AzTrials
AzTrials

Diffuse Large B-Cell LymphomaPhase 1/2NCT05626322

Effects of Maplirpacept (PF-07901801),Tafasitamab, and Lenalidomide in People With Relapsed or Refractory Diffuse Large B-cell Lymphoma

A Phase 1/2 study testing Maplirpacept, Tafasitamab and Lenalidomide in people with Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma, run by Pfizer at 7 sites in 3 countries.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

The purpose of this study is to learn about the effects of three study medicines [maplirpacept (PF-07901801), tafasitamab, and lenalidomide] when given together for the treatment of diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) that: is relapsed (has returned after last treatment) or is refractory (has not responded to last… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma
What is being tested?
Maplirpacept, Tafasitamab and Lenalidomide
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
6 participants
Where
7 sitesin 3 countries
Study dates
4 Aug 2023to 1 May 2025
Phase
Phase 1/2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Histologically confirmed diagnosis of DLBCL
  • Relapsed or refractory disease
  • Participant is not be a candidate for or is unwilling to undergo high dose chemotherapy and subsequent stem cell transplant and/or is unable to receive chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T-cell therapy
  • Previous treatment with at least one prior line of systemic therapy (for phase 2, at least 1 and no more than 2 prior lines of systemic therapy). Prior therapy must include an anti-CD20 antibody.
  • Adequate bone marrow, hepatic and renal function
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) ≤2
  • Must provide a tumor tissue sample (fresh or archival, collected prior to start of treatment) for biomarker analysis

Who cannot join

  • Prior treatment with an anti-CD47 or anti-CD19 (other than CAR T) or immunomodulatory agents
  • Prior allogeneic stem cell transplantation or autologous stem cell transplantation within 12 weeks prior to enrolment
  • Participants with active, uncontrolled bacterial, fungal or viral infection.

Trial locations and contacts

7 sites in 3 countries.

7 sites in 3 countries

United States4 sites
  • University of Michigan

    Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48109

  • Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center

    Baton Rouge, Louisiana, 70809

  • Lifespan Cancer Institute

    Providence, Rhode Island, 02903

  • The Miriam Hospital

    Providence, Rhode Island, 02906

Other trials in United States

South Korea2 sites
  • Dong-A University Hospital

    Busan, Pusan-kwangyǒkshi, 49201

  • Seoul National University Hospital

    Seoul, Seoul-teukbyeolsi [seoul], 03080

Other trials in South Korea

Japan1 site
  • Yamagata University Hospital

    Yamagata, 990-9585

Other trials in Japan

About this study

Official title: A PHASE 1b/2 STUDY OF PF-07901801, A CD47 BLOCKING AGENT, WITH TAFASITAMAB AND LENALIDOMIDE FOR PARTICIPANTS WITH RELAPSED/REFRACTORY DIFFUSE LARGE B CELL LYMPHOMA NOT ELIGIBLE FOR STEM CELL TRANSPLANTATION

The purpose of this study is to learn about the effects of three study medicines [maplirpacept (PF-07901801), tafasitamab, and lenalidomide] when given together for the treatment of diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) that:

  • is relapsed (has returned after last treatment) or
  • is refractory (has not responded to last treatment)
Read more

DLBCL is a type of non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL). NHL is a cancer of the lymphatic system. It develops when the body makes abnormal lymphocytes. These lymphocytes are a type of white blood cell that normally help to fight infections.

This study is seeking participants who are unable or unwilling to undergo an autologous stem cell transplantation (when doctors put healthy blood cells back into your body) or CAR-T immune cell therapy.

Everyone in this study will receive three medicines: maplirpacept (PF-07901801), tafasitamab and lenalidomide. Participants will receive maplirpacept (PF-07901801) and tafasitamab at the study clinic by intravenous (IV) infusion (given directly into a vein) and lenalidomide will be taken by mouth at home. Study interventions will be administered in 28-day cycles. Maplirpacept (PF-07901801) will be given weekly for the first three cycles and then every two weeks. Tafasitamab will administered on Days 1, 4, 8, 15 and 22 in cycle 1, weekly in cycles 2 and 3 and then every 2 weeks in cycle 4 and beyond. Lenalidomide will be taken every day for Days 1 to 21 of each 28-day cycle for the first 12 cycles.

Participants can continue to take maplirpacept (PF-07901801) and tafasitamab until their lymphoma is no longer responding. Lenalidomide is discontinued after 12 cycles.

Maplirpacept (PF-07901801) will be given at different doses to different participants. Everyone taking part will receive approved doses of tafasitamab and lenalidomide. We will compare the experiences of people receiving different doses of PF-07901801. This will help us to determine what dose is safe and effective when combined with the other 2 study medicines.

Read the detailed description

This is a multicenter, open-label, Phase 1b/2 study to evaluate the safety, tolerability and potential clinical benefits of maplirpacept (PF-07901801), an anti-CD47 molecule, in combination with standard doses of tafasitamab and lenalidomide in participants with relapsed/refractory (R/R) DLBCL not eligible for or unwilling to undergo high dose chemotherapy and subsequent autologous stem cell transplantation (ASCT) or unable to receive approved chimeric antigen receptor T-cell (CAR-T) therapy (for example, due to logistical limitations).

For Phase 1b, participants must have previously received at least 1 prior systemic treatment regimen. For Phase 2, participants must have received at least 1 but no more than 2 prior systemic treatment regimens. All participants must have previously received an anti-CD20 containing regimen.

Phase 1b will assess dose-limiting toxicities of maplirpacept (PF-07901801) when administered in combination with tafasitamab and lenalidomide, to select up to 2 doses for the Phase 2 part of the study. Phase 2 will evaluate safety and efficacy to determine the recommended Phase 3 dose of Maplirpacept (PF-07901801) to be administered in combination with tafasitamab and lenalidomide.

Being tested
Maplirpacept, Tafasitamab, Lenalidomide
Keywords
DLBCL, Lymphoma, Relapsed, Refractory, CD19, CD47, Maplirpacept, Tafasitamab, Lenalidomide
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Large B-Cell, Diffuse, Lymphoma, Recurrence

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • MaplirpaceptDrug

    Also called PF-07901801, TTI-622

    Intravenous infusion

  • TafasitamabDrug

    Also called Minjuvi, Monjuvi

    Intravenous infusion

  • LenalidomideDrug

    Also called Revlimid

    Oral (by mouth)

Study groups in NCT05626322
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Phase 1bExperimentalParticipants will be allocated to sequential dose levels of maplirpacept (PF-07901801), administered in combination with standard doses of tafasitamab and lenalidomide, to select two doses for further evaluation in Phase 2. Approximately 20 participants will be enrolled.
Receives: Drug: Maplirpacept; Drug: Tafasitamab; Drug: Lenalidomide
Phase 2ExperimentalParticipants will be randomized to 1 of 2 different dose levels of maplirpacept (PF-07901801) which will be administered in combination with standard doses of tafasitamab and lenalidomide. Approximately 50 participants will be enrolled (25 per dose).
Receives: Drug: Maplirpacept; Drug: Tafasitamab; Drug: Lenalidomide

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Phase 1b: Number of Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)

    DLTs included: Hematological: Grade (G) 4 thrombocytopenia (<25,000/microliter [mcL]) lasting >=72 hours or a platelet count <=10,000/mcL at any time, unexplained by underlying disease; >=G3 thrombocytopenia associated with >=G2 bleeding, unexplained by underlying disease. G4 anemia; unexplained by underlying disease; G4 neutropenia lasting >=7 days, unexplained by underlying disease; G3 febrile (>38.3-degree Celsius [C]) neutropenia lasting >=7 days, unexplained by underlying disease; G4 febrile neutropenia unexplained by underlying disease. Non-hematological: any treatment-related >=G3 non-hematologic toxicity; Other >=G2 PF-07901801-related non-hematologic toxicities that, in the opinion of the investigator, required a dose reduction or discontinuation of PF-07901801 were considered a DLT.

    Measured: Cycle 1 (28 Days)

Secondary outcomes (12)
  1. Phase 1b: Number of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

    An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant, temporally associated with the use of study intervention, whether or not considered related to the study intervention. TEAEs are those events with onset dates occurred during the on-treatment period for the first time, or if the worsening of an event is during the on-treatment period.

    Measured: From Day 1 of dosing up to 35 days post last dose of PF-07901801 and/or lenalidomide or 90 days after the last dose of tafasitamab, whichever was longer (maximum up to 14.2 months of exposure)

  2. Phase 1b: Number of Participants With Serious Treatment Emergent Adverse Events

    An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant, temporally associated with the use of study intervention, whether or not considered related to the study intervention. An SAE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that, at any dose, met one or more of the following criteria - resulted in death, was life-threatening, required inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, resulted in persistent or significant disability/ incapacity, was a congenital anomaly/birth defect or other important medical event. TEAEs are those events with onset dates occurred during the on-treatment period for the first time, or if the worsening of an event is during the on-treatment period.

    Measured: From Day 1 of dosing up to 35 days post last dose of PF-07901801 and/or lenalidomide or 90 days after the last dose of tafasitamab, whichever was longer (maximum up to 14.2 months of exposure)

  3. Phase 1b: Number of Participants With Treatment-Related AEs

    An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant, temporally associated with the use of study intervention, whether or not considered related to the study intervention. Related AEs were those related to any study drug (i.e., at least one of the study drugs) reported by the investigator.

    Measured: From Day 1 of dosing up to 35 days post last dose of PF-07901801 and/or lenalidomide or 90 days after the last dose of tafasitamab, whichever was longer (maximum up to 14.2 months of exposure)

  4. Phase 1b: Number of Participants With Grade Shift From Baseline in Hematology Parameters to Any Time Post-baseline

    The following hematological parameters were assessed: anemia, hemoglobin increased, leukocytosis, lymphocyte count decreased, lymphocyte count increased, neutrophil count decreased, platelet count decreased, and white blood cell (WBC) decreased. Lab abnormalities were graded according to National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for AEs (NCI CTCAE) version (v) 5.0 where Grade 0= no AE, Grade 1= mild AE, Grade 2 =moderate AE, Grade 3= severe AE, and Grade 4= life-threatening consequences; urgent intervention indicated. Only those parameters with at least 1 non-zero data values showing any shift in grades from Baseline to any time post-baseline in any reporting group were reported in this outcome measure. Participants whose grade category was unchanged (e.g. Grade 0 to Grade 0) were not reported.

    Measured: From baseline (latest non-missing value from pre-treatment period) up to 35 days post last dose of PF-07901801 and/or lenalidomide or 90 days after the last dose of tafasitamab, whichever was longer (maximum up to 14.2 months of exposure)

  5. Phase 1b: Number of Participants With Grade Shift From Baseline in Chemistry Parameters to Any Time Post Baseline

    The following clinical chemistry parameters were assessed: alanine aminotransferase increased, alkaline phosphatase increased, aspartate aminotransferase increased, blood bilirubin increased, creatinine increased, hypercalcemia, hyperkalemia, hypermagnesemia, hypernatremia, hypoalbuminemia, hypocalcemia, hypoglycemia, hypokalemia, hypomagnesemia and hyponatremia. Lab abnormalities were graded according to NCI CTCAE v5.0 where Grade 0= no AE, Grade 1=mild AE, Grade 2 = moderate AE, Grade 3 =severe AE, and Grade 4 =life-threatening consequences; urgent intervention indicated. Only those parameters with at least 1 non-zero data values showing any shift in grades from Baseline to any time post-baseline in any reporting group were reported in this outcome measure. Participants whose grade category was unchanged (e.g. Grade 0 to Grade 0) were not reported.

    Measured: From baseline (latest non-missing value from pre-treatment period) up to 35 days post last dose of PF-07901801 and/or lenalidomide or 90 days after the last dose of tafasitamab, whichever was longer (maximum up to 14.2 months of exposure)

  6. Phase 1b: Percentage of Participants With Objective Response (OR) as Per Lugano Response Classification Criteria 2014 as Assessed by the Investigator

    OR:best overall response (BOR) of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) per Lugano Response Classification Criteria 2014 as determined by investigator. CR:positron emission tomography-computed tomography (PET-CT) score 1 (complete metabolic response), 2 (likely benign), or 3 (uncertain significance) with or without a residual mass on Deauville five-point scale ([5PS] standardized scoring system used to evaluate the extent of disease activity in patients with lymphoma through PET scans, ranging from 1 to 5, higher scores indicates more disease activity) or on computed tomography (CT),target nodes/nodal masses regressed to <=1.5 centimeter (cm) in longest diameter (LDi). PR:PET-CT score 4 (possible residual disease) or 5 (progressive disease) with reduced uptake compared with baseline and residual mass(es) of any size or On CT >=50% decrease in sum of the product of the diameters (SPD) of up to 6 target measurable nodes and extra nodal sites. 95% CI was based on Wilson method.

    Measured: From date of first dose until first documentation of disease progression (PD), death or start of new anticancer therapy, whichever occurred first (maximum up to 14.2 months)

  7. Phase 1b: Duration of Response (DoR) as Per Lugano Response Classification Criteria 2014 as Assessed by the Investigator

    DoR: time from first documentation of OR until PD, or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first. DoR was censored on date of last adequate disease assessment for participants without an event. OR=BOR of CR or PR,CR=PET-CT score 1,2,or 3 with/without a residual mass on Deauville five-point scale(1 to 5,higher scores=more disease activity)or on CT,target nodes/nodal masses regressed to <=1.5cm in LDi. PR:PET-CT score 4 or 5 with reduced uptake compared with baseline and residual mass of any size or On CT >=50% decrease in SPD of up to 6 target measurable nodes and extra nodal sites. PD:PET-CT score 4 or 5 with increase in intensity of uptake from baseline and/or new fluorodeoxyglucose (FDG)-avid foci consistent with lymphoma at interim or end-of-treatment assessment or on CT,an individual abnormal node/lesion with: LDi>1.5cm and increase by >=50% from product of perpendicular diameters nadir and increase in LDi or SDi from nadir 0.5cm for lesions <=2cm and 1.0cm for lesions >2cm.

    Measured: From first documentation of OR until PD or death due to any cause whichever occurred first or date of censoring (maximum up to 14.2 months)

  8. Phase 1b: Percentage of Participants With CR as Per Lugano Response Classification Criteria 2014 as Assessed by the Investigator

    CR as per Lugano Response Classification Criteria 2014 as assessed by the investigator was defined as: PET-CT score 1 (complete metabolic response), 2 (likely benign), or 3 (uncertain significance) with or without a residual mass on 5PS (standardized scoring system used to evaluate the extent of disease activity in patients with lymphoma through PET scans, ranging from 1 to 5, higher scores indicates more disease activity) or on CT, target nodes/nodal masses regressed to <=1.5 cm in LDi.

    Measured: From date of first dose until first documentation of CR (maximum up to 14.2 months)

  9. Phase 1b: Duration of Complete Response (DoCR) as Per Lugano Response Classification Criteria 2014 as Assessed by the Investigator

    DoCR:time from first documentation of CR until PD,or death, whichever occurred first. CR:PET-CT 1(complete metabolic response),2(likely benign),3(uncertain significance)with or without residual mass on 5PS(scale from 1 to 5,higher scores=more disease activity)/CT,target nodes/nodal masses regressed <=1.5cm in LDi.PD:PET-CT 4(possible residual disease)or 5(PD)with increase intensity of uptake and new FDG-avid foci consistent with lymphoma at interim/EOT assessment/CT,individual abnormal node/lesion with:LDi >1.5cm and increase >=50% from PPD nadir, increase in LDi or SDi from nadir 0.5cm for lesions <=2cm and 1.0cm for lesions >2cm. DoCR censored on date of last adequate assessment for participants without an event on date of last adequate disease assessment before new anti-cancer therapy if new anti-cancer therapy started prior to event,date of last adequate disease assessment before 2 or more missing disease assessments for participants with event after 2 or more missing assessments.

    Measured: From time of first documentation of CR until PD, or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first or date of censoring (maximum up to 14.2 months)

  10. Phase 1b: Progression Free Survival (PFS) as Per Lugano Response Classification Criteria 2014 as Assessed by the Investigator

    PFS: time from date of first dose until PD per Lugano Response Classification Criteria 2014 or death due to any cause,whichever occurred first.Participants without any event,censored on date of last adequate disease assessment;participants with new anticancer therapy prior to an event,censored on date of last disease assessment before new anticancer therapy;participants with an event after a gap of 2 or more missing disease assessments,censored on date of last disease assessment before gap;participants without an adequate post-baseline disease assessment were censored on date of first dose of study intervention unless death occurred on or before time of second planned disease assessment in which case death was considered an event.PD:PET-CT score 4 or 5 with increase in intensity of uptake from baseline and/or new FDG or LDi>1.5cm and increase by >=50% from product of perpendicular diameters nadir and increase in LDi or SDi from nadir 0.5cm for lesions <=2cm and 1.0cm for lesions >2cm.

    Measured: From date of first dose until PD or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first or censoring date (maximum up to 14.2 months)

  11. Phase 1b: Plasma Concentration of PF-07901801

    All concentrations assayed below the level of quantification (BLQ) were set to 0 and their data is not reported in this outcome measure.

    Measured: Cycle 1 and 2 Day 1: Predose, 1 Hour (H) and 5H post dose; Cycle 1 Day 8: pre-dose, Day 1 of Cycles 3, 4, 5, 7, 10 and 13: Predose

  12. Phase 1b: Number of Participants With Anti-Drug Antibodies (ADA) and Neutralizing Antibodies (NAb) Against PF-07901801

    Number of participants with ADA and NAb against PF-07901801 were reported in this outcome measure. A participant was ADA (or NAb) positive if: (1) baseline titer was missing or negative and participant had >= 1 post-treatment positive titer (treatment-induced), or (2) positive titer at baseline and had a >= 4-folder dilution increase in titer from baseline in >= 1 post-treatment sample (treatment-boosted).

    Measured: From first dose of the study treatment (Day 1) up to end of study treatment (maximum up to 14.2 months)

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted23 Nov 2022
  2. Study start4 Aug 2023
  3. Primary completion12 Aug 2024
  4. Study completion1 May 2025

Why it stopped: The trial terminated due to the inability to recruit the planned number of subjects. The decision was not based on any safety and/or efficacy concerns

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1/2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Sequential
Model description
Open label/randomized
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
6 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT05626322
Sponsor's protocol ID
C4971003
Other IDs
2022-502427-21-00
Status last verified
Sep 2025
First submitted
15 Nov 2022
Last updated
5 Sep 2025
Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
Individual data sharing
Yes: Pfizer will provide access to individual de-identified participant data and related study documents (e.g. protocol, Statistical Analysis Plan (SAP), Clinical Study Report (CSR)) upon request from qualified researchers, and subject to certain criteria, conditions, and exceptions. Further details on Pfizer's data sharing criteria and process for requesting access can be found at: https://www.pfizer.com/science/clinical\_trials/trial\_data\_and\_results/data\_requests.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1/2 study testing Maplirpacept, Tafasitamab and Lenalidomide in people with Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma, run by Pfizer at 7 sites in 3 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 7 inclusion and 3 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 5 Sep 2025. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 7 sites in United States, South Korea, Japan. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this combined phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 5 Sep 2025). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Phase 1b: Number of Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs) (time frame: Cycle 1 (28 Days)). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 5 Sep 2025.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in