Wound HealNCT07170566
A Retrospective, Observational Study of the Real-world Safety and Performance of InnovaMatrix® AC at a Single Centre
An observational study of Wound Heal, run by ConvaTec Inc. at 1 site in United States.
Trial summary
The use of a decellularised porcine placental extracellular matrix in hard-to-heal wounds: A retrospective study of the real-world performance of InnovaMatrix® AC at a single centre. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 to 100 years
- Conditions the study is for
- Wound Heal
- What is being tested?
- innovaMatrix AC
- Type of treatment
- Medical device
- How many people
- 67 participants
- Where
- 1 siteUnited States
- Study dates
- 1 May 2024to 5 Aug 2025
- Phase
- Observational
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 to 100 years
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
Study population: Adult subjects seen at the study site between 1 May 2022 (the date of first product use according to the study site) to 27 March 2024 (the date of contract signature), who meet the inclusion and exclusion criteria. There will be no new patient visits associated with this retrospective study, therefore patient duration is not applicable.
Who may be able to join
- Male and female subjects aged 18 years or older at the time the data were reported.
- Subjects with hard-to-heal wound(s), defined as those that have failed to show improvement (which is defined as ≥50% reduction in wound area) over 4-weeks of standard wound care.
- Initial Wound area that is >0.5 cm2 and <10 cm2
- InnovaMatrix® AC applied to target wound(s) for a minimum of two consecutive weekly visits inside a 4-week period.
- Subjects were compliant with wound protection strategies through treatment period (offloading, compression, etc).
- The target wound(s) is not undergoing active management at the time of data entry.
Who cannot join
- Wound area showed ≥50% reduction in 4-weeks preceding initial InnovaMatrix® AC application.
- Cases where InnovaMatrix® AC was not applied at a minimum of two consecutive weekly visits inside a 4-week period.
- Subjects who were non-compliant with additional wound protection strategies (offloading, compression, etc)
- Subjects with severe comorbidities that significantly impact healing ability, or ability for subject to be compliant with wound protection strategies, such as: peripheral vascular disease (ABI <0.4, >1.3)1, severely uncontrolled diabetes (Hgb A1C >9.0%), neurodegenerative disorders, Charcot foot, high dose corticosteroid or other immunosuppressant, etc
- Wound area <0.5 cm2 or >10 cm2
- The target wound is still under active treatment.
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
United States1 site
Charleston Wound Care Centre
Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina, 29464
About this study
Official title: The Use of a Decellularised Porcine Placental Extracellular Matrix in Hard-to-heal Wounds: A Retrospective, Observational Study of the Real-world Safety and Performance of InnovaMatrix® AC at a Single Centre
The use of a decellularised porcine placental extracellular matrix in hard-to-heal wounds: A retrospective study of the real-world performance of InnovaMatrix® AC at a single centre.
Read the detailed description
Hard-to-heal wounds are defined as wounds that do not transition through the normal phases of healing in a timely manner.1 With a global prevalence of ~1.9 per 1000, it is predicted that the incidence will increase with the ageing population.2-5 Furthermore, hard-to-heal wounds are associated with a significant reduction in health-related quality of life and place a great burden on healthcare systems.4,6-9 In the UK, the annual National Health Service cost of wound management in 2017/2018 was £8.3 billion; £2.7 billion and £5.6 billion were associated with managing healed and unhealed wounds, respectively.5 Moreover, wound care accounts for 2-4% of healthcare expenditure in Europe and costs $28 billion USD per year in the US.7-11
Specifically, the cost of care for diabetic patients with a diabetic foot ulcer (DFU) vs. those without a DFU is 5.4 times higher in the year after first diagnosis while costs for treatment of highest grade ulcers are 8 times higher than low-grade ulcers.12 Use of advanced therapies, while sometimes costly, have been shown to reduce long-term costs, including reduced foot complications and lower amputation rates.12 In 1998, Holzer et al conducted a retrospective analysis of the costs for lower extremity ulcers in patients with diabetes and concluded that, given the high costs associated with treating these ulcers, the development of better treatment strategies is warranted.13 One such advanced therapy in the treatment of chronic wounds is the use of Cellular, Acellular and Matrix-like products (CAMPs). These materials have been used successfully for many years in the treatment of hard-to-heal wounds, as well as other applications including soft tissue repair, tendon/ligament repair, plastic/reconstructive surgeries, and urological surgery.
In wound care, CAMPs were developed as an alternative to skin grafts in the management of hard-to-heal wounds. They are derived from either natural or synthetic sources, which provide an artificial extracellular matrix (ECM) that allows for infiltration of host cells. Natural sources include human cadaver skin processed to remove the cellular components and retain the structural proteins of the dermis, and collagen obtained from bovine and porcine sources. Synthetic sources include various degradable polymers.
Numerous studies have explored the safety and performance of CAMPs. Kavros, et.al. performed a prospective, multicentre study that included 71 patients to evaluate the usage of PriMatrix® for diabetic foot ulcers.14 Sixteen patients failed to meet inclusion and exclusion criteria so only 55 patients were enrolled in the intent-to-treat (ITT) population. A total of 46 patients completed the 12-week study period. Thirty-five of the 46 patients (76%) were healed at 12 weeks and the patients that were not completely healed had a reduction in wound area of 71.4% at 12 weeks. One of the ITT patients discontinued from the study had a complication related to the wound in the study. The authors concluded," the results from this multicentre perspective study demonstrate that PriMatrix® coupled with debridement, moist wound therapy, and pressure offloading is a successful strategy to heal chronic DFUs."14
Frykberg, et.al. executed a multi-centre randomised clinical trial to compare the efficacy of MatriStem MicroMatrix and MatriStem Wound Matrix to Dermagraft in the management of non-healing diabetic foot ulcers.15 Fifty-six patients were randomised in a 1:1 ratio between the two treatment groups. No statistical difference in demographic make-up was observed between the treatment groups. Wound measurements were assessed using a digital wound measurement system. All subjects completed a Patient-Reported Outcome Measures (PROMs) questionnaire at multiple time points during the study. The results of the interim analysis did not demonstrate a statistical difference in wound outcomes between the two study products but there was a significant difference in treatment costs favouring MatriStem.15
Dorman, et.al. performed a retrospective review of four patients treated with MatriStem for the treatment of wounds associated with pilonidal disease.16 The treatments varied slightly by patient but generally involved the use of MatriStem MicroMatrix for the deep areas of the wound and then a sheet version. The sheet versions included multilayer, fenestrated, six layer and dual layer configurations. All four patients achieved full closure of the wounds at a mean of 51 days.16
Rommer, et.al. detailed their experience with MatriStem for large non-healing wounds from radiation burns.17 The three patients presented were each treated with a combination of MatriStem MicroMatrix and MatriStem Wound Matrix. The initial wound for the first patient was 5cm x 7cm, the initial wound for the third patient was 6cm x 6cm, and the initial wound for the second patient was not reported. All three patients had successful wound closure between 6 and 16 weeks with continued closure from multiple years.17
The Lullove retrospective review of twenty-nine patients with 34 wounds examined the treatment of chronic non-healing wounds with meshed PriMatrix.18 The types of wounds treated included diabetic ulcers, venous stasis ulcers, nonhealing traumatic wounds, other non-healing wounds, including tunnelling and undermined wounds. The wounds treated in the study had an average area of 19.6 square centimetres and a maximum area of 39.1 square centimetres. Wounds of different types and sizes healed in 10 to 15 weeks with 1.2 to 2.6 applications of PriMatrix.18
One such CAMP and the focus of this study is InnovaMatrix® AC, a decellularised ECM topical wound covering derived from porcine placental tissue harvested, according to Good Manufacturing Practices, by Tissue Source, LLC, in Lafayette, Indiana. Convatec Triad Life Sciences, in Memphis, Tennessee, processes the tissue into the ECM topical wound coverings. The composition of InnovaMatrix® AC includes the amnion and chorion from the porcine placenta.
The safety and performance of the predicate device for InnovaMatrix® AC, Oasis® Wound Matrix, has been investigated by multiple studies.
Brown-Etris, et.al. performed a randomised multicentre clinical trial of 130 patients with chronic pressure ulcers treated with Oasis® Wound Matrix and standard care versus standard care only.19 The percentage of patients completely healed in the Oasis group versus control was trending towards significance (p=0.111) but the percentage of Oasis versus control patients with 90% reduction in ulcer surface area was significantly higher (p=0.037). There was no difference in complication reported between the two groups. The study concluded that the addition of Oasis® Wound Matrix to standard care increases the incidence of 90% reduction in ulcer surface area.19
Romanelli, et.al. treated 50 patients with arterial/venous or venous only ulcers of the lower leg.20 The patients were randomised to either Oasis® Wound Matrix or standard moist wound dressing. The Oasis treated group healed, on average, at 5.4 weeks compared to 8.3 weeks for the standard moist dressing group {p=0.02). No adverse events were noted in either group. The authors concluded that Oasis had significantly better healing rates within 8 weeks as compared with conventional moist wound dressing.20
Baldursson, et.al. conducted a parallel-group, double-blinded, randomised controlled trial to compare Kerecis Omega3 Wound to Oasis® Wound Matrix for the treatment of wounds.21 Healthy volunteers had two 4mm full thickness punch wounds made 2cm apart on their non-dominant arm. The wounds were assessed by a dermatologist on days 1, 7, 14, 21 and 28. The wounds were treated with either Kerecis Omega3 Wound or Oasis® Wound Matrix according to the randomisation design. The primary endpoint was healing at 28 days which was defined as full epithelialisation. At 28 days, 76 of 80 wounds (95%) in Kerecis treated patients and 79 of 82 wounds (96.3%) in Oasis treated patients had healed. Statistical analysis demonstrated that Kerecis was non-inferior to Oasis in wound healing. Adverse events, including mild erythema and irritation, were noted in a small number of patients and within the limits expected and described in similar studies.21
Niezgoda, et.al. conducted a prospective, randomised, controlled multi-centre clinical trial that compared Oasis® Wound Matrix with Regranex Gel in the treatment of diabetic foot ulcers.22 Thirty-seven patients were randomised to Oasis treatment while thirty-six received Regranex gel. A secondary dressing was also applied to all patients following placement of the test article. The wounds were cleaned and debrided, as needed, during weekly visits with dressings also changed as needed. Patients were treated for a maximum of twelve weeks. Following twelve weeks of treatment, 18 of 37 patients treated with Oasis (49%) had complete wound closure compared to 10 of 36 patients treated with Regranex (28%).22
Salgado, et.al. conducted a prospective controlled study comparing Oasis® Wound Matrix and Aquacel® Ag in the treatment of mid-partial thickness burns.23 Five patients with burns were treated simultaneously with both products in different areas. Full thickness biopsies of the treated areas were taken at zero and seven days. Burns treated with Oasis had higher epithelial maturation index (6.2 ± 0.84) compared to burns treated with Aquacel (3.2 ± 3.28). Oasis treated burns produced a lower score according to Vancouver Scar Scale (3.6 ± 2.6) when compared to Aquacel treated burns 7.2 ± 2.5). The authors concluded that ECM matrices favour the wound healing process.23
Efficacy of CAMPs as a class of medical devices is well established in the management of hard-to-heal wounds. This retrospective, single centre, non-comparative post-market study will retrospectively collect and evaluate real-world performance data specifically for InnovaMatrix® AC.
- Conditions
- Wound Heal
- Being tested
- innovaMatrix AC
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
innovaMatrix ACDevice
nnovaMatrix® AC consists of ECM derived from porcine placental material. The device is supplied in a variety of sterile sheet configurations. It is packaged in double peel-open packages and is intended for single use only. The device is terminally sterilised using E-Beam sterilisation and is for licensed healthcare practitioner use only.
InnovaMatrix® AC is composed of collagen, elastin, laminin, fibronectin, hyaluronic acid and sulphated glycosaminoglycans. The wound dressing is provided in sheets that are approximately 40-100 microns thick in sizes ranging from 1 x 1cm to 5 x 5cm. They are provided as single-use, sterile wound coverings.
InnovaMatrix® AC received Food and Drug Administration (FDA) clearance under K193552 on October 21, 2020. InnovaMatrix® AC has an FDA classification of KGN, which designates it as a collagen wound dressing.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Subjects with Hard to Heal Wounds Who are Treated with InnovaMatric AC | Adult subjects seen at the study site between 1 May 2022 (the date of first product use according to the study site) to 27 March 2024 (the date of contract signature), who meet the inclusion and exclusion criteria. There will be no new patient visits associated with this retrospective study, therefore patient duration is not applicable. Receives: Device: innovaMatrix AC |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Percent Area Reduction
Percent area reduction of target wound area at 4 weeks compared to baseline will be listed and tabulated over all eligible subjects, as calculated by wound length multiplied by wound width.
Measured: 4 months
Secondary outcomes (3)
Time to Complete Wound Closure
Time to wound closure as recorded in days and calculated as the difference from baseline and the date of the first event that wound closure is recorded for all eligible subjects. Wound closure will be defined as the first time point at which both of the following occur: 1) A value of 76-100% is recorded for % epithelisation tissue in the Wound Assessment form, and 2) The area of the wound (as calculated in Section 7.1) is 0 cm2.
Measured: 4 months
Percent Granulation Tissue
Percent granulation tissue and its change from baseline will be tabulated as a shift table over all eligible subjects comparing baseline to week 4, week 12, and week 20.
Measured: 5 months
Change in percent epithelialisation tissue
The change in percent epithelisation tissue at each interval will be summarised for percent granulation tissue for all eligible subjects. For subjects that have completed the study and have healed prior to the timepoint being summarised, the percent epithelialisation tissue will be imputed at a value of 76-100
Measured: 4 months
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted12 Sep 2025
- Study start1 May 2024
- Primary completion5 Jun 2025
- Study completion5 Aug 2025
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Wound HealStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Observational
- Observational model
- Cohort
- Time perspective
- Retrospective
- Enrolment
- 67 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- ConvaTec Inc.
- Sponsor type
- Industry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Collaborators
- Charleston Wound Care Centre
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Christopher Dr Michaelis, DO, Principal investigator, Charleston Wound Care Centre
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT07170566
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- WC-23-444
- Status last verified
- Sep 2025
- First submitted
- 21 Aug 2025
- Last updated
- 15 Sep 2025
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- No
- FDA-regulated drug
- No
- FDA-regulated device
- Yes
- Individual data sharing
- No: Anonymized data extract
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 15 Sep 2025. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- The Use of a Decellularised Porcine Placental Extracellular Matrix in Hard-to-heal Wounds: A Retrospective, Observational Study of the Real-world Safety and Performance of InnovaMatrix® AC at a Single Centre
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT07170566
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- WC-23-444
- Conditions
- Wound Heal
- Study type
- Observational
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 67 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- ConvaTec Inc.Industry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Collaborators
- Charleston Wound Care Centre
- Study start
- 1 May 2024 (actual)
- Primary completion
- 5 Jun 2025 (actual)
- Study completion
- 5 Aug 2025 (actual)
- First posted
- 12 Sep 2025 (actual)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
The use of a decellularised porcine placental extracellular matrix in hard-to-heal wounds: A retrospective study of the real-world performance of InnovaMatrix® AC at a single centre.
Detailed description
Hard-to-heal wounds are defined as wounds that do not transition through the normal phases of healing in a timely manner.1 With a global prevalence of ~1.9 per 1000, it is predicted that the incidence will increase with the ageing population.2-5 Furthermore, hard-to-heal wounds are associated with a significant reduction in health-related quality of life and place a great burden on healthcare systems.4,6-9 In the UK, the annual National Health Service cost of wound management in 2017/2018 was £8.3 billion; £2.7 billion and £5.6 billion were associated with managing healed and unhealed wounds, respectively.5 Moreover, wound care accounts for 2-4% of healthcare expenditure in Europe and costs $28 billion USD per year in the US.7-11
Specifically, the cost of care for diabetic patients with a diabetic foot ulcer (DFU) vs. those without a DFU is 5.4 times higher in the year after first diagnosis while costs for treatment of highest grade ulcers are 8 times higher than low-grade ulcers.12 Use of advanced therapies, while sometimes costly, have been shown to reduce long-term costs, including reduced foot complications and lower amputation rates.12 In 1998, Holzer et al conducted a retrospective analysis of the costs for lower extremity ulcers in patients with diabetes and concluded that, given the high costs associated with treating these ulcers, the development of better treatment strategies is warranted.13 One such advanced therapy in the treatment of chronic wounds is the use of Cellular, Acellular and Matrix-like products (CAMPs). These materials have been used successfully for many years in the treatment of hard-to-heal wounds, as well as other applications including soft tissue repair, tendon/ligament repair, plastic/reconstructive surgeries, and urological surgery.
In wound care, CAMPs were developed as an alternative to skin grafts in the management of hard-to-heal wounds. They are derived from either natural or synthetic sources, which provide an artificial extracellular matrix (ECM) that allows for infiltration of host cells. Natural sources include human cadaver skin processed to remove the cellular components and retain the structural proteins of the dermis, and collagen obtained from bovine and porcine sources. Synthetic sources include various degradable polymers.
Numerous studies have explored the safety and performance of CAMPs. Kavros, et.al. performed a prospective, multicentre study that included 71 patients to evaluate the usage of PriMatrix® for diabetic foot ulcers.14 Sixteen patients failed to meet inclusion and exclusion criteria so only 55 patients were enrolled in the intent-to-treat (ITT) population. A total of 46 patients completed the 12-week study period. Thirty-five of the 46 patients (76%) were healed at 12 weeks and the patients that were not completely healed had a reduction in wound area of 71.4% at 12 weeks. One of the ITT patients discontinued from the study had a complication related to the wound in the study. The authors concluded," the results from this multicentre perspective study demonstrate that PriMatrix® coupled with debridement, moist wound therapy, and pressure offloading is a successful strategy to heal chronic DFUs."14
Frykberg, et.al. executed a multi-centre randomised clinical trial to compare the efficacy of MatriStem MicroMatrix and MatriStem Wound Matrix to Dermagraft in the management of non-healing diabetic foot ulcers.15 Fifty-six patients were randomised in a 1:1 ratio between the two treatment groups. No statistical difference in demographic make-up was observed between the treatment groups. Wound measurements were assessed using a digital wound measurement system. All subjects completed a Patient-Reported Outcome Measures (PROMs) questionnaire at multiple time points during the study. The results of the interim analysis did not demonstrate a statistical difference in wound outcomes between the two study products but there was a significant difference in treatment costs favouring MatriStem.15
Dorman, et.al. performed a retrospective review of four patients treated with MatriStem for the treatment of wounds associated with pilonidal disease.16 The treatments varied slightly by patient but generally involved the use of MatriStem MicroMatrix for the deep areas of the wound and then a sheet version. The sheet versions included multilayer, fenestrated, six layer and dual layer configurations. All four patients achieved full closure of the wounds at a mean of 51 days.16
Rommer, et.al. detailed their experience with MatriStem for large non-healing wounds from radiation burns.17 The three patients presented were each treated with a combination of MatriStem MicroMatrix and MatriStem Wound Matrix. The initial wound for the first patient was 5cm x 7cm, the initial wound for the third patient was 6cm x 6cm, and the initial wound for the second patient was not reported. All three patients had successful wound closure between 6 and 16 weeks with continued closure from multiple years.17
The Lullove retrospective review of twenty-nine patients with 34 wounds examined the treatment of chronic non-healing wounds with meshed PriMatrix.18 The types of wounds treated included diabetic ulcers, venous stasis ulcers, nonhealing traumatic wounds, other non-healing wounds, including tunnelling and undermined wounds. The wounds treated in the study had an average area of 19.6 square centimetres and a maximum area of 39.1 square centimetres. Wounds of different types and sizes healed in 10 to 15 weeks with 1.2 to 2.6 applications of PriMatrix.18
One such CAMP and the focus of this study is InnovaMatrix® AC, a decellularised ECM topical wound covering derived from porcine placental tissue harvested, according to Good Manufacturing Practices, by Tissue Source, LLC, in Lafayette, Indiana. Convatec Triad Life Sciences, in Memphis, Tennessee, processes the tissue into the ECM topical wound coverings. The composition of InnovaMatrix® AC includes the amnion and chorion from the porcine placenta.
The safety and performance of the predicate device for InnovaMatrix® AC, Oasis® Wound Matrix, has been investigated by multiple studies.
Brown-Etris, et.al. performed a randomised multicentre clinical trial of 130 patients with chronic pressure ulcers treated with Oasis® Wound Matrix and standard care versus standard care only.19 The percentage of patients completely healed in the Oasis group versus control was trending towards significance (p=0.111) but the percentage of Oasis versus control patients with 90% reduction in ulcer surface area was significantly higher (p=0.037). There was no difference in complication reported between the two groups. The study concluded that the addition of Oasis® Wound Matrix to standard care increases the incidence of 90% reduction in ulcer surface area.19
Romanelli, et.al. treated 50 patients with arterial/venous or venous only ulcers of the lower leg.20 The patients were randomised to either Oasis® Wound Matrix or standard moist wound dressing. The Oasis treated group healed, on average, at 5.4 weeks compared to 8.3 weeks for the standard moist dressing group {p=0.02). No adverse events were noted in either group. The authors concluded that Oasis had significantly better healing rates within 8 weeks as compared with conventional moist wound dressing.20
Baldursson, et.al. conducted a parallel-group, double-blinded, randomised controlled trial to compare Kerecis Omega3 Wound to Oasis® Wound Matrix for the treatment of wounds.21 Healthy volunteers had two 4mm full thickness punch wounds made 2cm apart on their non-dominant arm. The wounds were assessed by a dermatologist on days 1, 7, 14, 21 and 28. The wounds were treated with either Kerecis Omega3 Wound or Oasis® Wound Matrix according to the randomisation design. The primary endpoint was healing at 28 days which was defined as full epithelialisation. At 28 days, 76 of 80 wounds (95%) in Kerecis treated patients and 79 of 82 wounds (96.3%) in Oasis treated patients had healed. Statistical analysis demonstrated that Kerecis was non-inferior to Oasis in wound healing. Adverse events, including mild erythema and irritation, were noted in a small number of patients and within the limits expected and described in similar studies.21
Niezgoda, et.al. conducted a prospective, randomised, controlled multi-centre clinical trial that compared Oasis® Wound Matrix with Regranex Gel in the treatment of diabetic foot ulcers.22 Thirty-seven patients were randomised to Oasis treatment while thirty-six received Regranex gel. A secondary dressing was also applied to all patients following placement of the test article. The wounds were cleaned and debrided, as needed, during weekly visits with dressings also changed as needed. Patients were treated for a maximum of twelve weeks. Following twelve weeks of treatment, 18 of 37 patients treated with Oasis (49%) had complete wound closure compared to 10 of 36 patients treated with Regranex (28%).22
Salgado, et.al. conducted a prospective controlled study comparing Oasis® Wound Matrix and Aquacel® Ag in the treatment of mid-partial thickness burns.23 Five patients with burns were treated simultaneously with both products in different areas. Full thickness biopsies of the treated areas were taken at zero and seven days. Burns treated with Oasis had higher epithelial maturation index (6.2 ± 0.84) compared to burns treated with Aquacel (3.2 ± 3.28). Oasis treated burns produced a lower score according to Vancouver Scar Scale (3.6 ± 2.6) when compared to Aquacel treated burns 7.2 ± 2.5). The authors concluded that ECM matrices favour the wound healing process.23
Efficacy of CAMPs as a class of medical devices is well established in the management of hard-to-heal wounds. This retrospective, single centre, non-comparative post-market study will retrospectively collect and evaluate real-world performance data specifically for InnovaMatrix® AC.
Study design
- Observational model
- Cohort
- Time perspective
- Retrospective
- Number of arms
- 1
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Subjects with Hard to Heal Wounds Who are Treated with InnovaMatric AC | – | Device: innovaMatrix ACAdult subjects seen at the study site between 1 May 2022 (the date of first product use according to the study site) to 27 March 2024 (the date of contract signature), who meet the inclusion and exclusion criteria. There will be no new patient visits associated with this retrospective study, therefore patient duration is not applicable. |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 to 100 years
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
- Study population
- Adult subjects seen at the study site between 1 May 2022 (the date of first product use according to the study site) to 27 March 2024 (the date of contract signature), who meet the inclusion and exclusion criteria. There will be no new patient visits associated with this retrospective study, therefore patient duration is not applicable.
Key inclusion criteria (6 listed)
- Male and female subjects aged 18 years or older at the time the data were reported.
- Subjects with hard-to-heal wound(s), defined as those that have failed to show improvement (which is defined as ≥50% reduction in wound area) over 4-weeks of standard wound care.
- Initial Wound area that is >0.5 cm2 and <10 cm2
- InnovaMatrix® AC applied to target wound(s) for a minimum of two consecutive weekly visits inside a 4-week period.
- Subjects were compliant with wound protection strategies through treatment period (offloading, compression, etc).
Key exclusion criteria (6 listed)
- Wound area showed ≥50% reduction in 4-weeks preceding initial InnovaMatrix® AC application.
- Cases where InnovaMatrix® AC was not applied at a minimum of two consecutive weekly visits inside a 4-week period.
- Subjects who were non-compliant with additional wound protection strategies (offloading, compression, etc)
- Subjects with severe comorbidities that significantly impact healing ability, or ability for subject to be compliant with wound protection strategies, such as: peripheral vascular disease (ABI <0.4, >1.3)1, severely uncontrolled diabetes (Hgb A1C >9.0%), neurodegenerative disorders, Charcot foot, high dose corticosteroid or other immunosuppressant, etc
- Wound area <0.5 cm2 or >10 cm2
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| innovaMatrix ACnnovaMatrix® AC consists of ECM derived from porcine placental material. The device is supplied in a variety of sterile sheet configurations. It is packaged in double peel-open packages and is intended for single use only. The device is terminally sterilised using E-Beam sterilisation and is for licensed healthcare practitioner use only. InnovaMatrix® AC is composed of collagen, elastin, laminin, fibronectin, hyaluronic acid and sulphated glycosaminoglycans. The wound dressing is provided in sheets that are approximately 40-100 microns thick in sizes ranging from 1 x 1cm to 5 x 5cm. They are provided as single-use, sterile wound coverings. InnovaMatrix® AC received Food and Drug Administration (FDA) clearance under K193552 on October 21, 2020. InnovaMatrix® AC has an FDA classification of KGN, which designates it as a collagen wound dressing. | Device | Subjects with Hard to Heal Wounds Who are Treated with InnovaMatric AC |
Primary outcome
Percent Area Reduction
Time frame: 4 months
Percent area reduction of target wound area at 4 weeks compared to baseline will be listed and tabulated over all eligible subjects, as calculated by wound length multiplied by wound width.
3 secondary outcomes
Time to Complete Wound Closure
Time frame: 4 months
Percent Granulation Tissue
Time frame: 5 months
Change in percent epithelialisation tissue
Time frame: 4 months
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 15 Sep 2025.
- Individual participant dataSharing planned: No. Anonymized data extract
Related trials for Wound Heal
Recruiting
PAW-Hydrogel for Chronic Wound Healing
Diabetic Foot Ulcer (DFU), Pressure Ulcer (PU)
Recruiting
Feasibility of a Digital Self-help Program for Functional Hypothalamic Amenorrhea (HEAL-FHA Pilot)
Functional Hypothalamic Amenorrhea
Active, not recruitingPhase 1
E-CEL UVEC Cells as an Adjunct Cell Therapy for the Arthroscopic Rotator Cuff Repair in Adults
Rotator Cuff Tears, Muscle Atrophy or Weakness
Active, not recruiting
Alveolar Ridge Reconstruction in Post-extraction Sites Using a Magnesium Resorbable Membrane. An Explorative Study
Bone Augmentation, Alveolar Ridge Augmentation
Recruiting
Effect Of Resistive Capactive Electrical Transfer Therapy In Difficult-to-heal Wounds
Difficult-to-heal Wounds
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Christopher Dr Michaelis, DO principal investigator
Charleston Wound Care Centre
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
An observational study of Wound Heal, run by ConvaTec Inc. at 1 site in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 6 inclusion and 6 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 15 Sep 2025. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Percent Area Reduction (time frame: 4 months). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 15 Sep 2025.