AzTrials
AzTrials

Brain and Central Nervous System TumorsPhase 2NCT00004224

Combination Chemotherapy Followed by Radiation Therapy in Treating Children With Localized Ependymoma

A Phase 2 study testing cyclophosphamide, etoposide and vincristine sulfate in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by Societe Internationale d'Oncologie Pediatrique at 7 sites in 7 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining more than one drug and combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 3 to 20 years
Conditions the study is for
Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors
What is being tested?
cyclophosphamide, etoposide and vincristine sulfate
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
65 participants
Where
7 sitesin 7 countries
Study dates
Jan 1999to Mar 2008
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 3 to 20 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically proven nonmetastatic intracranial ependymoma
  • Cellular
  • Papillary
  • Clear cell
  • Mixed cell
  • Anaplastic
  • No myxopapillary ependymoma, subependymoma, or ependymoblastoma

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 3 to 20

Performance status:

  • Not specified

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • No hematologic disease that would preclude study participation

Hepatic:

  • Not specified

Renal:

  • No renal disease that would preclude study participation

Other:

  • No concurrent unrelated disease that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • No prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy:

  • Prior steroids allowed

Radiotherapy:

  • No prior radiotherapy

Surgery:

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

7 sites in 7 countries.

7 sites in 7 countries

Argentina1 site
  • Fundacion para la Lucha contra las Enfermedades Neurologicas de la Infancia

    Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, 1428

Other trials in Argentina

Canada1 site
  • Hospital for Sick Children

    Toronto, Ontario, M5G 1X8

Other trials in Canada

Italy1 site
  • Fondazione Istituto Nazionale dei Tumori

    Milan, 20133

Other trials in Italy

Netherlands1 site
  • Erasmus MC - Sophia Children's Hospital

    Rotterdam, 3015 GJ

Other trials in Netherlands

Spain1 site
  • Hospital Des Cruces

    Vizcaya, 48

Other trials in Spain

Sweden1 site
  • Ostra Sjukhuset

    Gothenburg, 41685

Other trials in Sweden

United Kingdom1 site
  • Birmingham Children's Hospital

    Birmingham, England, B4 6NH

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: SIOP Study of Combined Modality Treatment in Childhood Ependymoma

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining more than one drug and combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying combination chemotherapy and radiation therapy to see how well they work in treating children with localized ependymoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the event free and overall survival of children with incompletely resected localized ependymoma when treated with adjuvant cyclophosphamide, etoposide, and vincristine followed by radiotherapy.
  • Determine the response rate in these patients to this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

Patients undergo surgery to remove as much of tumor as possible. Patients with residual disease proceed to chemotherapy, while those with no residual disease proceed directly to radiotherapy.

Chemotherapy begins within 3 weeks of surgery and consists of vincristine IV on days 1, 8, and 15, cyclophosphamide IV over 3 hours on day 1, and etoposide IV over 4 hours on days 1-3. Treatment repeats every 4 weeks for up to 4 courses. Patients who progress after 2 courses proceed to radiotherapy. If residual disease is still present at completion of chemotherapy, second look surgery is recommended.

Patients undergo radiotherapy daily for 6 weeks beginning after complete resection within 4 weeks of surgery, within 3 weeks of completion of chemotherapy, or within 4 weeks of second look surgery.

Patients are followed at 6 weeks after radiotherapy, every 2 months for 1 year, every 4 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually for 5 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 65 patients will be accrued for this study within 2-3 years.

Keywords
childhood infratentorial ependymoma, childhood supratentorial ependymoma, newly diagnosed childhood ependymoma
Medical subject headings
Central Nervous System Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Event-free survival

  2. Overall survival

  3. Surgical operability

  4. Response rate

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJan 1999
  3. Study completionMar 2008

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Enrolment
65 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00004224
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000067465
Other IDs
SIOP-EPENDYMOMA-99, AIEOP-EPENDYMOMA-99, CCLG-EPENDYMOMA-99, EU-99001
Status last verified
Apr 2008
First submitted
28 Jan 2000
Last updated
26 Aug 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing cyclophosphamide, etoposide and vincristine sulfate in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by Societe Internationale d'Oncologie Pediatrique at 7 sites in 7 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 26 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 7 sites in Argentina, Canada, Italy, Netherlands, Spain and 2 more countries. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Event-free survival. The study lists 4 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 26 Aug 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in