Covid19Phase 4NCT04952402
SARS-CoV-2 Immune Responses After COVID-19 Therapy and Subsequent Vaccine
A Phase 4 study testing Study-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 vaccine, Community-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 Vaccine and Community-Provided Pfizer-BioNTech BNT162b2 COVID-19 Vaccine in people with Covid19 and SARS-CoV2 Infection, run by National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) at 6 sites in United States.
Trial summary
The purpose of this study is to evaluate the safety and efficacy of mRNA COVID-19 vaccines in: People with prior COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2 infection) who were in the ACTIV-2/A5401 study. And People who have never had COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2 infection). Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and olderHealthy volunteers can take part
- Conditions the study is for
- Covid19, SARS-CoV2 Infection
- What is being tested?
- Study-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 vaccine, Community-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 Vaccine and Community-Provided Pfizer-BioNTech BNT162b2 COVID-19 Vaccine
- Type of treatment
- Vaccines, Pill or oral medicine, Injection or infusion
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 43 participants
- Where
- 6 sitesUnited States
- Study dates
- 9 Jul 2021to 10 Jan 2023
- Phase
- Phase 4
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- All sexes
- Healthy volunteers accepted
- Adult, Older adult
Who may be able to join
- For all participants: Ability and willingness of participant (or legally authorized representative) to provide informed consent prior to initiation of any study procedures.
- For participants who are in, or who have completed, the ACTIV-2/A5401 trial: Receipt of all selected investigational therapy or active comparator/placebo for that therapy at selected sites.
- For participants who are in, or who have completed, the ACTIV-2/A5401 trial and receive study-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 vaccine: Receipt of the last dose of investigational therapy or active comparator/placebo for that therapy ≥30 days and ≤240 days prior to study entry.
- For participants who are in, or who have completed, the ACTIV-2/A5401 trial and have received or will be receiving community-provided mRNA-based COVID-19 vaccine: Receipt of the last dose of investigational therapy or active comparator/placebo for that therapy ≥30 and ≤240 days prior to receipt or planned receipt of the first dose of community-provided vaccine.
Who cannot join
- For participants who are in, or who have completed, the ACTIV-2/A5401 trial: Self-report of prior receipt of a non-mRNA-based COVID-19 vaccine.
- For participants who are in, or who have completed, the ACTIV-2/A5401 trial: Self-report of receipt of the first dose of an mRNA-based COVID-19 vaccine 140 days or more before A5404 enrollment.
- For participants who are in, or who have completed, the ACTIV-2/A5401 trial: Self-report of a second SARS-CoV-2 infection after the infection that qualified the participant for ACTIV-2/A5401.
- For non-A5401/ACTIV-2 participants: Self-report of receipt of any prior COVID-19 vaccine.
- For non-A5401/ACTIV-2 participants: Known prior history of any SARS-CoV-2-positive test (e.g., PCR test, Nucleic Acid Amplification Test (NAAT), antigen test, serology test).
- For participants who receive study-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 vaccine: Known allergy to any component of the Moderna COVID-19 vaccine.
Trial locations and contacts
6 sites in 1 country.
6 sites in 1 country
United States6 sites
Brigham and Women's Hospital Therapeutics Clinical Research Site (BWH TCRS) CRS
Boston, Massachusetts, 02115
Chapel Hill CRS (Site ID: 3201)
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, 27599
Rush University CRS (Site ID: 2702)
Chicago, Illinois, 60612
UCLA CARE Center CRS
Los Angeles, California, 90035-4709
UCSD Antiviral Research Center CRS
San Diego, California, 92103
University of Washington AIDS CRS
Seattle, Washington, 98104-9929
About this study
The purpose of this study is to evaluate the safety and efficacy of mRNA COVID-19 vaccines in:
- People with prior COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2 infection) who were in the ACTIV-2/A5401 study.
And
- People who have never had COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2 infection).
Read the detailed description
A5404 is a phase IV, open-label study. The objective of A5404 is to evaluate how prior investigational therapy for COVID-19 versus comparator (placebo or active comparator) affects vaccine response. The safety of mRNA COVID-19 vaccines is also explored.
Eligible A5404 participants include: Participants of ACTIV-2/A5401 at selected sites who received an investigational therapy or its comparator; and persons without known history of prior SARS-CoV-2 infection defined as no known history of any SARS-CoV-2 positive test (non-A5401 participants). In line with our protocol, for outcome measures related to neutralizing antibodies and adverse events, we further break down the ACTIV-2/A5401 participants into two exposure groups: those who received an active therapy (AZD7442 IM or IV, BRII-196 + BRII 198 IV, SAB 185 (3,840 or 10,240 units/kg) IV, BMS 096414+BMS 986413 subcutaneous) and those who received Camostat Oral or Placebo.
Participants of ACTIV-2/A5401 received study-provided standard dosing of the Moderna mRNA-1273 vaccine, or a community-provided mRNA-based COVID-19 vaccine (e.g., Moderna or Pfizer). Participants in ACTIV-2/A5401 received their mRNA-based COVID-19 vaccine 60-240 days after receiving their last dose of a select ACTIV-2/A5401 investigational therapy, or its comparator. Participants without prior COVID-19 received study-provided standard dosing of the Moderna mRNA-1273 vaccine.
The study closed early to accrual on February 25, 2022 due to slow enrollment. Clarification Memo #1 (dated January 11, 2023) reflects decisions to discontinue follow up at study Day 365 instead of following participants to Day 730 after the first dose of vaccine and to reallocate some secondary outcome measures to exploratory outcome measures.
- Conditions
- Covid19, SARS-CoV2 Infection
- Being tested
- Study-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 vaccine, Community-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 Vaccine, Community-Provided Pfizer-BioNTech BNT162b2 COVID-19 Vaccine
- Medical subject headings
- COVID-19
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
Study-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 vaccineBiological
Participants received a two-dose series (100 µg (0.5 mL) was administered intramuscularly (IM) at Day 0 and Day 28).
Community-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 VaccineBiological
Participants received a two-dose series.
Community-Provided Pfizer-BioNTech BNT162b2 COVID-19 VaccineBiological
Participants received a two-dose series.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Cohort: ACTIV-2/A5401 | Experimental | Participants of the ACTIV-2/A5401 randomized trial who received a select investigational (active) therapy (AZD7442 IM or IV, BRII-196 + BRII 198 IV, SAB 185 (3,840 or 10,240 units/kg) IV, BMS 096414+BMS 986413 subcutaneous, Camostat Oral) or its corresponding comparator (Placebo). Receives: Biological: Study-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 vaccine; Biological: Community-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 Vaccine; Biological: Community-Provided Pfizer-BioNTech BNT162b2 COVID-19 Vaccine |
| Cohort: COVID-19 Naïve | Experimental | Participants without known history of prior SARS-CoV-2 infection defined as no known history of any SARS-CoV-2 positive test (non-ACTIV-2/A5401 participants). Receives: Biological: Study-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 vaccine |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Neutralizing Antibody (NAb) Level
NAb level was measured by using both 50% neutralizing dilution titers (ND50) and 80% neutralizing titers (ND80). A higher NAb level corresponds to a stronger immune response. For ND50 values less than lower limit of quantification (LLQ), we impute with 10 (which is ½ LLQ of 20). For ND50 values exceeding the upper limit of quantification (ULQ), we impute with 20,000 (a value suggested by the immunology lab, which is 2 times the ULQ of 10,000). For ND80, we impute similarly with 10 and 20,000. We carry forward the Day 56 NAb measurement if the Day 140 measurement is not reported.
Measured: Measured 140 days after the first dose of the vaccine
Secondary outcomes (5)
Geometric Mean of Relative Change in Neutralizing Antibody Levels From Pre-vaccine to Post-vaccine
Relative change is defined as the ratio of post-vaccine NAb level/pre-vaccine NAb level. A ratio greater than one indicates an increase of NAb response. For ND50 values less than lower limit of quantification (LLQ), we impute with 10 (which is ½ LLQ of 20). For ND50 values exceeding the upper limit of quantification (ULQ), we impute with 20,000 (a value suggested by the immunology lab, which is 2 times the ULQ of 10,000). For ND80, we impute similarly with 10 and 20,000.
Measured: Measured before the first dose of the vaccine, and 56 days after the first dose of the vaccine
Proportion of Participants With New Grade 3 or Higher AE, or SAE, or AE Leading to Change or Discontinuation in Vaccine Receipt
An adverse event (AE) is any unfavorable and unintended sign, symptom, or diagnosis that occurs in a study participant during the conduct of the study REGARDLESS of the attribution. A serious adverse event (SAE) is defined as any untoward medical occurrence that results in death; is life-threatening; requires inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization; results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity; is a congenital anomaly/birth defect; is an important medical event that may not be immediately life-threatening or result in death or hospitalization but may jeopardize the patient or may require intervention to prevent one of the other outcomes listed in the definition above.
Adverse events are graded on a scale from 1-5: 1=mild, 2=moderate, 3=severe, 4=life-threatening, 5=death. AE grading was per Division of AIDS Table for Grading the Severity of Adult and Pediatric Adverse Events (DAIDS AE Grading Table V2.1).
Measured: From first dose of the vaccine through 140 days after the first dose of the vaccine
Number of Participants With Grade 1 or Higher Allergic Reaction
Adverse events are graded on a scale from 1-5: 1=mild, 2=moderate, 3=severe, 4=life-threatening, 5=death. AE grading was per Division of AIDS Table for Grading the Severity of Adult and Pediatric Adverse Events (DAIDS AE Grading Table V2.1).
Measured: From first dose of the vaccine through 56 days after the first dose of the vaccine
Proportion of Participants With Grade 2 or Higher Injection Site Reaction
Adverse events are graded on a scale from 1-5: 1=mild, 2=moderate, 3=severe, 4=life-threatening, 5=death. AE grading was per Division of AIDS Table for Grading the Severity of Adult and Pediatric Adverse Events (DAIDS AE Grading Table V2.1).
Measured: From first dose of the vaccine through 56 days after the first dose of the vaccine
Geometric Mean of Relative Change in Neutralizing Antibody Levels From Pre-vaccine to Post-vaccine by Received Vaccine
Relative change is defined as the ratio of post-vaccine NAb level/pre-vaccine NAb level by received vaccine, i.e., Moderna mRNA-1273 versus Pfizer-BioNTech BNT162b2. A ratio greater than one indicates an increase of NAb response for those on Moderna mRNA-1273 versus Pfizer-BioNTech BNT162b2. For ND50 values less than lower limit of quantification (LLQ), we impute with 10 (which is ½ LLQ of 20). For ND50 values exceeding the upper limit of quantification (ULQ), we impute with 20,000 (a value suggested by the immunology lab, which is 2 times the ULQ of 10,000). For ND80, we impute similarly with 10 and 20,000.
Measured: Measured before the first dose of the vaccine, and 56 days after the first dose of the vaccine
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted7 Jul 2021
- Study start9 Jul 2021
- Primary completion28 Feb 2022
- Study completion10 Jan 2023
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Publications (1)Papers the sponsor has linked to this study.
- Other trials for Covid19Studies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)The sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 4
- Primary purpose
- Prevention
- Allocation
- Non-randomised
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 43 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Sponsor type
- US National Institutes of Health
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- David Smith, MD, MAS, Study chair, UCSD Antiviral Research Center
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT04952402
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- A5404
- Status last verified
- May 2023
- First submitted
- 28 Jun 2021
- Last updated
- 24 May 2023
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
- FDA-regulated drug
- Yes
- FDA-regulated device
- No
- Individual data sharing
- Yes: Individual participant data that underlie results in the publication, after deidentification.
Publications
Smith DM, Weir IR, Ramirez S, Coelho CH, Manne-Goehler J, Aziz M, Benson CA, Wu X, Hyer R, Dhillon PK, Faraji F, Bloom N, Myers A, Ramezani-Rad P, Lopez PG, Parikh UM, Heaps AL, Javan AC, Bender Ignacio RA, Li JZ, Greninger AL, Daar ES, Wohl DA, Crotty S, Sieg SF, Chew KW. Impact of COVID-19 Monoclonal Antibody Therapy on Subsequent Vaccine-Elicited SARS-CoV-2 Immune Responses. J Infect Dis. 2026 Aug 3;234(1):e18-e28. doi: 10.1093/infdis/jiag091.
PubMed 41700320
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 24 May 2023. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- SARS-CoV-2 Immune Responses After COVID-19 Therapy and Subsequent Vaccine
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT04952402
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- A5404
- Conditions
- Covid19, SARS-CoV2 Infection
- Phase
- Phase 4
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 43 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)US National Institutes of Health
- Study start
- 9 Jul 2021 (actual)
- Primary completion
- 28 Feb 2022 (actual)
- Study completion
- 10 Jan 2023 (actual)
- First posted
- 7 Jul 2021 (actual)
- Results
- Posted 19 May 2023
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
The purpose of this study is to evaluate the safety and efficacy of mRNA COVID-19 vaccines in:
- People with prior COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2 infection) who were in the ACTIV-2/A5401 study.
And
- People who have never had COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2 infection).
Detailed description
A5404 is a phase IV, open-label study. The objective of A5404 is to evaluate how prior investigational therapy for COVID-19 versus comparator (placebo or active comparator) affects vaccine response. The safety of mRNA COVID-19 vaccines is also explored.
Eligible A5404 participants include: Participants of ACTIV-2/A5401 at selected sites who received an investigational therapy or its comparator; and persons without known history of prior SARS-CoV-2 infection defined as no known history of any SARS-CoV-2 positive test (non-A5401 participants). In line with our protocol, for outcome measures related to neutralizing antibodies and adverse events, we further break down the ACTIV-2/A5401 participants into two exposure groups: those who received an active therapy (AZD7442 IM or IV, BRII-196 + BRII 198 IV, SAB 185 (3,840 or 10,240 units/kg) IV, BMS 096414+BMS 986413 subcutaneous) and those who received Camostat Oral or Placebo.
Participants of ACTIV-2/A5401 received study-provided standard dosing of the Moderna mRNA-1273 vaccine, or a community-provided mRNA-based COVID-19 vaccine (e.g., Moderna or Pfizer). Participants in ACTIV-2/A5401 received their mRNA-based COVID-19 vaccine 60-240 days after receiving their last dose of a select ACTIV-2/A5401 investigational therapy, or its comparator. Participants without prior COVID-19 received study-provided standard dosing of the Moderna mRNA-1273 vaccine.
The study closed early to accrual on February 25, 2022 due to slow enrollment. Clarification Memo #1 (dated January 11, 2023) reflects decisions to discontinue follow up at study Day 365 instead of following participants to Day 730 after the first dose of vaccine and to reallocate some secondary outcome measures to exploratory outcome measures.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Prevention
- Allocation
- Non-randomised
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 2
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Cohort: ACTIV-2/A5401 | Experimental | Biological: Study-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 vaccine, Biological: Community-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 Vaccine, Biological: Community-Provided Pfizer-BioNTech BNT162b2 COVID-19 VaccineParticipants of the ACTIV-2/A5401 randomized trial who received a select investigational (active) therapy (AZD7442 IM or IV, BRII-196 + BRII 198 IV, SAB 185 (3,840 or 10,240 units/kg) IV, BMS 096414+BMS 986413 subcutaneous, Camostat Oral) or its corresponding comparator (Placebo). |
| Cohort: COVID-19 Naïve | Experimental | Biological: Study-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 vaccineParticipants without known history of prior SARS-CoV-2 infection defined as no known history of any SARS-CoV-2 positive test (non-ACTIV-2/A5401 participants). |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Key inclusion criteria (4 listed)
- For all participants: Ability and willingness of participant (or legally authorized representative) to provide informed consent prior to initiation of any study procedures.
- For participants who are in, or who have completed, the ACTIV-2/A5401 trial: Receipt of all selected investigational therapy or active comparator/placebo for that therapy at selected sites.
- For participants who are in, or who have completed, the ACTIV-2/A5401 trial and receive study-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 vaccine: Receipt of the last dose of investigational therapy or active comparator/placebo for that therapy ≥30 days and ≤240 days prior to study entry.
- For participants who are in, or who have completed, the ACTIV-2/A5401 trial and have received or will be receiving community-provided mRNA-based COVID-19 vaccine: Receipt of the last dose of investigational therapy or active comparator/placebo for that therapy ≥30 and ≤240 days prior to receipt or planned receipt of the first dose of community-provided vaccine.
Key exclusion criteria (6 listed)
- For participants who are in, or who have completed, the ACTIV-2/A5401 trial: Self-report of prior receipt of a non-mRNA-based COVID-19 vaccine.
- For participants who are in, or who have completed, the ACTIV-2/A5401 trial: Self-report of receipt of the first dose of an mRNA-based COVID-19 vaccine 140 days or more before A5404 enrollment.
- For participants who are in, or who have completed, the ACTIV-2/A5401 trial: Self-report of a second SARS-CoV-2 infection after the infection that qualified the participant for ACTIV-2/A5401.
- For non-A5401/ACTIV-2 participants: Self-report of receipt of any prior COVID-19 vaccine.
- For non-A5401/ACTIV-2 participants: Known prior history of any SARS-CoV-2-positive test (e.g., PCR test, Nucleic Acid Amplification Test (NAAT), antigen test, serology test).
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| Study-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 vaccineParticipants received a two-dose series (100 µg (0.5 mL) was administered intramuscularly (IM) at Day 0 and Day 28). | Biological | Cohort: ACTIV-2/A5401, Cohort: COVID-19 Naïve |
| Community-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 VaccineParticipants received a two-dose series. | Biological | Cohort: ACTIV-2/A5401 |
| Community-Provided Pfizer-BioNTech BNT162b2 COVID-19 VaccineParticipants received a two-dose series. | Biological | Cohort: ACTIV-2/A5401 |
Primary outcome
Neutralizing Antibody (NAb) Level
Time frame: Measured 140 days after the first dose of the vaccine
NAb level was measured by using both 50% neutralizing dilution titers (ND50) and 80% neutralizing titers (ND80). A higher NAb level corresponds to a stronger immune response. For ND50 values less than lower limit of quantification (LLQ), we impute with 10 (which is ½ LLQ of 20). For ND50 values exceeding the upper limit of quantification (ULQ), we impute with 20,000 (a value suggested by the immunology lab, which is 2 times the ULQ of 10,000). For ND80, we impute similarly with 10 and 20,000. We carry forward the Day 56 NAb measurement if the Day 140 measurement is not reported.
5 secondary outcomes
Geometric Mean of Relative Change in Neutralizing Antibody Levels From Pre-vaccine to Post-vaccine
Time frame: Measured before the first dose of the vaccine, and 56 days after the first dose of the vaccine
Proportion of Participants With New Grade 3 or Higher AE, or SAE, or AE Leading to Change or Discontinuation in Vaccine Receipt
Time frame: From first dose of the vaccine through 140 days after the first dose of the vaccine
Number of Participants With Grade 1 or Higher Allergic Reaction
Time frame: From first dose of the vaccine through 56 days after the first dose of the vaccine
Proportion of Participants With Grade 2 or Higher Injection Site Reaction
Time frame: From first dose of the vaccine through 56 days after the first dose of the vaccine
Geometric Mean of Relative Change in Neutralizing Antibody Levels From Pre-vaccine to Post-vaccine by Received Vaccine
Time frame: Measured before the first dose of the vaccine, and 56 days after the first dose of the vaccine
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 24 May 2023.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
- Derived from this study: PubMed 41700320Smith DM, Weir IR, Ramirez S, Coelho CH, Manne-Goehler J, Aziz M, Benson CA, Wu X, Hyer R, Dhillon PK, Faraji F, Bloom N, Myers A, Ramezani-Rad P, Lopez PG, Parikh UM, Heaps AL, Javan AC, Bender Ignacio RA, Li JZ, Greninger AL, Daar ES, Wohl DA, Crotty S, Sieg SF, Chew KW. Impact of COVID-19 Monoclonal Antibody Therapy on Subsequent Vaccine-Elicited SARS-CoV-2 Immune Responses. J Infect Dis. 2026 Aug 3;234(1):e18-e28. doi: 10.1093/infdis/jiag091.
- The Division of AIDS Table for Grading the Severity of Adult and Pediatric Adverse Events (DAIDS AE Grading Table), corrected Version 2.1, July 2017.Link provided by the sponsor.
- Manual for Expedited Reporting of Adverse Events to DAIDS (DAIDS EAE Manual), Version 2.0, January 2010Link provided by the sponsor.
- Individual participant dataSharing planned: Yes. Individual participant data that underlie results in the publication, after deidentification.
Related trials for Covid19
Not yet recruitingPhase 1
Phase I Open-Label Safety Trial of Pembrolizumab for Neurological Post- Acute Sequelae of SARS-CoV-2 (PD1-PASC I)
Post-Acute COVID-19 Syndrome
Active, not recruitingPhase 1
A Safety and Immunogenicity Trial of OCU500, ChAd36 Vector Encoding SARS-CoV-2 Spike Vaccine Via Intranasal and Inhalational Routes in Previously Vaccinated Adults
COVID-19
Active, not recruiting
Intervention to Address Disparate Mental Health Consequences of COVID-19 Pandemic on Latinx and African Newcomers
Mental Health Issue, Mental Health Disorder
Recruiting
Home-Based Exercise Tele-Rehabilitation After COVID-19
Post SARS-CoV2 (COVID-19)
Not yet recruitingPhase 1
A Safety, Reactogenicity and Immunogenicity Trial of RVX-sCPD9 Booster Intranasal COVID-19 Vaccine
COVID -19
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
David Smith, MD, MAS study chair
UCSD Antiviral Research Center
6 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 4 study testing Study-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 vaccine, Community-provided Moderna mRNA-1273 COVID-19 Vaccine and Community-Provided Pfizer-BioNTech BNT162b2 COVID-19 Vaccine in people with Covid19 and SARS-CoV2 Infection, run by National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) at 6 sites in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 4 inclusion and 6 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 24 May 2023. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 6 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 4 studies take place after a treatment is approved, to learn more about its long-term benefits and risks in everyday use.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 19 May 2023). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Neutralizing Antibody (NAb) Level (time frame: Measured 140 days after the first dose of the vaccine). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT04952402, which also lists 1 linked publication.
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 24 May 2023.