Androgenetic AlopeciaEarly Phase 1NCT07739147
Comparing Standard Platelet-Rich Plasma and Light-Enhanced Platelet-Rich Plasma for Treating Hair Loss in Androgenetic Alopecia: A Randomized Controlled Trial
A Early Phase 1 study testing Platelet-Rich Plasma (PRP) Injections, Red-light photobiomodulation with cooling and Blue-light photobiomodulation in people with Androgenetic Alopecia, run by Kimberly Meathrel.
Trial summary
The goal of this clinical trial is to compare 3 different types of PRP in androgenetic alopecia patients. The main questions it aims to answer: Does Redlight enhanced, Blue light enhanced, or traditional PRP result in higher hair density and health? Does Redlight enhanced, Blue light enhanced, or traditional PRP… Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 to 65 years
- Conditions the study is for
- Androgenetic Alopecia
- What is being tested?
- Platelet-Rich Plasma (PRP) Injections, Red-light photobiomodulation with cooling and Blue-light photobiomodulation
- Type of treatment
- Injection or infusion, Medical device
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 30 participants
- Where
- No sites listed yet
- Study dates
- 30 Dec 2026to 30 Dec 2027
- Phase
- Early Phase 1
- Are there results?
- Not yet: the study is under way
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 to 65 years
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
Who may be able to join
- Age 18-65
- Diagnosed Androgenetic Alopecia
- Willing to comply with protocol and follow up
Who cannot join
- Active scalp infection or disease
- Prior PRP within last 6 months
- Use of hair growth medication topical or oral
- Platelet dysfunction or anticoagulation
- Pregnant or breastfeeding
- history of keloid infection
Trial locations and contacts
No sites are listed yet. Contact the study team or a site near you to ask about taking part.
About this study
Official title: Photobiomodulated Platelet-Rich Plasma for Androgenetic Alopecia: A Randomized Controlled Trial Comparing Standard PRP vs Red-Light Enhanced vs Blue-Light Enhanced PRP Using the MetaCell Technologies System
The goal of this clinical trial is to compare 3 different types of PRP in androgenetic alopecia patients. The main questions it aims to answer:
Does Redlight enhanced, Blue light enhanced, or traditional PRP result in higher hair density and health? Does Redlight enhanced, Blue light enhanced, or traditional PRP result in other improved hair metrics.
Participants will consent to a PRP treatment but will be blinded to the type. They will then be asked to return for Tricholab analysis at set post-operative timepoints to record changes in hair metrics (Baseline, 1 month, 3 months, 6 months, 9 months, 12 months).
Read the detailed description
This study will use written standard operating procedures SOPs to standardize PRP preparation as per MCT System instructions, injection technique, photobiomodulation device operation, and outcome assessment across all participants and all three treatment arms. Following confirmation of eligibility and informed consent, participants will be randomized in a 1:1:1 ratio to one of three parallel arms: standard PRP alone, red-light enhanced PRP with adjunctive cooling, or blue-light enhanced PRP with exosome protocol. Randomization will use a computer-generated block randomization sequence, generated centrally by a study team member independent of recruitment and outcome assessment. Allocation will be concealed using sequentially numbered, sealed, opaque envelopes, opened only after a participant's eligibility has been confirmed and consent obtained, in order to prevent selection bias in group assignment.
PRP will be prepared using a Medical's Cellenis® PRP System (Eclipse). A target volume of 6-10 mL of PRP will be collected per patient. Whole blood will undergo a two-step centrifugation protocol: an initial spin at 1,600 RPM for 10 minutes, followed by a second spin at 3,000 RPM for 10 minutes, with plasma separation completing after approximately 20 minutes total processing time.
Two of the three arms will additionally receive photobiomodulation (PBM), the application of specific wavelengths of light to biological tissue to modulate cellular activity, delivered as a 10-minute treatment cycle with a Metacell Technologies System. Red light (approximately 630-660 nm) has been studied for its capacity to enhance cellular metabolic activity and support tissue repair, while blue light (approximately 400-470 nm) has documented antimicrobial and anti-inflammatory properties relevant to scalp health.
Red-light protocol: Stimulus 1: 620 nm, 1 J/cm², 10 minutes; Stimulus 2: 4°C cooling, 15 minutes.
Blue-light protocol (exosome-based): Stimulus 1: 467 nm, 1 J/cm², 10 minutes; Stimulus 2: 37°C, 10 minutes.
Following treatment, the prepared product will be extracted into a U225 syringe/device and injected into the scalp problem area at a depth of 4 mm.
Participants will attend a total of three PRP treatment sessions, administered at baseline, 1 month, and 2 months. Hair outcomes will be assessed using the TrichoLab spot template and virtual tattoo technique at baseline and at 1, 2, 6, 9, and 12 months following initial baseline.
All source documents (informed consent forms, visit notes, trichoscopy images, adverse event logs) will be maintained at the study site and cross-referenced against data entered into the study database.
Data validation will occur at two levels: (1) at the point of entry, using predefined range and consistency checks (e.g., hair density values within physiologically plausible bounds, visit dates falling within the expected window relative to baseline and treatment schedule), with any flagged discrepancies resolved by the study coordinator before the record is finalized; and (2) periodically, through manual review of a random sample (10-20%) of case report forms against original source documents to confirm accuracy.
Site monitoring will be conducted by the principal investigator at each treatment and follow-up visit to confirm protocol adherence (correct arm assignment per the randomization envelope, correct PRP preparation and injection technique, correct light therapy device settings for the assigned arm). An internal audit of the full dataset will be performed at the midpoint of the study (approximately month 6) and again at study completion, reviewing enrollment records, randomization logs, adverse event reports, and outcome measurements for completeness and consistency. Since this is a single-site pilot trial, monitoring will be internal rather than conducted by an external contract research organization (CRO); if the REB requires third-party oversight, this can be arranged and added to the protocol.
Data entered into the study database will be validated against predefined range and consistency rules specific to this trial. Examples include: hair density and hair diameter values falling within physiologically plausible bounds established from prior trichoscopy literature; visit dates falling within expected windows relative to the baseline date and treatment/follow-up schedule (baseline, 1, 2, 6, 9, 12 months); arm assignment matching the sealed randomization envelope opened for that participant; and adverse event severity codes matching a predefined coding list. Any entry falling outside these rules will be automatically flagged for review by the study coordinator, who will cross-check the flagged value against the original source document before the record is finalized or corrected. Source documents: clinic visit notes, trichoscopic images, standardized photographs, adverse event logs, and signed consent forms will be retained at the study site.
A data dictionary will be maintained listing each variable collected in the study, its source, and its valid range or coding scheme. Key variables include: hair density (hairs/cm², measured via trichoscopy at each visit), hair shaft diameter (µm, measured via trichoscopy), treatment arm assignment (categorical: standard PRP, red-light enhanced PRP, blue-light enhanced PRP), and visit timepoint (categorical: baseline, 1, 2, 6, 9, 12 months).
Written SOPs will govern each stage of the study: participant recruitment and screening (in-clinic discussion and online advertising, followed by eligibility confirmation); informed consent; randomization and allocation concealment (computer-generated block randomization, sealed opaque envelopes); blood draw and PRP preparation using the MetaCell Technologies System; PRP injection technique; photobiomodulation device operation for the red-light and blue-light arms, including cooling application in the red-light arm; trichoscopic imaging and photography protocol; adverse event identification, grading, and reporting; and data entry, storage, and management. SOPs will be reviewed and version-controlled by the principal investigator, with any protocol amendments documented and communicated to all study personnel.
This trial will enroll 30 participants (10 per arm). Given this sample size, the study is designed as a pilot/exploratory trial rather than a definitively powered efficacy trial. Rather than being derived from a formal power calculation targeting a specific minimum clinically important difference, the sample size was selected based on feasibility (single-site recruitment capacity) and the goal of generating preliminary effect size estimates, safety data, and procedural feasibility data (e.g., time per treatment, tolerability of light therapy and cooling) to inform the design and power calculation of a larger, adequately powered follow-up trial.
Participants who miss a scheduled follow-up visit (1, 2, 6, 9, or 12 months) will be contacted and offered a rescheduled visit within a predefined window (e.g., ±2 weeks) to minimize missing data. If a data point remains unavailable, uninterpretable, or is not reported, it will be recorded as missing rather than imputed as zero, carried forward from a prior visit, or otherwise estimated. Primary analyses will be conducted on available cases at each timepoint. If missingness for any variable exceeds 10% of the sample, a sensitivity analysis will be conducted to assess whether missing data materially affects the study conclusions.
Between-group comparisons of the primary and continuous secondary outcomes (hair density, hair diameter) across the three arms will be analyzed using one-way ANOVA at each assessment timepoint. Where the overall ANOVA is significant, post hoc pairwise comparisons (with correction for multiple comparisons) will identify which specific arms differ. Repeated-measures ANOVA will assess within-group change over the 12-month follow-up. Significance threshold: p < 0.05. Given the modest per-arm sample size, results will be reported alongside effect sizes and interpreted as preliminary/hypothesis-generating.
- Conditions
- Androgenetic Alopecia
- Being tested
- Platelet-Rich Plasma (PRP) Injections, Red-light photobiomodulation with cooling, Blue-light photobiomodulation
- Keywords
- Androgenetic Alopecia, Hairloss, Trichoscopy, platelet-rich plasma
- Medical subject headings
- Alopecia
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
Platelet-Rich Plasma (PRP) InjectionsDrug
Autologous platelet-rich plasma prepared from the participant's own peripherally drawn. Blood is processed via centrifugation to concentrate platelets and associated growth factors, then injected into the scalp across the area of hair thinning. Administered at each treatment visit per the study treatment schedule.
Red-light photobiomodulation with coolingDevice
Standard Intervention 1 with PRP undergoing additional Stimulus 1: 620 nm, 1 J/cm², 10 minutes; Stimulus 2: 4°C cooling, 15 minutes via MetaCell Technologies System.
Blue-light photobiomodulationDevice
Standard Intervention 1 with PRP undergoing additional Stimulus 1: 467 nm, 1 J/cm², 10 minutes; Stimulus 2: 37°C, 10 minutes using MetaCell Technologies System.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Standard PRP | Experimental | Participants assigned to this arm receive autologous PRP injection alone, prepared from their own peripherally drawn injected into the scalp. No adjunctive light therapy or cooling is applied in this arm. (Intervention 1 only) Receives: Drug: Platelet-Rich Plasma (PRP) Injections |
| Red-Light Enhanced PRP | Experimental | Participants assigned to this arm receive autologous PRP injection, prepared and administered as Arm 1, immediately followed by red-light photobiomodulation therapy delivered via the MetaCell Technologies System, combined with cooling. (Intervention 1 and 2) Receives: Drug: Platelet-Rich Plasma (PRP) Injections; Device: Red-light photobiomodulation with cooling |
| Blue-Light Enhanced PRP | Experimental | Participants assigned to this arm receive autologous PRP injection, prepared and administered as intervention 1, immediately followed by blue-light photobiomodulation therapy delivered via the MetaCell Technologies System with heating. (Intervention 1 and 3) Receives: Drug: Platelet-Rich Plasma (PRP) Injections; Device: Blue-light photobiomodulation |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Hair rate Terminal/Vellus (%)
Taken from TrichoLab Trichoscopy
Measured: Trichoscopy taken at baseline, 1 month, 2 months, 6 months, 9 months, 12 months
Hair Density (N/cm^2)
Taken from TrichoLab Trichoscopy
Measured: Trichoscopy taken at baseline, 1 month, 2 months, 6 months, 9 months, 12 months
Secondary outcomes (3)
Hair Density Terminal and Vellus (N/cm^2)
Taken from TrichoLab Trichoscopy
Measured: Trichoscopy taken at baseline, 1 month, 2 months, 6 months, 9 months, 12 months
Mean Thickness (um)
Taken from TrichoLab Trichoscopy
Measured: Trichoscopy taken at baseline, 1 month, 2 months, 6 months, 9 months, 12 months
Cumulative Hair Thickness (mm/cm^2)
Taken from TrichoLab Trichoscopy
Measured: Trichoscopy taken at baseline, 1 month, 2 months, 6 months, 9 months, 12 months
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted31 Jul 2026
- Study start30 Dec 2026 (estimated)
- Primary completion30 Dec 2027 (estimated)
- Study completion30 Dec 2027 (estimated)
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Androgenetic AlopeciaStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Early Phase 1
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- Triple blind
- Who is masked
- Participant, Investigator, Outcomes assessor
- Enrolment
- 30 participants (estimated)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Kimberly Meathrel
- Sponsor type
- Industry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor-investigator, Kimberly Meathrel, BespokeSkin MD
- Investigators
- Kimberly Meathrel, Study director, Bespoke Skin MD
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT07739147
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- PRP-PBM-AGA-RCT-01
- Status last verified
- Jul 2026
- First submitted
- 28 Jul 2026
- Last updated
- 31 Jul 2026
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- No
- FDA-regulated drug
- No
- FDA-regulated device
- No
- Individual data sharing
- Undecided
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 31 Jul 2026. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Photobiomodulated Platelet-Rich Plasma for Androgenetic Alopecia: A Randomized Controlled Trial Comparing Standard PRP vs Red-Light Enhanced vs Blue-Light Enhanced PRP Using the MetaCell Technologies System
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT07739147
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- PRP-PBM-AGA-RCT-01
- Conditions
- Androgenetic Alopecia
- Keywords
- Androgenetic Alopecia, Hairloss, Trichoscopy, platelet-rich plasma
- Phase
- Early Phase 1
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Not yet recruiting
- Enrolment
- 30 participants (estimated)
- Lead sponsor
- Kimberly MeathrelIndustry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Study start
- 30 Dec 2026 (estimated)
- Primary completion
- 30 Dec 2027 (estimated)
- Study completion
- 30 Dec 2027 (estimated)
- First posted
- 31 Jul 2026 (actual)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
The goal of this clinical trial is to compare 3 different types of PRP in androgenetic alopecia patients. The main questions it aims to answer:
Does Redlight enhanced, Blue light enhanced, or traditional PRP result in higher hair density and health? Does Redlight enhanced, Blue light enhanced, or traditional PRP result in other improved hair metrics.
Participants will consent to a PRP treatment but will be blinded to the type. They will then be asked to return for Tricholab analysis at set post-operative timepoints to record changes in hair metrics (Baseline, 1 month, 3 months, 6 months, 9 months, 12 months).
Detailed description
This study will use written standard operating procedures SOPs to standardize PRP preparation as per MCT System instructions, injection technique, photobiomodulation device operation, and outcome assessment across all participants and all three treatment arms. Following confirmation of eligibility and informed consent, participants will be randomized in a 1:1:1 ratio to one of three parallel arms: standard PRP alone, red-light enhanced PRP with adjunctive cooling, or blue-light enhanced PRP with exosome protocol. Randomization will use a computer-generated block randomization sequence, generated centrally by a study team member independent of recruitment and outcome assessment. Allocation will be concealed using sequentially numbered, sealed, opaque envelopes, opened only after a participant's eligibility has been confirmed and consent obtained, in order to prevent selection bias in group assignment.
PRP will be prepared using a Medical's Cellenis® PRP System (Eclipse). A target volume of 6-10 mL of PRP will be collected per patient. Whole blood will undergo a two-step centrifugation protocol: an initial spin at 1,600 RPM for 10 minutes, followed by a second spin at 3,000 RPM for 10 minutes, with plasma separation completing after approximately 20 minutes total processing time.
Two of the three arms will additionally receive photobiomodulation (PBM), the application of specific wavelengths of light to biological tissue to modulate cellular activity, delivered as a 10-minute treatment cycle with a Metacell Technologies System. Red light (approximately 630-660 nm) has been studied for its capacity to enhance cellular metabolic activity and support tissue repair, while blue light (approximately 400-470 nm) has documented antimicrobial and anti-inflammatory properties relevant to scalp health.
Red-light protocol: Stimulus 1: 620 nm, 1 J/cm², 10 minutes; Stimulus 2: 4°C cooling, 15 minutes.
Blue-light protocol (exosome-based): Stimulus 1: 467 nm, 1 J/cm², 10 minutes; Stimulus 2: 37°C, 10 minutes.
Following treatment, the prepared product will be extracted into a U225 syringe/device and injected into the scalp problem area at a depth of 4 mm.
Participants will attend a total of three PRP treatment sessions, administered at baseline, 1 month, and 2 months. Hair outcomes will be assessed using the TrichoLab spot template and virtual tattoo technique at baseline and at 1, 2, 6, 9, and 12 months following initial baseline.
All source documents (informed consent forms, visit notes, trichoscopy images, adverse event logs) will be maintained at the study site and cross-referenced against data entered into the study database.
Data validation will occur at two levels: (1) at the point of entry, using predefined range and consistency checks (e.g., hair density values within physiologically plausible bounds, visit dates falling within the expected window relative to baseline and treatment schedule), with any flagged discrepancies resolved by the study coordinator before the record is finalized; and (2) periodically, through manual review of a random sample (10-20%) of case report forms against original source documents to confirm accuracy.
Site monitoring will be conducted by the principal investigator at each treatment and follow-up visit to confirm protocol adherence (correct arm assignment per the randomization envelope, correct PRP preparation and injection technique, correct light therapy device settings for the assigned arm). An internal audit of the full dataset will be performed at the midpoint of the study (approximately month 6) and again at study completion, reviewing enrollment records, randomization logs, adverse event reports, and outcome measurements for completeness and consistency. Since this is a single-site pilot trial, monitoring will be internal rather than conducted by an external contract research organization (CRO); if the REB requires third-party oversight, this can be arranged and added to the protocol.
Data entered into the study database will be validated against predefined range and consistency rules specific to this trial. Examples include: hair density and hair diameter values falling within physiologically plausible bounds established from prior trichoscopy literature; visit dates falling within expected windows relative to the baseline date and treatment/follow-up schedule (baseline, 1, 2, 6, 9, 12 months); arm assignment matching the sealed randomization envelope opened for that participant; and adverse event severity codes matching a predefined coding list. Any entry falling outside these rules will be automatically flagged for review by the study coordinator, who will cross-check the flagged value against the original source document before the record is finalized or corrected. Source documents: clinic visit notes, trichoscopic images, standardized photographs, adverse event logs, and signed consent forms will be retained at the study site.
A data dictionary will be maintained listing each variable collected in the study, its source, and its valid range or coding scheme. Key variables include: hair density (hairs/cm², measured via trichoscopy at each visit), hair shaft diameter (µm, measured via trichoscopy), treatment arm assignment (categorical: standard PRP, red-light enhanced PRP, blue-light enhanced PRP), and visit timepoint (categorical: baseline, 1, 2, 6, 9, 12 months).
Written SOPs will govern each stage of the study: participant recruitment and screening (in-clinic discussion and online advertising, followed by eligibility confirmation); informed consent; randomization and allocation concealment (computer-generated block randomization, sealed opaque envelopes); blood draw and PRP preparation using the MetaCell Technologies System; PRP injection technique; photobiomodulation device operation for the red-light and blue-light arms, including cooling application in the red-light arm; trichoscopic imaging and photography protocol; adverse event identification, grading, and reporting; and data entry, storage, and management. SOPs will be reviewed and version-controlled by the principal investigator, with any protocol amendments documented and communicated to all study personnel.
This trial will enroll 30 participants (10 per arm). Given this sample size, the study is designed as a pilot/exploratory trial rather than a definitively powered efficacy trial. Rather than being derived from a formal power calculation targeting a specific minimum clinically important difference, the sample size was selected based on feasibility (single-site recruitment capacity) and the goal of generating preliminary effect size estimates, safety data, and procedural feasibility data (e.g., time per treatment, tolerability of light therapy and cooling) to inform the design and power calculation of a larger, adequately powered follow-up trial.
Participants who miss a scheduled follow-up visit (1, 2, 6, 9, or 12 months) will be contacted and offered a rescheduled visit within a predefined window (e.g., ±2 weeks) to minimize missing data. If a data point remains unavailable, uninterpretable, or is not reported, it will be recorded as missing rather than imputed as zero, carried forward from a prior visit, or otherwise estimated. Primary analyses will be conducted on available cases at each timepoint. If missingness for any variable exceeds 10% of the sample, a sensitivity analysis will be conducted to assess whether missing data materially affects the study conclusions.
Between-group comparisons of the primary and continuous secondary outcomes (hair density, hair diameter) across the three arms will be analyzed using one-way ANOVA at each assessment timepoint. Where the overall ANOVA is significant, post hoc pairwise comparisons (with correction for multiple comparisons) will identify which specific arms differ. Repeated-measures ANOVA will assess within-group change over the 12-month follow-up. Significance threshold: p < 0.05. Given the modest per-arm sample size, results will be reported alongside effect sizes and interpreted as preliminary/hypothesis-generating.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- Triple blind (participant, investigator, outcomes assessor)
- Number of arms
- 3
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Standard PRP | Experimental | Drug: Platelet-Rich Plasma (PRP) InjectionsParticipants assigned to this arm receive autologous PRP injection alone, prepared from their own peripherally drawn injected into the scalp. No adjunctive light therapy or cooling is applied in this arm. (Intervention 1 only) |
| Red-Light Enhanced PRP | Experimental | Drug: Platelet-Rich Plasma (PRP) Injections, Device: Red-light photobiomodulation with coolingParticipants assigned to this arm receive autologous PRP injection, prepared and administered as Arm 1, immediately followed by red-light photobiomodulation therapy delivered via the MetaCell Technologies System, combined with cooling. (Intervention 1 and 2) |
| Blue-Light Enhanced PRP | Experimental | Drug: Platelet-Rich Plasma (PRP) Injections, Device: Blue-light photobiomodulationParticipants assigned to this arm receive autologous PRP injection, prepared and administered as intervention 1, immediately followed by blue-light photobiomodulation therapy delivered via the MetaCell Technologies System with heating. (Intervention 1 and 3) |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 to 65 years
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Key inclusion criteria (3 listed)
- Age 18-65
- Diagnosed Androgenetic Alopecia
- Willing to comply with protocol and follow up
Key exclusion criteria (6 listed)
- Active scalp infection or disease
- Prior PRP within last 6 months
- Use of hair growth medication topical or oral
- Platelet dysfunction or anticoagulation
- Pregnant or breastfeeding
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| Platelet-Rich Plasma (PRP) InjectionsAutologous platelet-rich plasma prepared from the participant's own peripherally drawn. Blood is processed via centrifugation to concentrate platelets and associated growth factors, then injected into the scalp across the area of hair thinning. Administered at each treatment visit per the study treatment schedule. | Drug | Blue-Light Enhanced PRP, Red-Light Enhanced PRP, Standard PRP |
| Red-light photobiomodulation with coolingStandard Intervention 1 with PRP undergoing additional Stimulus 1: 620 nm, 1 J/cm², 10 minutes; Stimulus 2: 4°C cooling, 15 minutes via MetaCell Technologies System. | Device | Red-Light Enhanced PRP |
| Blue-light photobiomodulationStandard Intervention 1 with PRP undergoing additional Stimulus 1: 467 nm, 1 J/cm², 10 minutes; Stimulus 2: 37°C, 10 minutes using MetaCell Technologies System. | Device | Blue-Light Enhanced PRP |
Primary outcome
Hair rate Terminal/Vellus (%)
Time frame: Trichoscopy taken at baseline, 1 month, 2 months, 6 months, 9 months, 12 months
Taken from TrichoLab Trichoscopy
Hair Density (N/cm^2)
Time frame: Trichoscopy taken at baseline, 1 month, 2 months, 6 months, 9 months, 12 months
Taken from TrichoLab Trichoscopy
3 secondary outcomes
Hair Density Terminal and Vellus (N/cm^2)
Time frame: Trichoscopy taken at baseline, 1 month, 2 months, 6 months, 9 months, 12 months
Mean Thickness (um)
Time frame: Trichoscopy taken at baseline, 1 month, 2 months, 6 months, 9 months, 12 months
Cumulative Hair Thickness (mm/cm^2)
Time frame: Trichoscopy taken at baseline, 1 month, 2 months, 6 months, 9 months, 12 months
Results and safety
This study is still under way. Results are not available in the source record yet.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 31 Jul 2026.
- Individual participant dataSharing planned: Undecided
Related trials for Androgenetic Alopecia
Not yet recruitingPhase 2
Phase 2 Efficacy and Safety of PP405 in Adult Females With Androgenetic Alopecia
Androgenetic Alopecia
Not yet recruitingPhase 3
Phase 3 Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Oral Minoxidil (N1087) in Men With Androgenetic Alopecia.
Androgenetic Alopecia, Androgenetic Alopecia (AGA)
Not yet recruiting
Study to Evaluate Xtressé Gummy Supplement in Women With Thinning Hair
Androgenetic Alopecia
Not yet recruitingEarly Phase 1
Evaluating the Efficacy of Platelet-rich Plasma Therapy in the Treatment of Androgenic Alopecia
Androgenic Alopecia
Not yet recruitingPhase 3
Phase 3 Clinical Trial to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of N1087 in Participants With Female Pattern Hair Loss (MINORA-WOMEN)
Female Pattern Hair Loss, Female Pattern Hair Loss, Androgenic Alopecia
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part.
Kimberly Meathrel study director
Bespoke Skin MD
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Early Phase 1 study testing Platelet-Rich Plasma (PRP) Injections, Red-light photobiomodulation with cooling and Blue-light photobiomodulation in people with Androgenetic Alopecia, run by Kimberly Meathrel.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 3 inclusion and 6 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: opening soon, as of the sponsor's last update on 31 Jul 2026. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Early Phase 1 (sometimes called Phase 0) studies give a very small amount of a treatment to a few people, mainly to see how the body handles it.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
This study is still under way. Results are not available in the source record yet.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
Contact Kimberly E Meathrel, MD, JD, MBA, MSc, FRCSC (16135474182, admin@bespokeskinmd.com), or a site near the patient. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Hair rate Terminal/Vellus (%) (time frame: Trichoscopy taken at baseline, 1 month, 2 months, 6 months, 9 months, 12 months). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 31 Jul 2026.