Carcinoma, Renal CellPhase 3CONTACT-03NCT04338269
A Study of Atezolizumab in Combination With Cabozantinib Compared to Cabozantinib Alone in Participants With Advanced Renal Cell Carcinoma After Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor Treatment
A Phase 3 study testing Atezolizumab and Cabozantinib in people with Carcinoma, Renal Cell, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 135 sites in 15 countries.
Trial summary
This is a Phase III, multicenter, randomized, open-label study designed to evaluate the efficacy and safety of atezolizumab given in combination with cabozantinib versus cabozantinib alone in participants with inoperable, locally advanced, or metastatic renal cell carcinoma (RCC) who experienced radiographic tumor… Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Carcinoma, Renal Cell
- What is being tested?
- Atezolizumab and Cabozantinib
- Type of treatment
- Pill or oral medicine, Injection or infusion
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 522 participants
- Where
- 135 sitesin 15 countries
- Study dates
- 28 Jul 2020to 24 Mar 2025
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
Who may be able to join
- Histologically confirmed locally advanced or metastatic clear cell or non-clear cell (papillary, chromophobe, and unclassified only) RCC. RCC with sarcomatoid features is allowed. Patients with the chromophobe subtype of non-clear cell RCC must have sarcomatoid differentiation.
- Radiographic disease progression to prior ICI therapy for RCC. Patients who experienced radiographic tumor progression during or within 6 months after the last dose of adjuvant ICI are also eligible. ICI is defined by anti-PD-L1 or anti-PD1 antibody including atezolizumab, avelumab, pembrolizumab, durvalumab, or nivolumab. Only patients for whom the immediate preceding line of therapy was an ICI are allowed.
- Measurable disease per RECIST v1.1
- Evaluable IMDC risk score
- Archival tumor specimen, and pretreatment tumor tissue from fresh biopsy at screening, if clinically feasible. Both archival and fresh samples are preferred.
- KPS score of >=70
Show all 13Show fewer
- Recovery to baseline or Grade </= 1 NCI CTCAE v5.0 from toxicities related to any prior treatments, unless adverse events are clinically nonsignificant and/or stable in the opinion of the investigator. Grade 2 alopecia is allowed for study participation
- Adequate hematologic and end-organ function
- Negative HIV test at screening
- Negative hepatitis B testing at screening
- Negative hepatitis C virus (HCV) antibody test at screening, or positive HCV antibody test followed by a negative HCV RNA test at screening
- For women of childbearing potential: agreement to remain abstinent (refrain from heterosexual intercourse) or use contraception and agreement to refrain from donating eggs
- For men: agreement to remain abstinent (refrain from heterosexual intercourse) or use a condom, and agreement to refrain from donating sperm
Who cannot join
- Treatment with anti-cancer therapy within 14 days prior to initiation of study treatment
- Patients received cabozantinib at any time prior to screening
- Patients who received more than one ICI treatment in the locally advanced or metastatic setting
- Patients who received more than two prior lines of therapy in the locally advanced or metastatic setting
- Patients who have received a mammalian target of rapamycin (mTOR) inhibitor in any setting
- Symptomatic, untreated, or actively progressing CNS metastases
Show all 22Show fewer
- History of leptomeningeal disease
- Uncontrolled pleural effusion, pericardial effusion, or ascites requiring recurrent drainage procedures
- Uncontrolled or symptomatic hypercalcemia or symptomatic hypercalcemia requiring continued use of bisphosphonate therapy or denosumab
- History of malignancy other than renal carcinoma within 5 years prior to screening, with the exception of malignancies with a negligible risk of metastasis or death
- Radiotherapy for RCC within 14 days prior to Day 1 of Cycle 1
- Active tuberculosis
- Major surgical procedure, other than for diagnosis, within 4 weeks prior to initiation of study treatment, or anticipation of need for a major surgical procedure during the study
- Pregnancy or breastfeeding, or intention of becoming pregnant during study treatment or within 5 months after final dose of atezolizumab and 4 months after final dose of cabozantinib
- Severe infection within 4 weeks prior to initiation of study treatment, including, but not limited to, hospitalization for complications of infection, bacteremia, or severe pneumonia, or any active infection that, in the opinion of the investigator, could impact patient safety
- Pharmacologically uncompensated, symptomatic hypothyroidism
- Uncontrolled hypertension defined as sustained blood pressure >150 mm Hg systolic or > 90 mm Hg diastolic despite optimal antihypertensive treatment (all countries except France); sustained BP > 140 mmHg systolic or > 90 mmHg diastolic despite optimal antihypertensive treatment (France only)
- Significant cardiovascular disease (such as New York Heart Association Class II or greater cardiac disease, unstable arrhythmia, or unstable angina) within 3 months prior to initiation of study treatment
- Significant vascular disease (e.g., aortic aneurysm or arterial dissection requiring surgical repair or recent peripheral arterial thrombosis) within 6 months prior to Day 1 of Cycle 1
- History of congenital QT syndrome
- History or presence of an abnormal ECG that is clinically significant in the investigator's opinion
- Concomitant anticoagulation with coumarin agents (e.g., warfarin), direct thrombin inhibitor dabigatran, direct factor Xa inhibitor betrixaban, or platelet inhibitors (e.g. clopidogrel)
Trial locations and contacts
135 sites in 15 countries.
135 sites in 15 countries
United States24 sites
New York Oncology Hematology,P.C.-Albany
Albany, New York, 12208
University of Colorado
Aurora, Colorado, 80045
Texas Oncology - Central South
Austin, Texas, 78731
Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins
Baltimore, Maryland, 21287
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, Massachusetts, 02215
Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, Ohio, 44195
City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center
Duarte, California, 91010
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, North Carolina, 27710
Virginia Cancer Specialists - Gainsville
Gainesville, Virginia, 20155
UC San Diego Health System
La Jolla, California, 92093
Comprehensive Cancer Centers of Nevada (CCCN) - Central Valley
Las Vegas, Nevada, 89169
Rocky Mountain Cancer Center - Denver
Littleton, Colorado, 80120
UCLA
Los Angeles, California, 90095
Memorial Sloan Kettering - Monmouth
Middletown, New Jersey, 07748
Minnesota Oncology Hematology
Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55404
Memorial Sloan Kettering Bergen
Montvale, New Jersey, 07645
Mount Sinai Medical Center
New York, New York, 10029
Woodlands Medical Specialists, P.A.
Pensacola, Florida, 32503
Fox Chase Cancer Center
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19111
University Of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah, 84108
SUNY Upstate Medical University
Syracuse, New York, 13210
Moffitt Cancer Center
Tampa, Florida, 33612
Montefiore Medical Center
The Bronx, New York, 10461
University of Arizona
Tucson, Arizona, 85724-5030
Spain21 sites
Vall d?Hebron Institute of Oncology (VHIO), Barcelona
Barcelona, 08035
Hospital de la Santa Creu i Sant Pau
Barcelona, 08041
Hospital Universitario de Burgos
Burgos, 09006
Hospital San Pedro De Alcantara
Cáceres, 10003
Hospital Universitario Reina Sofia
Córdoba, Cordoba, 14004
Hospital Lucus Augusti
Lugo, 27003
Hospital General Universitario Gregorio Marañon
Madrid, 28007
Hospital Ramon y Cajal
Madrid, 28034
Hospital Clinico San Carlos
Madrid, 28040
Hospital Universitario 12 de Octubre
Madrid, 28041
Hospital Universitario La Paz
Madrid, 28046
Hospital Clinico Universitario Virgen de la Victoria
Málaga, 29010
Hospital Universitario Virgen de Arrixaca
Murcia, 30120
Hospital de Navarra
Navarra, Navarre, 31008
Hospital Univ. Central de Asturias
Oviedo, Principality of Asturias, 33011
Hospital Universitario Son Espases
Palma de Mallorca, Balearic Islands, 07014
Corporacio Sanitaria Parc Tauli
Sabadell, Barcelona, 08208
Hospital Universitario Marques de Valdecilla
Santander, Cantabria, 39008
Hospital Universitario Virgen del Rocio
Seville, 41013
Hospital Universitario la Fe
Valencia, 46026
Hospital Alvaro Cunqueiro
Vigo, Pontevedra, 36213
Italy13 sites
A.O. Universitaria Ospedale Consorziale Policlinico Di Bari
Bari, Apulia, 70124
Azienda Ospedaliero-Universitaria S.Orsola-Malpighi
Bologna, Emilia-Romagna, 40138
Asst Degli Spedali Civili Di Brescia
Brescia, Lombardy, 25123
Fondazione del Piemonte per l?Oncologia (IRCCS)
Candiolo (TO), Piedmont, 10060
IRST Istituto Scientifico Romagnolo Per Lo Studio E Cura Dei Tumori, Sede Meldola
Meldola, Emilia-Romagna, 47014
Irccs Istituto Nazionale Dei Tumori (Int)
Milan, Lombardy, 20133
Istituto Tumori Napoli
Naples, Campania, 80131
Fondazione Salvatore Maugeri
Pavia, Lombardy, 27100
Ospedale Di Macerata
Province of Macerata, The Marches, 62100
Policlinico Universitario "Agostino Gemelli"
Rome, Lazio, 00168
Istituto Clinico Humanitas
Rozzano, Lombardy, 20089
Azienda Ospedaliera S. Maria - Terni
Terni, Umbria, 05100
A.O.U di Verona Policlinico G.B. Rossi
Verona, Veneto, 37134
France10 sites
CHU Besançon - Hôpital Jean Minjoz
Besançon, 25030
CHU de Bordeaux - Groupe Hospitalier Saint-André - Hopital Saint-Andre
Bordeaux, 33075
Centre Francois Baclesse
Caen, 14076
Centre Jean Perrin
Clermont-Ferrand, 63011
Centre Oscar Lambret
Lille, 59000
Centre Leon Berard
Lyon, 69373
Centre Antoine Lacassagne
Nice, 06189
Hopital Europeen Georges Pompidou
Paris, 75908
ICANS
Strasbourg, 67200
Institut Gustave Roussy
Villejuif, 94800
Germany10 sites
Zeisigwaldkliniken Bethanien
Chemnitz, 09130
Klinikum der Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universitaet
Frankfurt, 60590
Universitaetsklinikum Freiburg
Freiburg im Breisgau, 79106
Krankenhaus Martha-Maria Halle-Dölau, Klinik für Urologie
Halle, 06120
Uniklinik-Eppendorf
Hamburg, 20246
Med. Hochschule Hannover, Hämatologie, Hämostaseologie, Onkologie u. Stammzelltransplantation
Hanover, 30625
Klinikum rechts der Isar der TU München
München, 81675
Universitaetsklinikum Muenster
Münster, 48149
Universitätsklinikum Tübingen
Tübingen, 72076
Universitätsklinikum Ulm
Ulm, 89081
Russia10 sites
Branch of the company "Hadassah Medical LTD"
Innovatsionnogo Tsentra Skolkovo, Moscow Oblast, 121205
St-Petersburg Regional Oncology Dispensary
Kuzmolovo, Leningrad, 188663
FSBSI "Russian Oncological Scientific Center n.a. N.N. Blokhin"
Moscow, Moscow Oblast, 115478
MEDSI Clinical Hospital on Pyatnitsky Highway
Moscow, Moscow Oblast, 143422
SBIH "Moscow Clinical Scientific and Practical Center named after A.S. Loginov of DHM"
Moskva, Moscow Oblast, 111123
National Medical Research Center for Surgery named after A.V. Vishnevsky
Moskva, Moscow Oblast, 117997
Medical Center Avicenna
Novosibirsk, 630099
Private Healthcare Institution Clinical Hospital RZhD Medicine
Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, 195271
AV Medical Ltd.
Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, 199034
Regional Clinical Oncology Hospital
Yaroslavl, Yaroslavl Oblast, 150054
Poland9 sites
Centrum Terapii Wspolczesnej J.M.Jasnorzewska Spolka Komandytowo-Akcyjna
?ód?, 90-338
Szpital Specjalistyczny Podkarpacki O?rodek Onkologiczny
Brzozów, 36-200
Centrum Onkologii im. Prof. Franciszka ?ukaszczyka
Bydgoszcz, 85-796
SP ZOZ Wojewódzki Szpital Specjalistyczny nr 4
Bytom, 41-902
Europejskie Centrum Zdrowia Otwock Szpital im. Fryderyka Chopina, Klinika Onkologii
Otwock, 05-400
Szpital Kliniczny im. Heliodora ?wi?cickiego UM w Poznaniu
Późna, 60-569
Szpital Grochowski im. dr med. Rafa?a Masztaka Sp. z o.o.
Warsaw, 04-073
Wojskowy Instytut Medyczny
Warsaw, 04-141
Dolno?l?skie Centrum Onkologii, Pulmonologii i Hematologii
Wroc?aw, 53-413
South Korea9 sites
Chungnam National University Hospital
Daejeon, 35015
CHA Bundang Medical Center
Gyeonggi-do, 13496
Seoul National University Bundang Hospital
Gyeonggi-do, 13620
Pusan National University Yangsan Hospital
Gyeongsangnam-do, 50612
Chonnam National University Hwasun Hospital
Jeollanam-do, 58128
Samsung Medical Center
Seoul, 006351
Seoul National University Hospital
Seoul, 03080
Severance Hospital
Seoul, 03722
Asan Medical Center
Seoul, 05505
Japan8 sites
Hokkaido University Hospital
Hokkaido, 060-8648
University of Tsukuba Hospital
Ibaraki, 305-8576
Yokohama City University Hospital
Kanagawa, 236-0004
Okayama University Hospital
Okayama, 700-8558
Osaka Metropolitan University Hospital
Osaka, 545-8586
Tokushima University Hospital
Tokushima, 770-8503
Keio University Hospital
Tokyo, 160-8582
Tokyo Women's Medical University Hospital
Tokyo, 162-8666
Greece5 sites
Alexandras General Hospital of Athens
Athens, 115 28
Attikon University General Hospital
Athens, 12464
Athens Medical Center
Athens, 151 25
University Hospital of Larissa
Larissa, 41110
Diavalkaniko Hospital
Thessaloniki, 570 01
United Kingdom5 sites
Royal Blackburn Hospital
Blackburn, BB2 3HH
Leicester Royal Infirmary
Leicester, LE1 5WW
Barts & London School of Med
London, EC1A 7BE
Royal Marsden Hospital
London, SW3 6JJ
Christie Hospital Nhs Trust
Manchester, M2O 4BX
Argentina4 sites
Fundación CENIT para la Investigación en Neurociencias
Buenos Aires, C1125ABD
Inst. Alexander Fleming
Buenos Aires, C1426ANZ
Hospital Britanico
Ciudad Autonoma Bs As, C1280AEB
Centro Medico Austral OMI
Ciudad Autonoma Buenos Aires, C1019ABS
Australia4 sites
Bendigo Cancer Centre
Bendigo, Victoria, 3550
Macquarie University Hospital
Macquarie Park, New South Wales, 2109
Orange Hospital
Orange, New South Wales, 2800
Icon Cancer Foundation
South Brisbane, Queensland, 4101
Canada2 sites
St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton
Hamilton, Ontario, L8N 4A6
Princess Margaret Cancer Center
Toronto, Ontario, M5G 1Z5
About this study
Official title: A Phase III, Multicenter, Randomized, Open-Label Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Atezolizumab Given in Combination With Cabozantinib Versus Cabozantinib Alone in Patients With Inoperable, Locally Advanced, or Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma Who Experienced Radiographic Tumor Progression During or After Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor Treatment
This is a Phase III, multicenter, randomized, open-label study designed to evaluate the efficacy and safety of atezolizumab given in combination with cabozantinib versus cabozantinib alone in participants with inoperable, locally advanced, or metastatic renal cell carcinoma (RCC) who experienced radiographic tumor progression during or after Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor (ICI) treatment in the metastatic setting.
- Conditions
- Carcinoma, Renal Cell
- Being tested
- Atezolizumab, Cabozantinib
- Medical subject headings
- Carcinoma, Renal Cell
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
AtezolizumabDrug
Also called Tecentriq
Atezolizumab 1200 mg will be administered at a fixed dose on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle by IV infusion every 3 weeks.
CabozantinibDrug
Also called Cabometyx
Cabozantinib 60 mg (three 20-mg tablets) administered orally once daily.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Atezo+Cabo | Experimental | Participants will receive atezolizumab every 3 weeks on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle (1 cycle=21 days) plus oral tablets of cabozantinib every day. Receives: Drug: Atezolizumab; Drug: Cabozantinib |
| Cabozantinib | Active comparator | Participants will receive cabozantinib every day. Receives: Drug: Cabozantinib |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Progression Free Survival (PFS) as Assessed by an Independent Review Facility (IRF) (IRF-PFS) According to RECIST v1.1
PFS was defined as the time from randomization to the first occurrence to PD, as determined by the IRF per RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters (SOD) of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest SOD at prior timepoints (including baseline). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the SOD must also demonstrate an absolute increase of ≥ 5 millimeters (mm). Data for participants who did not experience PD or death was censored at the last tumor assessment date. Data for participants with no post-baseline tumor assessments was censored at the randomization date. PFS was estimated using Kaplan-Meier (KM) method.
Measured: From randomization to the first occurrence of PD according to RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first (up to 2 years 5 months)
Overall Survival (OS)
OS was defined as the time from randomization to death due to any cause. Data for participants who were not reported as having died at the date of analysis were censored at the date when they were last known to be alive. Participants without post-baseline information were censored at the date of randomization. OS was estimated using KM method.
Measured: From randomization to death due to any cause (up to 2 years 5 months).
Secondary outcomes (9)
PFS Assessed by the Investigators (INV-PFS), According to RECIST v1.1
PFS was defined as the time from randomization to the first occurrence of PD, as determined by the investigator per RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest SOD at prior timepoints (including baseline). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the SOD must also demonstrate an absolute increase of ≥ 5 mm. Data for participants who did not experience PD or death was censored at the last tumor assessment date. Data for participants with no post-baseline tumor assessments were censored at the randomization date. PFS was estimated using KM method.
Measured: From randomization to the first occurrence of PD according to RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first (up to 2 years 5 months)
Investigator-assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR) (INV-ORR), According to RECIST v1.1
ORR was defined as the percentage of participants with an objective response i.e. a complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) at two consecutive tumor assessments at least 28 days apart, as determined by the investigator per RECIST v1.1. CR was defined as the disappearance of all target lesions, and any pathological lymph nodes must have a reduction in short axis to < 10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of all target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD, in the absence of CR.
Measured: Up to 2 years 5 months
IRF-assessed ORR (IRF-ORR) According to RECIST v1.1
ORR was defined as the percentage of participants with an objective response i.e. a CR or PR at two consecutive tumor assessments at least 28 days apart, as determined by the IRF per RECIST v1.1. CR was defined as the disappearance of all target lesions, and any pathological lymph nodes must have a reduction in short axis to < 10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of all target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD, in the absence of CR.
Measured: Up to 2 years 5 months
Investigator-assessed Duration of Response (DOR) (INV-DOR), According to RECIST v1.1
DOR was defined as the time from the first occurrence of an objective response (CR or PR) to PD or death, whichever occurred first, as determined by the investigator per RECIST v1.1. CR was defined as the disappearance of all target lesions, and any pathological lymph nodes must have a reduction in short axis to < 10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of all target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD, in the absence of CR. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest SOD at prior timepoints (including baseline). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the SOD must also demonstrate an absolute increase of ≥ 5 mm. DOR was estimated using KM method.
Measured: From the date of first occurrence of a documented objective response to PD or death from any cause, whichever occurred first (up to 2 years 5 months)
IRF-assessed DOR (IRF-DOR) According to RECIST v1.1
DOR was defined as the time from the first occurrence of an objective response (CR or PR) to PD or death, whichever occurred first, as determined by IRF per RECIST v1.1. CR was defined as the disappearance of all target lesions, and any pathological lymph nodes must have a reduction in short axis to < 10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of all target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD, in the absence of CR. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest SOD at prior timepoints (including baseline). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the SOD must also demonstrate an absolute increase of ≥ 5 mm. DOR was estimated using KM method.
Measured: From the date of first occurrence of a documented objective response to PD or death from any cause, whichever occurred first (up to 2 years 5 months)
Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)
An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of causal attribution. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product.
Measured: Up to approximately 50 months
Serum Concentration of Atezolizumab
Measured: Predose on Day 1 of Cycles 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 12 and 16; 30 minutes postdose on Cycle 1 Day 1 (1 cycle = 21 days); Treatment discontinuation visit (up to approximately 46 months)
Plasma Concentration of Cabozantinib
Measured: Predose on Day 1 of Cycles 2, 3, and 4 (1 cycle = 21 days); Treatment discontinuation visit (up to approximately 48 months)
Percentage of Participants With Anti-drug Antibodies (ADAs) to Atezolizumab
Participants who received atezolizumab were considered to be treatment-emergent ADA-positive if they were ADA-negative or had missing data at baseline but developed an ADA response following atezolizumab exposure (treatment-induced ADA response), or if they were ADA-positive at baseline and the titer of one or more post-baseline samples was at least 0.60 titer units (t.u.) greater than the titer of the baseline sample (treatment-enhanced ADA response).
Measured: Up to approximately 24 months
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted8 Apr 2020
- Study start28 Jul 2020
- Primary completion3 Jan 2023
- Study completion24 Mar 2025
Why it stopped: As the study did not meet it's primary endpoint a decision was made to terminate the study.
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Publications (2)Papers the sponsor has linked to this study.
- Other trials for Carcinoma, Renal CellStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Hoffmann-La RocheThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 522 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Hoffmann-La Roche
- Sponsor type
- Industry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Collaborators
- Exelixis, Chugai Pharmaceutical
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Clinical Trials, Study director, Hoffmann-La Roche
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT04338269
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- WO41994
- Acronym
- CONTACT-03
- Status last verified
- Feb 2026
- First submitted
- 6 Apr 2020
- Last updated
- 19 Mar 2026
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
- FDA-regulated drug
- Yes
- FDA-regulated device
- No
- Individual data sharing
- Yes: For eligible studies, qualified researchers may request access to individual patient level clinical data. See Roche's commitment to transparency of clinical study information here: https://go.roche.com/data\_sharing
Publications
Pal SK, Albiges L, Tomczak P, Suarez C, Voss MH, de Velasco G, Chahoud J, Mochalova A, Procopio G, Mahammedi H, Zengerling F, Kim C, Osawa T, Angel M, Gupta S, Khan O, Bergthold G, Liu B, Kalaitzidou M, Huseni M, Scheffold C, Powles T, Choueiri TK. Atezolizumab plus cabozantinib versus cabozantinib monotherapy for patients with renal cell carcinoma after progression with previous immune checkpoint inhibitor treatment (CONTACT-03): a multicentre, randomised, open-label, phase 3 trial. Lancet. 2023 Jul 15;402(10397):185-195. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(23)00922-4. Epub 2023 Jun 5.
PubMed 37290461Yang Y, Psutka SP, Parikh AB, Li M, Collier K, Miah A, Mori SV, Hinkley M, Tykodi SS, Hall E, Thompson JA, Yin M. Combining immune checkpoint inhibition plus tyrosine kinase inhibition as first and subsequent treatments for metastatic renal cell carcinoma. Cancer Med. 2022 Aug;11(16):3106-3114. doi: 10.1002/cam4.4679. Epub 2022 Mar 18.
PubMed 35304832
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 19 Mar 2026. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Phase III, Multicenter, Randomized, Open-Label Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Atezolizumab Given in Combination With Cabozantinib Versus Cabozantinib Alone in Patients With Inoperable, Locally Advanced, or Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma Who Experienced Radiographic Tumor Progression During or After Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor Treatment
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT04338269
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- CONTACT-03 / WO41994
- Conditions
- Carcinoma, Renal Cell
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- TerminatedReason stopped: As the study did not meet it's primary endpoint a decision was made to terminate the study.
- Enrolment
- 522 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Hoffmann-La RocheIndustry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Collaborators
- Exelixis, Chugai Pharmaceutical
- Study start
- 28 Jul 2020 (actual)
- Primary completion
- 3 Jan 2023 (actual)
- Study completion
- 24 Mar 2025 (actual)
- First posted
- 8 Apr 2020 (actual)
- Results
- Posted 28 Feb 2024
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
This is a Phase III, multicenter, randomized, open-label study designed to evaluate the efficacy and safety of atezolizumab given in combination with cabozantinib versus cabozantinib alone in participants with inoperable, locally advanced, or metastatic renal cell carcinoma (RCC) who experienced radiographic tumor progression during or after Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor (ICI) treatment in the metastatic setting.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 2
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Atezo+Cabo | Experimental | Drug: Atezolizumab, Drug: CabozantinibParticipants will receive atezolizumab every 3 weeks on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle (1 cycle=21 days) plus oral tablets of cabozantinib every day. |
| Cabozantinib | Active comparator | Drug: CabozantinibParticipants will receive cabozantinib every day. |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Key inclusion criteria (13 listed)
- Histologically confirmed locally advanced or metastatic clear cell or non-clear cell (papillary, chromophobe, and unclassified only) RCC. RCC with sarcomatoid features is allowed. Patients with the chromophobe subtype of non-clear cell RCC must have sarcomatoid differentiation.
- Radiographic disease progression to prior ICI therapy for RCC. Patients who experienced radiographic tumor progression during or within 6 months after the last dose of adjuvant ICI are also eligible. ICI is defined by anti-PD-L1 or anti-PD1 antibody including atezolizumab, avelumab, pembrolizumab, durvalumab, or nivolumab. Only patients for whom the immediate preceding line of therapy was an ICI are allowed.
- Measurable disease per RECIST v1.1
- Evaluable IMDC risk score
- Archival tumor specimen, and pretreatment tumor tissue from fresh biopsy at screening, if clinically feasible. Both archival and fresh samples are preferred.
Key exclusion criteria (22 listed)
- Treatment with anti-cancer therapy within 14 days prior to initiation of study treatment
- Patients received cabozantinib at any time prior to screening
- Patients who received more than one ICI treatment in the locally advanced or metastatic setting
- Patients who received more than two prior lines of therapy in the locally advanced or metastatic setting
- Patients who have received a mammalian target of rapamycin (mTOR) inhibitor in any setting
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| AtezolizumabAlso: TecentriqAtezolizumab 1200 mg will be administered at a fixed dose on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle by IV infusion every 3 weeks. | Drug | Atezo+Cabo |
| CabozantinibAlso: CabometyxCabozantinib 60 mg (three 20-mg tablets) administered orally once daily. | Drug | Atezo+Cabo, Cabozantinib |
Primary outcome
Progression Free Survival (PFS) as Assessed by an Independent Review Facility (IRF) (IRF-PFS) According to RECIST v1.1
Time frame: From randomization to the first occurrence of PD according to RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first (up to 2 years 5 months)
PFS was defined as the time from randomization to the first occurrence to PD, as determined by the IRF per RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters (SOD) of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest SOD at prior timepoints (including baseline). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the SOD must also demonstrate an absolute increase of ≥ 5 millimeters (mm). Data for participants who did not experience PD or death was censored at the last tumor assessment date. Data for participants with no post-baseline tumor assessments was censored at the randomization date. PFS was estimated using Kaplan-Meier (KM) method.
Overall Survival (OS)
Time frame: From randomization to death due to any cause (up to 2 years 5 months).
OS was defined as the time from randomization to death due to any cause. Data for participants who were not reported as having died at the date of analysis were censored at the date when they were last known to be alive. Participants without post-baseline information were censored at the date of randomization. OS was estimated using KM method.
9 secondary outcomes
PFS Assessed by the Investigators (INV-PFS), According to RECIST v1.1
Time frame: From randomization to the first occurrence of PD according to RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first (up to 2 years 5 months)
Investigator-assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR) (INV-ORR), According to RECIST v1.1
Time frame: Up to 2 years 5 months
IRF-assessed ORR (IRF-ORR) According to RECIST v1.1
Time frame: Up to 2 years 5 months
Investigator-assessed Duration of Response (DOR) (INV-DOR), According to RECIST v1.1
Time frame: From the date of first occurrence of a documented objective response to PD or death from any cause, whichever occurred first (up to 2 years 5 months)
IRF-assessed DOR (IRF-DOR) According to RECIST v1.1
Time frame: From the date of first occurrence of a documented objective response to PD or death from any cause, whichever occurred first (up to 2 years 5 months)
Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)
Time frame: Up to approximately 50 months
Serum Concentration of Atezolizumab
Time frame: Predose on Day 1 of Cycles 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 12 and 16; 30 minutes postdose on Cycle 1 Day 1 (1 cycle = 21 days); Treatment discontinuation visit (up to approximately 46 months)
Plasma Concentration of Cabozantinib
Time frame: Predose on Day 1 of Cycles 2, 3, and 4 (1 cycle = 21 days); Treatment discontinuation visit (up to approximately 48 months)
Percentage of Participants With Anti-drug Antibodies (ADAs) to Atezolizumab
Time frame: Up to approximately 24 months
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 19 Mar 2026.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
- Derived from this study: PubMed 37290461Pal SK, Albiges L, Tomczak P, Suarez C, Voss MH, de Velasco G, Chahoud J, Mochalova A, Procopio G, Mahammedi H, Zengerling F, Kim C, Osawa T, Angel M, Gupta S, Khan O, Bergthold G, Liu B, Kalaitzidou M, Huseni M, Scheffold C, Powles T, Choueiri TK. Atezolizumab plus cabozantinib versus cabozantinib monotherapy for patients with renal cell carcinoma after progression with previous immune checkpoint inhibitor treatment (CONTACT-03): a multicentre, randomised, open-label, phase 3 trial. Lancet. 2023 Jul 15;402(10397):185-195. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(23)00922-4. Epub 2023 Jun 5.
- Derived from this study: PubMed 35304832Yang Y, Psutka SP, Parikh AB, Li M, Collier K, Miah A, Mori SV, Hinkley M, Tykodi SS, Hall E, Thompson JA, Yin M. Combining immune checkpoint inhibition plus tyrosine kinase inhibition as first and subsequent treatments for metastatic renal cell carcinoma. Cancer Med. 2022 Aug;11(16):3106-3114. doi: 10.1002/cam4.4679. Epub 2022 Mar 18.
- Individual participant dataSharing planned: Yes. For eligible studies, qualified researchers may request access to individual patient level clinical data. See Roche's commitment to transparency of clinical study information here: https://go.roche.com/data_sharing
Related trials for Carcinoma, Renal Cell
RecruitingPhase 1/2
Study of INBRX-106 and INBRX-106 in Combination With Pembrolizumab (Keytruda®) in Subjects With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Solid Tumors (Hexavalent OX40 Agonist)
Solid Tumor, Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Active, not recruitingPhase 3
A Study of Belzutifan (MK-6482) in Combination With Lenvatinib Versus Cabozantinib for Treatment of Renal Cell Carcinoma (MK-6482-011)
Carcinoma, Renal Cell
RecruitingPhase 2/3
Testing the Role of DNA Released From Tumor Cells Into the Blood in Guiding the Use of Immunotherapy After Surgical Removal of the Bladder, Kidney, Ureter, and Urethra for Urothelial Cancer Treatment, MODERN Study
Muscle Invasive Bladder Urothelial Carcinoma, Muscle Invasive Renal Pelvis Urothelial Carcinoma
Not yet recruitingPhase 2
Toripalimab and Lenvatinib With or Without SBRT Before Surgery for Non-Clear Cell Kidney Cancer
Nonmetastatic Locally Advanced Non-Clear Cell Renal Cell Carcinoma
Not yet recruitingPhase 2
Pucotenlimab, Lenvatinib, and SBRT Before Surgery for Localized Clear Cell Renal Cell Carcinoma
Localized Clear Cell Renal Cell Carcinoma
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Clinical Trials study director
Hoffmann-La Roche
135 sites in 15 countries: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing Atezolizumab and Cabozantinib in people with Carcinoma, Renal Cell, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 135 sites in 15 countries.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 13 inclusion and 22 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 19 Mar 2026. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 135 sites in United States, Spain, Italy, France, Germany and 10 more countries. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 28 Feb 2024). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Progression Free Survival (PFS) as Assessed by an Independent Review Facility (IRF) (IRF-PFS) According to RECIST v1.1 (time frame: From randomization to the first occurrence of PD according to RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first (up to 2 years 5 months)). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT04338269, which also lists 2 linked publications.
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 19 Mar 2026.