AzTrials
AzTrials

Autoimmune DiseasesLCAR1901NCT07121777

Anti CD19/BCMA CAR Gene Therapy for Autoimmune Diseases

A study testing Anti-CD19/BCMA CAR gene vector injection will be injected intravenously on a one-time basis in people with Autoimmune Diseases, run by Anhui Provincial Hospital at 1 site in China.

Recruiting

Looking for participants now. Contact the study team or a site below to ask about taking part.

Sites and contacts
Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

This is an open label, single-site, dose-escalation study in up to 18 participants with treatment of Refractory Autoimmune Diseases. This study aims to evaluate the safety and efficacy of the treatment with an Anti- CD19/BCMA CAR gene vector injection Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Autoimmune Diseases
What is being tested?
Anti-CD19/BCMA CAR gene vector injection will be injected intravenously on a one-time basis
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
18 participants
Where
1 siteChina
Study dates
25 Aug 2025to 31 Aug 2029
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
Not yet: the study is under way

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • ( 1) At the time of signing the informed consent form, be at least 18 years of age, both male and female.
  • Bone marrow hematopoietic function satisfies: white blood cell count≥3×10^9/L; Centrocyte count ≥1×10^9/L (no colony-stimulating factor received within 2 weeks prior to screening); Hemoglobin ≥ 60g/L.
  • (3)ALT≤3×ULN; AST≤3×ULN; TBIL≤3×ULN。 (4) Renal function satisfaction: creatinine clearance CrCl≥30mL/min. (5) INR≤1.5×ULN , PT≤1.5×ULN. (6)RA:Documented diagnosis of RA which fulfills the 2010 American College of Rheumatology (ACR)/European League Against Rheumatism (EULAR) Classification Criteria ; 3 months after use of 1 or more csDMARDs and 1 or more bDMARDs prior to screening: 1) DAS28-ESR>3.2 or CDAI>10; or 2) the dose of the hormone (prednisone or equivalent) cannot be reduced to less than 7.5 mg/day; or 3) the number of swollen and/or tender joints ≥3; Treatment with stable 1 or more cs DMARD(s) and/or bDMARDs prior to enrollment as follows: methotrexate for at least 12 weeks and at a dose of 7.5-25mg/week for at least 4 weeks; Stable use of hydroxychloroquine dose ≤ 400 mg/day for at least 4 weeks; Stable oral sulfasalazine for at least 4 weeks 1~3 g/d; Stable oral leflunomide 10-20 mg/day for at least 4 weeks.
  • (7)systemic lupus erythematosus : Diagnosis of systemic lupus erythematosus according to the SLE classification criteria of the 2019 EULAR/ACR; History of systemic lupus erythematosus for at least 6 months prior to screening and active disease for 2 months after use of standard treatment regimens prior to screening; BILAG-2004 assesses the presence of at least 1 Grade A or 2 Grade B organ scores; Positive antinuclear antibody, or positive anti-ds-DNA antibody, or positive anti-Sm antibody; SLEDAI-2000 score ≥8 during the screening period.
  • (8)Sjögren's syndrome : Diagnosis of Sjögren's syndrome according to the 2002 International Classification of Primary Sjögren's Syndrome or the 2016 ACR/EULAR classification criteria; Diagnosed with pSS-TP and platelet count < 30×10^9/L; Sjögren's syndrome Disease Activity Index (ESSDAI) score ≥5 during the screening period; Sjögren's syndrome for at least 6 months prior to screening and active disease 2 months after use of conventional treatment regimens prior to screening. Use of immunomodulatory drugs for more than 6 months.
  • (9)systemic sclerosis : Diagnosis of systemic sclerosis according to the 2013 ACR classification criteria for systemic sclerosis. Positive antinuclear antibody at screening. Presence of clear evidence of HRCT progression. History of systemic sclerosis prior to screening for at least 6 months and active disease for 2 months after use of conventional treatment regimens prior to screening.

Who cannot join

  • (1) Clinically significant central nervous system diseases or pathological changes not caused by the disease itself before screening, including but not limited to: stroke, stroke, aneurysm, epilepsy, convulsions, aphasia, severe head injury, dementia, Parkinson's disease, cerebellar disease, organic brain syndrome or mental disorder.
  • Those with relatively serious heart disease, such as angina, myocardial infarction, heart failure and arrhythmia.
  • History of major organ transplantation or hematopoietic stem cell/bone marrow transplantation.
  • Vaccination, B-cell targeted therapy within 4 weeks prior to screening. (5) History of any malignant neoplastic disease. (6) Patients with end-stage renal failure. (7) The presence or suspicion of uncontrollable fungal, bacterial, viral, or other infections.
  • History of severe allergy to drugs used in clinical studies or raw and excipient materials of experimental drugs, such as cyclophosphamide, fludarabine, DMSO, etc.
  • Patient has active HBV infection or HCV antibody positivity or HIV antibody positivity or syphilis positivity or CMV DNA positivity or EBV DNA positivity.
  • Pregnant or lactating females, or planning to become pregnant within 2 years after reinfusion of the trial drug; The partner of the male patient plans to become pregnant within 2 years of receiving the trial drug.
  • Evidence of active tuberculosis infection. (12) Other conditions assessed by the investigator as unsuitable for enrollment.

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country. Contact the study team or a site near you to ask about taking part.

China1 site, 1 recruiting
  • Anhui Provincial Hospital

    Hefei, Anhui, 230001

    chen zhu, M.D, +86-0551-62283843, doczchen@ustc.edu.cn

    chen zhu, M.D

    Recruiting

Other trials in China

About this study

Official title: An Exploratory Clinical Study of Anti-CD19/BCMA CAR Gene Vector Injection (LCAR1901) for the Treatment of Refractory Autoimmune Diseases

This is an open label, single-site, dose-escalation study in up to 18 participants with treatment of Refractory Autoimmune Diseases. This study aims to evaluate the safety and efficacy of the treatment with an Anti- CD19/BCMA CAR gene vector injection

Being tested
Anti-CD19/BCMA CAR gene vector injection will be injected intravenously on a one-time basis
Keywords
systemic sclerosis, dry syndrome, rheumatoid arthritis, systemic lupus erythematosus
Medical subject headings
Autoimmune Diseases, Scleroderma, Systemic, Arthritis, Rheumatoid, Lupus Erythematosus, Systemic

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • Anti-CD19/BCMA CAR gene vector injection will be injected intravenously on a one-time basisDrug

    A single intravenous infusion of anti-CD19/BCMA CAR gene vector injection(dose-escalating infusion of 1.0-4.0 x10^6 TU/kg)

Study groups in NCT07121777
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Anti-CD19/BCMA CAR gene vector injectionExperimentalIntravenous infusion of Anti-CD19/BCMA CAR gene vector injection
Receives: Drug: Anti-CD19/BCMA CAR gene vector injection will be injected intravenously on a one-time basis

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Adverse events

    Total number, incidence and severity of adverse events (AEs) in patients of LCAR1901 infusion. The AEs will be assessed according to the 2019 Consensus on Cytokine Release Syndrome and Immune-cell-associated Neurotoxicity published by the American Society of Transplantation and Cell Therapy (ASTCT), the National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI CTCAE) version 5.0 and EBMT 2019 consensus

    Measured: up to 1 years

Secondary outcomes (10)
  1. The persistence of CAR gene vector injection

    Assessing the trafficking of CAR gene vector injection in the peripheral blood at the time of each infusion as well as at each time of follow-up by flow cytometry. Peripheral blood will be collected prior to the initial infusion and will be set as baseline

    Measured: up to 1 years]

  2. Disease activity was assessed by DAS28

    DAS28 was used to assess disease activity, and the number of swelling and tenderness in 28 joints was examined, Min/Max Value: Not specified,with higher scores representing worse disease status

    Measured: up to 1 years

  3. Modified Rodnan Skin Score assesses disease activity in patients

    Disease activity was assessed by Modified Rodnan Skin Score Modified Rodnan Skin Score: The modified Rodnan Skin Score was used to assess the degree of skin involvement in patients with systemic sclerosis, and the thickness and hardness of the skin on the patient's head and neck, upper limbs, fingers, chest, abdomen, lower limbs, feet, etc., each part was divided into 0 (normal), 1 (mild thickening), 2 (moderate thickening), and 3 (severe thickening) according to the skin involvement, and the scores of each part were added together to obtain a total score, The higher the score, the worse the skin lesion status in patients with systemic sclerosis.

    Measured: up to 1 years

  4. SLEDAI assesses disease activity in patients

    SLEDAI was used to evaluate the disease activity of patients with systemic lupus erythematosus, and the clinical symptoms and laboratory examination indicators of the patients were quantitatively scored.The SLEDAI score ranges from 0~105 points, and the higher the score, and the higher the score, the worse the disease status of systemic lupus erythematosus

    Measured: up to 1 years

  5. BILAG-2004 assesses disease activity in patients

    BILAG-2004 score: BILAG-2004 was used to evaluate the disease activity of patients with systemic lupus erythematosus, and the clinical manifestations of patients in 10 systemic domains were scored according to the involvement of each domain according to the five grades of A (very severe), B (moderately severe), C (mild), D (in the past, now none), and E (never), and the scores in each domain were comprehensively weighted, and the higher the score, the worse the disease status of systemic lupus erythematosus.

    Measured: up to 1 years

  6. Change from baseline in Physician's Global Assessment of Arthritis (PGA) (VAS)

    The investigator/sub-investigator assesses the participant's disease activity on a VAS of 0 - 3 mm on the physician assessment table

    Measured: up to 1 years

  7. Change from baseline in ESR

    ESR will be measured with blood samples

    Measured: up to 1 years

  8. Clinical response for Sjögren's Syndrome

    Sjögren's tool for assessing response (STAR): Min/Max Value: Not specified; a decrease in score indicates improvement; higher scores indicate worse outcome

    Measured: up to 1 years

  9. HAQ health assessment

    The HAQ health assessment questionnaire was used to assess disease activity, and 8 questions of daily activities were set up for patients to answer, with each question scoring 0-3, 0 points indicating no difficulty, 1 point being somewhat difficult, 2 points being difficult or needing help, and 3 points being unable to complete. The higher the patient's score, the worse the function

    Measured: up to 1 years

  10. Change from baseline in CRP

    CRP will be measured with blood samples

    Measured: up to 1 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted13 Aug 2025
  2. Study start25 Aug 2025 (estimated)
  3. Primary completion31 Aug 2029 (estimated)
  4. Study completion31 Aug 2029 (estimated)

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
18 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT07121777
Sponsor's protocol ID
SWKCART25051201
Acronym
LCAR1901
Status last verified
Aug 2025
First submitted
7 Aug 2025
Last updated
13 Aug 2025
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing Anti-CD19/BCMA CAR gene vector injection will be injected intravenously on a one-time basis in people with Autoimmune Diseases, run by Anhui Provincial Hospital at 1 site in China.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 6 inclusion and 8 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: looking for participants now, as of the sponsor's last update on 13 Aug 2025. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in China. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

This study is still under way. Results are not available in the source record yet.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

Contact chen zhu, M.D (+86-0551-62283843, doczchen@ustc.edu.cn), or a site near the patient. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Adverse events (time frame: up to 1 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 13 Aug 2025.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in