Diffuse Large B-Cell LymphomaPhase 3POLARGONCT04182204
A Study to Evaluate the Safety and Efficacy of Polatuzumab Vedotin in Combination With Rituximab, Gemcitabine and Oxaliplatin Compared to Rituximab, Gemcitabine and Oxaliplatin Alone in Participants With Relapsed or Refractory Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma
A Phase 3 study testing Polatuzumab Vedotin, Rituximab and Gemcitabine in people with Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 62 sites in 16 countries.
Trial summary
This study is a multicenter, open-label study of polatuzumab vedotin administered by intravenous (IV) infusion in combination with rituximab, gemcitabine and oxaliplatin (R-GemOx) in participants with relapsed or refractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL). Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma
- What is being tested?
- Polatuzumab Vedotin, Rituximab and Gemcitabine
- Type of treatment
- Injection or infusion
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 270 participants
- Where
- 62 sitesin 16 countries
- Study dates
- 7 Feb 2020to 29 Nov 2024
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
Who may be able to join
- Histologically-confirmed diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, not otherwise specified (NOS) or history of transformation of indolent disease to DLBCL
- Relapsed disease (disease that has recurred following a response that lasted ≥ 6 months from completion of the last line of therapy) or refractory disease (disease that did not respond to or that progressed during therapy or progressed within 6 months (< 6 months) of prior therapy)
- At least one (≥ 1) line of prior systemic therapy:
- Patients may have undergone autologous hematopoietic stem cell transplantation (HSCT) prior to recruitment; In such cases, salvage chemotherapy (e.g., rituximab, dexamethasone, cytarabine, and cisplatin [R-DHAP] and rituximab, ifosfamide, carboplatin, and etoposide phosphate [R-ICE]) will be counted as one line of therapy and conditioning chemotherapy (e.g., BEAM) followed by consolidative autologous HSCT will be counted as one line of therapy
- Patients may have undergone allogeneic HSCT prior to recruitment, so long as they are off all immunosuppressive therapy and have no active GVHD; In such cases, salvage chemotherapy (e.g., R-DHAP and R-ICE) will be counted as one line of therapy and conditioning chemotherapy (e.g., carmustine, etoposide, cytarabine, and melphalan [BEAM]) followed by allogeneic HSCT will be counted as a separate line of therapy
- Participants may have undergone CAR T-cell therapy prior to recruitment. In such cases, cell collection, conditioning chemotherapy, and infusion will be counted as one line of therapy.
Show all 13Show fewer
- Local therapies (e.g., radiotherapy) will not be considered as lines of treatment
- For participants with a history of the transformation of indolent disease to DLBCL, it is preferred that participants have received at least one treatment for the transformed lymphoma. However, if there are cases where the participants have received an anthracycline-containing chemotherapy regimen (such as R-CHOP) for the indolent lymphoma only, then these participants can be considered as eligible.
- At least one bi-dimensionally measurable lesion, defined as > 1.5 cm in its longest dimension as measured by CT or MRI
- Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0,1 or 2
- Adequate hematological function
- For women of childbearing potential: agreement to remain abstinent (refrain from heterosexual intercourse) or use contraception, and agreement to refrain from donating eggs
- For men: agreement to remain abstinent (refrain from heterosexual intercourse) or use contraceptive measures, and agreement to refrain from donating sperm,
Who cannot join
- History of severe allergic or anaphylactic reactions to humanized or murine monoclonal antibodies (or recombinant antibody-related fusion proteins) or known sensitivity or allergy to murine products
- Contraindication to rituximab, gemcitabine or oxaliplatin
- Peripheral neuropathy assessed to be > Grade 1 according to NCI CTCAE v5.0
- Prior use of polatuzumab vedotin or a gemcitabine plus platinum-based agent combination, recent participation in a clinical trial, and/or treatment with radiotherapy, chemotherapy, immunotherapy, immunosuppressive therapy within 2 weeks
- Planned autologous or allogenic stem cell transplantation or CAR T-cell therapy at time of recruitment
- Primary or secondary central nervous system (CNS) lymphoma
Show all 13Show fewer
- Richter's transformation or prior CLL
- Abnormal laboratory values or health conditions, as assessed by the investigator, any known conditions preventing adherence to protocol or active bacterial, viral, fungal, mycobacterial, parasitic, or other infection
- Vaccination with a live vaccine within 4 weeks prior to treatment
- Recent major surgery (within 6 weeks before the start of Cycle 1 Day 1) other than for diagnosis
- Any other diseases, metabolic dysfunction, physical examination finding, or clinical laboratory finding giving reasonable suspicion of a disease or condition that contraindicates the use of an investigational drug or that may affect the interpretation of the results or render the patient at high risk from treatment complications
- Pregnant or breastfeeding, or intending to become pregnant during the study or within 12 months after the last dose of study drug
- Women of childbearing potential must have a negative serum pregnancy test result within 7 days prior to initiation of study drug
Trial locations and contacts
62 sites in 16 countries.
62 sites in 16 countries
China8 sites
Hu Nan Provincial Cancer Hospital
Changsha, 410006
West China Hospital - Sichuan University
Chengdu, 610047
Cancer Center, Sun Yat-sen University of Medical Sciences
Guangzhou, 510060
The 1st Affiliated Hospital of Nanchang Unversity
Nanchang, 330006
Guangxi Cancer Hospital of Guangxi Medical University
Nanning, 530021
Institute of Hematology and Hospital of Blood Disease
Tianjin, 300020
Union Hospital Tongji Medical College Huazhong University of Science and Technology
Wuhan, 430023
First Affiliated Hospital of Medical College of Xi'an Jiaotong University
Xi'an, 710061
United States7 sites
IHA Hematology Oncology Consultants - Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48106
MSKCC at Basking Ridge
Basking Ridge, New Jersey, 07920
Cancer Specialists
Jacksonville, Florida, 32256
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at Bergen
Montvale, New Jersey, 07645
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
New York, New York, 10065
Memorial Cancer Institute at Memorial West
Pembroke Pines, Florida, 33028
Memorial Sloan Kettering Nassau
Uniondale, New York, 11553
Turkey (Türkiye)7 sites
Sakarya Universitesi Egitim ve Arastirma Hastanesi
Adapazari/Sakarya, 54100
Abdurrahman Yurtarslan Onkoloji Training and Research Hospital
Ankara, 06200
Akdeniz Uni School of Medicine
Antalya, 07059
Istanbul Uni Istanbul Medical Faculty
Istanbul, 34093
Istanbul University Cerrahpasa Medical Faculty
Istanbul, 34098
Kocaeli Universitesi Tip Fakultesi
Kocaeli, 41380
Amerikan HAstanesi Onkoloji Birimi Te?vikiye
Ni?anta??, 34365
France5 sites
Hopital Henri Mondor
Créteil, 94010
Hopital De Haut Leveque
Pessac, 33604
Centre Henri Becquerel
Rouen, 76038
ICANS
Strasbourg, 67200
Hopital Bretonneau
Tours, 37044
South Korea5 sites
Pusan National University Hospital
Busan, 49241
Chungnam National University Hospital
Daejeon, 35015
Gyeongsang National University Hospital
Gyeongsangnam-do, 52727
Seoul National University Bundang Hospital
Seongnam-si, 13605
Severance Hospital, Yonsei University Health System
Seoul, 03722
Spain5 sites
Hospital Universitari Germans Trias i Pujol
Badalona, Barcelona, 08915
Hospital Univ. 12 de Octubre
Madrid, 28041
Hospital Clinico Universitario de Salamanca
Salamanca, 37007
Hospital Universitario de Canarias
San Cristóbal de La Laguna, Tenerife, 38320
Hospital Universitario Dr. Peset
Valencia, 46017
Brazil4 sites
Liga Norte Riograndense Contra O Câncer
Natal, Rio Grande do Norte, 59040150
Hospital das Clinicas - UFRGS
Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, DUMMY_VALUE
Hospital Sao Rafael - HSR
Salvador, Estado de Bahia, 41253-190
Hospital das Clinicas - FMUSP
São Paulo, São Paulo, 05403-000
Italy4 sites
Uni Degli Studi Di Bari, Policlinico
Bari, Apulia, 70124
Azienda Ospedaliero-Universitaria Policlinico di Modena Ematologia
Modena, Emilia-Romagna, 41123
USL 4 di Prato - Nuovo Ospeale di Prato
Prato, Tuscany, 59100
Az. Osp. Uni Ria Policlinico Tor Vergata
Rome, Lazio, 00133
Canada3 sites
London Health Sciences Centre
London, Ontario, N6A 5W9
Niagara Health Systems - St. Catherines General Site
St. Catharines, Ontario, L2R 7C6
Centre hospitalier regional de Trois-Rivieres
Trois-Rivières, Quebec, G8Z 3R9
India3 sites
Tata Medical Center
Kolkata, West Bengal, 700160
Tata Memorial Hospital
Mumbai, Maharashtra, 400013
All India Institute of Medical Sciences ,Institute Rotary Cancer Hospital
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi, 110029
Mexico3 sites
Instituto Nacional de Cancerologia
Distrito Federal, 14080
Hospital de Especialidades Centro Medico Nacional La Raza
Mexico City, Mexico CITY (federal District), 02990
Health Pharma Professional Research
Mexico City, Mexico CITY (federal District), 03100
Finland2 sites
Oulu University Hospital
Oulu, 90029
Tampere University Hospital
Tampere, 33520
Greece2 sites
Laiko General Hospital
Athens, 115 27
Attiko Hospital
Athens, 124 62
United Kingdom2 sites
Kings College Hospital
London, SE5 9RS
Nottingham City Hospital
Nottingham, NG5 1PB
About this study
Official title: A Phase III, Open-Label, Multicenter, Randomized, Study Evaluating the Safety and Efficacy of Polatuzumab Vedotin in Combination With Rituximab Plus Gemcitabine Plus Oxaliplatin (R-GEMOX) Versus R-GEMOX Alone in Patients With Relapsed/Refractory Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma
This study is a multicenter, open-label study of polatuzumab vedotin administered by intravenous (IV) infusion in combination with rituximab, gemcitabine and oxaliplatin (R-GemOx) in participants with relapsed or refractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL). The study comprises of two stages: a safety run-in stage and a randomized controlled trial (RCT).
Read the detailed description
The safety run-in stage (Stage 1) will assess the safety of polatuzumab vedotin plus rituximab, gemcitabine and oxaliplatin (Pola-R-GemOx) in 10 participants. The randomized controlled trial (RCT) (Stage 2) will compare Pola-R-GemOx versus R-GemOx alone using overall survival (OS). This is an event-driven trial.
- Conditions
- Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma
- Being tested
- Polatuzumab Vedotin, Rituximab, Gemcitabine, Oxaliplatin
- Keywords
- Lymphoma, Large B-Cell, Diffuse
- Medical subject headings
- Lymphoma, Large B-Cell, Diffuse, Lymphoma
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
Polatuzumab VedotinDrug
Polatuzumab vedotin 1.8 mg/kg for a maximum dose of 240 mg/cycle IV on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle for up to 8 cycles.
RituximabDrug
Also called Mabthera; Rituxan
Rituximab 375 mg/m2 IV on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle for up to 8 cycles.
GemcitabineDrug
Gemcitabine 1000 mg/m2 IV on Day 2 of each 21-day cycle for up to 8 cycles.
OxaliplatinDrug
Oxaliplatin 100 mg/m2 IV on Day 2 of each 21-day cycle for up to 8 cycle.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Pola-R-GemOx (Stage 1) | Experimental | Participants will receive polatuzumab vedotin 1.8 milligrams per kilogram (mg/kg) for a maximum dose of 240 mg per cycle (mg/cycle) administered intravenously (IV) and rituximab 375 milligrams per square meter (mg/m^2) administered IV on Day 1. Participants will receive gemcitabine 1000 mg/m^2 administered IV and oxaliplatin 100 mg/m^2 administered IV on Day 2. Each cycle will consist of 21 days with up to 8 cycles of treatment administration. Receives: Drug: Polatuzumab Vedotin; Drug: Rituximab; Drug: Gemcitabine; Drug: Oxaliplatin |
| Pola-R-GemOx (Stage 2) | Experimental | Participants will receive polatuzumab vedotin 1.8 mg/kg for a maximum dose of 240 mg/cycle administered IV and rituximab 375 mg/m^2 administered IV on Day 1. Participants will receive gemcitabine 1000 mg/m^2 administered IV and oxaliplatin 100 mg/m^2 administered IV on Day 2. Each cycle will consist of 21 days with up to 8 cycles of treatment administration. Receives: Drug: Polatuzumab Vedotin; Drug: Rituximab; Drug: Gemcitabine; Drug: Oxaliplatin |
| R-GemOx (Stage 2) | Active comparator | Participants will receive rituximab 375 mg/m^2 administered IV on Day 1. Participants will receive gemcitabine 1000 mg/m^2 administered IV and oxaliplatin 100 mg/m^2 administered IV on Day 2. Each cycle will consist of 21 days with up to 8 cycles of treatment administration. Receives: Drug: Rituximab; Drug: Gemcitabine; Drug: Oxaliplatin |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Stage 1: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)
An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of causal attribution. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product.
Measured: From treatment initiation until 90 days after the last dose of study drug or initiation of non-protocol-specified anti-lymphoma treatment (NALT) (Up to approximately 8.3 months)
Stage 1: Number of Participants With Peripheral Neuropathy (PN)
An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of causal attribution. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product. Participants receiving polatuzumab vedotin may develop PN, including peripheral sensory and/or motor neuropathy. Symptoms included hypoesthesia, hyperesthesia, paresthesia, dysesthesia, discomfort, a burning sensation, weakness, gait disturbance, loss of balance, orthostatic hypotension, syncope, or neuropathic pain.
Measured: From treatment initiation until 90 days after the last dose of study drug or initiation of NALT (Up to approximately 8.3 months)
Stage 2: Overall Survival (OS)
OS was defined as the time from randomization to the death from any cause during the study. Participants who were not reported as having died at the time of analysis were censored at the date when they were last known to be alive. Participants who did not have post-baseline information were censored at the date of randomization. Kaplan-Meier (KM) method was used to estimate median OS for each treatment arm.
Measured: From randomization to death (Up to approximately 34 months)
Secondary outcomes (24)
Stage 1 and Stage 2: Progression-free Survival (PFS)
PFS=time from randomization to the first occurrence of disease progression (PD) (based on either: PET-CT data/not including any PET data), as determined by investigator, per Lugano response criteria or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first. PD based on PET-CT data=score 4 (uptake moderately > liver) or 5 (uptake markedly higher than liver \&/or new lesions) on 5-point scale (5PS) with an increase in intensity of uptake from baseline at individual target nodes/nodal masses and/or new FDG-avid foci extranodal lesions consistent with lymphoma at interim or end-of-treatment assessment. New lesions: New FDG-avid foci consistent with lymphoma rather than another etiology, Bone marrow: New/recurrent FDG-avid foci. Participants who did not report PD nor died at time of analysis were censored on the date of last evaluable tumor assessment if post-baseline tumor assessment or on date of randomization if no post-baseline tumor assessment. KM methodology was used to estimate median PFS.
Measured: From randomization to first occurrence of PD or death (Up to approximately 34 months)
Stage 2: Complete Response Rate (CRR), as Determined by an Independent Review Committee (IRC) at the End of Treatment
CRR was defined as the percentage of participants who had a complete metabolic response (CMR) based on positron emission tomography-computed tomography (PET-CT) according to Lugano response criteria at the end of treatment as determined by IRC. CMR was defined as score 1, 2, or 3 (1=no uptake above background; 2=uptake ≤ mediastinum; 3=uptake >mediastinum but ≤ liver) with or without a residual mass on 5PS at lymph nodes and extra lymphatic sites. In Waldeyer's ring or extranodal sites with high physiologic uptake or with activation within spleen or marrow (e.g., with chemotherapy/myeloid colony-stimulating factors), uptake may be greater than normal mediastinum and/or liver. In this circumstance, CMR was inferred if uptake at sites of initial involvement was no greater than surrounding normal tissue even if the tissue had high physiologic uptake; no new lesions and no evidence of fluorodeoxyglucose (FDG)-avid disease in bone marrow. Percentages are rounded off.
Measured: Up to approximately 8.5 months
Stage 2: Objective Response Rate (ORR) as Determined by an IRC at End of Treatment
ORR=percentage of participants with CMR/partial metabolic responses (PMR), based on PET-CT per Lugano response criteria as per an IRC. CMR=score 1, 2, or 3 with/ without a residual mass on 5PS at lymph nodes (LN) \& extra lymphatic sites. In Waldeyer's ring or extra nodal sites with high physiologic uptake or with activation within spleen/marrow, uptake may be greater than normal mediastinum \&/or liver. In this case, CMR was inferred if uptake at sites of initial involvement was no greater than surrounding normal tissue even if the tissue had high physiologic uptake; no new lesions \& no evidence of FDG-avid disease in bone marrow. PMR=score 4 or 5 on 5PS (4=uptake moderately > liver; 5=uptake markedly higher than liver \&/or new lesions) with reduced uptake compared with baseline and residual mass(es) of any size at LN \& extra lymphatic sites; no new lesions \& residual uptake higher than uptake in normal marrow but reduced compared with baseline. Percentages are rounded off.
Measured: Up to approximately 8.5 months
Stage 1 and Stage 2: Percentage of Participants With Best Overall Response (BOR) as Determined by the Investigator
BOR was defined as the best response while on study (based on PET-CT or CT data) according to Lugano response criteria, as determined by the investigator. CMR and PMR based on PET-CT data were defined as outlined in the ORR outcome measure (OM) number 8. CT-based complete radiologic response was defined as target lymphatic nodes/nodal masses regression to ≤ 1.5 centimeters (cm) in longest transverse diameter of a lesion (LDi); no extralymphatic sites of disease; absence of non-measured lesion; enlarged organs regress to normal; no new lesions and bone marrow normal by morphology, if indeterminate, immunohistochemistry (IHC) negative. CT-based partial response was defined as ≥50% decrease in sum of the product of the perpendicular diameters for multiple lesions (SPD) of up to 6 target measurable nodes and extra nodal sites; absent/normal, regressed, but no increase in non-measured lesions; spleen regressed by >50% in length beyond normal and no new lesions. Percentages are rounded off.
Measured: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 1 and Stage 2: CRR as Determined by the Investigator at End of Treatment
CRR was defined as the percentage of participants who had CMR based positron emission tomography-computed tomography (PET-CT) according to Lugano response criteria at the end of treatment as determined by investigator. CMR was defined as score 1, 2, or 3 (1=no uptake above background; 2=uptake ≤ mediastinum; 3=uptake >mediastinum but ≤ liver) with or without a residual mass on 5PS at lymph nodes and extra lymphatic sites. In Waldeyer's ring or extranodal sites with high physiologic uptake or with activation within spleen or marrow (e.g., with chemotherapy/myeloid colony-stimulating factors), uptake may be greater than normal mediastinum and/or liver. In this circumstance, CMR was inferred if uptake at sites of initial involvement is no greater than surrounding normal tissue even if the tissue has high physiologic uptake; no new lesions and no evidence of FDG-avid disease in bone marrow. Percentages are rounded off.
Measured: Stage 1: Up to approximately 6.2 months and Stage 2: Up to approximately 8.5 months
Stage 1 and Stage 2: ORR as Determined by the Investigator at End of Treatment
ORR=percentage of participants with CMR/PMR, based on PET-CT as determined by investigator per Lugano response criteria. CMR=score 1, 2, or 3 with/ without a residual mass on 5PS at LN \& extra lymphatic sites. In Waldeyer's ring or extra nodal sites with high physiologic uptake or with activation within spleen/marrow, uptake may be greater than normal mediastinum \&/or liver. In this case, CMR was inferred if uptake at sites of initial involvement was no greater than surrounding normal tissue even if the tissue had high physiologic uptake; no new lesions \& no evidence of FDG-avid disease in bone marrow. PMR=score 4 or 5 on 5PS (4=uptake moderately > liver; 5=uptake markedly higher than liver \&/or new lesions) with reduced uptake compared with baseline and residual mass(es) of any size at LN \& extra lymphatic sites; no new lesions \& residual uptake higher than uptake in normal marrow but reduced compared with baseline. Percentages are rounded off.
Measured: Stage 1: Up to approximately 6.2 months and Stage 2: Up to approximately 8.5 months
Stage 2: Duration of Response (DOR)
DOR=time from the date of the first occurrence of a documented objective response (complete or partial response [CR/PR]) (based on PET-CT or CT data) as determined by the investigator, using Lugano response criteria, until PD (based on either response: including PET-CT data or not including any PET data) or death, whichever occurred first. CMR and PMR based on PET-CT data were defined as outlined in the ORR OM. CT-based complete and partial response were defined as outlined in the BOR OM. PD defined as outlined in the PFS OM.
Measured: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 1 and Stage 2: Event-free Survival (EFSeff)
EFSeff was defined as the time from randomization to first to the earliest occurrence of the following: PD or relapse using Lugano response criteria (based on either response: including PET-CT data or not including any PET data); death due to any cause or initiation of any NALT. PD based on PET-CT data was defined as score 4 or 5 on 5PS with an increase in intensity of uptake from baseline at individual target nodes/nodal masses and/or new FDG-avid foci extranodal lesions consistent with lymphoma at interim or end-of-treatment assessment. New lesions: New FDG-avid foci consistent with lymphoma rather than another etiology, Bone marrow: New or recurrent FDG-avid foci. Participants with no EFSeff events were censored at the time of the last evaluable tumor assessment if post-baseline assessments were available and participants who did not undergo a post-baseline tumor assessment were censored at the time of randomization. KM method was used to estimate median EFS for each treatment arm.
Measured: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 2: Time to Deterioration in Physical Functioning as Measured by the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality-of-Life Questionnaire, Core 30 (EORTC QLQ-C30)
Time to deterioration was defined as the time from randomization to the first documentation of a 10-point decrease in EORTC QLQ-C30 physical functioning scale. EORTC QLQ-C30 consists of 30 questions assessing five aspects of participant functioning (physical, emotional, role, cognitive, and social), three symptom scales (fatigue, nausea and vomiting, pain), global health status and quality of life (GHS/QoL), and six single items (dyspnea, insomnia, appetite loss, constipation, diarrhea, and financial difficulties). The functioning items were scored on a 4-point scale that ranged from "not at all" to "very much". Raw average scale scores were linearly transformed to range 0-100 with higher scores indicating higher response levels (i.e. higher functioning). KM method was used to estimate median time to deterioration for each treatment arm.
Measured: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 2: Time to Deterioration in Fatigue Scale as Measured by the EORTC QLQ-C30
Time to deterioration was defined as the time from randomization to the first documentation of a 10-point increase from baseline in EORTC QLQ-C30 fatigue scale. EORTC QLQ-C30 consists of 30 questions assessing five aspects of participant functioning (physical, emotional, role, cognitive, and social), three symptom scales (fatigue, nausea and vomiting, pain), GHS/QoL, and six single items (dyspnea, insomnia, appetite loss, constipation, diarrhea, and financial difficulties). The symptom scale (fatigue) was scored on a 4-point scale that ranged from "not at all" to "very much". Raw average scale scores were linearly transformed to range 0-100 with higher scores indicating higher response levels (i.e. higher symptom severity). KM method was used to estimate median time to deterioration for each treatment arm.
Measured: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 2: Time to Deterioration in Lymphoma Symptoms as Measured by the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Lymphoma (FACT-Lym) Lymphoma Subscale (FACT-Lym LymS)
Time to deterioration was defined as the time from randomization to the first documentation of a >3-point decrease from baseline in FACT-Lym LymS. The FACT-Lym subscale has 4 domains: physical well-being, social/family well-being, emotional well-being, functional well-being and lymphoma-specific subscale (LymS). The FACT-Lym LYMS consists of common lymphoma disease and/or treatment-related symptoms (e.g., pain, fever, swelling, night sweats, insomnia, itching, weight loss, fatigue, and loss of appetite). FACT-Lym LYMS contains 15 items scored from 0-4, where 0="Not at all" and 4="very much". Scale score range is from 0 to 60. Higher score indicates better quality of life. KM method was used to estimate the median time to deterioration for each treatment arm.
Measured: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 2: Change From Baseline in Physical Functioning as Measured by EORTC QLQ-C30
EORTC QLQ-C30 consists of 30 questions assessing five aspects of participant functioning (physical, emotional, role, cognitive, and social), three symptom scales (fatigue, nausea and vomiting, pain), GHS/QoL, and six single items (dyspnea, insomnia, appetite loss, constipation, diarrhea, and financial difficulties). The functioning items were scored on a 4-point scale that ranged from "not at all" to "very much". Raw average scale scores were linearly transformed to range 0-100 with higher scores indicating higher response levels (i.e. higher physical functioning).
Measured: Baseline, Day 1 of Cycle 2, 3, 5 and 7 (Cycle length= 21 days), end of treatment, long-term follow-up visits every two months (up to approximately 34 months)
Stage 2: Change From Baseline in Fatigue Scale as Measured by EORTC QLQ-C30
EORTC QLQ-C30 consists of 30 questions assessing five aspects of participant functioning (physical, emotional, role, cognitive, and social), three symptom scales (fatigue, nausea and vomiting, pain), GHS/QoL, and six single items (dyspnea, insomnia, appetite loss, constipation, diarrhea, and financial difficulties). The symptom scale (fatigue) were scored on a 4-point scale that ranged from "not at all" to "very much". Raw average scale scores were linearly transformed to range 0-100 with higher scores indicating higher response levels (i.e. higher symptom severity). A positive change from baseline indicates an improvement.
Measured: Baseline, Day 1 of Cycles 2, 3, 5 and 7 (Cycle length= 21 days), end of treatment, long-term follow-up visits every two months (up to approximately 34 months)
Stage 2: Change From Baseline in FACT-Lym LYMS Scores
The FACT-Lym subscale has 4 domains: physical well-being, social/family well-being, emotional well-being, functional well-being and lymphoma-specific subscale (LymS). The FACT-Lym LYMS consists of common lymphoma disease and/or treatment-related symptoms (e.g., pain, fever, swelling, night sweats, insomnia, itching, weight loss, fatigue, and loss of appetite). FACT-Lym LYMS contains 15 items scored from 0-4, where 0="Not at all" and 4="very much". Scale score range is from 0 to 60. Higher score indicates better quality of life. A positive change from baseline indicates an improvement.
Measured: Baseline, Day 1 of Cycle 2, 3, 5 and 7 (Cycle length= 21 days), end of treatment, long-term follow-up visits every two months (up to approximately 34 months)
Stage 2: Change From Baseline in Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy/Gynecologic Oncology Group-Neurotoxicity 12-Item (FACT/GOG-NTX-12) Scores
The FACT/GOG-NTX scale provides a targeted assessment of symptoms of peripheral neuropathy, including sensory, motor, and auditory problems and cold sensitivity. It contains 12 items scored from 0-4, where 0="Not at all" and 4="very much". Scores are summed for a range of 12-44, with lower scores indicating more severe neurotoxicity. Participants completed assessments until progression or non-protocol-specified anti-lymphoma treatment (NALT). Only records on or before the first NALT were summarized.
Measured: Baseline, Day 1 of Cycles 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 (Cycle length= 21 days), end of treatment, long-term follow-up visits every two months (up to approximately 34 months)
Stage 2: Percentage of Participants With Clinically Meaningful Improvement in EORTC QLQ-C30 Physical Functioning Scale
EORTC QLQ-C30 consists of 30 questions assessing five aspects of participant functioning (physical, emotional, role, cognitive, and social), three symptom scales (fatigue, nausea and vomiting, pain), GHS/QoL, and six single items (dyspnea, insomnia, appetite loss, constipation, diarrhea, and financial difficulties). The functioning items were scored on a 4-point scale that ranged from "not at all" to "very much". Raw average scale scores were linearly transformed to range 0-100 with higher scores indicating higher response levels (i.e. higher functioning). Clinically meaningful improvement was defined as a participant with at least a 7 point scale score increase.
Measured: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 2: Percentage of Participants With Clinically Meaningful Improvement in EORTC QLQ-C30 Fatigue Scale
EORTC QLQ-C30 consists of 30 questions assessing five aspects of participant functioning (physical, emotional, role, cognitive, and social), three symptom scales (fatigue, nausea and vomiting, pain), GHS/QoL, and six single items (dyspnea, insomnia, appetite loss, constipation, diarrhea, and financial difficulties). The symptom items were scored on a 4-point scale that ranged from "not at all" to "very much". Raw average scale scores were linearly transformed to range 0-100 with higher scores indicating higher response levels (i.e. higher symptom severity). Clinically meaningful improvement was defined as a participant with at least a 9 point scale score decrease.
Measured: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 2: Percentage of Participants With Clinically Meaningful Improvement in FACT-Lym LYMS
The FACT-Lym subscale has 4 domains: physical well-being, social/family well-being, emotional well-being, functional well-being and lymphoma-specific subscale (LymS). The FACT-Lym LYMS consists of common lymphoma disease and/or treatment-related symptoms (e.g., pain, fever, swelling, night sweats, insomnia, itching, weight loss, fatigue, and loss of appetite). FACT-Lym LYMS contains 15 items scored from 0-4, where 0="Not at all" and 4="very much". Scale score range is from 0 to 60. Higher score indicates better quality of life. Clinically meaningful improvement was defined as a 3-point increase from baseline.
Measured: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 2: Number of Participants With AEs
An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of causal attribution. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product.
Measured: From treatment initiation until 90 days after the last dose of study drug or initiation of NALT (approximately 10.6 months)
Stage 2: Number of Participants With PN
An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of causal attribution. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product. Participants receiving polatuzumab vedotin may develop PN, including peripheral sensory and/or motor neuropathy. Symptoms included hypoesthesia, hyperesthesia, paresthesia, dysesthesia, discomfort, a burning sensation, weakness, gait disturbance, loss of balance, orthostatic hypotension, syncope, or neuropathic pain.
Measured: From treatment initiation until 90 days after the last dose of study drug or initiation of NALT (approximately 10.6 months)
Stage 1 and Stage 2: Number of Participants With Dose Modification for Polatuzumab Vedotin
Dose modifications (interruptions/reductions) were based on physical examination findings, observed toxicities, and laboratory results obtained within 72 hours before study treatment administration. The determination of all dose modifications was made based on the investigator's assessment of ongoing clinical benefit with continuing study treatment. Dosing occurred only when a participant's clinical assessment and laboratory test values were acceptable.
Measured: Stage 1: Up to approximately 5.3 months and Stage 2: Up to approximately 7.6 months
Stage 1 and Stage 2: Dose Intensity of Polatuzumab Vedotin
Dose intensity = (total dose actually received divided by the expected total dose)*100. Expected total dose for dose intensity accounting for delay/reduction is based on the expected number of cycles between the first and last exposure of each drug. Percentage of dose intensity accounting for delay/reduction in dose by the participants in each arm is reported here.
Measured: Stage 1: Up to approximately 5.3 months and Stage 2: Up to approximately 7.6 months
Stage 1: OS
OS was defined as the time from randomization to the death from any cause during the study. Participants who were not reported as having died at the time of analysis were censored at the date when they were last known to be alive. Participants who did not have post-baseline information were censored at the date of randomization. KM method was used to estimate median OS for each treatment arm.
Measured: From randomization to the death (up to approximately 34 months)
Stage 1 and Stage 2: Percentage of Participants With Anti-drug Antibodies (ADAs) to Polatuzumab Vedotin
Treatment emergent ADA-positive participants after drug administration were determined for participants exposed to polatuzumab vedotin. Participants positive for treatment emergent ADA were defined as the number of post-baseline evaluable participants determined to have treatment-induced ADA or treatment-enhanced ADA during the study period. Treatment-induced ADA = a participant with negative or missing baseline ADA result(s) and at least one positive post-baseline ADA result. Treatment-enhanced ADA = a participant with positive ADA result at baseline who has one or more post-baseline titer results that are at least 0.60 t.u. greater than the baseline titer result. Percentages are rounded off.
Measured: Up to approximately 34 months
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted2 Dec 2019
- Study start7 Feb 2020
- Primary completion29 Nov 2024
- Study completion29 Nov 2024
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Publications (1)Papers the sponsor has linked to this study.
- Other trials for Diffuse Large B-Cell LymphomaStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Hoffmann-La RocheThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Model description
- In stage 1 participants are all assigned to one group. In stage 2 participants are assigned to two groups in parallel for the duration of the study.
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 270 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Hoffmann-La Roche
- Sponsor type
- Industry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Clinical Trials, Study director, Hoffmann-La Roche
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT04182204
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- MO40598
- Other IDs
- 2018-003727-10, 2018
- Acronym
- POLARGO
- Status last verified
- Dec 2025
- First submitted
- 18 Nov 2019
- Last updated
- 22 Dec 2025
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
- FDA-regulated drug
- Yes
- FDA-regulated device
- No
- Individual data sharing
- Yes: Qualified researchers may request access to individual patient level data through the clinical study data request platform (www.vivli.org). Further details on Roche's criteria for eligible studies are available here (https://vivli.org/members/ourmembers/). For further details on Roche's Global Policy on the Sharing of Clinical Information and how to request access to related clinical study documents, see here (https://www.roche.com/innovation/process/clinical-trials/data-sharing/).
Publications
Matasar M, Li Z, Vassilakopoulos TP, Sancho JM, Viardot A, McMillan A, Dal MS, Pereira J, Kim JS, Qiu L, Batlevi CL, Ibrahim R, Hernandez J, McCall B, Jiang Y, Yan M, Harris W, Musick L, Haioun C. Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Rituximab, Gemcitabine, and Oxaliplatin in Relapsed or Refractory Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma: Results From the Phase III, Randomized POLARGO Trial. J Clin Oncol. 2026 Sep;44(25):2435-2446. doi: 10.1200/JCO-25-02849. Epub 2026 Jul 6.
PubMed 42407012
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 22 Dec 2025. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Phase III, Open-Label, Multicenter, Randomized, Study Evaluating the Safety and Efficacy of Polatuzumab Vedotin in Combination With Rituximab Plus Gemcitabine Plus Oxaliplatin (R-GEMOX) Versus R-GEMOX Alone in Patients With Relapsed/Refractory Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT04182204
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- POLARGO / MO40598
- Conditions
- Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma
- Keywords
- Lymphoma, Large B-Cell, Diffuse
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 270 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Hoffmann-La RocheIndustry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Study start
- 7 Feb 2020 (actual)
- Primary completion
- 29 Nov 2024 (actual)
- Study completion
- 29 Nov 2024 (actual)
- First posted
- 2 Dec 2019 (actual)
- Results
- Posted 22 Dec 2025
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
This study is a multicenter, open-label study of polatuzumab vedotin administered by intravenous (IV) infusion in combination with rituximab, gemcitabine and oxaliplatin (R-GemOx) in participants with relapsed or refractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL). The study comprises of two stages: a safety run-in stage and a randomized controlled trial (RCT).
Detailed description
The safety run-in stage (Stage 1) will assess the safety of polatuzumab vedotin plus rituximab, gemcitabine and oxaliplatin (Pola-R-GemOx) in 10 participants. The randomized controlled trial (RCT) (Stage 2) will compare Pola-R-GemOx versus R-GemOx alone using overall survival (OS). This is an event-driven trial.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 3
- Model description
- In stage 1 participants are all assigned to one group. In stage 2 participants are assigned to two groups in parallel for the duration of the study.
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Pola-R-GemOx (Stage 1) | Experimental | Drug: Polatuzumab Vedotin, Drug: Rituximab, Drug: Gemcitabine, Drug: OxaliplatinParticipants will receive polatuzumab vedotin 1.8 milligrams per kilogram (mg/kg) for a maximum dose of 240 mg per cycle (mg/cycle) administered intravenously (IV) and rituximab 375 milligrams per square meter (mg/m^2) administered IV on Day 1. Participants will receive gemcitabine 1000 mg/m^2 administered IV and oxaliplatin 100 mg/m^2 administered IV on Day 2. Each cycle will consist of 21 days with up to 8 cycles of treatment administration. |
| Pola-R-GemOx (Stage 2) | Experimental | Drug: Polatuzumab Vedotin, Drug: Rituximab, Drug: Gemcitabine, Drug: OxaliplatinParticipants will receive polatuzumab vedotin 1.8 mg/kg for a maximum dose of 240 mg/cycle administered IV and rituximab 375 mg/m^2 administered IV on Day 1. Participants will receive gemcitabine 1000 mg/m^2 administered IV and oxaliplatin 100 mg/m^2 administered IV on Day 2. Each cycle will consist of 21 days with up to 8 cycles of treatment administration. |
| R-GemOx (Stage 2) | Active comparator | Drug: Rituximab, Drug: Gemcitabine, Drug: OxaliplatinParticipants will receive rituximab 375 mg/m^2 administered IV on Day 1. Participants will receive gemcitabine 1000 mg/m^2 administered IV and oxaliplatin 100 mg/m^2 administered IV on Day 2. Each cycle will consist of 21 days with up to 8 cycles of treatment administration. |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Key inclusion criteria (13 listed)
- Histologically-confirmed diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, not otherwise specified (NOS) or history of transformation of indolent disease to DLBCL
- Relapsed disease (disease that has recurred following a response that lasted ≥ 6 months from completion of the last line of therapy) or refractory disease (disease that did not respond to or that progressed during therapy or progressed within 6 months (< 6 months) of prior therapy)
- At least one (≥ 1) line of prior systemic therapy:
- Patients may have undergone autologous hematopoietic stem cell transplantation (HSCT) prior to recruitment; In such cases, salvage chemotherapy (e.g., rituximab, dexamethasone, cytarabine, and cisplatin [R-DHAP] and rituximab, ifosfamide, carboplatin, and etoposide phosphate [R-ICE]) will be counted as one line of therapy and conditioning chemotherapy (e.g., BEAM) followed by consolidative autologous HSCT will be counted as one line of therapy
- Patients may have undergone allogeneic HSCT prior to recruitment, so long as they are off all immunosuppressive therapy and have no active GVHD; In such cases, salvage chemotherapy (e.g., R-DHAP and R-ICE) will be counted as one line of therapy and conditioning chemotherapy (e.g., carmustine, etoposide, cytarabine, and melphalan [BEAM]) followed by allogeneic HSCT will be counted as a separate line of therapy
Key exclusion criteria (13 listed)
- History of severe allergic or anaphylactic reactions to humanized or murine monoclonal antibodies (or recombinant antibody-related fusion proteins) or known sensitivity or allergy to murine products
- Contraindication to rituximab, gemcitabine or oxaliplatin
- Peripheral neuropathy assessed to be > Grade 1 according to NCI CTCAE v5.0
- Prior use of polatuzumab vedotin or a gemcitabine plus platinum-based agent combination, recent participation in a clinical trial, and/or treatment with radiotherapy, chemotherapy, immunotherapy, immunosuppressive therapy within 2 weeks
- Planned autologous or allogenic stem cell transplantation or CAR T-cell therapy at time of recruitment
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| Polatuzumab VedotinPolatuzumab vedotin 1.8 mg/kg for a maximum dose of 240 mg/cycle IV on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle for up to 8 cycles. | Drug | Pola-R-GemOx (Stage 1), Pola-R-GemOx (Stage 2) |
| RituximabAlso: Mabthera; RituxanRituximab 375 mg/m2 IV on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle for up to 8 cycles. | Drug | Pola-R-GemOx (Stage 1), Pola-R-GemOx (Stage 2), R-GemOx (Stage 2) |
| GemcitabineGemcitabine 1000 mg/m2 IV on Day 2 of each 21-day cycle for up to 8 cycles. | Drug | Pola-R-GemOx (Stage 1), Pola-R-GemOx (Stage 2), R-GemOx (Stage 2) |
| OxaliplatinOxaliplatin 100 mg/m2 IV on Day 2 of each 21-day cycle for up to 8 cycle. | Drug | Pola-R-GemOx (Stage 1), Pola-R-GemOx (Stage 2), R-GemOx (Stage 2) |
Primary outcome
Stage 1: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)
Time frame: From treatment initiation until 90 days after the last dose of study drug or initiation of non-protocol-specified anti-lymphoma treatment (NALT) (Up to approximately 8.3 months)
An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of causal attribution. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product.
Stage 1: Number of Participants With Peripheral Neuropathy (PN)
Time frame: From treatment initiation until 90 days after the last dose of study drug or initiation of NALT (Up to approximately 8.3 months)
An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of causal attribution. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product. Participants receiving polatuzumab vedotin may develop PN, including peripheral sensory and/or motor neuropathy. Symptoms included hypoesthesia, hyperesthesia, paresthesia, dysesthesia, discomfort, a burning sensation, weakness, gait disturbance, loss of balance, orthostatic hypotension, syncope, or neuropathic pain.
Stage 2: Overall Survival (OS)
Time frame: From randomization to death (Up to approximately 34 months)
OS was defined as the time from randomization to the death from any cause during the study. Participants who were not reported as having died at the time of analysis were censored at the date when they were last known to be alive. Participants who did not have post-baseline information were censored at the date of randomization. Kaplan-Meier (KM) method was used to estimate median OS for each treatment arm.
24 secondary outcomes
Stage 1 and Stage 2: Progression-free Survival (PFS)
Time frame: From randomization to first occurrence of PD or death (Up to approximately 34 months)
Stage 2: Complete Response Rate (CRR), as Determined by an Independent Review Committee (IRC) at the End of Treatment
Time frame: Up to approximately 8.5 months
Stage 2: Objective Response Rate (ORR) as Determined by an IRC at End of Treatment
Time frame: Up to approximately 8.5 months
Stage 1 and Stage 2: Percentage of Participants With Best Overall Response (BOR) as Determined by the Investigator
Time frame: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 1 and Stage 2: CRR as Determined by the Investigator at End of Treatment
Time frame: Stage 1: Up to approximately 6.2 months and Stage 2: Up to approximately 8.5 months
Stage 1 and Stage 2: ORR as Determined by the Investigator at End of Treatment
Time frame: Stage 1: Up to approximately 6.2 months and Stage 2: Up to approximately 8.5 months
Stage 2: Duration of Response (DOR)
Time frame: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 1 and Stage 2: Event-free Survival (EFSeff)
Time frame: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 2: Time to Deterioration in Physical Functioning as Measured by the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality-of-Life Questionnaire, Core 30 (EORTC QLQ-C30)
Time frame: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 2: Time to Deterioration in Fatigue Scale as Measured by the EORTC QLQ-C30
Time frame: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 2: Time to Deterioration in Lymphoma Symptoms as Measured by the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Lymphoma (FACT-Lym) Lymphoma Subscale (FACT-Lym LymS)
Time frame: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 2: Change From Baseline in Physical Functioning as Measured by EORTC QLQ-C30
Time frame: Baseline, Day 1 of Cycle 2, 3, 5 and 7 (Cycle length= 21 days), end of treatment, long-term follow-up visits every two months (up to approximately 34 months)
Stage 2: Change From Baseline in Fatigue Scale as Measured by EORTC QLQ-C30
Time frame: Baseline, Day 1 of Cycles 2, 3, 5 and 7 (Cycle length= 21 days), end of treatment, long-term follow-up visits every two months (up to approximately 34 months)
Stage 2: Change From Baseline in FACT-Lym LYMS Scores
Time frame: Baseline, Day 1 of Cycle 2, 3, 5 and 7 (Cycle length= 21 days), end of treatment, long-term follow-up visits every two months (up to approximately 34 months)
Stage 2: Change From Baseline in Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy/Gynecologic Oncology Group-Neurotoxicity 12-Item (FACT/GOG-NTX-12) Scores
Time frame: Baseline, Day 1 of Cycles 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 (Cycle length= 21 days), end of treatment, long-term follow-up visits every two months (up to approximately 34 months)
Stage 2: Percentage of Participants With Clinically Meaningful Improvement in EORTC QLQ-C30 Physical Functioning Scale
Time frame: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 2: Percentage of Participants With Clinically Meaningful Improvement in EORTC QLQ-C30 Fatigue Scale
Time frame: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 2: Percentage of Participants With Clinically Meaningful Improvement in FACT-Lym LYMS
Time frame: Up to approximately 34 months
Stage 2: Number of Participants With AEs
Time frame: From treatment initiation until 90 days after the last dose of study drug or initiation of NALT (approximately 10.6 months)
Stage 2: Number of Participants With PN
Time frame: From treatment initiation until 90 days after the last dose of study drug or initiation of NALT (approximately 10.6 months)
Stage 1 and Stage 2: Number of Participants With Dose Modification for Polatuzumab Vedotin
Time frame: Stage 1: Up to approximately 5.3 months and Stage 2: Up to approximately 7.6 months
Stage 1 and Stage 2: Dose Intensity of Polatuzumab Vedotin
Time frame: Stage 1: Up to approximately 5.3 months and Stage 2: Up to approximately 7.6 months
Stage 1: OS
Time frame: From randomization to the death (up to approximately 34 months)
Stage 1 and Stage 2: Percentage of Participants With Anti-drug Antibodies (ADAs) to Polatuzumab Vedotin
Time frame: Up to approximately 34 months
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 22 Dec 2025.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
- Derived from this study: PubMed 42407012Matasar M, Li Z, Vassilakopoulos TP, Sancho JM, Viardot A, McMillan A, Dal MS, Pereira J, Kim JS, Qiu L, Batlevi CL, Ibrahim R, Hernandez J, McCall B, Jiang Y, Yan M, Harris W, Musick L, Haioun C. Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Rituximab, Gemcitabine, and Oxaliplatin in Relapsed or Refractory Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma: Results From the Phase III, Randomized POLARGO Trial. J Clin Oncol. 2026 Sep;44(25):2435-2446. doi: 10.1200/JCO-25-02849. Epub 2026 Jul 6.
- Individual participant dataSharing planned: Yes. Qualified researchers may request access to individual patient level data through the clinical study data request platform (www.vivli.org). Further details on Roche's criteria for eligible studies are available here (https://vivli.org/members/ourmembers/). For further details on Roche's Global Policy on the Sharing of Clinical Information and how to request access to related clinical study documents, see here (https://www.roche.com/innovation/process/clinical-trials/data-sharing/).
Related trials for Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma
Active, not recruitingPhase 1/2
Study of Oral MRT-2359 in Selected Cancer Patients
NSCLC, SCLC
Active, not recruitingEarly Phase 1
Iomab-ACT: A Pilot Study of 131-I Apamistamab Followed by CD19-Targeted CAR T-Cell Therapy for Patients With Relapsed or Refractory B-Cell Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia or Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma
B-ALL, DLBCL
Not yet recruitingPhase 2
The CARDIOPROTECT Trial
Diffuse Large B-cell Lymphoma (DLBCL), Cardiotoxicity
Not yet recruitingPhase 2
QLS4131 Plus Isa-V-CHOP in Newly Diagnosed, HIV-Negative PBL: A Single-Center, Single-Arm, Phase II Study
Plasmablastic Lymphoma
RecruitingPhase 2
Testing the Effectiveness of a Combination Targeted Therapy (ViPOR) for Patients With Relapsed and/or Refractory Aggressive B-cell Lymphoma
High Grade B-Cell Lymphoma With MYC and BCL6 Rearrangements, Recurrent Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Clinical Trials study director
Hoffmann-La Roche
62 sites in 16 countries: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing Polatuzumab Vedotin, Rituximab and Gemcitabine in people with Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 62 sites in 16 countries.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 13 inclusion and 13 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 22 Dec 2025. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 62 sites in China, United States, Turkey (Türkiye), France, South Korea and 11 more countries. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 22 Dec 2025). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Stage 1: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) (time frame: From treatment initiation until 90 days after the last dose of study drug or initiation of non-protocol-specified anti-lymphoma treatment (NALT) (Up to approximately 8.3 months)). The study lists 3 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT04182204, which also lists 1 linked publication.
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 22 Dec 2025.