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seropositive Participants

    The number of participants experiencing each adverse event are listed.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  52. Comparison of the Frequency and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 2 for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seropositive Participants

    The number of participants experiencing each adverse event will be listed

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  53. Comparison of the Frequency and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 1 for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seronegative Participants

    The number of participants experiencing each adverse event are listed.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  54. Comparison of the Frequency and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 2 for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seronegative Participants

    The number of participants experiencing each adverse event are listed.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  55. Comparison of the Duration and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 1 for All Participants

    The median duration of adverse events are listed.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  56. Comparison of the Duration and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 2 for All Participants

    The median duration of adverse events are listed.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  57. Comparison of the Duration and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 1 for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive Participants

    The median duration of adverse events are listed.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  58. Comparison of the Duration and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 2 for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive Participants

    The median duration of adverse events are listed.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  59. Comparison of the Duration and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 1 for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative Participants

    The median duration of adverse events are listed.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  60. Comparison of the Duration and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 2 for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative Participants

    The median duration of adverse events are listed.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  61. Comparison of the Duration and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 1 for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seropositive Participants

    The median duration of adverse events are listed.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  62. Comparison of the Duration and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 2 for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seropositive Participants

    The median duration of adverse events are listed.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  63. Comparison of the Duration and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 1 for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seropositive Participants

    The median duration of adverse events are listed.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  64. Comparison of the Duration and Type Duration of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 2 for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seropositive Participants

    The median duration of adverse events are listed.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  65. Comparison of the Duration and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 1 for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seronegative Participants

    The median duration of adverse events are listed.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 8

  66. Comparison of the Duration and Type of Vaccine-related Grade 3 Local, Systemic, or Laboratory AE, and Grade 2 or Greater Local or Systemic Reactogenicity Post Dose 2 for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seronegative Participants

    The median duration of adverse events are listed.

    Measured: Day 29 through Day 36

  67. Comparison of Study Withdrawals and Discontinuation of Study Vaccination Due to Any Reason for All Participants

    Comparisons of the number of participants who withdrew early and who discontinued treatment are presented.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 750

  68. Comparison of Study Withdrawals and Discontinuation of Study Vaccination Due to Any Reason for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive Participants

    Comparisons of the number of participants who withdrew early and who discontinued treatment are presented.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 750

  69. Comparison of Study Withdrawals and Discontinuation of Study Vaccination Due to Any Reason for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative Participants

    Comparisons of the number of participants who withdrew early and who discontinued treatment are presented.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 750

  70. Comparison of Study Withdrawals and Discontinuation of Study Vaccination Due to Any Reason for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seropositive Participants

    Comparisons of the number of participants who withdrew early and who discontinued treatment are presented.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 750

  71. Comparison of Study Withdrawals and Discontinuation of Study Vaccination Due to Any Reason for Baseline ZIKV Seropositive and DENV Seronegative Participants

    Comparisons of the number of participants who withdrew early and who discontinued treatment are presented.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 750

  72. Comparison of Study Withdrawals and Discontinuation of Study Vaccination Due to Any Reason for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seropositive Participants

    Comparisons of the number of participants who withdrew early and who discontinued treatment are presented.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 750

  73. Comparison of Study Withdrawals and Discontinuation of Study Vaccination Due to Any Reason for Baseline ZIKV Seronegative and DENV Seronegative Participants

    Comparisons of the number of participants who withdrew early and who discontinued treatment are presented.

    Measured: Day 1 through Day 750

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted2 Jan 2017 (estimated)
  2. Study start21 Mar 2017
  3. Primary completion10 Aug 2021
  4. Study completion10 Aug 2021

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Prevention
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
Double blind
Who is masked
Participant, Investigator
Enrolment
91 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT03008122
Sponsor's protocol ID
16-0034
Other IDs
HHSN272201300021I
Status last verified
Jan 2018
First submitted
15 Dec 2016
Last updated
6 Apr 2023
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing Zika Virus Purified Inactivated Vaccine (ZPIV) in people with Zika Virus Infection, run by National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) at 1 site in Puerto Rico.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 31 inclusion and 34 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 6 Apr 2023. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in Puerto Rico. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 6 Apr 2023). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Frequency and Severity of Solicited Local Events Post Dose 1 by Treatment Group for All Participants (time frame: Day 1 through Day 8). The study lists 73 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 6 Apr 2023.

Free account

Keep searching with a free account

You’ve used your 3 free searches for this session. Log in or create a free AzTrials account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in