AzTrials
AzTrials

Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE)NCT06373081

Anti-CD19-CD3E-CAR-T Cells in Relapsed/Refractory Autoimmune Disease

A study testing Anti-CD19-CD3E-CAR-T cells in people with Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE) and Sjogren's Syndrome, run by Shanghai Changzheng Hospital at 1 site in China.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

This is an investigator-initiated trial to evaluate the safety and efficacy of anti-CD19-CD3E-CAR-T cells in the relapse or refractory autoimmune diseases. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 65 years
What is being tested?
Anti-CD19-CD3E-CAR-T cells
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
6 participants
Where
1 siteChina
Study dates
20 Apr 2024to 15 Apr 2026
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 65 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

None listed.

Who cannot join

  • Subjects with a history of severe drug allergies or allergic tendencies;
  • Presence or suspicion of uncontrolled or treatment-required fungal, bacterial, viral, or other infections;
  • Subjects with central nervous system diseases caused by autoimmune diseases or non-autoimmune diseases (including epilepsy, psychosis, organic brain syndrome, cerebral vascular accidents, encephalitis, central nervous system vasculitis);
  • Subjects with insufficient cardiac function;
  • Subjects with congenital immunoglobulin deficiencies;
  • History of malignancy within five years;
Show all 20Show fewer
  • Subjects with end-stage renal failure;
  • Subjects who are positive for hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) or hepatitis B core antibody (HBcAb) with peripheral blood HBV DNA >ULN; subjects positive for hepatitis C virus (HCV) antibody and peripheral blood HCV RNA; individuals positive for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) antibody; individuals positive for syphilis testing;
  • Subjects with psychiatric disorders and severe cognitive impairments;
  • Subjects who have participated in other clinical trials within the past 3 months prior to enrollment;
  • Subjects who have received biologics with therapeutic effects for indications within 4 weeks prior to enrollment;
  • Subjects who have received immunosuppressive agents with therapeutic effects for indications within 2 weeks prior to enrollment;
  • Subjects who have received >10mg/d prednisone or equivalent dose of other steroids within 2 weeks prior to enrollment;
  • Pregnant women or women planning to conceive;
  • Subjects whom the investigator believes have other reasons that make them unsuitable for inclusion in this study.
  • Step 2. Assessment of eligibility for CAR-T Cells Infusion Inclusion Criteria
  • Completion of Step 1 and successful preparation of CAR-T cell product;
  • Adequate organ function, defined as: 1) Creatinine clearance rate (Cockcroft and Gault) >30 mL/min/1.73 m2, excluding acute decrease in CrCl due to the target disease; 2) ALT/AST ≤ 3×ULN (excluding liver enzyme elevation caused by inflammatory diseases); TBIL ≤ 1.5×ULN (Gilbert's syndrome allows TBIL ≤ 3×ULN).
  • Systemic fungal, bacterial, viral, or other infection that is not controlled (defined as exhibiting ongoing signs/symptoms related to the infection and without improvement, despite appropriate antibiotics or other treatment);
  • >10mg/d prednisone or equivalent dose of other steroids within 72 hours prior to CAR-T infusion.

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

Huji Xu, Ph.D, MD contact

86021-81885514

xuhuji@smmu.edu.cn

China1 site, 1 recruiting
  • Shanghai ChangZheng hospital

    Shanghai, 200003

    Huji Xu, 86021-81885514, xuhuji@smmu.edu.cn

    Recruiting

Other trials in China

About this study

Official title: A Clinical Study on the Safety and Efficacy of Anti-CD19-CD3E-CAR-T Cells in the Treatment of Relapsed or Refractory Autoimmune Disease

This is an investigator-initiated trial to evaluate the safety and efficacy of anti-CD19-CD3E-CAR-T cells in the relapse or refractory autoimmune diseases.

Read the detailed description

This is an investigator-initiated trial to evaluate the safety and efficacy of anti-CD19-CD3E-CAR-T cells in the relapse or refractory autoimmune diseases.

Study intervention consists of a single infusion of CAR-transduced autologous T cells administered intravenously after a lymphodepleting therapy regimen consisting of fludarabine and cyclophosphamide.

Interim analysis will be performed when participants finish the visit of 12 weeks after CAR-T cells infusion.

Being tested
Anti-CD19-CD3E-CAR-T cells
Medical subject headings
Lupus Erythematosus, Systemic, Sjogren's Syndrome, Scleroderma, Systemic, Myositis, Anti-Neutrophil Cytoplasmic Antibody-Associated Vasculitis, Antiphospholipid Syndrome

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • Anti-CD19-CD3E-CAR-T cellsBiological

    The injection of anti-CD19-CD3E chimeric antigen receptor T (CAR-T) cells, referred to as anti-CD19-CD3E-CAR-T cells. The anti-CD19-CD3E-CAR protein is composed of a murine-derived CD19 single-chain variable fragment (scFv) FMC63, CD28 hinge and transmembrane regions, the intracellular domain of CD3E, the intracellular domain of CD28, and the intracellular domain of CD3ζ, all linked in sequence.

Study groups in NCT06373081
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Anti-CD19-CD3E-CAR-T Cells treatmentExperimentalAnti-CD19-CD3E-CAR-T cells, Autologous T-cells expressing a chimeric antigen receptor directed to CD19.
Receives: Biological: Anti-CD19-CD3E-CAR-T cells

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. The incidence of dose-limiting toxicities (DLTs) (Safety)

    Safety assessments, including the incidence of dose-limiting toxicities (DLTs) in patients receiving CAR-T cells, are conducted using the NCI-CTCAE version 5.0 standards.

    Measured: Up to 28 days from CAR-T infusion

  2. Proportion of patients for whom the desired dose of anti-CD19-CD3E-CAR-T cells can be successfully manufactured

    Proportion of patients for whom the desired dose of anti-CD19-CD3E-CAR-T cells can be successfully manufactured

    Measured: Up to 21 days from apheresis

  3. Clinical response for relapsed/Refractory SLE

    SLE Response Index 4 (SRI-4) response: Min/Max Value: Not specified; a decrease in score indicates improvement; higher scores indicate worse outcome.

    Measured: 12 weeks post CAR-T infusion

  4. Clinical response for Sjögren's Syndrome

    Sjögren's tool for assessing response (STAR): Min/Max Value: Not specified; a decrease in score indicates improvement; higher scores indicate worse outcome.

    Measured: 12 weeks post CAR-T infusion

  5. Clinical response for relapsed/refractory/progressive systemic sclerosis

    Composite Response Index in Systemic Sclerosis (CRISS): Min/Max Value: 0 to 1 (expressed as a probability); closer to 1 indicates a better response; higher scores indicate better outcome.

    Measured: 12 weeks post CAR-T infusion

  6. Clinical response for relapsed/refractory/progressive inflammatory myopathy

    Total Improvement Score (TIS):Min/Max Value: Not specified; an increase in score indicates improvement; higher scores indicate better outcome.

    Measured: 12 weeks post CAR-T infusion

  7. Clinical response for relapsed/refractory anti-neutrophil cytoplasmic antibody (ANCA)-associated vasculitis:

    Birmingham vasculitis activity score (BVAS) score:Min/Max Value: 0 to 63; an increase in score indicates worsening condition; higher Scores Indicate: Worse Outcome.

    Measured: 12 weeks post CAR-T infusion

  8. Clinical response for relapsed/refractory/Catastrophic Antiphospholipid Syndrome

    Evaluation of new thrombosis as an indicator of relapsed/refractory/catastrophic Antiphospholipid Syndrome; higher scores Indicate worse outcome (indicates progression of the syndrome).

    Measured: 12 weeks post CAR-T infusion

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted18 Apr 2024
  2. Study start20 Apr 2024 (estimated)
  3. Primary completion15 Apr 2025 (estimated)
  4. Study completion15 Apr 2026 (estimated)

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
6 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT06373081
Sponsor's protocol ID
CD19-CD3E-CN-A1
Status last verified
Apr 2024
First submitted
15 Apr 2024
Last updated
18 Apr 2024
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No
Individual data sharing
No: Due to concerns regarding the security of patient personal information.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing Anti-CD19-CD3E-CAR-T cells in people with Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE) and Sjogren's Syndrome, run by Shanghai Changzheng Hospital at 1 site in China.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 0 inclusion and 20 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 18 Apr 2024. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in China. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

Contact Huji Xu, Ph.D, MD (86021-81885514, xuhuji@smmu.edu.cn), or a site near the patient. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

The incidence of dose-limiting toxicities (DLTs) (Safety) (time frame: Up to 28 days from CAR-T infusion). The study lists 8 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 18 Apr 2024.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in