AzTrials
AzTrials

Influenza, HumanPhase 2NCT06237049

A Study to Learn About a Combined COVID-19 and Influenza Shot in Healthy Adults

A Phase 2 study testing BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5)/RIV, BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) and RIV in people with Influenza, Human and SARS-CoV-2 Infection, run by Pfizer at 30 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

The purpose of this clinical trial is to see if combining a licensed COVID-19 vaccine and a licensed influenza vaccine into a single shot is safe and can help produce antibodies to defend the body against both SARS-CoV-2 (the virus that causes COVID-19) and influenza. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 50 years and olderHealthy volunteers can take part
Conditions the study is for
Influenza, Human, SARS-CoV-2 Infection, COVID-19
What is being tested?
BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5)/RIV, BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) and RIV
Could I receive a placebo?
Yes, some participants may receive a placebo
How many people
644 participants
Where
30 sitesUnited States
Study dates
31 Jan 2024to 13 Sep 2024
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 50 years and older
  • All sexes
  • Healthy volunteers accepted
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Male or female participants aged 50 years or older at Visit 1 (Day 1).
  • Participants who are willing and able to comply with all scheduled visits, the investigational plan, laboratory tests, lifestyle considerations, and other study procedures.
  • Healthy participants who are determined by medical history, physical examination (if required), and clinical judgment of the investigator to be eligible for inclusion in the study.
  • Capable of giving signed informed consent as described in the protocol, which includes compliance with the requirements and restrictions listed in the informed consent document (ICD) and in the protocol.

Who cannot join

  • Any medical or psychiatric condition including recent (within the past year) or active suicidal ideation/behavior or laboratory abnormality that may increase the risk of study participation or, in the investigator's judgment, make the participant inappropriate for the study.
  • Known infection with human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), hepatitis C virus (HCV), or hepatitis B virus (HBV).
  • History of severe adverse reaction associated with any vaccine and/or severe allergic reaction (eg, anaphylaxis) to any component of the study interventions.
  • Participants with a history of autoimmune disease or an active autoimmune disease requiring therapeutic intervention, including but not limited to systemic or cutaneous lupus erythematosus, autoimmune arthritis/rheumatoid arthritis, multiple sclerosis, Sjögren's syndrome, idiopathic thrombocytopenia purpura, glomerulonephritis, autoimmune thyroiditis, temporal arteritis, psoriasis, and/or insulin-dependent diabetes mellitus.
  • Immunocompromised individuals with known or suspected immunodeficiency, determined by history and/or laboratory/physical examination.
  • Current heart disease, uncontrolled hypertension, or a prior history of myocarditis or pericarditis.
Show all 19Show fewer
  • Bleeding diathesis or condition associated with prolonged bleeding that would, in the opinion of the investigator, contraindicate intramuscular injection.
  • Women who are pregnant, plan to become pregnant during the study, or are breastfeeding.
  • Prior history of ischemic stroke or transient ischemic attack.
  • Prior history of Guillain-Barré syndrome (GBS).
  • Participants with a calculated BMI of ≥35.
  • Receipt of chronic medications with known systemic immunosuppressant effects (including cytotoxic agents or systemic corticosteroids), or radiotherapy, within 60 days before enrollment through conclusion of the study.
  • Receipt of blood/plasma products, immunoglobulin, or monoclonal antibodies used for the treatment or prevention of COVID 19 or those that are considered immunosuppressive, from 90 days before study intervention administration, or planned receipt throughout the study.
  • Vaccination with any investigational or licensed influenza vaccine within 6 months (180 days) before study intervention administration, or ongoing receipt of chronic antiviral therapy with activity against influenza.
  • Vaccination with any investigational or licensed COVID-19 vaccine within 6 months (180 days) before study intervention administration.
  • Participation in other studies involving administration of an investigational product within 28 days prior to, and/or during, participation in this study.
  • Investigator site staff directly involved in the conduct of the study and their family members, site staff otherwise supervised by the investigator, and sponsor and sponsor delegate employees directly involved in the conduct of the study and their family members.
  • Deprived of freedom by an administrative or court order, or in an emergency setting, or hospitalized involuntarily.
  • Current alcohol abuse or drug addiction that in the opinion of the investigator might interfere with the study conduct or completion.

Trial locations and contacts

30 sites in 1 country.

30 sites in 1 country

United States30 sites
  • JEM Research Institute

    Atlantis, Florida, 33462

  • Charlottesville Medical Research

    Charlottesville, Virginia, 22911

  • Centricity Research Columbus Ohio Multispecialty

    Columbus, Ohio, 43213

  • Indago Research & Health Center, Inc

    Hialeah, Florida, 33012

  • East-West Medical Research Institute

    Honolulu, Hawaii, 96814

  • DM Clinical Research- Cyfair

    Houston, Texas, 77065

  • DM Clinical Research - Bellaire

    Houston, Texas, 77081

  • Orange County Research Center

    Lake Forest, California, 92630

  • Las Vegas Clinical Trials

    Las Vegas, Nevada, 89030

  • Optimal Research

    Melbourne, Florida, 32934

  • SMS Clinical Research

    Mesquite, Texas, 75149

  • Clinical Research Consulting

    Milford, Connecticut, 06460

  • Clinical Research Associates Inc

    Nashville, Tennessee, 37203

  • Las Vegas Clinical Trials

    North Las Vegas, Nevada, 89030

  • Headlands Research Orlando

    Orlando, Florida, 32819

  • Optimal Research

    Peoria, Illinois, 61614

  • ActivMed Practices & Research, LLC.

    Portsmouth, New Hampshire, 03801

  • Rochester Clinical Research, LLC

    Rochester, New York, 14609

  • Clinical Trials of Texas, LLC

    San Antonio, Texas, 78229

  • IMA Clinical Research San Antonio

    San Antonio, Texas, 78229

  • Bio-Kinetic Clinical Applications, LLC dba QPS-MO

    Springfield, Missouri, 65802

  • Bio-Kinetic Clinical Applications, LLD dba QPS-MO

    Springfield, Missouri, 65802

  • Bio-Kinetic Clinical Applications LLC DBA QPS-MO(Patient Screening Center)

    Springfield, Missouri, 65807

  • Clinical Research Atlanta

    Stockbridge, Georgia, 30281

  • DM Clinical Research - MDC

    Tomball, Texas, 77375

  • Orange County Research Center

    Tustin, California, 92780

  • Diablo Clinical Research, Inc.

    Walnut Creek, California, 94598

  • GW Medical Faculty Associates

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20037

  • GW Vaccine Research Unit

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20037

  • Clinical Site Partners, LLC dba Flourish Research

    Winter Park, Florida, 32789

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase 1/2 Randomized Study to Evaluate the Safety, Tolerability, and Immunogenicity of a Modified RNA COVID-19 Vaccine and a Recombinant Influenza Vaccine Administered as a Single Injection in Healthy Adults 50 Years of Age or Older

The purpose of this clinical trial is to see if combining a licensed COVID-19 vaccine and a licensed influenza vaccine into a single shot is safe and can help produce antibodies to defend the body against both SARS-CoV-2 (the virus that causes COVID-19) and influenza. Participants enrolled in this trial will be healthy adults, 50 years of age or older.

Read the detailed description

This is a Phase 1/2 study to evaluate the safety, tolerability, and immunogenicity of licensed BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) and recombinant influenza vaccine (RIV) administered together as a single injection (referred to as BNT162b2 [Omi XBB.1.5]/RIV) in healthy adults 50 years of age or older.

The safety, tolerability, and immunogenicity of BNT162b2 (OmiXBB1.5)/RIV administered as a single injection will be compared to BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) and RIV administered simultaneously as 2 separate injections (coadministered), and to BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) or RIV when administered alone.

Across Phases 1 and 2, approximately 640 participants in total will be randomized with an equal randomization ratio to 1 of 4 vaccine groups and stratified by age.

Being tested
BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5)/RIV, BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5), RIV, Normal saline placebo
Keywords
Grippe, Flu, Influenza Vaccine, RNA Vaccine, COVID-19, Coronavirus Vaccine, SARS-CoV-2, mRNA Vaccine
Medical subject headings
Influenza, Human, COVID-19

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5)/RIVBiological

    Combination of BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) and RIV

  • BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5)Biological

    Licensed COVID-19 vaccine

  • RIVBiological

    Licensed recombinant influenza vaccine

  • Normal saline placeboOther

    Normal saline (solution for injection)

Study groups in NCT06237049
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5)/RIV and placeboExperimentalParticipants will receive a single injection combination of BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) and RIV and normal saline placebo
Receives: Biological: BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5)/RIV; Other: Normal saline placebo
BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) and RIVExperimentalParticipants will receive BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) and RIV
Receives: Biological: BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5); Biological: RIV
BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) and placeboActive comparatorParticipants will receive BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) and normal saline placebo
Receives: Biological: BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5); Other: Normal saline placebo
RIV and placeboActive comparatorParticipants will receive RIV and normal saline placebo
Receives: Biological: RIV; Other: Normal saline placebo

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Percentage of Participants Who Reported Any Local Reaction up to 7 Days Following Vaccination

    Local reactions included redness, swelling and pain at injection site, recorded by participants in an electronic diary (e-diary). Severity of all local reactions were evaluated as mild, moderate, severe or potentially life-threatening. In this outcome measure local reactions with any severity were reported for each left arm's deltoid and right arm's deltoid of each vaccine Group 1, 2, 3 and 4.

    Measured: Day 1 to Day 7 following Vaccination on Day 1

  2. Percentage of Participants Who Reported Any Systemic Events up to 7 Days Following Vaccination

    Systemic events: fever, fatigue, headache, vomiting, diarrhea, chills, new/worsened muscle pain, new/worsened joint pain were recorded by participants in e-diary. Severity of all systemic events were evaluated as mild, moderate, severe or potentially life-threatening. In this outcome measure systemic events with any severity were reported.

    Measured: Day 1 to Day 7 following Vaccination on Day 1

  3. Percentage of Participants Who Reported Any Adverse Events (AEs) From Vaccination Through 4 Weeks After Vaccination

    An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant temporally associated with the use of study intervention, whether or not considered related to the study intervention. Events collected by systematic assessment (local reactions and systemic events) were excluded from evaluation.

    Measured: From Vaccination on Day 1 through 4 weeks after Vaccination

  4. Percentage of Participants Who Reported Any Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) From Vaccination Through 6 Months After Vaccination

    An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant, temporally associated with the use of study intervention, whether or not considered related to the study intervention. An SAE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that, at any dose, met one or more of the following criteria - resulted in death, was life-threatening, required inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, resulted in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, was a congenital anomaly/birth defect and other important medical events per protocol of the study. Events collected by systematic assessment (local reactions and systemic events) were excluded from evaluation.

    Measured: From Vaccination on Day 1 through 6 months after Vaccination

  5. Geometric Mean Titers (GMTs) of Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) Omicron (XBB.1.5)-Neutralizing Titers Before Vaccination

    GMTs and the corresponding 2-sided CIs were calculated by exponentiating the mean logarithm of the titers and the corresponding CIs (based on the Student t distribution). As planned, outcome measure evaluated GMTs of SARS-CoV-2 Omicron (XBB.1.5), hence results are reported only for those reporting groups where BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) was administered. Data was not collected and not reported for reporting group "Group 4: RIV + Placebo", where BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) was not administered.

    Measured: Before Vaccination on Day 1

  6. GMTs of SARS-CoV-2 Omicron (XBB.1.5)-Neutralizing Titers at 4 Weeks After Vaccination

    GMTs and the corresponding 2-sided CIs were calculated by exponentiating the mean logarithm of the titers and the corresponding CIs (based on the Student t distribution). As planned, outcome measure evaluated GMTs of SARS-CoV-2 Omicron (XBB.1.5), hence results are reported only for those reporting groups where BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) was administered. Data was not collected and not reported for reporting group "Group 4: RIV + Placebo", where BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) was not administered.

    Measured: At 4 weeks after Vaccination on Day 1

  7. Geometric Mean Fold Rise (GMFR) of SARS-CoV-2 Omicron (XBB.1.5)-Neutralizing Titers From Before Vaccination to 4 Weeks After Vaccination

    GMFR was the ratio of the geometric mean titre values 4 weeks after vaccination to before vaccination. GMFRs and the corresponding 2-sided CIs were calculated by exponentiating the mean logarithm of fold rises and the corresponding CIs (based on the Student t distribution). As planned, outcome measure evaluated GMTs of SARS-CoV-2 Omicron (XBB.1.5), hence results are reported only for those reporting groups where BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) was administered. Data was not collected and not reported for reporting group "Group 4: RIV + Placebo", where BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) was not administered.

    Measured: From before Vaccination on Day 1 to 4 weeks after Vaccination

  8. Percentages of Participants With Seroresponse to SARS-CoV-2 Omicron (XBB.1.5) at 4 Weeks After Vaccination

    Seroresponse was defined as achieving a >=4-fold rise from baseline (before the study vaccination). If the baseline measurement was below the lower limit of quantification (LLOQ), the postvaccination measure of >=4*LLOQ is considered a seroresponse. Exact 2-sided CI, based on the Clopper and Pearson method. As planned, outcome measure evaluated GMTs of SARS-CoV-2 Omicron (XBB.1.5), hence results are reported only for those reporting groups where BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) was administered. Data was not collected and not reported for reporting group "Group 4: RIV + Placebo", where BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) was not administered.

    Measured: At 4 weeks after Vaccination on Day 1

  9. GMTs of Strain Specific Hemagglutinin Inhibition Assay (HAI) Titers Before Vaccination

    GMTs and the corresponding 2-sided CIs were calculated by exponentiating the mean logarithm of the titers and the corresponding CIs (based on the Student t distribution). The 4 virus strains which were evaluated and reported in this outcome measure were A/Victoria/4897/2022 (H1N1) HAI, A/Darwin/9/2021 (H3N2) HAI, B/Michigan/1/2021 HAI and B/Phuket/3073/2013 HAI. As planned, outcome measure evaluated GMTs of strain specific HAI, hence results are reported only for those reporting groups where RIV was administered. Data was not collected and not reported for reporting group "Group 3: BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) + Placebo", where RIV was not administered.

    Measured: Before Vaccination on Day 1

  10. GMTs of Strain Specific Hemagglutinin Inhibition Assay (HAI) Titers at 4 Weeks After Vaccination

    GMTs and the corresponding 2-sided CIs were calculated by exponentiating the mean logarithm of the titers and the corresponding CIs (based on the Student t distribution). The 4 virus strains which were evaluated and reported in this outcome measure were A/Victoria/4897/2022 (H1N1) HAI, A/Darwin/9/2021 (H3N2) HAI, B/Michigan/1/2021 HAI and B/Phuket/3073/2013 HAI. As planned, outcome measure evaluated GMTs of strain specific HAI, hence results are reported only for those reporting groups where RIV was administered. Data was not collected and not reported for reporting group "Group 3: BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) + Placebo", where RIV was not administered.

    Measured: At 4 weeks after Vaccination on Day 1

  11. GMFR of Strain Specific HAI Titers From Before Vaccination to 4 Weeks After Vaccination

    GMFR was the ratio of the geometric mean titre values 4 weeks after vaccination to before vaccination. GMFRs and the corresponding 2-sided CIs were calculated by exponentiating the mean logarithm of fold rises and the corresponding CIs (based on the Student t distribution). The 4 virus strains which were evaluated and reported in this outcome measure were A/Victoria/4897/2022 (H1N1) HAI, A/Darwin/9/2021 (H3N2) HAI, B/Michigan/1/2021 HAI and B/Phuket/3073/2013 HAI. As planned, outcome measure evaluated GMFRs of strain specific HAI, hence results are reported only for those reporting groups where RIV was administered. Data was not collected and not reported for reporting group "Group 3: BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) + Placebo", where RIV was not administered.

    Measured: From before Vaccination to 4 weeks after Vaccination on Day 1

  12. Percentages of Participants Achieving HAI Seroconversion at 4 Weeks After Vaccination

    Seroconversion was defined as an HAI titer <1:10 prior to vaccination and >=1:40 at the time point of interest, or an HAI titer of >=1:10 prior to vaccination with a minimum 4-fold rise at the time point of interest. Exact 2-sided CI, based on the Clopper and Pearson method. The 4 virus strains which were evaluated and reported in this outcome measure were A/Victoria/4897/2022 (H1N1) HAI, A/Darwin/9/2021 (H3N2) HAI, B/Michigan/1/2021 HAI and B/Phuket/3073/2013 HAI. As planned, outcome measure evaluated seroconversion of strain specific HAI, hence results are reported only for those reporting groups where RIV was administered. Data was not collected and not reported for reporting group "Group 3: BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) + Placebo", where RIV was not administered.

    Measured: At 4 weeks after Vaccination on Day 1

  13. Percentages of Participants With HAI Titers >= 1:40 Before Vaccination

    Percentages of participants with HAI titers >= 1:40 before vaccination along with the associated 2-sided 95% CIs, was provided for each vaccine group in this outcome measure. Exact 2-sided CI, based on the Clopper and Pearson method. The 4 virus strains which were evaluated and reported in this outcome measure were A/Victoria/4897/2022 (H1N1) HAI, A/Darwin/9/2021 (H3N2) HAI, B/Michigan/1/2021 HAI and B/Phuket/3073/2013 HAI. As planned, outcome measure evaluated of strain specific HAI, hence results are reported only for those reporting groups where RIV was administered. Data was not collected and not reported for reporting group "Group 3: BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) + Placebo", where RIV was not administered.

    Measured: Before Vaccination on Day 1

  14. Percentages of Participants With HAI Titers >= 1:40 at 4 Weeks After Vaccination

    Percentages of participants with HAI titers >= 1:40 at 4 weeks after vaccination along with the associated 2-sided 95% CIs, was provided for each vaccine group in this outcome measure. Exact 2-sided CI, based on the Clopper and Pearson method. The 4 virus strains which were evaluated and reported in this outcome measure were A/Victoria/4897/2022 (H1N1) HAI, A/Darwin/9/2021 (H3N2) HAI, B/Michigan/1/2021 HAI and B/Phuket/3073/2013 HAI. As outcome measure evaluated of strain specific HAI, hence results are reported only for those reporting groups where RIV was administered. Data was not collected and not reported for reporting group "Group 3: BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) + Placebo", where RIV was not administered.

    Measured: At 4 Weeks after Vaccination on Day 1

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted1 Feb 2024
  2. Study start31 Jan 2024
  3. Primary completion13 Sep 2024
  4. Study completion13 Sep 2024

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Prevention
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
Single blind
Who is masked
Participant
Enrolment
644 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT06237049
Sponsor's protocol ID
C5681001
Status last verified
Sep 2025
First submitted
30 Jan 2024
Last updated
30 Sep 2025
Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
Individual data sharing
Yes: Pfizer will provide access to individual de-identified participant data and related study documents (e.g. protocol, Statistical Analysis Plan (SAP), Clinical Study Report (CSR)) upon request from qualified researchers, and subject to certain criteria, conditions, and exceptions. Further details on Pfizer's data sharing criteria and process for requesting access can be found at: https://www.pfizer.com/science/clinical\_trials/trial\_data\_and\_results/data\_requests.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5)/RIV, BNT162b2 (Omi XBB.1.5) and RIV in people with Influenza, Human and SARS-CoV-2 Infection, run by Pfizer at 30 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 4 inclusion and 19 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 30 Sep 2025. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 30 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 30 Sep 2025). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Percentage of Participants Who Reported Any Local Reaction up to 7 Days Following Vaccination (time frame: Day 1 to Day 7 following Vaccination on Day 1). The study lists 14 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 30 Sep 2025.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in